Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Waynesville Maid

Founded 1996 • With Angi since November 2010

4.2

(79) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

990 Sweeten Creek Rd

Asheville, NC 28803

Description

Designer Maid is a professional, earth friendly cleaning business, providing home, apartment and office cleaning services for 300 customers in Asheville, Hendersonville and the surrounding areas.... "I've been in the Cleaning Business for 29 years, so call me and experience the difference a professional housekeeper can bring to your home". Call me for free, no obligation quotes on recurring, one-time, move-in and move-out cleaning. Call me for carpet cleaning, window cleaning and construction cleaning. All inquires are welcomed by a friendly person on the phone. www.designermaid.net or www.housecleaningashevillenc.com...

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
1.0

05/03/2018


David N.

This company has unscrupulous billing practices, so be careful. They billed me $45/hr for 13 man-hours, to clean my empty 3BR house after I moved out. On what planet does it take 13 hours to clean an empty unfurnished 3-bedroom house? When probed on this question repeatedly, the owner became evasive, and quite defensive. In lieu of a real explanation, I asked for a theoretical accounting of how the work might have taken 13 hours. The response was, "I'm not having this conversation." It is not unreasonable to ask for an accounting of services provided when being billed over double the market rate for a service. As for the service, it was satisfactory, although not exemplary. After showing up 2 hours late without notifying me, I met 2 cleaners, who stayed for 4 hours. Apparently, there were 2 more cleaners who arrived in my absence. I returned in the evening to find that no attempt was made to clean the kitchen floor or any of the interior walls. A closet shelf was dislodged from the wall and no attempt was made to reattach it. These aren't major problems, but the next day I was more than a little surprised at the $546 invoice. Designer Maid should have contacted me to let me know they were sending an additional 2 people to clean the horrible filth I apparently live in. In the end, I was charged $137 per hour for a job that took less than 4 hours. This is more than triple the rate I was quoted, and quite an insane price for cleaning an empty house. In lieu of their horrific customer service, the owners continue to lie and deny their deceptive business practices of "man hours" and "work hours", as this was not explained to us nor was there a contract detailing these charges prior to the appointment. We also never consented additional "man hours" from 2 more employees that apparently showed up "later in the day" without our knowledge, at the steep cost totaling $137/hr., upon which we never agreed, as this is more than double the market price for the service. Beware of these professional scammers. This company continues to harass us with false accusations; and a background check on Designer Maid reveals a litigious history with their prior customers.

Description of Work
Move-out Cleaning for empty 1700 sq. ft. house

Category house cleaning

Service Provider Response

Mr [Member Name Removed] According to my staff, your home was disgusting. I am sorry to have to say that, it is not something I like to say but your attacks keep coming. You were well informed about the cost per hour, per person. If I had not sent out another team to help the team that was there, they would have been there until 9 PM. I am not responsible for the condition you left your home in, only the work my people accomplish and you told Michael Wells, when he called, that the work was good. You were not quoted a price in the beginning, you were given an online automatically generated estimate which is based on the cost to clean an average house for the size you quoted. As I tell all of my customers, if you leave it in bad shape it will take longer than expected, if you leave it in good shape it could take less time than expected. You saw the estimate and thought you could get away with paying only that amount regardless of how you left your home. In fact, you said that you would only pay that amount or you would give us bad reviews on the internet. Enough! You made the mess, we cleaned it up and now you need to pay!
1.0

05/02/2018


Stacey N.

