Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Carolina Air Inc

Founded 2000 • With Angi since February 2011

4.3

(42) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

3700 Hwy 15 501 S

Carthage, NC 28327

Description

Carolina Air, Inc has been serving your community since 2000! Our employees are hand picked and home grown through our training program. We started with just 2 employees and have grown to over 48! We have earned the Trane Comfort Specialist award year after year, what that means to you is a Trane

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

09/14/2022


Michael B.

Perfect , Stephan lashly did the work

Description of Work
Fixed relat

Category electrician, heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

02/05/2020


Tara Y.

They have been very good and I would recommend them.

Description of Work
I have used them for 7 years for heating and ac needs.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Hi Ms. [Member Name Removed], Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for us. We appreciate your business and recommendation and are thrilled we have made you a happy customer!
5.0

03/17/2018


Lynn W.

Install nest thermometerTyler was right on time. He was very professional, explained everything to me and gave me options for using the Nest and getting an extended warranty. After it was installed he help me download the app set everything up for me. I’m work patiently with me tell he was sure I understood how to use it. I would certainly recommend them again.

Description of Work
Install nest thermomet

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

11/27/2017


Peter R.

These guys are very responsive and professional. I had a horrible experience with another HVAC company (Island Breeze HVAC out of Bullock, NC). I had no heat in my house for a month, with temps in the 30s. My warranty company finally re-assigned my claim to Carolina Air and they had it fixed and my house warm within a couple of days. There are lots of dishonest, unethical contractors out there, so be careful. In my experience, Carolina Air is a great company to deal with.

Description of Work
Heating system was out, had to have heat exchanger replaced

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

10/04/2017


john W.

Very professional repair person. Took pictures of unit and explained what was going on in easy to follow terms.

Description of Work
AC was running warm and needed Freon. Unit is nearing the end of lifespan.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

08/30/2017


Julie O.

The company was great - one of the Techs Tyler even came over on his day off - Company did not charge me for extra Freon or Labor

Description of Work
Oring capaestor went out . Huge Freon leak x 2 days & 2 X refill noted oil leak noted, so compressor had to be replaced (compressor under warranty)

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

08/14/2017


sherrilynn H.

I haven't had any problems. They came out and fixed it. They came out like 3 years ago, and I haven't had any problems since. They are the only ones that fixed it, so I would have to give them an A. I haven't had any problems with this thing in a long time. The price was a little high. Well, for me it was high. If needed to fix it, I would use them again.

Description of Work
They fixed the leak in my air conditioning. They are the only ones that went in there and fixed the leak. Everyone else was just putting stuff in there and calling it a day. They went in and cleaned all the way around it.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

07/10/2017


Stephanie F.

Tyler went above and beyond. Was on time very nice and polite. Even Informed us of a situation we weren't aware of. I would recommend to anyone. I was very impressed with his knowledge and his willingness to help me!!! By far the best service of any heating and air company we have dealt with!

Description of Work
I needed my air conditioner looked at. Wasn't working correctly

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

1.0

05/31/2017


Alfredo S.

Very disappointing service. Have photos of their poor work. They never used the material they said they ordered and then said that repairing duct work is not something they do; even though they initially were called out for this and they said the would do this. They did not complete the work, and left without saying what they did. When I went to see what work they said they were going to do I noticed it was not complete and they used tape instead of the supporting material they were supposed to use. The tape fell off within a few hours. They work would not pass any inspection. When I called to speak with the owner they have not returned my calls and the supervisor I spoke with started making up lies about not being able to get in contact with their employee to get to the bottom of this.

Description of Work
They said they would repair duct work and ordered material from my insurance company. They said they would have to wait on the material they ordered to arrive and had to reschedule.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

4.0

05/31/2017


Mike S.

After 3 years of continuous leaks and stuff like that I didn?t want to continue to pay for a 13 year old HVAC system. So, I went out and got quotes on 3 new ones. They did a service call.?They just pulled maintenance on the air conditioning system and added more freon. I was fine with their work, I didn?t like their quotation. I thought it was abnormally high, but that did fine work on the service work. I had no problem, I?ve used them in the pass.

Description of Work
They are one of the ones that I got a quotation from. They had come and replaced the freon and did the summer service.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

05/17/2017


Mike B.

They've always been very professional treated me with respect. They do my parents repairs as well but I've noticed we hardly ever have to call them, they do the job right the first time. They offer a great service plan that seems to fall in place right before each season, I would highly recommend Carolina Air to anyone.

