JM Decks & Fences

About

Founded 2012 • With Angi since July 2019

JM Decks and Fences takes the enjoyment of personalizing your outdoor living space to a whole new level. We are a design and build firm specializing in every facet of Outdoor Living. Our founding principle—that Outdoor Living is an art, not an afterthought—still drives us today as the Triangles

Awards and Badges

Angi Certified

2022 Super Service Award

Business Highlights

Minority Owned & OperatedMinority Owned & Operated
Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered

Images

A Service Provider's profile imageA Service Provider's profile imageA Service Provider's profile image

Verified Reviews

4.7

(38) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

31

4

1

3

0

2

0

1

6

Rating Details

Price

4.6

Professionalism

4.8

Punctuality

4.8

Quality

4.8

Responsiveness

4.7

Read reviews by category

decks & porches (30)fence company (12)Patios (5)hardscaping (2)outdoor kitchens (1)dog fencing (7)driveway gate installation (1)
Showing 1-25 of 38 reviews
5.0

10/30/2022


Sharon E.

Excellent workmanship and customer service in resurfacing our deck. I would use them again.

Description of Work
Resurfaced a wood deck with WeatherTech and rebuilt stairs and rails.

Category decks

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

5.0

04/19/2022


Rick C.

Our project was a large screened porch with a deck. We were so pleased with the porch that we had JM build a six foot fence for our back yard. While these were large projects, JM Decks & Fences were five-star throughout. We had contacted several contractors before JM: some never responded, others thought the job was too large or too complicated. From the outset, Antonio from JM made it clear that he and JM knew what they were doing, from the materials they would use, to the slope and configuration of the roof, to the size of the porch and deck, to details like layout of the floor boards. From the consultation to the completion of the project, Antonio was with us throughout. The proposal and contract that spelled out the details of the project and pricing was comprehensive and very professional. Christopher in the front office kept us posted on timelines, inspections, and any follow-up items. Their electrician made some suggestions on lights and outlets that have greatly enhanced our enjoyment of this new space. The carpenters that built the porch/deck are true craftsmen: the details in the build are truly impressive and special. We cannot say enough about how good these guys are. We have gotten compliments from neighbors, inspectors, and other contractors on the quality of job. We absolutely love our new outdoor living space! Once the porch and deck were completed, we asked JM for pricing to replace our old backyard fence. Like the porch, we got the same professional estimate, detailing materials and style. Within a month we had a brand new 6-foot fence with gates. The fence shows the same high quality craftsmanship and materials as the porch. Overall, JM Decks and Fences are the real deal: awesome service, outstanding craftsmen, reasonable pricing. Five stars all the way!

Description of Work
Build Screened porch with deck; 6-foot fence with gates

Category decks, fencing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/01/2022

Images

Review for JM Decks & Fences - 1143 EXECUTIVE CIR, Cary, NC - 39702498

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], Thank you very much for your kind words. We really appreciate that you acknowledge the effort that everyone at JM Decks and Fences make to fulfill our client's expectations in every part of the process of doing business with us. It has been a pleasure! Thanks again.
5.0

04/14/2022


Sam B.

Given the COVID/supply chain/labor availability during Spring 2022, Jm arrived in a timely fashion and worked non-stop until completion, with a four-person crew. They did a very solid job - much better than original deck. Kept us informed as they progressed, and we worked through one unexpected issue with a stairway with excellent results. Did a very good job of clean-up. Price was about 2/3rds of a competing bid.

Description of Work
Extensive repairs/replacement of 1300 sq ft deck (two levels).

Category decks

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/13/2022

Service Provider Response

We are so glad that we were able to help you and to fulfill your expectations [Member Name Removed]. Hope you and your family enjoy at maximum your renewed deck! Thank you very much for your business and your kind words, it has been a pleasure.
5.0

02/06/2022


jay W.

I worked with Antonio and the JM Team on our deck and they did a great job. What convinced me to choose JM was their knowledge of the details and I am very glad I chose them. Their craftsmanship and follow-through on every detail of their work was excellent.

Description of Work
Deck construction

Category decks

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/06/2022

Service Provider Response

And we are glad that we did business with you [Member Name Removed], thank you very much!
5.0

02/02/2022


Raena C.

JM Decks and Fences did an amazing job on replacing my entire deck and finishing my privacy fence in the back yard! I couldn’t be happier with how it turned out! I worked with Christopher on all of the details from the initial consultation to the design, meeting with inspectors and execution of the job! The guys who did the work were so meticulous and professional. They went the extra mile and put a nice little mounding around each post and that added detail really made it shine. Thanks so much for the best contracted experience I’ve had since moving to NC!