Beware of this business, highly unprofessional and deceptive business practices. Received an estimate of $45.00/hr for a move out cleaning service for 2 people, upon which we agreed. The 2 cleaners showed up 2 hrs. late for their appt., stayed between the hours of 2:20 and 6:10 p.m., and did not leave an invoice of services or receipt. when they left. The following day the owner, Michael Wells, calls us with a total bill of $546.00 for the 4 hours of service provided, stating that 2 additional cleaners showed up later during the appointment, so everyone could leave the house by 6 p.m. When my husband requested an explanation of services provided for the outrageous price totaling $137.00/hour, none was given. We were never informed of an estimated rate that went from 45/hr to 137/hr . We were never made aware of the situation of additional cleaners having showed up at this cost. The cleaning job itself was mediocre at best, as a walk-through next morning included a kitchen floor that was not cleaned and markings on the wall, and many other minor details missed not expected of a professional cleaning service. The worst part of this experience, was the customer service. When my husband requested an explanation for the bill of $546.00 for 4 hours of work detailed, as it is MORE THAN DOUBLE the market price of a move-out cleaning service, the owners of Designer Maid proceeded with threats and insults in an aggressive manner; questioned us why we called a cleaning service, and called our house "dirty" and accused us of wanting "freebies". Evasive response and repeated harassment from the owner through out our many phone calls and e-mails.

Description of Work
Move-out cleaning for empty 3-brdroom house

Category house cleaning

Service Provider Response

Sorry [Member Name Removed], you and David can write all the bad reviews you want. Your husband said he would post bad reviews if we didn't cut our price but we did the work and you knew the deal. There was nothing deceptive about what we said; we are very clear that all work is per person, per hour. We will not be blackmailed, the team worked very hard to get the mud off of your walls. They took pictures because they are not used to cleaning houses needing that much work...Professional housekeepers beware!
5.0

10/18/2017


tori O.

They are very professional and have very strict cleaning standards. The owner, Michael, has high expectations for his employees. So far after two cleanings, I am satisfied.

Description of Work
Regular house cleaning every two weeks.

Category house cleaning

5.0

04/04/2017


Jennifer B.

Designer maids are excellent and thorough in their work, friendly and trustworthy. I enjoyed establishing relationships with the girls and am so grateful for all the work done - look forward to using their services again in the future!

Description of Work
Bi-weekly housecleaning.

Category house cleaning

Service Provider Response

Thank you [Member Name Removed] for your nice review! We look forward to working with you again and wish you and your family a fantastic life!
5.0

03/20/2017


Liberty H.

Liberty does an awesome job and is very professional. She always checks the house to make sure her work is perfect.

Description of Work
Housecleaning

Category house cleaning

5.0

03/19/2017


Jenny G.

My business has never been this clean! Spotless!!

Description of Work
I own a busines which they clean each evening. They are very detailed, punctual and trustworthy. Owners Shirley & Michael run a top knotch service!

Category house cleaning

5.0

03/08/2017


debbie T.

They go me an appointment right away the ladies were very professional and knowledgeable they did a great job

Description of Work
Had family coming to visit needed house cleaning

Category house cleaning

5.0

03/08/2017


Terrie S.

Both the management and the staff of Designer Maids are utmost professionals, as well as genuinely caring and attentive people. Not only do they execute their contracted services well, but they also will contact me if anything seems amiss, or if additional services are needed. They are all terrific.

Description of Work
Designer Maids visits my 97 year-old mother each week to clean the house, change linens, and generally ensure that a high level of cleanliness and care ensues.

Category house cleaning

5.0

02/27/2017


Tina O.

They are wonderful. Sweet people, great owners, do a great job up with the upkeep and keeping things looking great. Love this company!

Description of Work
We get a bi-weekly cleaning of our house and a monthly cleaning of our business office.

Category house cleaning

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much for a wonderful review of our work
5.0

10/20/2016


Dan H.

Excellent work. Friendly and well trained employees.

Description of Work
Complete house cleaning.

Category house cleaning

Service Provider Response

Hi [Member Name Removed], and thank you very much for the outstanding review. You are a fantastic customer, and a pleasure to work with.
1.0

09/04/2016


Angela E.

