Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

COVID-19 Update
We are actively performing full services. We are taking additional precautions to protect our customers.

Health & Safety Measures

We will wear masks and gloves when we visit your home
We will sanitize the workspace and all areas touched
We offer estimates and quotes using video calling
We accept remote payment
All statements concerning COVID‑19 business operations and essential services are informational only, and are self‑reported and not verified by Angi.

Yes! Solar Solutions

Founded 2009 • With Angi since June 2011

4.9

(15) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

202 N. Dixon Ave.

Cary, NC 27513

Description

Locally owned solar integrator based in Cary, NC but serving most of NC for residential and commercial energy solutions. We offer free solar analysis, have NABCEP certified in house solar installers, and strong client references. We are the only NABCEP Accredited Company in North Carolina and are

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

07/23/2017


Todd B.

Needed to install a Tesla wall charger in my carport. I got three quotes for this work, and Yes Solar was significantly less expensive. Even though they are certified by Tesla, their knowledge of the Tesla car and charger was not exceptional but sufficient. They were reliable, very easy to work with, and punctual. They finished their work in about five hours which also included installing another overhead light in our carport and replacing a light switch in the basement. They were very professional and were intent on achieving customer satisfaction. I recommend them enthusiastically.

Description of Work
Needed to install a Tesla wall charger in my carport.

Category solar panels

Service Provider Response

Congratulations on being one of the first Tesla chargers we installed! We appreciate your review and appreciate your business. Call us if you would like to add a Tesla Powerwall. We were the first to be certified in NC!
5.0

05/16/2017


Sean G.

Went very well. Great communication, professional and priced competitively. Hit a small snafu with some damage to new roof shingles that was properly addressed in a timely manner by Yes Solar. Would hire again for sure.

Description of Work
Solar panel system installed on the roof of our home.

Category solar panels

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your review. It was our pleasure to help you go solar.
5.0

04/12/2017


Marjorie R.

Yes Solar Solutions worked with our roofing company in a very professional manner. The process went very well.

Description of Work
We needed our solar panels taken down and reinstalled during roof replacement.

Category solar panels

Service Provider Response

A new roof plus solar! What could be better?
5.0

03/30/2016


Joseph S.

Description of Work
I had signed up for Solarize Durham, where people were able to get a group rate. Very professional service.

Category solar panels

Service Provider Response

Professional solar: our middle name!
5.0

01/27/2016


James S.