Description of Work
Replace deck and finish privacy fence

Category decks, fencing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/02/2022

Service Provider Response

The permitting process was long and tough, but we are glad that you are finally enjoying your renewed deck and fence and that we were able to fulfill your expectations. Thank you very much for your business and your kind words, [Member Name Removed]. It has been a pleasure.
5.0

01/16/2022


Kirk B.

We found JM Decks to be great to work with as we went through the design phase for a new deck off the back of our house and they did an amazing job working with the local permitting office to help us navigate some of the unexpected roadblocks that can pop up from time to time on projects when you live near rivers/streams. We would certainly use them again!

Description of Work
Planning for a new backyard deck

Category decks

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/29/2021

5.0

11/27/2021


Yul R.

This team was amazing. Professional, paid attention to details. Did not skip on steps. Job was done perfectly. They worked till the job was done,cleaned up after themselves. I would strongly recommend them. Would use them again,but there will be no need because this deck is here to stay. It was done the right way.. But definitely will hire them again. Would happily show my deck.

Description of Work
Deck installation, tiling cable railings

Category decks

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/27/2021

1.0

08/16/2021


Richard J.

After an initial email they were very responsive to setup an appointment for an estimate. Their representative came out, took measurements and provided a price to do the work. A week later I reached out to him, no response. I continued to call the office, text the estimator, and nothing. I finally got someone on the phone to see a color sample, which they never sent. Finally, after 3 more calls I received a proposal to sign for the work. However, this was 1600 more than what I was confidentially quoted. Which I reached back out to the PM who sent the proposal, he said it’s the PM’s call and it’s the new price. I explained I was quoted a much cheaper price. Instead of finding some middle ground, or him accepting his employees quote, even it was wrong, the PM said sorry for being out of my budget. Companies that are unresponsive and do not honor their estimators price are untrustworthy. Accept some responsibility. It’s not like I haggled for the original amount I was quoted. The updated quote, or as Antonio and Chris like to call the official proposal, was 30% different. That is not what I would call a small difference.

Description of Work
Quote for an under deck drainage system

Category decks

Work Completed On 08/15/2021

1.0

11/18/2020


David N.

Not well. Salesman missed 4 appointments. No calls no explanations. Left behind sample case.

Description of Work
Deck and Gazebo

Category decks, dog fence

Work Completed On 09/28/2020

5.0

11/11/2020


Marcus S.

The work that Antonio, Danny and their team performed was outstanding!! The work was completed on schedule and Antonio was very responsive in addressing any concerns. The team completed a Deck Rebuild (Widen steps, Added lattice and gravel underneath) and a Patio (Stone Pavers w/ a bench). The only issue that I had was that the team was supposed to stain my deck after the main job was complete and weather was better, however I didn't get a response back to complete that work after multiple attempts to follow up. I would still highly recommend Antonio's team.

Description of Work
Deck rebuild, stone patio & fence gate repair.

Category decks, fencing, dog fence, patios

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/28/2019

5.0

09/09/2020


Norberto R.

After searching and receiving estimates for a new deck, I decide to go with J&M Decks and fences. First, they are the only one that submitted a contract specifying the details. Second, the communications where great. Third, they gave updates and showed up on the day they said they would come. Fourth, any details that I thought should be taken care of, were dealt with without objections. An example was that the tips of the railings extended slightly below the bottom edge. This was taken care of by using a sander. Inspections by the city where approved the same day. Had one inspector that demanded a new survey because it was 2 feet wider. This would not have any impact on the property setbacks, nevertheless. I complied with it. They were not pressuring me for the final payment until all inspections passed. Slightly higher than the competition, however, the old saying is applicable, “you get what you pay for.”

Description of Work
Replace an exiting deck and build a new one

Category decks

Cost $9,400

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/09/2020

5.0

08/23/2020


MONTICA J.

JM Decks and fences is the best . They put my fence up in one day . I am loving my new fence they were on time , the material was high quality , The price I was quoted beat the competiton . I will reccomend them to my neighbors for all Decks , fences , hardscaping . We are using them to do our Patio and Deck next . The quality is unmatched !!b Thank you JM Decks and Fences you have a customer for life !

Description of Work
Privacy Fence

Category fencing, driveway gates

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/22/2020

5.0

07/10/2020


Kevin S.

Very pleased with Antonio and his crew. Prompt communication and high quality work. Anytime we needed an answer Antonio was responsive and would action immediately. We would absolutely hire again.

Description of Work
Backyard Deck

Category decks

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/10/2020

5.0

07/02/2020


Keisha J.