Description of Work
One time I had a fan motor Replaced and another time I had a coil replaced.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

05/10/2017


Jerry D.

In and out in ten minutes. You cannot beat that.

Description of Work
Bobby V from Carolina Air Inc. Carthage, NC perform a great job. He found out the problem I had with my unit was that the batteries in the thermostat were dead. He replace them and check out the unit to see how it was running. This was all done within ten minutes. Great job!

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

04/28/2017


Mike P.

I called and they made arrangements to come between 1:00 and 5:00 today. They showed up early, before 12:00 and immediately went to work. Before 2:00 they had diagnosed, replaced and repaired and had us up and running. Fast, efficient, and professional. This is a 5 star company that I will use again and wii recommended to my family and friends!

Description of Work
Air went out yesterday. Air handler fan was blowing and compressor would not come on. Inside the house it was 79* and extremely uncomfortable.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

4.0

10/04/2016


Paul L.

Fine, except a few mess ups that failed inspections.

Description of Work
AC unit replacement.

Category electrician, heating & air conditioning/hvac

1.0

07/23/2016


Doug D.

I got a call from Carolina Air on Tuesday inquiring about the repair. I told them I was unhappy and said I would write them a letter. I have not gotten a response back after waiting for several weeks. My request was to compromise on their fee and settle for a $350.00 discount on their bill which was the amount of the bill from the electrician. When I spoke to Shawn on Tuesday he assured me that he would look into my concerns and encouraged me to send a letter to the owner Gary Bullard. It never occurred to me that Mr. Bullard would totally ignore me.

Description of Work
My air went out on a Friday night and I called them on Saturday. They came out quickly and said it would cost $260 to assess the problem plus parts and labor. They found the breaker was thrown by lightening and reset the breaker. They also changed out a capacitor and put two pounds of freon in one unit. The charge was $750. The technician then found the breaker was over heating and was about to fail. Rather than repair or take the unit down to protect the HVAC he advised me to "Just go to Lowes and replace the breaker with a larger breaker". I couldn't believe he could only offer that advise. Within an hour the breaker failed and I called out an electrician to repair. The electrician said he couldn't believe he left the job with a dangerous condition present. He also said the technicians advise to get a larger breaker was incorrect and wouldn't protect the units. A call to the county code department also verified that it was dangerous to put a larger breaker in place.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

03/17/2016


Clay & Dawn H.

.New ac unit was installed without incident.

Description of Work
.New ac unit

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

12/26/2015


Melinda H.

On Christmas Day I needed emergency service for the Trane HVAC system installed by Carolina Air in August. I contacted the company through the Live Chat system at Noon. I was quickly contacted by phone by the "on call" service technician , the defective part was diagnosed and a new part installed and the HVAC was back up and running - total elapsed time from the Live Chat contact to completing the new part installation was just over two hours. The service was completed under the warranty so no charge was involved. The Service Technician was polite, professional, knowledgeable, and efficient. Great service and I couldn't be more pleased.

Description of Work
Diagnosed and replaced faulty part under warranty service.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

1.0

08/04/2015


Elaine W.

We contacted Carolina Air through our home warranty when our upstairs air conditioning failed on July 21st. They sent out a technician, we gave him a check for $100.00, and he told us we needed a new compressor. He then told us to call on Friday and make sure the part had been ordered. We called on the 24th and were told the part would be in next week between Monday and Wednesday. When we called on Tuesday, we were told the compressor would be in on Wednesday. We called back. The part had arrived, but it had not been unpacked. We called back and were told Carolina Air now needed a work order number from our home warranty. We contacted our home warranty and a number was issued. The technician showed up at our house on Thursday morning (July 30th). After siphoning off all the Freon, he declared that the wrong part had been sent. When pressed for when the correct part would arrive, he apologized and said he did not know. The next day, the same technician came back. He explained that our Carrier unit "might be" under a manufacturer's warranty. And if that were the case, Carolina Air is not an official Carrier dealer and they would not be able to perform the work. So that afternoon, we contacted our home warranty company and were told they had no listing for other "official" Carrier dealers in our area. Oddly enough, while speaking with their CSR, she explained that Carolina Air had told them initially that not only did they have a compressor but they had one in stock. Mmmm, seems Carolina Air either has a bad memory or feel no compunction about lying. After contacting another HVAC company, I called Carolina Air and asked for my money back. Seems our check was cashed quite promptly on the 22nd. Jenna explained that we were charged the normal Home Warranty service fee. I explained that no service had been done. She then changed it to a diagnostic fee and refused to refund our money. I think Carolina Air stays in business by lying to both home warranty companies and homeowners. Sad. I guess they can sleep well at night because their houses having air conditioning.