The initial clean was awesome! They came in and did a "spring cleaning". My husband and I were very excited to have obtained such a service . We are both extremely busy and have recently obtained guardianship of our nephew. Being "new" parents this was not only a treat but a necessity in our already hectic lives. Sadly, it all went downhill very quickly. I found myself after every cleaning , coming home, taking pictures and emailing the company things that were not completed. They do offer a guarantee and will send someone back out to complete any tasks you feel were not done. I grew more and more frustrated as the weeks went by not only for paying for a service that was never complete but also having to "manage" a service I was paying for. When I voiced my concerns , most times I was dealt with frustration and annoyance by the company. I too am in the service industry and know this is not how you deal with people. When I finally came to the decision that the service was not worth the hassle, I sent an email stating that I wanted to cancel my contract. At that point the owner called, offered me a half price cleaning, and asked me to give it another try. We agreed. When they came to do the cleaning, I was charged full price. I sent an email and phoned about the refund, recieved a VERY rude response back and was told my service was terminated. I was beyond disappointed but ultimately relieved. I would not recommend this service not only for the lack of management on their part but also for how they handled a unhappy customer. Severe lack of professionalism. I only wish things had been different.

Description of Work
Bi-weekly house cleaning.

Category house cleaning

Service Provider Response

I truly wish the best for Ms. [Member Name Removed]. We did our best. A refund was issued 8-31-16 for 1/2 of the last cleaning. We were just not a good fit.
5.0

08/10/2016


Bobbie S.

Amazing the girls are a great geoup of girls, very cheerful and friendly. The really k ow what theyre doing to they did an excellent job and didnt miss a beat!

Description of Work
Cleaned my house wounderfully! I was extremely satisified with the service and will definitely have them back in the future!

Category house cleaning

Service Provider Response

You're amazing and a pleasure to work with.
5.0

07/12/2016


Shamora D.

Their cleaning personnel always do a thorough, professional job. We never have to call Designer Maid to complain that any part of their routine was less than complete.

Description of Work
Thoroughly cleaned our living area. This included dusting furniture and vacuuming under, vacuuming carpets, dusting light fixtures lampshades and artwork/photos,dusting exposed heat registers and baseboards, dust windowsills and remove any cobwebs in the lining room, dining room and bedrooms/office. Changing the sheets in the bedrooms is also included. Cleaning of the bathrooms included the tub/shower stall, commode, cabinet exteriors, vacuum and sh-mop floors, and dusting baseboards, windowsills and exposed heat registers. The kitchen cleaning consisted of countertops, small appliances, stove, refrigerator and dishwasher exteriors, sink/faucet/drain, inside window over the sink, dust windowsills, heat registers, and baseboards, and vacuum/sh-mop the floor.

Category house cleaning

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for your wonderful review.
5.0

06/09/2016


Tina O.

They do a really great job. They do our floors (vacuum and mop), clean the blinds, dust everything, vacuum our couches/furniture, clean mirrors, toilets, sinks and change the sheets on our bed. They are very sweet and are in and out without a peep. They always leave questionnaires asking how their work was and stating who was there. After our first house cleaning, they followed up with us multiple times asking how the experience was. I felt very taken care of and like it was a safe environment to express my thoughts. They send reminder emails each week they visit with the cost and the time of the appointment which is very helpful. Really wonderful people to work with. I highly recommend them.

Description of Work
Clean the downstairs of our house and they maintain it every two weeks. They clean the upstairs for an additional cost upon request, as we don't use our upstairs unless for guests.

Category house cleaning

Service Provider Response

Thank you for a great review. You are fantastic and it is a pleasure to be associated with you.
5.0

06/08/2016


Judy S.

Designer Maid has excellent training so the employees that come to my house are efficient, conscientious, and dependable. When I call to schedule around company coming or a Holiday, they work hard to make their schedule work for mine. The products they use are safe for my pets, grandchildren and the environment.

Description of Work
Thorough cleaning of my home.

Category house cleaning

Service Provider Response

Hi [Member Name Removed], and thank you for your wonderful review. You are a pillar of the community and we are very pleased to be associated with you.
5.0

06/06/2016


Karen G.