When we built our house 20 years ago we couldn?t afford solar PV, but we wanted it, and oriented the house to accommodate it, if and when we could make it happen. We were finally moved to make it happen in 2014, with the threat of disappearing state and federal tax credits, the improvements in solar PV efficiency, and the grass-roots intelligence of our Orange County, N.C Solarize program. We connected with our local Solarize program in the early summer of 2014, and were introduced to Yes! Solar as one of the two local Solarize providers vetted by Solarize volunteer specialists to be deemed the most trustworthy and effective providers for Solarize participants. So we ?bought in? without hesitation when Solarize gave us Yes! Solar as our Solarize PV provider. As soon as Solarize connected us to Yes! Solar Solutions, the company immediately made corporate and personal investments in hand-holding, to help us, as clients/customers, find comfort in this seemingly risky arena of putting some $25,000 in up-front money into this idea of gleaning electric power from the sun. We?d already done a lot of research, and understood that every installation is different. Each of us has variations in roof orientation and slope, solar access, tree incursion, and family philosophy on tree huggery. Fortunately, we found, early in our relationship with Yes! Solar, that this is a company that has grown with the technology and dealt with it all. From our initial contacts and home visit from a Yes! Solar energy specialist through completion of our 6.2 kWh, 24-panel system in October 2015, we have been truly impressed with the professionalism, accessibility and friendliness of the entire Yes! Solar team. Here?s what we have experienced: We started using our system as daylight hours were approaching their minimum for the year, and it has also been an unusually rainy, cloudy span up to this writing (late-January, 2016). However, the real-time monitoring shows that it?s working as planned. Ours is a mostly electric home (though we also heat with a wood stove in winter). Our first three electric bills since commissioning the PV system were about $100 each less than the same months the previous year. Some of that savings, however, must be attributed to our new water heater. Just after we installed the solar, our 20-year-old water heater started leaking, so we replaced it with a hybrid (heat pump-type) high-efficiency heater. But most of the cost reduction is coming from the PV installation. We?re looking forward to watching our solar returns mount as spring turns to summer, with longer days and higher sun elevation. We?re on time-of-day usage plan with our Piedmont EMC electric co-op, meaning we pay a penalty for power used during peak load times, but a lot less the rest of the time. In cold months, peak load is 6 to 10 a.m. ? unfortunately, a time of very little solar generation. In warm months, however, it?s 1 to 6 p.m. And that?s also when our PV system will generate peak power, routinely reversing our meter. So the best is yet to come. We expect the payback on this system to be 10 to 11 years, followed by 10 to 15 years of escalating cost savings on our utility bills. Meanwhile, we?ve already experienced a great business relationship with Yes! Solar Solutions. They did what they said they?d do, when they said they?d do it, in a highly professional manner. Everyone involved, from owners/founders Kathy and Stew Miller to Austin Crumpler (the energy specialist now, alas, studying in Thailand) to Bethany Theede, Rob Smith, Kyle Thomas, Brian Chavez and everyone on the installation team. All were courteous, smart, great to deal with. We couldn?t have asked for more. Bottom line, if you plan to install solar PV (or solar water heating) in the area served by Yes! Solar Solutions, you?ll do yourself a serious disservice if you don?t check into this organization. This is a class act, competitively priced, with the expertise and professional chops to do what you need done with honesty, integrity and personality. We promise we?re not related to any of these people, nor are we paid by them to hoot on them. We?re just glad we found them and hired them. Our roof looks great and works great, grabbing any available sunshine every day and turning it into safe, no-carbon electricity that we hope our grandson will be able to enjoy as breathable air for his lifetime ? and beyond.

Description of Work
Yes! Solar Solutions installed an excellent 24-panel, 6.2 kWh solar PV system on our steeply pitched metal roof, replete with monitoring system, and took care of all the necessary local government and utility paperwork/approvals. The company also provided extremely useful help with planning, payment systems, cost/benefit analysis, and a host of other details related to this kind of investment.

Category solar panels

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for your kind words and the beautiful photos of your installation
5.0

12/03/2015


Jerry R.

Description of Work
We did not purchase solar panels, because could not take advantage so state and federal tax credits before they expired. We would have used Solar Solutions if thru tax credits were still available.

Category solar panels

5.0

03/19/2015


Carl H.

Description of Work
They installed a 7.2k solar pv system on my roof including 28 panels with optimizers and inverter in my garage and disconnect outside. Installed all wiring and had it inspected. Great honest people to work with. I had gotten quotes and prices from others in area. Won the job on their honesty and integrety. Alwqys willing to answer all question. Now waiting on Duke for meter.

Category solar panels

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for your feedback on our work. It is fine to win on price but to win on honesty and integrity is even better. Let us know when your meter is set!
5.0

03/09/2015


Duane S.

Team emphasis of Yes! Solutions showed throughout as sales, design, installation folks worked seamlessly. No pressure sales, spent time to understand my needs and objectives, explained the system and provided options. Followed up with several design alternatives and price options and answered all of my questions. Outstanding installation crew. Respected property, kept work areas clean, kept me informed of progress. The quality of the installed system in components and workmanship is excellent. System is performing to the designed rating. One of the best experiences I have ever had with contractor.

Description of Work
Designed and installed 5.9kw Solar PV system. 30 Panels on 3 roofs with 30 micro inverters.

Category solar panels

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your experience with Yes! We share these stories with our crew and the rest of the team and it makes all the difference to them. We greatly appreciate it.
5.0

02/26/2015


Kathleen M.

Yes! was very responsive to my initial inquiry regarding costs for and approach to a residential solar installation, following up within 24 hours. After an initial conversation, during which the owner was very thorough in his description of the process and associated investment, a team member made a visit to my home to assess the approach to installation and to walk me through additional details and logistics. Everyone I encountered throughout the process were as helpful as they were professional, taking the time to answer all of my questions and explain the installation. They're clearly committed to building a best-in-class business and giving customers the best experience possible from start to finish, and I'd recommend them to anyone interested in residential or commercial solar.