Description of Work
I could just write "Ditto" for the other reviews regarding working with a home warranty and Carolina Air. We tried utilizing them to repair our air conditioning. They lied to both us and the home warranty people. Basically, they were waiting for the check to clear and then said they couldn't perform the work because of Carrier warranty issues.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

1.0

07/13/2015


Thomas R.

I'll start by saying that I accessed Carolina Air because they are the contracted entity for my American Home Shield Warranty. When our upstairs air conditioner went out in what may prove to the the hottest summer on record, I immediately called to have it serviced. The rooms for my children are all upstairs, so we needed it fixed right away. When I first contacted AHS in early June I was told that Carolina Air would contact me for an appointment, which they did. They informed me on a Friday that it would be the middle of the following week. I arranged to have someone at the house during the four hour window. Aaron showed up and said that the outside compressor needed to be replaced. He left an invoice showing paid. I expected to hear from Carolina Air for the next steps. After a couple of days of hearing nothing, I called them. They informed me that AHS would cover the compressor, but that NC law required the whole unit inside and out to be replaced. The total bill? $4K + was quoted over the phone with nothing in writing. I asked about next steps. They were sending to AHS for authorization. I called AHS to follow up and was told they were waiting on something from Carolina Air. I stayed on the phone insisting that they talk to one another. My children had been forced from their rooms and sleeping on couches downstairs for over two weeks at this point. Next up, AHS contacts me and says that Carolina Air will have to complete a Whole House Load Calculation for an additional $255 that is not covered by the warranty (this is after the $75 service fee for the first visit by which all subsequent visits were supposedly covered). Supposedly, Carolina Air will contact me to schedule. Nothing... After a few days, I call them to schedule. A week out they will be able to come. They tell me that Aaron can come on July 1st to do the calculation between 1 and 5. I arrange to have someone at the house all afternoon. No Aaron. I call repeatedly throughout the late afternoon early evening, and Kenneth shows up around 6:30. Within 20 minutes he's taken some measurements and my $255 cash and leaves me a receipt that says "done calculation". That indicates to me that it's completed. I call in the next day to get the findings. They tell me that the information won't be ready until the afternoon. Silence for days. I call again last week and explain that I want to talk to someone. They tell me that the load calculation is proprietary and that I cannot have a copy of it. The same one I paid $255 cash for. That's right folks. Two weeks ago they took my $255. I've called twice with no return call. They said on Friday that someone would call me right back... Still no call. No load calculation. No air conditioner. At this point, they have $330 of my money, and I have nothing.

Description of Work
It's more about what the provider didn't do. They did come and perform an initial visit. They did come on a separate time to collect measurements for a "Load Calculation" which I paid full price for with nothing to show.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

11/12/2014


Paul M.

I asked Carolina Air to look into a "no heat" problem I had with a Trane unit. They came quickly and diagnosed the problem fast. Their diagnosis was identical to another diagnosis I received from a local competitor, yet was not told by the Carolina Air technician that I needed to buy another outdoor unit like my previous heating service company did. Carolina Air's quote was HUNDREDS of dollars less than their competitor and completed the job as soon as the replacement part was received.

Description of Work
Changed a bad TXV valve in a 12 year old Trane heating unit.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

1.0

07/11/2014


Chris H.