Designer Maids takes into account the needs of their clients and tailors their work accordingly. We are a business with very specific needs - Designer Maids has met and exceeded every request. In particiular we needed to resurect our beautiful anqiue hardwood floors. After 14 years of daily foot traffic, the shine was beginning to wear. As a business we do not have the luxury of shutting our doors, removing 9 offices + conference room to refinish the hardwoods. Designer Maids assisted us with a solution that works using a professional formula refresher that provides a clear, highly durable gloss to polyurethane finished wood floors that are dull, worn, scratched, or show signs of wear. They preform this refesher on a schedule monthly. Our floors look fabulous! Our offices are modern, with glass everywhere - Designer Maids ensures we are "finger print" free! It is nice to come to work knowing our business is always fresh and clean for the optium client impression. You can't go wrong with their service - if you are looking for cleaning service, call them today! You will be happy you did; one last thing to worry about.

Description of Work
We retained Designer Maid service to provide weekly cleaning in our 1200 square foot office space. They do a fabulous job. We highly recommend them.

Category house cleaning

Service Provider Response

Hi [Member Name Removed], The way you run your business is a credit to the entire community. Thank you for you glowing review.
5.0

06/04/2016


Sandy and Harry S.

Everything went well. Bobbie was the employee who worked with us and she did an excellent job.

Description of Work
They cleaned our house after our move.

Category house cleaning

Service Provider Response

Mr. [Member Name Removed]. You are a gentleman and a fantastic member of our community. We are fortunate to have you in our city
5.0

06/04/2016


Caroline S.

Excellent cleaning provided, and the results seem to last longer than if I did it myself. Another big plus is Designer Maids uses only environmentally friendly products. The house has a clean fresh smell (Clary, sage and citrus) when the team is finished. I liked their cleaning products so much, I ordered some on line to use myself.

Description of Work
Dusted all surfaces, vacuumed and/or mopped all floors, and cleaned all bathrooms. Periodically, all windows, blinds, doors, baseboards and framed pictures were dusted. The kitchen was cleaned from top to bottom - including counter tops, stove top and oven door, refrigerator doors, microwave and dishwasher door and kitchen floor.

Category house cleaning

Service Provider Response

Thank you [Member Name Removed]. You are a fantastic customer.
5.0

06/03/2016


Carol K.

These are very professional folks and do an excellent job.

Description of Work
Dust, vacuum, clean bathrooms and kitchens. They use environmentally sensitive cleaners. If I want a stronger product sometimes, it provide and they use.

Category house cleaning

Service Provider Response

Hi [Member Name Removed], you are amazing and we are so thankful to be associated with you.
5.0

06/03/2016


Alex D.

Always thorough, dependable and responsive to our cleaning needs. We save hundreds of dollars each year on cleaning supplies. They provide everything, and use green products. Love the vacuum! Would highly recommend.

Description of Work
Bi-weekly cleaning of our 4,600 sq ft home for 11 years.

Category house cleaning

5.0

06/03/2016


John L.

Very well, as usual. They always do an excellent job.

Description of Work
Cleaned house thoroughly. Floors, kitchen, bathrooms, carpet/hardwoods, dust, etc ..

Category house cleaning

4.0

06/03/2016


Lynn G.

I am very pleased with Designer Maids and would not hesitate to recommend them. Do they clean the way I would--No. But I don't have to do it and if there's something special I want them to do, I just ask. I have used DM for about 8 years and had a self-employed woman before that. I changed to DM because it seemed that the lady would always cancel right before holiday guests were scheduled to arrive. I don't get all the drama with DM. I have never had them cancel on me which means a lot. The last thing you want when you're expecting house guests is to have to add cleaning to your list!

Description of Work
Designer Maids cleans my home every two weeks. They send me an email a day or two before the service to tell me their arrival time, and they are always prompt. They clean the bathrooms, kitchen, baseboards, ceiling fans, dust, vacuum and mop the floors. If there's anything out of the ordinary that I want them to do--vacuum the screen porch for instance--all I have to do is ask. Their staff is very accommodating and pleasant.

