Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Charlotte Decks & Porches

Founded 2010 • With Angi since April 2011

5.0

(89) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

7615 Rathlin Ct

Charlotte, NC 28270

Description

We are a family owned and operated business committed to bringing you excellent service with top-notch craftsmanship. Whether it is a deck or screened porch, we take great in every detail to make sure you are the envy of your neighborhood. Give us a call or fill out the contact form on our website

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

12/18/2019


GLENN A.

Great ! The owner is Jeff Waldron. We had our old deck removed and replaced with a new Trex deck and added a new 10x14 covered Cabana. My wife found Charlotte Decks and Porches doing initial search of contractors. We contacted Jeff and had a meeting in July and got a detailed proposal July 13, 2019. After our meeting with Jeff and then getting his detailed proposal we knew he was the builder for us ! Jeff's timeliness, attention to detail, helpful suggestions and record of quality work with a great crew were unmatched by any others we looked into. I am VERY particular and Jeff and his crew exceeded my expectations ! -Jeff's estimate of cost was specific, understandable, and fair. -Jeff provided us with a concise package to present to our HOA for approval.... His information was so complete we got immediate approval from the HOA within one day ! -Jeff always answered our questions and outlined our building schedule, product delivery dates, etc. usually by email or text. - Jeff has his own crew... Ben, Murray, Will, Robbie and Eli (sorry if I missed anyone) and they were great! Skilled, polite, hard working and pleasant. They did the work right the first time. They were careful and respectful of our house. They cleaned up every day and took all trash away when needed. -All work was done as outlined! No cutting corners... even pouring extra concrete to be sure to pass all city code requirements. -Jeff took care of all permits, scheduled all inspections and any required paperwork ! -The few delays were expected (weather, inspection, our vacation) and acceptable. On a final note....this is our retirement home. We wanted the best materials (for little or no maintenance) and great craftsmanship . That is what we got ... and more ! Thanks to everyone who worked on our project and for proving there are still people who take pride in their workmanship !

Description of Work
Replace old 24x28 wood deck and add cabana

Category decks, woodworking, outdoor kitchens

Service Provider Response

Thank you and enjoy your new deck!
1.0

03/02/2019


Samantha L.

Emailed about a quote. They told me they won't do a porch with a 2nd story open deck above due to warranty issues. They then never responded again. In my area there are many homes with deck above a screened in porch. Either these guys are making so much money on their existing projects they don't even need to respond, or they don't trust the quality of their own work and avoid "warranty issues." Yikes!

Description of Work
Screened in porch with open deck above.

Category decks

Service Provider Response

It is important to note that no work was performed for this customer. The three F reviews we have received on this site were all for projects where no actual work was performed and the 85 A reviews we have received were for projects that we actually built. So we obviously trust the quality of our work based on past results and impeccable reputation despite the unnecessary and mean spirited insult from this person. They described the scope of work and given our backlog with our standard deck and porch projects I politely declined. Maybe it would have been better if I had ignored them altogether to avoid this slight but I typically at least do a courtesy follow up whether we are interested in the project or not and people generally appreciate that I at least responded. I continue to be extremely disappointed in Angie's List for allowing a customer for whom no work was performed to slam us like this despite the thousands upon thousands of dollars I have spent with them in the last several years on advertising. This is why I decided not to renew advertising for this year and will never pay them one more dime in the future.
5.0

10/09/2018


Marianne M.

My deck looks bigger, I didn’t lose light in my kitchen and I can sit outside without being swarmed by mosquitoes. Thanks Phil for the great work!

Description of Work
My deck was updated with a screened pergola and mesh roof for shade.

Category decks

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the review but I believe you have us mixed up with another company? I would hate to I take a review away from somebody else for whom this was intended.
5.0

09/03/2018


randy L.

We did a full year-down and rebuild with trex, and we extended the deck to add a large tiled covered area with the eze-breeze screen/window system. These guys were great. We renovated the whole house and this was by far the smoothest experience I’ve ever had with a contractor. They would even tell me a week ahead of time if they needed to miss a day or start late due to needing to finish up another job, so I was never left guessing when they’d show up. They were very organized and easy to work with. Things got done right the first time and on schedule. They finished the project last fall, and we’ve had no problems at all (I always wonder about reviews done too soon after completion so I intentionally waited a bit). One of the guys even built us a baby-gate with the extra materials, very nice to have it matching the rest of the work. The trex decking is great for the kids, no nails popping out or risk of splinters, and the covered area is like having another living room (their electrician even wired a spot to hang a tv). I recommend these guys all the time.