The AC unit went out on the house we just purchased. We had a home warranty that dispatched Carolina Air to do the repair. First of all, the phone staff were so rude when scheduling the repair that I contacted the warranty company and asked for another repair shop. Unfortunately, this is the one they work with in our area. It took over a week to get an appointment and a diagnosis of a bad compressor. They needed to order the part. We were given an estimate for the Freon (not covered by warranty) and told it could take up to 2 weeks for repair; we would have to wait for the part and then get BACK on their schedule AFTER the compressor came in. The following week, I got a call from a salesperson from their office trying to sell me a new AC unit for $6000. I told him we couldn't afford that and needed to go with the warranted repair. After waiting a week to hear from them, I had to call back to see if the part was in. The parts lady informed me that, "oh yeah, it was in". It took ANOTHER week to get someone to come out and install it. I was told the repairman would be at my house FROM 8-12. I even double checked this, as four hours seemed a LONG time to install a compressor. The day of the repair, I raced to the house to be there by 8am. By 9am, I called the office to see where the repairman was. I was told he would be at my house BETWEEN 8 and 12. I explained that I had been told FROM 8 to 12, and the operator gave me an, "oh well, you heard wrong" explanation. The technician finally arrived at ten, He performed the repair, and the unit seemd to be working fine. He told me that if there were any problems that I should call. I was then charged a disposal fee of $100 that wasn't on the estimate and had never been mentioned until AFTER he installed the compressor. The next day we came home to a hot house (a Friday). I immediately called and was told an after hours technician would call me right back. After waiting one hour, I called AGAIN. The now habitually rude operator told me that they wouldn't address my problem until MONDAY, because we were a warranty repair. THAT IS WORD FOR WORD WHAT I WAS TOLD. STAY AWAY!!! This is NOT an honest and reputable company.

Description of Work
AC repair

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

03/04/2014


Dr Rick L.

They were great and I was very pleased with them. They did what they said that they would do. It was very expensive and very extensive but it was what I needed. They came on a recommendation that I was not impressed with very much but I was completely pleased when they did the job. I hope that I would not have to use them again in the future but if I need to then I would.

Description of Work
I used Carolina Air, Inc. in September for replacing my entire heating and air conditioning unit.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

02/28/2014


Mark S.

They were just very professional. They were on time, it was good quality and good price.

Description of Work
We used the services of Carolina Air.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

11/20/2013


Douglas W.

On our about 4NOV13 the 17 year old air handler at my house stopped working. Thus began the search for the company that could provide the most cost effective product and installation fees. After doing some research I came to the conclusion that the most cost effective system for my particular situation would be a 15 SEER unit. I made this decision based on the amount of time that I plan on owning this particular home (~4 years). This factored into the decision because I wanted to make sure that I would recover the extra amount of money that I would be spending on this unit, as opposed to a 13 SEER ,through monthly savings on my electric bill due to the higher efficiency of the unit. Also, the 15 SEER unit was eligible for a $300 tax rebate through my utility company (Duke Energy) and a $300 tax incentive that expires 31DEC13. Attached is a link with instructions on how to apply for the tax incentive for those interested. http://energystar.supportportal.com/ics/support/kbanswer.asp?deptID=23018&task=knowledge&questionID=16629 That being said I turned to Angie's List to search for the top rated HVAC installers in Moore County. The top three were Comfort First, Air Serve and Carolina Air. In order to provide more variety I also added Lowes to the list even though it wasn't on Angie's List to my knowledge. I contacted and received estimates from all four companies before finally deciding on Carolina Air. The estimates that I received are as follows. Comfort First: $8722 15 SEER (?) Split System Air Serve: $6500 15 SEER Goodman Split System Lowes: $8270.69 15 SEER Trane Split System Carolina air: $5500 15 SEER Trane System Judging from the estimates all four companies essentially provided the same service. In addition to the Heat Pump, Air Handler, pipes, P-trap, refrigerant, thermostat, duct work, permits, etc all of the companies offered a 1 year labor warranty, 10 year parts and 10 year compressor on the respective 15 SEER unit that they were selling. I was impressed with Carolina Air for two reasons. First their price was by far the most competitive. Since the next closest estimate was $1000 higher I was reasonably skeptical of the quality of work that they would be providing. In order to assuage my fears I returned to Angie's List to look up other reviewers comments. Satisfied that I would be getting my money's worth I signed the contract. Secondly, I was impressed with Carolina Air because after conducting the estimate we were making small talk with the technician and we mentioned that the heat pump for the upstairs unit took a very long time to increase the temperature of the second floor of our house. On the spot, he called the after hours technician and told him to swing by our house when he was done with his current job in order to diagnose the problem. He also told the technician not to bill us for the diagnosis and not to bill us for the solution within reason. Ex.) If the problem turned out to be that the refrigerant had all leaked out we most likely would've had to pay the several hundred dollars to patch the hole/replace the pipes and refill the refrigerant. Two days after being installed the unit seems to be working fine. The next step is to receive the first energy bill after having used the unit for one month in order to determine if I truly will see a decrease in my energy bill compared to similar usage with the old 10 SEER Goodman that was previously installed in the house.