Description of Work
Yes! installed a residential solar system on my home in Cary. Their team, including the owner, was responsive and available to answer my questions and provide a wealth of information and context surrounding the installation process throughout the process.

Category solar panels

5.0

02/11/2015


Lindsey S.

I contacted three companies after taking a class myself on solar installation so I would be knowledgeable enough to make a good decision. One company is slightly larger than Yes! but a neighbor used them and was not completely satisfied with the outcome. They were pretty well informed but I did not feel 100% comfortable with them. Another company was basically a one or two man operation, also very informative, but tried to talk me out of installing solar on a metal roof, and was in fact annoyed when I told him I was still going to do it. Yes! had the right combination of expertise, recommendations and price that gave me trust in choosing them. I felt no pressure in making the decision, rather that they were acting as a consultant to my needs. I was there during the whole installation (which only took one day!) and asked a lot of questions and observed the project. The Project Manager and crew were all very professional and efficient and knew what they were doing. After the project, one of the owners came out with a binder full of all the warranties, as built design plans, permits and other documents and reviewed them thoroughly with us. She also asked us for feedback and if we had any additional questions to make sure we were 100% satisfied. It is unusual to have that kind of service after a contractor already has all your money! We were thoroughly impressed with the company and the process and would not hesitate to recommend them. That being said, I have a hard time understanding some of the other reviews. Yes! Solar Solutions goes above and beyond their contracted responsibilities.

Description of Work
PV system

Category solar panels

Service Provider Response

Thank you for sharing your positive experience with Yes!
5.0

02/10/2015


Lara H.

It's hard to find any way in which they let us down. From the very beginning, they showed great professionalism, patience, and depth of knowledge. They waited several years for me to commit to the purchase of solar panels, and when I finally did, they treated the project with enthusiasm and excitement as if I had decided years prior. The actual installation process was fantastic, and we interacted with them at every step, modifying as we went, without complaint. Finally, now more than a year and a half after installation, correspondence with them is always pleasant and receives rapid, intelligent response. They still treat us like family. I have, and will continue to recommend this company to anyone interested in solar. they have no equal competitor in this region.

Description of Work
Installed a roof mounted and ballasted photovoltaic solar system on my home.

Category solar panels

5.0

01/17/2015


Janet W.

Assessment and installation by Yes! Solar Solutions was just about perfect. All four of the technicians provided great customer service.

Description of Work
Installed 8 solar panels on my roof.

Category solar panels

2.0

08/28/2014


DONNA L.

Description of Work
Decided to go with another provider. Our contact no longer works there, which I believe is a good thing. His goal appeared to be to get as many panels on the roof whether it was feasible (shade) or not. Seemed more interested in the sale rather than the environment. However the owners did let us know that he was let go, but by that point, we did not have a good taste in our mouth, so went with a different vendor, even though the other vendor was not part of the discounted Solarize program.

Category solar panels

Service Provider Response

[member name removed], thank you for your feedback. As you know, a salesperson we hired to help with the first Solarize program was terminated after 60 days because we did not feel it was an accurate representation of our company. Although he did a site visit for you in February, we terminated him mid-March and another one of our salespeople tried to contact you by phone 3/26 to follow up, and we emailed you 4/1. You shared your experience and disappointment with me and commented, " Of note, I did look at someone else's correspondence (with Yes!) pertaining to their assessment and they did seem to get more information than we did." I did email you an apology in response to your email and offered another evaluation and did not receive a reply. But I understand your decision. Our apologies again for your disappointing experience, and assure you it is not the usual experience with Yes! Solar Solutions, or we would not have terminated the new hire so quickly. Subsequently, the Solarize Durham program resulted in 34 new contracts for 160 kilowatts of happy new customers! But we are happy you are now a solar generator. Congratulations on your solar installation!
1.0

07/28/2014


Jeremy D.

called the owner for a quote to install an off grid solar system on a tiny home that sits on a 20 x 8 dual axle trailer. The guy that answered immediately started talking me out of the install due to roof space. He also said he was booked until November. We explained that we already had people that were scheduled that were willing to give quotes. He at that point said maybe we should stick with those companies. My sister went with a different provider that was able to suggest putting her solar panels on the ground which more than worked in her situation.