Description of Work
full deck replacement and extension

Category decks, woodworking, sunrooms, patios

Service Provider Response

Thank you!
1.0

08/24/2018


Karen B.

I contacted Jeff at Charlotte Decks and Porches to get a quote on replacing our current deck with a Trex Composite Wood Deck. I was given a proposal that was much higher than I had expected. Jeff wanted to be paid in cash installments with the final payment made at the time the project was completed. Rather than cut corners to meet our budget, my husband and I opted to wait until the following spring when we had additional financing. We contacted Jeff again and this was his response to us and ours to him. Ultimately, Jeff did us a big favor, we did find another builder (with a great attitude) who did an absolute wonderful professional job - we couldn't be happier. -----Original Message----- From: jeff Sent: Tue, Aug 22, 2017 3:50 pm Subject: Re: New CDP Site Contact Email Attached are the three quotes I did for you last year. I already spent too much time on this project (meeting in person, several phone conversations, three quotes, and an invoice and contract after a verbal commitment) to make it worth revisiting and starting the estimate process all over again and feel you would be better off starting over with a different company. I hope you find a good company to assist you. Jeff Waldron Charlotte Decks & Porches, LLC 704.650.1447 charlottedecksandporches.com NCGC License #73985 Jeff, Thank you for providing the copies of the previous proposals. Part of salesmanship in business is working with your prospective clients to a) make sure they fully understand what they are purchasing and b) to build goodwill. People don't buy decks everyday, so your job is to educate them on the products you have and the services your company can provide. The other aspect is providing good customer service, in this area you have sorely missed. Two of the bids you submitted are identical with the exception of one word and were issued within hours of each other. The third proposal was issued a few days later and had only two lines different from the first two. I am sorry that you have elected not to do business with us, without even asking why the delay. I am also sorry that you have found it necessary to alienate a prospective customer because you were asked to "change a few items" in your proposal. I seem to detect a bit of anger that we didn't sign your contract when you wanted us too. But it is best that we had this discussion now and not after the contract was signed and payment had been rendered. Thank you for your time, I will be posting your comments along with my official response and reviews on the Better Business Bureau website, the South Charlotte Vendors referral pages and Angie's List.

Description of Work
Deck Replacement (approx value $35-40K)

Category decks

Service Provider Response

Okay- I have a whole lot to say about this one but I will try my best to sum it up. It is important to note that no actual work was performed for this client. Both F ratings I have received in all my years on Angie's List came from clients where no actual work was performed. All other 83 ratings have been an A on projects where actual work was performed so I believe our record speaks for itself in that regard. 1. First off it is very disappointing that Angie's List would even post this review from a client where no actual work was performed without getting my side of the story first- even after I have spent tens of thousands of dollars with them in advertising. It is one of the main reasons I am discontinuing all advertising with them and they will not get another dollar from me when our current contract expires. 2. I initially met with this client a couple years ago about a potential project. I got a formal estimate back to her within a day or two and they decided to make some adjustments so I sent a second estimate and then a third estimate. Then she said they would like to move forward with my company. At that point with a verbal commitment I blocked off a spot in our busy schedule and sent a written contract to be signed and make it official. After a week went by with no response I decided to call to follow up. When I got her on the phone she spoke down to me in the most condescending way imaginable and was so irritated that I had the nerve to call and ask about the contract I sent- even though I was told adamantly before that they were set to go and to please put them on the schedule. The phone call ended abruptly and I figured that was that and took them off the schedule. 3. Fast forward one year. This client filled out the contact form on my website for the same project and obviously did not realize that we were the same company that she had out the previous year. Then I sent the succinct response she posted above with the way she spoke to me during our last conversation very fresh in my mind. I even sent back the three quotes I did for them to refresh her memory and declined to go any farther with this project and wished her well with finding a different company. Then she sent me the long response above basically telling me how bad I am at running my company despite our impeccable track record with all other clients and threatening to slam me in all of these online forums. I decided not to respond further as I could see this would only escalate and the only one that would be hurt by it would be me and my company. I wish she could've taken a minute and thought about the way she had treated me when I made an on site visit, did three estimates, several phone calls, and got a verbal commitment and sent out a contract- all for free. I feel she placed no value on my time whatsoever and was very mean spirited toward me. No contractor deserves to be treated this way. 3. I'm not sure why she claims I asked for cash payment but this is completely false. This makes it sound like I am some shady, under the table contractor and is very offensive. We only accept check or credit card as payment. That may be what she means but with all the "contractors" out there that do try to do projects for actual cash it is important that I make this distinction.
5.0

07/22/2018


DARLENE E.