Great people to work with, they cleaned up after the job,and it was a great experience

Description of Work
Fence installation

Category fencing, dog fence

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/28/2020

Images

Review for JM Decks & Fences - 1143 EXECUTIVE CIR, Cary, NC - 38690693
1.0

06/18/2020


Jeff J.

Was never contacted by the contractor.

Description of Work
Build a fence

Category fencing, dog fence

Work Completed On 06/17/2020

Service Provider Response

Good afternoon, I believe you've mistakenly reviewed the wrong company as we'rew JM Decks and Fences based in Durham North Carolina and it sounds like you're after JM Fence Builders in Carmel Indiana. I am sorry to hear about your disappointment, however we would much appreciate it if you could remove you're review. Thank you in advance and best of luck with your fence project.
5.0

05/29/2020


Mitch K.

Antonio and his team were fantastic to work with. From the beginning, Antonio was super responsive and patient as I picked out the materials for the project. He even made several trips to my house to bring different samples. The guys that installed the patio did great work. The amount of attention the guys paid to the little details of the project was much appreciated. I’d highly recommend JM Decks & Fence for any patio work.

Description of Work
Paver patio installation

Category hardscaping, patios

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/24/2020

Images

Review for JM Decks & Fences - 1143 EXECUTIVE CIR, Cary, NC - 38600762

+2 More

Service Provider Response

thank you sir to take some of your time to provide a positive review to JM Decks and Fences.
5.0

05/12/2020


Matthew B.

Antonio and his crew did a great job on my project. They were professional and friendly. The work and materials were of good quality, workmanship outstanding, and pricing very fair. I highly recommend.

Description of Work
Stone Patio, Fence, and Pergola

Category fencing, dog fence, patios

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/08/2020

Images

Review for JM Decks & Fences - 1143 EXECUTIVE CIR, Cary, NC - 38560792

Service Provider Response

Thank you sir for gave the opportunity to JM Decks and Fences an provided a positive review Thanks.
5.0

05/11/2020


Matthew V.

JM Decks & Fences did a wonderful job on my recent backyard renovation. Firstly, they removed our 10+ year old deck and rebuilt it. They also installed a hardscape/patio in our back yard as well as a fire pit. JM Decks & Fences were very professional and communicative. It was a pleasure working with them. We are very happy with their work and the final product. Happy to provide recommendations.

Description of Work
Build deck, hardscape, fire pit.

Category decks, hardscaping, patios, outdoor kitchens

Cost $30,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/11/2020

Images

Review for JM Decks & Fences - 1143 EXECUTIVE CIR, Cary, NC - 38555734

+1 More

Service Provider Response

Thank you!to spend some of your time to provide a positive review to JM Decks and Fence
5.0

05/06/2020


M K.

Started looking for contractors in November and settled on JM Fencing and Decks in February. Very reasonably priced and good reviews. The only holdup I had was my HOA granting me architectural approval. Antonio was great to work with -- no pressure but responded promptly to my questions. Once approved (Durham permit) JM had the materials at my house within the week -- and started to build the next day. The county was there while they built to approve the footings. Everything scheduled to accommodate the tight deadline. The lumber was just what you would expect for exterior job -- sturdy. It was only once the work was done that I realized how bad my original deck looked. No more stepping on nails popping up too. Decking screwed to the joists. I am more than pleased with the work and have no problem recommending.

Description of Work
Had existing deck floor and rails replaced and deck extended 6 feet

Category decks, dog fence

Cost $5,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/05/2020

Images

Review for JM Decks & Fences - 1143 EXECUTIVE CIR, Cary, NC - 38546512

+2 More

5.0

04/18/2020


Lea A.

The owner of the company really went out of his way to get this project completed for me ASAP and the fence looks so good!

Description of Work
Fencing

Category fencing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/19/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you to take some of your time to provide us a good review.
5.0

03/10/2020


David G.

The crew started and finished on dates stated in agreement. The crew was professional, knowledgeable, and left my property clean when finished.

Description of Work
They removed and replaced my old privacy fence and gates, deck stairs, handrail and balusters.

Category decks, fencing

Cost $5,900

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/04/2020

Images

Review for JM Decks & Fences - 1143 EXECUTIVE CIR, Cary, NC - 38435326

+2 More

4.0

02/01/2020


Gerardette F.

JM Deck did a good job on building and installing a new deck for us last fall. My only complaint is that there were two small deck boards that were cut a little shorter than the others. My husband contacted them to come back to correct that problem. But, they never returned his call or came back out. Otherwise, than that we are very pleased with the new deck and it was completed on time. I am rating a "B" due to the short boards. If boards get fixed, I'll move grade to "A".

Description of Work
Installed new deck

Category decks