Description of Work
Carolina Air replaced our 17 year old 10 SEER Goodman heat pump with a 15 SEER Trane heat pump.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

4.0

09/10/2013


Richard H.

I have recommended them to a neighbor down the street and they were very happy with them. They were punctual, and showed up on time. They will also call you when they are coming.

Description of Work
They repaired a heat pump in the unit.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

    Other local Pros in your area

    Air Quality Concepts

    2012-2019 A.L. Super Service Award Winner! AQC uses the newest duct cleaning technology in the industry. We do NOT use rotobrush systems or homemade 50 gallon drum vacuums with makeshift hoses to shove down your lines. Those methods move the dirt around and tear up duct work. Also, if you see dirt around the vents during the cleaning process, contaminants are being brought back into the home. This happens with all other duct cleaning systems. We pride ourselves in air duct cleaning the correct way, not pushing the dirt around, but removing it and keeping it contained in our vacuum system and the ducts. We always offer free before and after photos so you see exactly what you're paying for. Our process uses suction and forced air simultaneously. We do not disconnect any lines or compromise your system. Our cleaning methods are above and beyond any air duct cleaners in the country. We are highly recommended by multiple heating and air companies in the area. Air Quality Concepts provides reliable and expert customer service for all of your duct cleaning needs, mold removal, vapor barriers, and dryer vent cleaning. You will breathe better and feel better knowing that your air system and your quality of life are greatly improved.  

    Angi Certified

    Offers Coupon

    Comfort First Heating & Cooling

    Comfort First Heating and Cooling takes great pleasure in being the friendliest, most caring and competent air conditioning and heating service, repair and installation company in North Carolina & Virginia. Our more than 20 years of residential and commercial experience gives us the confidence needed to boldly offer the most aggressive,thoughtful Written Guarantee in the industry. Everything we do, from answering your first call to seeing the savings in your electricity after our visit, is meticulously planned because we feel that every detail of your comfort is valuable. If you need air conditioning and heating service, repair or installation and live in central North Carolina, we have technicians locally that can serve you. Contact Us today to find the people and comfort you can count on! Financing is available and Military discounts.  

    Angi Certified

    Offers Coupon

    Carolina Power & Generators, Inc.

    We're Carolina Power & Generators, Inc. The Generator Guys! Specializing in whole-home generators ONLY! Our friendly experts can help you find the right generator, install it, maintain it and make any necessary repairs. We specialize in whole-home standby generators and guarantee quality, affordability and convenience. Also, unlike other companies, we only send out trusted FACTORY TRAINED and CERTIFIED technicians.  

    Angi Certified

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Licensed
    Trade License Number
    23549
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check, Visa, Financing Available
    Senior Discount
    10%
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Heating and Air Conditioning Replacement & repair. Duct Replacement. Complete System Cleaning, UV lights, Air Purification, Humidifier & Dehumidifier installation

    Services Not Offered

    Service of auto, and window units.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Carolina Air Inc

    How is Carolina Air Inc overall rated?

    Carolina Air Inc is currently rated 4.3 overall out of 5.

    What days are Carolina Air Inc open?

    Carolina Air Inc is open:

    Sunday: Open All Day

    Monday: Open All Day

    Tuesday: Open All Day

    Wednesday: Open All Day

    Thursday: Open All Day

    Friday: Open All Day

    Saturday: Open All Day

    What payment options does Carolina Air Inc provide

    Carolina Air Inc accepts the following forms of payment: MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check, Visa, Financing Available

    Does Carolina Air Inc offer free estimates?

    Yes, Carolina Air Inc offers free project estimates.

    Does Carolina Air Inc offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Carolina Air Inc does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Carolina Air Inc offer a senior discount?

    Yes, Carolina Air Inc offers a 10% senior discount.

    Does Carolina Air Inc offer emergency services?

    Yes, Carolina Air Inc offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Carolina Air Inc?

    Yes, Carolina Air Inc offers warranties.

    What services does Carolina Air Inc offer?

    Carolina Air Inc offers the following services: Heating and Air Conditioning Replacement & repair. Duct Replacement. Complete System Cleaning, UV lights, Air Purification, Humidifier & Dehumidifier installation

    Are there any services Carolina Air Inc does not offer?

    Service of auto, and window units.