Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Andrew Roby General Contractor Inc

Founded 1950 • With Angi since February 1998

4.4

(42) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

2000 W Morehead St

Charlotte, NC 28208

Description

Andrew Roby is the premier custom residential contractor in the Carolinas, serving homeowners in Charlotte and Boone, NC. Specializing in new construction, custom homes, additions, kitchen and bath renovations, and handyman services, Andrew Roby "makes it home" for clients through exceptional quality, craftsmanship and customer service. The firm has built a portfolio of one-of-a-kind projects, thriving on lifetime bonds with homeowners, architects and designers....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

12/21/2017


james M.

Very satisfied. They designed and built a very nice bedroom, including a dormer window with window seat, and a spa-like bathroom. The process went extremely well from start to finish, and I am very pleased with the addition. Everyone I dealt with at Andrew Roby was very professional, always courteous, and highly skilled in their job. The price was definitely more than I originally anticipated, but the quality of the workmanship, and the peace of mind of having very trustworthy and professional people to deal with made it worth the cost to me. They stayed on budget, and finished slightly early. They are perfectionists, and they made sure all subcontractor's work was done to my satisfaction, and at times, I was o.k. with the work, but my AR project manager was not satisfied, so he had them come back and correct some flaws that I had not noticed. I highly recommend, and am using them for additional projects at my home.

Description of Work
Built a bedroom and bathroom including adding a dormer window in an unfinished attic space on second floor of my home.

Category custom cabinets, contractors, ceramic tile, drywall, electrician, remodeling, roofing, woodworking

2.0

03/22/2016


Jason R.

Terrible. They are high priced and they ignored me. I spoke with them about having some handyman-work performed, and I had to continue calling them to get status. They told me that they were working on the proposal, and they finally just ignored me. They never called me back. Not recommended.

Description of Work
They wound up ignoring me, so they didn't perform the service.

Category handyman service, remodeling

Service Provider Response

Hi [Member Name Removed], We sincerely apologize for the poor level of service you received from our company. We pride ourselves on going above and beyond for our clients and providing top notch customer service, and we obviously failed here. Thank you for taking the time to leave this review and bring this to our attention. We will use your feedback to improve our internal system of communication. We are sorry you slipped through the cracks. Thanks again for your feedback. Sincerely, The Andrew Roby and Robee Handyman Teams
5.0

08/31/2015


Susan H.

We are selling our home of 16 years in Ballantyne. Deferred maintenance was a problem. From my first contact to the present day, I could not have been more happy with the services and personal attention Alex gave us. All the workers were professional and personable, and ON TIME! Alex answered my phone calls, and paid attention to all my concerns. He really listened and helped me find ways to save money and still make the house beautiful. I would strongly recommend your company to anyone needing construction work. Thank you for making a difficult situation much less stressful!

Description of Work
exterior painting, replacing windows, mason work on pathways and a patio, deck repair, refinished wood floors, carpeting, To come : pressure washing, interior painting, electrical work and plumbing.

Category decks, electrician, masonry, plumbing, remodeling, replacement windows, deck cleaning, house painters, interior painters

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the positive feedback, [removed member's name]! We appreciate your busy and wish you all the best with the sale of your home!
5.0

06/10/2015


Matthew C.

I was very impressed from start to finish, excellent communication regarding some unforeseen problems discovered during work, discussing any changes to estimates resulting from those discoveries, still kept cost slightly below original estimate, completed in timely fashion and appropriately supervised workers.

Description of Work
Did major structural repairs including roof repairs, replacing 4 very large and 14 smaller structural columns, replacing rotted wood and some windows and painting a 100 year old home.

Category remodeling, roofing, replacement windows, structural engineer

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the positive feedback, [member name removed]!
3.0

06/09/2015


laura W.

