Advance Contractors

About

Founded 2004 • With Angi since March 2004

Advance Contracting Group, LLC is the Charlotte area's premier painting, roofing, siding and gutter company. With over a decade of outstanding service and thousands of satisfied customers in region, call us today for a free consultation and estimate on your next project....

Awards and Badges

Angi Certified

Verified Reviews

4.4

(152) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

106

4

17

3

9

2

12

1

8

Rating Details

Price

4.6

Professionalism

4.5

Punctuality

4.5

Quality

4.4

Responsiveness

4.4

Read reviews by category

house painting (90)interior painting (64)wallpaper removal (8)pressure washing (11)woodworking (10)general contractors (9)deck cleaning (6)siding companies (6)drywall (6)roofing (4)gutter cleaning (4)gutter repair (2)
Showing 1-25 of 152 reviews
5.0

02/10/2022


John M.

It was very good. I used them four times. They were very reasonable in their pricing and the work is the best in terms of quality.

Description of Work
They did interior painting.

Category interior painters

Cost $3,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/27/2022

5.0

02/07/2022


Seth S.

Awesome. Professionalism all around and great work. The crew was at our house every morning at 8AM and would only break for lunch. They were very thorough throughout the whole project and kept us up to speed with their progress. Britt, the sales rep, was quick to come out and give us quote. He quickly got back to us with a competitive and reasonable price. Overall, I couldn’t have asked for a better experience or company to work with.

Description of Work
Exterior

Category house painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/07/2022

5.0

09/06/2018


Loretta V.

Paint job was great, siding replacement wasn't done according to contract, phone calls not returned until BBB contacted.

Description of Work
Exterior painting and siding repair

Category siding, house painters

Cost $2,618

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/02/2008

5.0

09/27/2017


Mary Beth C.

I was very pleased. Javier and his wife were absolutely a pleasure to have in the house. They came on time, worked fast and efficiently, and did a beautiful job. Everything was cleaned up perfectly. One of the best painting experiences we have had in our nearly 40 years in this house.

Description of Work
Repaired water damage to plaster and completely painted several ceilings: bedroom, bathroom, hall, den, kitchen and breakfast room.

Category interior painters

Cost $1,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/25/2017

2.0

09/19/2017


J B.

The work crew was to be wearing company polo shirts and white pants as their uniforms...they were wearing a paint company's T--shirt. They arrived over an hour late on the first day blaming the weather this despite confirmation of their arrival time knowing the weather forecast. There was supposed to be a project foreman according to their general manager and paperwork. This person was to come and view the job periodically. We never met him/her. We did receive a voice mail message from an unknown person who stated the job was to start on the the following week. The general manager assured me, repeatedly, that this was a vetted crew with lots of experience. He also stated that he or his co-worker would personally visit our home to ensure the work was being done properly. He never appeared despite daily calls requesting his presence. Once the work crew arrived, they reviewed the requested work and left for an hour and a half to buy supplies. The actual work did not begin until well into the afternoon. They were to gather furniture in the center of the room and drape everything. They didn't. Thankfully I had most of the furniture moved in advance of their arrival. They did not drape my hardwood floors. They got a significant amount of paint on my sofa. They faked not being able to speak English until the end of the job when I used my limited Spanish to converse and suddenly they were able to speak broken English. They brought in a female without any introduction to assist on the project. We learned after that job was complete that this company hires subcontractors to complete the work. No where on their website, in conversations with the general manager or on initial estimate paperwork is this indicated. Work was shoddy at best. My spouse and I needed to remain onsite to point out all of their repeat mistakes. Including poor drywall repair of nail pops and crack filling throughout the work. They spent a good portion of the time scrubbing off paint from my floors and trim since they failed to protect surfaces. They were in a hurry at the end of the second day and left stream of paint flowing down the wall. When pointed out the next day they tried to deny responsibility. Eventually they halfheartedly sanded and repainted. Some drip marks remain. They cracked a switch plate which I discovered later. They hide paint spills under my area rug. This was discovered the day after they finished by chance as I removed the rug for cleaning up all the dust they left behind. The ceiling work is splotchy at best. There are many areas they missed and did not properly cut in with a paint brush, instead they used a massive roller to go around canister light fixtures and pendants. They used my water hose outside without permission and left a mess on the side of my house of paint and on the hose. I had confirmed with the general manager, IN ADVANCE, that the crew would not need any access to my utilities. They arrived late every morning without a courtesy phone call to advise me of their delay. Their van leaked oil in my driveway and stained it. The list could go on and on. Many folks might say that my review is nit picky but after paying thousands for a professional job, the company representatives should have been honest about their mistakes and shortcomings. They should have had integrity to admit their damages. Instead, they earned a negative review.