Description of Work
N/A

Category solar panels

Service Provider Response

[Members Name], thank you for letting us know about your experience with our company.One of our missions is to make solar accessible to as many people as possible. The owner, Stew Miller, is often the one who answers calls and has been known to spend a lot of time explaining options to callers, even when they are not a good candidate for solar. While it is true we are scheduled into November for installations, it does not mean we are not willing to help someone decide if they are a good site for solar. But it is our responsibility to give you honest feedback and not try to sell you solar if it does not sound feasible. Unfortunately, the amount of roof space you have and it being on a trailer does makes you less than an ideal candidate for being off the grid. Be sure to check the NABCEP website for certified installers and we hope you are able to find a solar solution. Thank you again.
5.0

01/18/2014


Andrew M.

I had done a fair amount of research before I reached out to several installers in the Raleigh area , and the level of responsiveness and expertise from Yes! was outstanding. I heard back from them the same weekend I submitted an inquiry, and was meeting with their energy specialist, Jay, later that same week. We went through multiple iterations of different possible projects and pricing, and Jay was extremely patient, responsive, and helpful. At the end of that process I was very comfortable with the specs of the project and moving forward. As it moved into the construction phase, I was impressed and grateful for the flexibility and professionalism of Yes!'s project team. I had several delays due to getting HOA approvals and other construction being done on the house, and they took it in stride. When they were able to start work, it was done completely on schedule and the quality of the work was exceptional. They even found a defect in one of the components before I noticed it and took care of getting and installing a replacement unit. After the installation was up and running, they provided even more support getting the necessary inspections scheduled and completed and getting me set up with Duke Power for the appropriate new metering/rate schedule. Their help in that respect was invaluable. It's been 5 months now since the project was completed, and I'm completely satisfied with the results. I highly recommend installing solar panels on your house, and recommend Yes! solar if you do.

Description of Work
Yes! Solar installed a 4.83 kW Sunpower rooftop solar pv system, grid-tie inverter, and monitoring as well as coordinated getting the necessary permits, inspections, and utility forms sheduled/submitted. Please note that I'm not including the cost of the service because I don't think it's fair to Yes! or people reading this review - solar panel pricing is volatile and installs can differ widely in price based on a lot of factors (roof, capacity, manufacturer, etc). But based on my experience their pricing is fair and competitive.

Category solar panels

Service Provider Response

[member name removed], thank you so much for your kind words. We appreciate having such discerning customers!

    Other local Pros in your area

    Top Tier Solar Solutions

    We guarantee your satisfaction, and we won’t leave until the job is done right. We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service. Check out our services offered and call or click to schedule an estimate today!  

    Angi Certified

    Business Highlights

    Women Owned & OperatedWomen Owned & Operated
    Family Owned & OperatedFamily Owned & Operated
    Eco FriendlyEco Friendly
    Wears MaskWears Mask
    Licensed
    Trade License Number
    U.33111
    Trade License Locale
    North Carolina
    Trade License Authority
    NC
    Trade License Expiration
    06/03/2022
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, Financing Available, American Express
    Senior Discount
    No
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    solar electric photovoltaic systems, energy analysis, energy reduction recommendations, solar design. EV charging installations, energy storage and battery back up systems

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Yes! Solar Solutions

    How is Yes! Solar Solutions overall rated?

    Yes! Solar Solutions is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

    What days are Yes! Solar Solutions open?

    Yes! Solar Solutions is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: Closed

    What payment options does Yes! Solar Solutions provide

    Yes! Solar Solutions accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, Financing Available, American Express

    Does Yes! Solar Solutions offer free estimates?

    Yes, Yes! Solar Solutions offers free project estimates.

    Does Yes! Solar Solutions offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Yes! Solar Solutions offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Yes! Solar Solutions offer a senior discount?

    No, Yes! Solar Solutions does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Yes! Solar Solutions?

    Yes, Yes! Solar Solutions offers warranties.

    What services does Yes! Solar Solutions offer?

    Yes! Solar Solutions offers the following services: solar electric photovoltaic systems, energy analysis, energy reduction recommendations, solar design. EV charging installations, energy storage and battery back up systems