Once they got to our home, the work itself was done well and those that performed the work were professional and helpful. The work supervisor, Buddy was very helpful and accomodating. Really enjoyed working with him. My frustration came in with the project manager. I reached out around June 19th or so. Didn't hear anything from anyone so I emailed again on June 26th. Finally met with him on or around July 11th. Duirng that time, we had made some changes but didn't get the estimate on the work until Aug 12th with an apology for the delay. Going back to the emails, I think I have 6 "apologies for the delay" emails. Work finally began on or about Sept 1. Adjustments needed to be made to the bill but I never got the new invoice. I had to reach out in November to get the final. I received the final invoice in December. I again reached out to Andrew Roby for siding work. Reached out in January, sent some pictures to the project manager and never heard back until March at which point I finally received an invoice on additional carpentry repair that was done in December . At that point I told them to never mind and informed him that I would no longer be using them. While I do appreciate the work they did and the work was done well, the overall responsiveness by the project manager made me go elsewhere. I got the feeling that the handy man work I was asking for may have been too small for this company, in which case, they should have mentioned up front. If you don't mind waiting forever for things to happen, you'll be happy. Again, the work itself was done well and the folks that came out were great.

Description of Work
Carpentry work Build and install shelves Removal and replacement of window stools Installation of of two storm doors Electrical work

Category electrician, handyman service, remodeling, replacement windows, doors

Service Provider Response

Hi (removed member name), Thank you for your review and feedback. We sincerely apologize that you had a negative experience with our company. This type of service is not acceptable and we have addressed the issue internally. We pride ourselves on going above and beyond for our clients and providing excellent customer service, and are sorry that you did not receive this type of service. We are happy to hear that you are pleased with the work that we performed onsite and will share your positive feedback with Buddy. Thanks again for your review and making us aware of this situation. Sincerely, The Andrew Roby Team
5.0

05/16/2015


Kathleen F.

This contractor is every woman's dream. I work full time, and every day I came home to more progress and no mess! They clean up after themselves each and every day, install barrier curtains at all entries into other parts of your home. Construction debris left outside is picked up within a day or so. They bring a Porta-Jon to your property, so no one is using your private bathrooms. Very few days passed without some work being done on the project. The estimate did not include unexpected rot around our four kitchen windows. Drew Devine, the project manager, brought a window company expert to our house and, after determining what brand and style of replacement windows we wanted, gave us an accurate estimate for the windows and labor. This was the only change order to our original estimate. Drew mistakenly assumed we wanted windows with grilles to match the remaining windows in our home. We did not because we use plantation shutters in our kitchen windows and had removed the grilles from the old windows. He ordered the windows with grilles, but immediately fixed the problem by ordering replacements and not charging us for the mistake. He admitted that he should have asked. A few minor mistakes were made during the three-month process but, in every instance, Andrew Roby bent over backward to rectify the errors and satisfy us with the end result. Charles Elkins, the executive superintendent, even took my nineteen-year-old plantation shutters to his personal property and spray painted them to look brand new. He installed new hardware and saved us hundreds of dollars by doing so. I can't say enough about the quality of work done by this contractor. You may get a lower bid, but you will not find the quality or level of customer satisfaction anywhere else. My husband has always done our remodeling projects since he built our house in 1981, so he was very, very particular about the standard of construction and painting. Even he was impressed! The carpentry was superb! Rob installed sills and trim that totally changed the look of my kitchen and made it look incredibly nicer! This contractor remodeled my boss?s kitchen last year, so I hired them on her recommendation. I have my dream kitchen as a result!

Description of Work
Totally gutted our thirty-three-year-old kitchen and mud room and replaced everything, including subfloor support, four kitchen windows, exterior siding on rotted wood around windows. Applied bead board to walls, installed tile flooring, granite countertop, backsplash tile, new custom cabinets, set appliances and installed new plumbing and electrical. Our electrical was not up to current code.

Category custom cabinets, contractors, ceramic tile, electrician, plumbing, remodeling, replacement windows, woodworking, marble & granite, home remodeling, cabinet refacing

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the positive review, (removed member name)! We are glad to hear that you are enjoying your new kitchen!
5.0

04/27/2015


Margarita W.

This has not been my first time using him. They are very personable and even though things don't go the way that they are supposed to go at the beginning, he is anxious to please and will work with you to try and get things the way that you want them ultimately.

Description of Work
Andrew Roby General Contractor Inc have had an ongoing project with us for over a year. They have been doing an addition on the house, a new roof, a lot of out door work and window work.