Description of Work
Interior painting of 20' ceilings and walls

Category drywall, interior painters

Cost $3,000

Services Performed? Yes

4.0

07/10/2017


JIM G.

The work done while the rep was there was fine but felt like we needed to hurry because of the cost --- charged by the half hour and not cheap. He had some parts on the truck so must have been charged for them, too. Shocking $800+ for 4 hours.

Description of Work
Moved to a used 1980's home and needed many electrical things done. From installing floor electric plugs to replacing basement ballasts to changing switch wiring for overhead and separate ceiling fan/light combinations, just needed more things done.

Category electrician, house painters

Cost $879

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/15/2017

4.0

07/02/2017


JIM G.

Though weather twice delayed the start of painting, once started, the painters accomplished the overall task. However, the job foreman was a little hard to understand with his English so communication about some details became frustrating. I called the office to have one of the operations managers to call me back -- never got a call back.

Description of Work
Exterior painting 2 story brick home

Category house painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/02/2017

5.0

05/07/2017


Janet F.

They did an excellent job and even came when the weather was borderline cold. It looks great. The only problem I had was communication with the main office. There were a few days they didn't show up when I was anticipating. When I called the main number to see if they were coming, the office said no due to weather. Then an hour later the crew showed up to work. But the crew did an excellent job.

Description of Work
I hired them to paint the exterior of the house. They also repaired a few places in the eaves that had started to degrade.

Category house painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/09/2017

2.0

03/05/2016


Loretta V.

JUST CONSIDER YOUR RESOURCES and stamina to hold them accountable each step of the way if past performance is any indicator of present behavior...and especially if you're an unattached female. It's September 2008. The crew showed up very early, between 6:30-7am to my surprise; expected them around 8. Were friendly and cordial throughout the process. No complaints with the initial paint job except that I'd had a new door installed on the attached storage shed and expressly asked that the door and hinges not be painted but it was done anyway. A month or so passed and I felt that since the back side of the house was exposed to the hottest sun it was apparent that a second coat was needed because it looked like the T1-11 siding had just soaked up the stain and appeared faded out, especially the sheets of baked and dried out T1-11 that were contracted to have been replaced but weren't. Not having ever had a house painted before I didn't know that the southern exposure should have dictated paint rather than stain for my particular situation but relied on their expertise. I called the General Manager who did the estimate and offered to pay the fee for a second coat but he didn't seem interested so I let that matter drop. (I later purchased the stain and did the second coat myself). When it came to replacing the sheets of T1-11 siding, that did not happen although it was listed on the contract. Two full sheets of siding were supposed to be replaced on the face of the chimney as well as on either side of the chimney above the roofline, the bottom edges of which had rotted. Only a small panel of T1-11, not a sheet, a thin veneer, about a third of a full sheet, was replaced on one side of the chimney at ground level and the seam where it was joined to the full sheet, which spanned the total width of the chimney surround, was left unsealed/unsecured and opened up after a rainstorm to reveal a lengthwise crack about a quarter inch wide or more...once the veneer dried the seam would re-close and become unnoticeable. I then called the office but my calls weren't returned. Only after I filed a claim with the BBB did Advance respond. At that point it was November 2008. The Field Mgr, not the General Mgr who did the estimate, came out to see what my concerns were and was cordial and professional. As they no doubt planned on me being tired of the whole ordeal, I reluctantly agreed to less work: -The seam was sealed -Instead of replacing the T1-11 siding at that point (which meant having to take off the trim that had been replaced on the face of the chimney as well and I didn't want that to be an issue later, on top of everything else) so I grudgingly agreed that they could just use some sort of putty that he suggested to fill in the rotted spots because the wood underneath the texture was supposed to be in such good shape still, however a refund was not offered after paying for FULL sheets of T1-11 to be replaced...he just kindly reminded me that I had a 5 year warranty but what good is that if all your energy has to be exhausted making calls that go unreturned and then have to go back to the BBB to get anything resolved when the work s/h been done correctly the first time and according to the contract and price paid. A neighbor that I had discussed the situation with prior to hiring Advance had suggested the putty stuff but since the T1-11 siding had seemed to be very dried out or baked by the southern exposure and not far from rotting, I had wanted the sheets replaced. The estimator from Advance had included replacing the two full sheets of T1-11 on the estimate so I was glad to see that my concerns had been addressed but then it didn't happen and the putty route was used instead. Some time after all this was settled via the BBB I had occasion to go on the roof and inspected their work while up there. The caulking of the trim looked like someone had turned a two-year old child loose with a caulk gun and there was absolutely no evidence that they intended it to be neat and professional. Maybe because I was a single female or didn't have the necessary resources to hold them accountable, ie husband, father or other male figure, they felt they didn't need to do their best work...or something. [Fast fwd 8 years and the trim on the upper part of the chimney around the chimney cap that was also on the contract and, was either not replaced and just painted over, has come loose again after only a few years, and am currently looking at trying to have the work done again..ALL of the wood rot and dried out siding that was supposed to have been replaced back then, as I shudder to contemplate another paint job in my near future if finances permit]

