Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Walters Fine Carpentry & Bath Remodeling

4.8

(25) Verified Reviews

Founded 1975 • With Angi since August 2014

Awards and Badges

Angi Super Service Award badge
Super Service
Award 2020
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

Hours

Sunday
Closed
Monday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Tuesday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Wednesday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Thursday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Friday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Saturday
Closed

Company Contact

227 A Jay St

Chapel Hill, NC 27514

Description

Walters Fine Carpentry has been in business for 40 years-20 years in the triangle & surrounding areas. We specialize in bathroom remodeling and ceramic tile....

Verified Reviews

4.8

(25) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

24

4

0

3

0

2

0

1

1

Rating Details

Price

4.7

Professionalism

4.8

Punctuality

4.7

Quality

4.8

Responsiveness

4.8

Read reviews by category

tile installation (20)home remodeling (16)plumbers (9)flooring (8)drywall (8)interior painting (5)woodworking (5)door installation (3)decks & porches (3)window replacement (2)countertop installation (2)cabinet makers (2)
Showing 1-10 of 25 reviews
5.0

10/24/2021


Christopher K.

Stephen did an excellent job installing our kitchen backsplash. We had a more difficult design and he remained committed to our project, making sure we were more than happy with the end result. He worked consistent hours and communication was great. He was a real pleasure to have in our home!

Description of Work
Kitchen Backsplash Install

Category ceramic tile,countertops

Cost $2,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/19/2021

5.0

07/16/2021


Annie D.

The job was done beautifully . Mr Walters is an excellent craftsman from doing tile work to doing carpentry to plumbing, Every job was perfectly done. He's number one priority. he's making sure that customer is happy and satisfied with his work.

Description of Work
bathroom remodel , door frame was taken out in the kitchen, Put up new dry wall

Category home remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/07/2021

5.0

10/14/2020


Jeff W.

Stephen is diligent, dependable, and trustworthy. I have requested his work on two different homes now and would certainly seek him out for future needs.

Description of Work
Stephen performed tile work in a bathroom remodel for. At another house he did extensive general remodeling work including framing, window replacement, door installations, drywall work, siding repair, painting, and tiling in bathrooms and kitchen

Category custom cabinets,remodeling

Cost $15,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/13/2020

5.0

03/14/2020


Carol L.

It went absolutely fabulously. Stephen arrived every morning and closed at five. He is a well known Professional Carpenter specializing in Ceramic Tile and Bath Remodels. After I hired Lowe’s to redo my flooring and bathrooms they left me hanging for almost 7 months. I was sitting on Kilz Subfloors. Also in unfinished bathrooms. It was horrible. I heard about Stephen Walters and read his amazing reviews. Stephen was very professional, very humble and had extremely competitive pricing. Installation of my flooring is impeccable. My bathrooms are new and beautiful all thanks to him!

Description of Work
Bathroom Remodeled and new flooring.

Category ceramic tile,flooring contractor,home remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/13/2020

5.0

01/13/2020


Sandra L.

Great, professional, fair and detail oriented.

Description of Work
Complete bathroom remodel and tiled hallway

Category ceramic tile,flooring contractor,plumbing,home remodeling,interior painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/12/2020

5.0

11/26/2019


Douglas B.

This was a big job for one person (~ 8 weeks) and we worked together on planning and some parts of the job. He works by the hour at a reasonable rate and does not add on any extra charges. He is careful about keeping track of time spent and materials purchased and passes through discounts on tile purchased. He made many excellent suggestions on design features and choice of the highest quality materials. This helped keep costs down and we have a very beautiful tiled shower and tub room with wall tile, new tile floor and a decorative accent. You can contact him for photos. Highest recommendation.

Description of Work
Remodel master bath, worked with owner to develop reasonable cost design, removed walls, demo old tile, some new sheetrock, replaced window and exterior siding, tiled floor, tiled large walk in shower, installed glass block shower wall, tub surround, wall tile to chair rail height, modified plumbing, replaced valves.

Category ceramic tile,home remodeling

Cost $17,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/02/2019

5.0

08/02/2019


Bob M.

Excellent work. Stephen is a true craftsman. All work was performed in a timely manner with attention to detail. we couldn't be more pleased.

Description of Work
Bathroom remodel.

Category ceramic tile,drywall,flooring contractor

Cost $6,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/19/2019

5.0

06/24/2019


Dennis H.

Stephen is a craftsman who works a full-day and gets to work on time. He is flexible and totally open to client's needs and wishes. My wife and I are happy, and yes, proud of the two bathrooms.

Description of Work
Stephen Walters has done two bathroom remodels for us now. The first was a master bath with walk-in shower with knee-walled glass, all fully tiled floor and walls other than the vanity and facing walls. A modern two-sink vanity is opposite the walk-in shower and toilet. It is open and spacious, with large windows, now re-made. New tub and fixtures by Furguson Showroom, Carrboro. The second bathroom was tiled floor and tub surround, with new tub and fixtures. Two styles of tile were chosen by us for the tub/shower. New Jacuzzi tub and fixtures by Furguson Showroom in Carroboro.

Category ceramic tile,plumbing,home remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/24/2019

Images

Review for Walters Fine Carpentry & Bath Remodeling - 227 A Jay St, Chapel Hill, NC - 37946423

+2 More

5.0

05/21/2019


Barbara and Susannah P.

Excellent work, easy to work with, reasonably priced.

Description of Work
Bathroom remodeling.

Category ceramic tile,drywall,flooring contractor,plumbing,doors

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/29/2019

5.0

01/22/2019


Jeff W.

Stephen did an exceptional job. He kept us informed, worked with us on design decisions, paid attention to costs, and performed quality work as agreed. He will most definitely be doing more for us in the future.

Description of Work
Tile installation in bath and kitchen

Category ceramic tile

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/09/2019

Services Offered

Bathroom Remodeling, Ceramic Tiling, Backsplashes, Green Renovations, Additions, Sunrooms, Decks, Kitchens, Siding Replacement, Plumbing

Services Not Offered

Ask for details

General Information
Free Estimates
Yes
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
No
Payment Options
Check
Warranties
Yes