We have been considering either rebuilding our deck or add a porch for 3 years. Jeff was very patient with us as we weighed all options and costs. Ultimately, we decided to just rebuild a larger deck using trex materials. Great communication and a great crew to do the work. Highly recommend this company,

Description of Work
Built a 14 x 20 Trex deck

Category decks

Service Provider Response

Thank you and it was our pleasure!
5.0

04/12/2018


Justin G.

Working with Jeff and his team could not have been better. We were 100% satisfied and will certainly recommend Charlotte Decks and Porches without hesitation.

Description of Work
New deck and covered porch

Category decks

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the kind words!
5.0

03/29/2018


Carmen H.

Jeff Waldron and his crew did an excellent job. Jeff was extremely organized and kept us informed every step of the way. Timelines were kept as promised and Jeff was on top of the project from start to finish. His crew was very professional, hard working and friendly.

Description of Work
Tore down old deck and replaced with a 15' X 20' Trex composite deck

Category decks

Service Provider Response

Thank you and my pleasure!
5.0

12/22/2017


Jennifer F.

So happy we chose Charlotte Decks and Porches. Jeff, the owner, is professional and courteous and willing to communicate about all aspects of the job. He even invited us to his home to see the covered porch he built for himself. One huge advantage is that Jeff does not hire subcontractors to do the work (except for the painting). His carpenters are employed by Charlotte Decks and Porches and even wear their logo uniform shirts/jackets. Thank you, Jeff, for your outstanding work. And thank you to your crew of carpenters.

Description of Work
Brand new covered deck

Category decks

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much and enjoy your beautiful porch!
5.0

11/06/2017


Eric M.

Jeff and team built a very structural sound screened in porch and deck for my family. Charlotte Deck and Porches was very responsive to all of our questions and concerns and paid attention to details. The professionalism and expertise was shown throughout the project. I would definitely recommend Charlotte Deck and Porches.

Description of Work
Screened in porch and connected deck.

Category decks

Service Provider Response

Thank you!
5.0

09/07/2017


Kristen O.

I had Jeff come out to provide an estimate and I showed him one picture of a porch I had in mind and he created that porch for me! Jeff and his team is highly professional, reliable and hard working. Responsiveness to concerns or general questions was immediate in most cases. I am thrilled with my porch and I would highly recommend Charlotte Decks and Porches to build yours!

Description of Work
Screened in porch

Category decks

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the nice review!
5.0

09/05/2017


Tara L.

Fantastic! Jeff is professional and punctual, but ultimately I chose him after many quotes because he didn't blink an eye when I wanted to add anything outside of a traditional screened in porch to customize to our liking. I love everything about our porch.

Description of Work
We hired Charlotte Porch and decks to design and build our screened in porch.

Category decks

Service Provider Response

Thank you and my pleasure!
5.0

08/24/2017


Kim K.

Success! The porch is beautiful and looks original to the house. Jeff and his teams completed work as promised and even came back to right a wrong, no debate. A very professional group!

Description of Work
We hired Charlotte Decks and Porches to tear down an old deck, and replace with a smaller Trex-style deck and a covered porch.

Category decks

Service Provider Response

Thank you!
5.0

07/16/2017


Sarah B.

We are very excited about our beautiful covered patio and would hire Jeff again; he quickly returned e-mails, kept me advised of the work schedule, and made sure the craftsmanship met high standards. I could not have asked for better customer service throughout the project.

Description of Work
I had a covered 14' X 23' covered patio built with a 14' X 34' stamped concrete floor. This project also included the installation of two fans and other electrical work (i.e. two receptacles, floodlight, and four lights on a dimmer)

Category decks

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much!
5.0

06/05/2017


Frank S.

Great. Did what was expected and very experienced crew.

Description of Work
Rebuilt deck

Category decks

5.0

04/01/2017


Paul D.

We were impressed by Charlotte Decks and Porches professionalism through the whole process. Jeff was good at communicating progress and who would be onsite. All the workers acted in a professional manner. We are more than happy with the quality of the finished product. Since completion we have been out there as much as we can for breakfast, dinner, evenings, etc.. The shade and fans make a huge difference with the heat and it is now a much more inviting atmosphere. I would recommend CDandP to anyone looking for a similar project. They may not be the absolute cheapest option, but they will deliver on overall quality and professionalism.