Description of Work
Stained T1-11 exterior of a two-story duplex townhouse and replaced rotted sections of siding and trim

Category contractors, siding, house painters

Cost $2,618

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/07/2008

4.0

11/23/2014


Julie M.

The power wash itself went fairly well although I noticed a few areas after the fact that I thought they should have cleaned a bit better which were either missed altogether or not fully washed. The real issue I had came with the actual scheduling of the work. I must have called at least four separate times trying to get someone to call me back, get me on the schedule or simply tell me they could actually do the job. I never received calls back; it took about four tries of me calling everyone from the front desk to the scheduling manager and heaps of confusion to finally get them to come out and complete the job. Throughout the process it felt as though they didn't want my business. While the finished job was satisfactory, I wouldn't use them again simply due to the lack of professionalism on the front end.

Description of Work
We contracted them for a power wash of our home.

Category pressure washing, house painters

Cost $300

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 11/21/2014

4.0

09/24/2014


Tom M.

they did everything the said they would do.

Description of Work
repaired rot and painted all trim on house

Category woodworking, house painters

Cost $3,900

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/01/2014

5.0

07/17/2014


Scott B.

First, I would say that this is the best experience I have ever had with a contractor. I have never worked with anyone as knowledgeable and honest as the estimator that came out from Advance. He offered terrific advice regarding the interior plans I had that allowed me to save about $2000 in cost that were going to go toward popcorn ceiling removal in my whole house. Instead I just had it removed in my bedroom and had a 2-piece crown molding installed. He was very straight forward about what they could and couldn't do and when they could do it. I felt as though every expectation that was set before the job started was met or exceeded. The finished project looks amazing. The painters were extremely courteous and skilled. They followed all of the protocols that the estimator explained during the initial estimate; they covered everything and were very careful with my things...I don't think I have seen a drop of paint out of place since they finished. The estimator came by toward the end of the day to check on everything and go over the work. The few items I pointed out were addressed and they even changed some of my higher light fixtures on the outside of my house which was completely out of the scope for what we agreed to. Clean up was very thorough and I think they even took the trash with them (I didn't see any bags in my cans and there is certainly not a spec in the house). This price included the popcorn ceiling removal, crown molding installation, and painting the walls and trim in the master bedroom and painting the walls in the entire open space of my home through the living room, dining room, foyer and hall. I would highly recommend Advance and with the wide range of services they provide I will certainly be using them again. I have already received very competitive quotes from them for my exterior painting and carpentry and for new gutters and gutter guards. I expect that they will end up doing that work as well considering how well this project went.

Description of Work
Interior drywall repair, popcorn ceiling removal, interior painting and crown molding trim installation.

Category contractors, drywall, gutter repair, woodworking, house painters, interior painters

Cost $1,270

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/02/2014

5.0

07/15/2014


Brandi H.

We were needing some interior work done at our home. This company was amazing from the beginning process, when they came out to give us a free estimate. The estimator was very professional and knowledgeable in the painting field. He made sure that we were given the best estimate for our budget and for only what our home was needing done. Once I got our estimate, I called the office and they set our date for the painting to begin. On the start day of our painting the crew arrived on time and ready to start in the morning. The job went smoothly and the crew themselves were very professional. Once the job was completed, the crew made sure to have the job cleaned up before they left. I could not believe how lovely my home looked, with just having the walls painted. It made a huge difference. Also my estimator came to my home, once completed, went over the job with us to make sure everything was in order and had met our needs as a customer. I would not only use Advance Painting and Roofing in the future but I would also recommend them to family and friends.

Description of Work
Interior painting, trim and accent wall.