Category roofing, structural engineer

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the positive feedback, Ms. [member name removed]. We appreciate your business!
5.0

01/02/2015


Audrey M.

I had a personal recommendation from somebody. My interactions with them were good and the work they did turned out very good.

Description of Work
I used a local company called Andrew Roby. They did a kitchen and bathroom remodel for me.

Category home remodeling

5.0

01/01/2015


joan H.

After receiving the report from a structural engineer, I began interviewing contractors to do the recommended repairs. The more contractors I interviewed the more questions and confusion I had. Who understood the core issues, could explain them to me, could push back against the structural engineer for clarifying data? Who could I trust? I turned to a trusted contractor who'd worked on a neighbor's house. He volunteered to review the proposals I'd received. (The repairs I needed were not in his line of work.) None of the proposals had the detail he'd expect. He recommended Andrew Roby Contractors. My first call was a day or two before Christmas and I got a prompt response. Although away for the holiday, the representative worked with my deadline (and I with his vacation) and we scheduled an appointment for later that week. Throughout the project, I worked with with project manager Drew Devine. New in his career, Drew was professional, polite, articulate, motivated, attentive, thorough and persevering. He honored my many questions and sought answers. Still learning, he asked if he could bring a construction veteran to look at the house and consult. Ron joined him on a visit. His experience and unhurried ease put me at ease. Ron explained what could be explained and acknowledged what couldn't. With a careful choice of words he confirmed my concerns about the structural engineer's work. Ron's professionalism in acknowledging seemingly unprofessional behavior told me I was dealing with someone ethical. That spoke volumes. The icing on the cake came a day or so later. At Drew's recommendation I called a different structural engineer, Marcel Papineau, to talk about having his company create working drawings. Marcel asked who had come to the house and what the issues were. I told him I was working with Drew Devine and he'd brought a seasoned construction guy named Ron to look over his shoulder. Marcel sounded puzzled, paused, then explained, "Joan, do you know who Ron is? He's president of the company." I like that neither Drew nor Ron traded on Ron's status but rather focused on his experience, which was what was needed. I like that Ron supported Drew as the lead in the contracting relationship. That's leadership. Looking back, I realize how taxing I must have been with my ongoing questions and time-consuming interest in details. Yet Drew and his colleagues were unfailingly respectful and patient. Andrew Roby Co. is not inexpensive. The way I see it, I paid extra for fine construction results and pro-active communication in the process.

Description of Work
Corrected faulty foundation work. Previous owners had new HVAC ductwork installed and the contractor cut clean through the foundation joists then rebuilt supports well enough to pass inspection but not the test of time. House developed interior cracks in drywall, sloping floors and doors that did not close. Underneath the house, Andrew Roby Co. correctedly supported the joists, rerouted ducts in order to add necessary piers, and rebuilt existing piers to code. Inside the house, drywall was repaired and prepped for painting. The results: a level floor, doors that close, walls that are whole. Structural intregity restored.

Category remodeling

5.0

04/09/2014


Tom C.

They were on time and did a good job quickly.

Description of Work
Cleared and minor repair on old copper gutters.

Category remodeling

3.0

01/20/2014


KAREN & MITCHELL W.

Our communication with them was less than desirable. They were pretty rude. They said they couldn't be bothered, didn't have any time and not interested. The guy got back to me on the phone. He gave me like a rough quote on the phone. He didn't even want to come out and he said I got to get it on to tech and I felt like I was a hot potato. He wasn't just accommodating. I didn't like him. I would have like them to say that they will come out and take a look but he's not going to do none of that. His estimate was very high. It was more than most of the other contractors. It's like and ldquo;I don't want to waste my time with youand rdquo; attitude.

Description of Work
Andrew Roby General Contractor gave me a quote to do a pretty sizeable addition.

Category remodeling

5.0

09/09/2013


Kirk H.

Andrew Roby coordinated a lot of work for us. Everything has gone very smoothly. I would highly recommend them for ANY size job. They did a great job with their work.

Description of Work
They have done several contracting jobs for me, small and large.

Category contractors, gutter repair, roofing, replacement windows, skylights, woodworking

Service Provider Response

Thank you, [member name removed] for the positive review! It's a pleasure to serve you over the years and we appreciate your business.
3.0

08/29/2013


Norman G.