Description of Work
After searching several companies we contracted with Charlotte Decks and Porches to build a ~10x28ft covered porch over an existing paver patio to help with the summer heat here in Charlotte. Jeff understood exactly what we wanted. The porch was to match seamlessly into our existing home and include fans and outlets.

Category decks, patios

5.0

02/23/2017


Lynn S.

Jeff recently finished a beautiful deck for us. After consulting with him and finalizing the details his employee, Colby Parks, started . Every board and piece of TREX was meticulously measured and placed. We used TREX on the floor, steps and tops of railings. The wood was painted and the color is so matched it's seamless. They did a wonderful job and we would highly recommed them.

Description of Work
Tear down and build a new deck

Category decks

5.0

02/09/2017


Matthew W.

Excellent. Jeff and his crew knew exactly what they were doing. Jeff showed me pictures of ideas that we used and gave us great advice on what not to do. He is very straight forward so know that he does not sugarcoat anything. That I liked. No sales gimmicks. Jeff the contractor himself will quote the job not a salesperson who you will never see again.

Description of Work
We added a new 16 x 24 stamped concrete porch with a new 16 x 16 open covering

Category decks

5.0

12/30/2016


Steven R.

Just wanted to take a moment to thank Jeff Waldron (designer/owner) and the builder Colby Parks for the excellent construction on the deck. The hot tub is in place and we are enjoying the new space immensely. Its given our home life a new dimension with the amount of quality time we are spending outside. And, the construction is outstanding. The county inspector who performed the final inspection finished and drove off. He came back a couple of minutes later and knocked on our door to tell us we had an impressive deck. He said the construction was some of the best he had ever seen. That's quite a compliment, particularly since he made a point to come back for that sole purpose.

Description of Work
We added a 700+sf raised deck with pergola. It was also engineered to hold a hot tub. The deck was built as an extension to the house.

Category decks

5.0

12/02/2016


Crystal M.

Jeff and his team came on high recommendation from a friend. They did excellent work replacing an old deck in our backyard into a hill grade that was previously non functional. Jeff worked personally with us to design a layout that met our needs and was customized to create more a more functional outdoor space. Him and his team were extremely responsive to all of our questions and needs. We love the new deck and would highly recommend Charlotte Decks & Porches to anyone looking for a creative, quality team to do the job.

Description of Work
Design and building a new deck

Category decks

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for the kind words! It was a pleasure to work with you as well.
5.0

09/13/2016


Michael S.

We threw Jeff and his crew quite a curveball. They had to rip up and haul off an existing concrete "builders patio," then lay down a 12x40 section of beautiful stamped concrete which spanned almost the entire back of the house. On about 17 ft of that stamped concrete, we asked them to build a screened porch with a gabled roof that t-boned into our existing roof. The roof shingles had to match the existing shingles on the house and the porch itself had to be build around a bay window and a chimney. The project included soffits, paint, gutters, screen, a screen door, 4 recessed lights, an external outlet, and a ceiling fan, including full permits and inspections for everything. In addition, we ran into weather issues where there was rain forecasted every day for a month, so how to take off part of the roof over the bay window and tie in the new roof? Jeff bought a gigantic tarp and draped it completely over the house and porch (it was a massive tarp). Sure enough, the night after they took the old roof apart and had to quit for the day, there was a torrential downpour. The tarp held up perfectly and there was zero water penetration into either the house or the roof. The next day they came back out, removed the tarp, and finished the roof. The communications with Jeff was unmatched. He quickly responded to each question and kept us up on next steps along the way. I have to say, the finished project exceeded our expectations. We would definitely recommend this company for any porch or deck projects. You might be able to find cheaper, but not with this quality and attention to detail. If you want it to last and be done right, this is the company!

Description of Work
12x17 screened porch plus an additional 12x23 patio area.

Category decks

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much and it was a pleasure to work with you. I hope you enjoy your porch and patio for many years to come!
5.0

06/25/2016


Anthony B.

Right from the start Jeff Waldron, the owner, was a pleasure to work with. He was right on top of his game when it came to responding to emails, changes to the job scope or concerns we may have had. He was very helpful in getting our new addition passed through the Home Owners Association quickly. His team of carpenters is top notch. They would take the time to answer questions or explain what they were doing. I found them to be very detail oriented in what they do. There work was excellent. They spent time every evening picking up and organizing their tools, ladders, and wood for the day so as not to have a mess over night or over the weekend. I would certainly recommend Charlotte Decks & Porches to anyone needing a new deck or porch. Thanks Jeff!