Category interior painters

Cost $2,550

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/16/2014

5.0

07/02/2014


THOMAS S.

My son was very satisfied with this company. They did a really good job and we would recommend them to others.

Description of Work
My son called them out to repair some damage.

Category roofing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/12/2013

1.0

05/13/2014


ken K.

Worst job possible, the workers were sloppy, messed up our hard wood floors, paint on the carpet and light switches, missed a lot trim did not paint the stair well . First day they started at 10AM left 3PM, another day they started at 11AM left at 9:30PM and it did'nt get any better. After several phone calls to the office the said the were going to send out ther "best" touch up person guess what, they sent out the same crew a they did'nt make it any better. The paint on the carpet just smeared more door jams not painted.

Description of Work
Remove wall paper in hall, paint dinning room, living room, hall way

Category wallpaper removal, house painters, interior painters

Cost $2,800

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 03/17/2014

Service Provider Response

We regret that you did not have a good experience doing business with our company. After many attempts to reach out to you personally to resolve any outstanding issues, we would like to leave this post in hopes that you will contact our office at (704)529-8405 to allow to address any items that were not immediately resolved when this job was in progress. At that time, based on our conversations, we had believed the items were all corrected, but based on this review it would appear not or that this review does not include those actions. We take pride in our customer service and the work that we do. We honor our guarantees and always correct our mistakes when given the opportunity. Please allow us the opportunity to make any other corrections still needed so that we can add you to our list of thousands of satisfied customers.
4.0

03/11/2014


Rudolph H.

They did show up on and prompt for the appointment. I do not have any complaints on the service. There were 3 or 4 men here doing the work and everything was done in 2 days. The results were good.

Description of Work
They painted the whole exterior of the house. They also replaced some of the decaying wood.

Category woodworking, house painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/01/2012

4.0

10/29/2013


Karen H.

The salesperson was prompt and cordial. Two issues arose however: The biggest issue was the quote - my spouse and I felt the cost estimate was very high. Furthermore, the trim (around doors, windows,) was not included in the estimate. Can't imagine a person having rooms painted and needed to pay extra for trim painting.

Description of Work
Gave estimate for painting several rooms in my home.

Category interior painters

Work Completed On 08/21/2013

1.0

09/01/2013


ROSALIND L.

The person who came out to do the estimate was on time, but was also obnoxious and arrogant. He also seemed to have a dislike of people who come to Charlotte NC from "the north", (although I could not understand how that would even come into the conversation). If I was the owner of this company, this person would be fired. He is totally unprofessional in his approach to people, who are potential customers. He called me a few weeks later to see if I had made a decision on the job. I said that I had not, but I told him that he had been offensive. On the chance that this person IS the owner of the company, he should hire someone else to face the public.

Description of Work
Provided an estimate for exterior painting of house.

Category house painters

Work Completed On 07/24/2013

5.0

08/30/2013


Brad M.

They're very professional. We didn't have any issues with them. The bid was right on par with everyone else. I chose someone else based on the crew makeup.

Description of Work
I had Advance Painting & Roofing Contractors come and give me an estimate for exterior painting.

Category house painters

Cost $2,700

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/16/2013

5.0

06/25/2013


Wade D.

They were extremely competitive, very prompt, in and out of the home and provided neat and quality work. We were thrilled.

Description of Work
We have used Advanced Painting & Roofing Contractors to paint all of the trim outside meaning the doors, the door frames, window frames, sockets and everything that is not of the main color of the house. They also did the interior of our garage.

Category house painters, interior painters

Cost $5,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/08/2011

5.0

05/28/2013


Elizabeth M.

Overall, the job went well. They worked hard from 8-8 each day. The foreman was a pleasure to work with. He made this job tolerable as I just had surgery and was pretty uncomfortable. Their works looks good. They are coming back this week to tweek some things. And this all comes with a 5 year guarantee.

Description of Work
Pressured washed, painted all trim, windows on our brick home. They replaced rotted fascia, soffit and window molding. They replaced old Masonite siding and replaced with Hardi Plank. They replaced gutters and downspouts.

Category gutter repair, roofing, siding, pressure washing, woodworking, house painters

Cost $6,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/24/2013

5.0

12/22/2012


Robert M.

Went very well within estimated time. Good clean up and good carpentry in replacing rotted wood.

Description of Work
Paint external areas for a brick home. Pressure wash, paint, replace rotted wood.

Category house painters

Cost $2,800

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/17/2012