Slow to respond and did not finish total expected job. Called and they came back to finish.

Description of Work
Repaired slate steps on porch

Category remodeling

5.0

06/26/2013


Sarah C.

They were just very, very thorough. They want their customers to make sure they knew what they wanted. They did an absolutely first class proposal, which is excellent ranged, detailed and well-written. They put everything that they intended to do. They did a really good job on estimating and proposing. If I would be doing more remodeling, I would have them in.

Description of Work
I got a quote from Andrew Roby General Contractor for building an art studio.

Category remodeling

Service Provider Response

(member name removed) - Thanks so much for your positive review! Would love the opportunity to serve you in the future.
5.0

06/07/2013


LYNN W.

Everybody was nice and I did think of doing it, but my neighbor found a friend of a friend and we went there, otherwise I would have had hired him. My impression of them was great. I know them by reputation and when I called, I called my neighbor and got the contact name that they had used up there, and the person was really nice and everything was the way I would expect.

Description of Work
We go a bid from Andrew Roby General Contractor to repair my mailbox.

Category masonry

Service Provider Response

(member name removed) - THANK YOU for the nice review and of course for the opportunity to serve you!
1.0

02/04/2013


Amanda G.

I scheduled an appointment for a contractor with Andrew Roby to come and give us an estimate on several jobs at our home. We also wanted them to repair the wires hanging out of our wall from where they installed a TV for us some time back (The wires hang out TWO FEET and they have never come to fix the issue even after phone calls on it). Some items were small and others larger. Contractor was two hours late BEYOND a two hour window of arriving. Only showed up because we called as to where he was. He was then in our home for three hours. He assured us he would have us an estimate emailed by the first of the following week. This was a Wednesday. No word by the following Wednesday so we called the contractor we met with. He promised to have the quote completed and emailed to us by Friday or first thing the following Monday. Yet again, the following THURSDAY rolled around. No word! Called the main office to speak with someone in charge. Got a return phone call three hours later from both the person in charge and the contractor that met with us. They called us back to back as if standing in the room together. Apology message said they would send the quote right over. You guessed it...MONDAY rolled around and still no quote. Called and talked to the and quot;man in chargeand quot; again. He stated, and quot;I'm sorry (as he chuckled) but we haven't been very good to you and since we haven't done anything as we promised, I don't know why you'd even want to use us for the work at your home. I sure wouldn't use us. That is why we didn't go ahead and send you the quote.and quot; Well straight from the and quot;man in chargeand quot;...and quot;I wouldn't use usand quot;. Exactly! This company has gone downhill over the years. They are irresponsible and unprofessional. Certainly not to be trusted. Do yourself a favor and do not waste your valuable time. A complete disappointment.

Description of Work
Estimate for new remodel, repair on previous job.

Category remodeling

5.0

07/16/2012


Cindy D.

They were friendly and were very prompt. They gave me different ideas on what we can do.

Description of Work
I got a quote from Andrew Roby General Contractor Inc. for an awning.

Category awnings

Service Provider Response

Thanks, [remove member name] for the review and the opportunity to serve you!
5.0

02/08/2011


Elizabeth M.

They did the work in the whole fall of 2009. They listened to our needs and worked with us. They paid attention to detail and cleanliness. They probably could have planned the timing of the project a little more efficiently. They provided quality work and this was the second renovation we've used them for.

Description of Work
We used Andrew Roby General Contractor to do renovations on three bathrooms in our house. They did painting, plumbing, tile and windows.

Category ceramic tile, plumbing, remodeling, replacement windows, home remodeling, interior painters

Service Provider Response

(member name removed) - thank you for the review and of course the opportunity to work with you over the years!
5.0

01/11/2011


DOUG D.

There was something wrong and they made sure we were well satisfied.

Description of Work
They put in a new garage door. It was challenging since they were odd ball sizes for the doors.

Category garage doors

1.0

08/09/2010


Abney H.

We called these folks for an estimate. They came, took notes, discussed possibilities and said they would be back in touch within the week to come back with an electrician. A week came and went and we called. They said they were trying to schedule a day with the electrician. WE NEVER HEARD FROM THEM AGAIN.