Description of Work
Added a new roof structure including support columns, railings, ceiling lights and fans over our deck.

Category decks

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for the kind words and it was a pleasure to work with you as well.
1.0

06/24/2016


DIANNE M.

The company's website suggest you fill out their form and submit online which I did. I also called and left message. After several days I called and left message again. Still no response. Even if you are not interested in the job which was replacing all the wood on my deck and stairs or too busy you could be courteous and respond and say so. Date is approximate just know was third or fourth week of March.

Description of Work
nothing

Category decks

Service Provider Response

I am very sorry I missed your inquiry. I can not find it in my inbox so it somehow never made it to me. There have definitely been a few times where this has happened and have notified my website manager to see if there is something we can do to make sure this does not happen again in the future. As far as the phone calls go- It is certainly possible I missed those as well. March through June is my absolute busiest time of year and this year was even more so than previous years. I try my best to get to everybody but am sometimes overwhelmed in the Spring. I am hoping to hire somebody for next Spring just to handle the inquiries for new projects. Thank you very much for your feedback as it highlights an area where I can strive to improve. -Jeff
5.0

05/20/2016


Bill B.

Jeff and his co-workers were excellent to work with from the beginning to the end of the project. Initially, we discovered rotted wood where the old deck was attached to the house. This was caused by a concealed leak in the plumbing....actually 3 different leaks in the same area. We had to delay the project until the leaks and damage had been repaired and then the work on the porch was resumed. I am a detail oriented person and Jeff worked with me on every detail and everything was completed to my satisfaction. I have been enjoying the porch even more than I thought I would.

Description of Work
Removed an outdated deck and built a 14 x 16 screened in porch.

Category decks

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for the positive feedback. I hope you enjoy your new porch for many years to come!
5.0

05/15/2016


Dean M.

I generally do not write reviews, but Jeff and his crew did a great job of working through several challenges with our deck project, including footers that had to be specially engineered because of soft soil conditions and wood rot on the house that was exposed once the old deck was removed. Jeff really understates the abilities of his team when you first meet with him, but these guys are great to work with and genuinely want to deliver a product that you will love and that they are proud to build. We got quotes from 3 contractors and Jeff was not the cheapest, but provided the best value in terms of what he delivered as the final product. I highly recommend Charlotte Deck and Porches if you need this type of work done at your home.

Description of Work
Jeff and his team took down our old deck and built an expanded version with Trex composite decking.

Category decks

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this kind review. I hope you enjoy your new deck for many years to come.

    Other local Pros in your area

    Bergen's Contracting & Repair Inc

    Since 1992 Bergen's Contracting & Repair, Inc has provided quality workmanship and excellent customer service to Charlotte and the surrounding areas. Home improvements and home repairs are our specialty. We offer the convenience of having one company perform both painting and repairs without the hassle of coordinating two companies to get the job done. We service the following areas: Charlotte, Pineville, Ballantyne, Matthews, Harrisburg, Monroe, Huntersville, Cornelius, Fort Mill, Tega Cay, Lake Wylie, and Rock Hill.  

    McCraw Custom Builders

    We specialize in custom decks! We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service! Call -or- click to schedule a free estimate today!  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2022
    Top Exteriors

    We have the experience and dedication to bring your dreams to reality! We guarantee your satisfaction, and we won’t leave until the job is done right. Our team has quality experience in this industry, and we make sure our customers are happy before we leave. Call or click to schedule an estimate today!  

    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover
    Senior Discount
    No
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Construction - Decks, Porches & Pergolas

    Services Not Offered

    Repairs.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Charlotte Decks & Porches

    How is Charlotte Decks & Porches overall rated?

    Charlotte Decks & Porches is currently rated 5 overall out of 5.

    What days are Charlotte Decks & Porches open?

    Charlotte Decks & Porches is open:

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    What payment options does Charlotte Decks & Porches provide

    Charlotte Decks & Porches accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover

    Does Charlotte Decks & Porches offer free estimates?

    Yes, Charlotte Decks & Porches offers free project estimates.

    Does Charlotte Decks & Porches offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Charlotte Decks & Porches does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Charlotte Decks & Porches offer a senior discount?

    No, Charlotte Decks & Porches does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Charlotte Decks & Porches?

    Yes, Charlotte Decks & Porches offers warranties.

    What services does Charlotte Decks & Porches offer?

    Charlotte Decks & Porches offers the following services: Construction - Decks, Porches & Pergolas

    Are there any services Charlotte Decks & Porches does not offer?

    Repairs.