Category house cleaning

Service Provider Response

Hi [Member Name Removed], you are top shelf. Thank you for your kind review, and thank you for being part of our (business) family.
5.0

06/03/2016


Vickie W.

They were early each time they came but called ahead to make sure that was ok. Had different people On 4 occasions and all were very good; obviously well trained. Very nice and kind people who did a great job each time.

Description of Work
Cleaned our 3 bedroom, 2 bath house with what they list as "light cleaning." However that light cleaning was far better than I ever did!

Category house cleaning

Service Provider Response

Hi [Member Name Removed], and thank you for recognizing the fact that we train, train, train. And, thank you for your wonderful review.
4.0

06/03/2016


Amy E.

They have been doing my house cleaning for 15 years. They are always courteous and respectful and do a good job. Sometimes they are late but they genera try to let me know if that happens.

Description of Work
Designer Maid has been doing my bi-weekly(once every two weeks) house cleaning for the last 15 years.

Category house cleaning

Service Provider Response

Hi [Member Name Removed], and thank you for your review. Rest assured, we are working on the time quoted vs actual arrival time, and will get it worked out.
4.0

07/01/2015


kasha B.

they had a system & stuck to it.. did ok job on what they did to bad it was without humor 0--after all it's cleaning... they took it so seriously... mayb someone was not nice to them.... they did a fair share of the house...though

Description of Work
2 gals came by, did not dp some work i needed doing..

Category house cleaning

    Other local Pros in your area

    THE LOCKHART NATION

    The Lockhart nation Corp. is a cleaning company that provides any kind of cleaning services. We have been doing this for five years and we finally made enough money to start our own small business. With the Lockhart nation Corp. We like to match a competitors or go lower we mainly work with people that want a great job done but everything is too expensive . So we try to find multiple ways to help our clients. This business does window cleaning, pressure washing, construction cleans, short-term residential cleans, anything dealing with cleaning we do it. We use organic base products for those that are allergic to scents and chemicals and for our regular cleans we send over a list we use that way if they have any substitutions they would like us to use we would.  

    Grime Scene Cleaners

    We are Committed to Keeping Your Home & Car Squeaky Clean. Our mission is to provide our customers with high-quality residential, commercial, and automotive cleaning services in an environmentally sound, completely trustworthy, and professional manner.  

    Firefly Cleaning and Carpet Specialists

    Residential and commercial cleaning and carpet specialists We are a family owned and operated company, serving the residents of Western North Carolina. We provide the highest quality of work and customer care at a price that fits your budget. We are a registered and insured llc, run by a staff comprised of both cleaning and business professionals. Your satisfaction is our guarantee, let us take care of your home and business cleaning needs.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Check
    Senior Discount
    0%
    Warranties
    No

    Services Offered

    Residential & commercial cleaning

    Services Not Offered

    Window cleaning. Dish washing. In house laundry. Pressure washing

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Waynesville Maid

    How is Waynesville Maid overall rated?

    Waynesville Maid is currently rated 4.2 overall out of 5.

    What days are Waynesville Maid open?

    Waynesville Maid is open:

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    What payment options does Waynesville Maid provide

    Waynesville Maid accepts the following forms of payment: Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Check

    Does Waynesville Maid offer free estimates?

    Yes, Waynesville Maid offers free project estimates.

    Does Waynesville Maid offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Waynesville Maid offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Waynesville Maid offer a senior discount?

    Yes, Waynesville Maid offers a 0% senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Waynesville Maid?

    No, Waynesville Maid does not offer warranties.

    What services does Waynesville Maid offer?

    Waynesville Maid offers the following services: Residential & commercial cleaning

    Are there any services Waynesville Maid does not offer?

    Window cleaning. Dish washing. In house laundry. Pressure washing