Description of Work
None.

Category remodeling, home remodeling

5.0

07/17/2010


LINDA R.

This company was a little slow to respond to an initial request for services. Once the job began, they were very responsive. They replaced a cracked wooden door and installed interlocking weatherstripping and replaced dormer siding and rotten wood on fascia. The painters that they used were very meticulous. They did an absolutely excellent job. I have not seen craftsmanship in carpentry or painting that equals theirs in over 20 years of living in Charlotte. All the workers involved were very professional and polite.

Description of Work
Front door replaced including weatherstripping, painting, hardware installation. Rotten wood replaced and painted on siding and fasica.

Category contractors, house painters

3.0

07/15/2010


Thomas G.

The bid was too high and we went with another company.

Description of Work
I called them for an estimate for a bathroom remodel.

Category home remodeling

5.0

07/13/2010


Howard S.

He has a very good reputation. He does very good work. He does a lot of work on high-end homes. As far as I know, he still has a good reputation. He is competitive. I will use him again in the future.

Description of Work
I used Andrew Roby General Contractor Inc. He did an addition on my house, 20 years ago.

Category remodeling

3.0

03/05/2010


Deborah S.

On their website it gives you the impression that they will be able to help with smaller jobs, and I was also told this over the phone during our first interaction. It seems that budgeting constraints might be issues with them, and they seemed more interested in bigger jobs with unlimited funding although their estimate was very accurate.

Description of Work
I contacted Andrew Roby General Contractor about an estimate.

Category remodeling, home remodeling

5.0

10/04/2008


LAURA P.

It was great. His personnel was very professional. They were punctual and courteous. I was comfortable with them in my home. Their price was fair and I would recommend them to others.

Description of Work
He replaced some damaged wood around the garage doors, had it painted to get it ready installation.

Category contractors, remodeling, house painters

    Other local Pros in your area

    Gutter World

    Gutter World has been in business for over 14 years , with offices in three states NC, SC, and OH. The company is built on family values and integrity. We offer quality service at an affordable price. Contact us today about an estimate! 5% discount offered to Military and Seniors.  

    Offers by Gutter World on Angi
    Gamezing

    We guarantee your satisfaction and we won’t leave until the job is done right. We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service! Check out our services offered and call or click to schedule a free estimate today.  

    The Brothers That Just Do Gutters

    The Brothers That Just Do Gutters is a fully insured, locally owned and operated. The company was established in 1999. From the beginning, the focus and determination was to create a five-star experience in the home residential and commercial remodeling construction industry. We are committed to our employees and clients throughout every phase of the solution. Call today for a free experience of getting a solution for your gutter or guard project.  

    General Information
    Free Estimates
    No
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover
    Senior Discount
    No
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    New construction, custom homes, additions, remodeling, kitchen and bath renovations, historic renovations, handyman services.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Andrew Roby General Contractor Inc

    How is Andrew Roby General Contractor Inc overall rated?

    Andrew Roby General Contractor Inc is currently rated 4.4 overall out of 5.

    What days are Andrew Roby General Contractor Inc open?

    Andrew Roby General Contractor Inc is open:

    Monday: 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    What payment options does Andrew Roby General Contractor Inc provide

    Andrew Roby General Contractor Inc accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover

    Does Andrew Roby General Contractor Inc offer free estimates?

    No, Andrew Roby General Contractor Inc does not offer free project estimates.

    Does Andrew Roby General Contractor Inc offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Andrew Roby General Contractor Inc offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Andrew Roby General Contractor Inc offer a senior discount?

    No, Andrew Roby General Contractor Inc does not offer a senior discount.

    Does Andrew Roby General Contractor Inc offer emergency services?

    Yes, Andrew Roby General Contractor Inc offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Andrew Roby General Contractor Inc?

    Yes, Andrew Roby General Contractor Inc offers warranties.

    What services does Andrew Roby General Contractor Inc offer?

    Andrew Roby General Contractor Inc offers the following services: New construction, custom homes, additions, remodeling, kitchen and bath renovations, historic renovations, handyman services.