Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Homeworks

Founded 2004 • With Angi since February 2012

4.9

(29) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

1 Bompart Blvd

Montana City, MT 59634

Description

Homeworks is best described as a family business. It is a partnership between father and son that takes advantage of a wide range of construction and project management experiences; and, a great deal of personal pride in work and reputation. The owners, Jim and Jesse, are life-long residents of the Helena area, they have deep roots in the community, and are well established in the local building trades industry. Both are involved daily in each project, regardless of size. Over the years they have learned many things about the construction business, but the three most important things they learned were: do exactly what you say you're going to do; if you do something, do it right; and treat people like you want to be treated. Now that probably sounds a little corny in a corporate boardroom, but here in Montana it just nails down what's truly important in business. Homeworks is a small and personal company. It maintains a few core staff and employs other trades on an "as-needed" basis. This allows us to assemble just the right people and skills specific to your project. Such an approach produces high quality results at a very competitive cost. Over the years we have established long-term relationships with plumbers, electricians, masons, engineers, concrete contractors, and many other fine craftspeople. These relationships are enduring because we all share the same high regard for our crafts and our clients. We are all ready to help you turn your ideas into a home fitting your lifestyle, dreams, and budget. We are certified by the Environmental Protection Agency as a Lead-Safe firm and by the National Association of Home Builders as an "Aging-In-Place" construction specialist....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

03/29/2018


Robert H.

Initially we went with Lowes who hired a contractor for our bathroom remodel. The whole experience was a complete nightmare. Homeworks was hired to demo the bathroom and fix the multitude of major issues. They were quick, incredibly great to work with, and the new bathroom was done properly with an outstanding end product. We will be sticking with Homeworks for all future projects.

Description of Work
Bathroom Remodel

Category remodeling, home remodeling

5.0

03/21/2018


Gail C.

Just adding photos to our review of our bedroom suite with basement below —

Description of Work
Home Addition

Category ceramic tile, drywall, electrician, egress windows, excavators, flooring contractor, plumbing, remodeling, roofing, water heater repair, replacement windows, woodworking, home remodeling, interior painters, basement remodeling

5.0

03/15/2018


Patty M.

The design was not common. I wanted all maintenance free materials. Jim met with me to discuss my ideas, and created the plans that met my vision exactly. We installed trex decking and a brushed aluminum pergola. The house is dark blue, the decking was a mixed gray/blue, and the pergola is white. The results are stunning! Once Jim and the team start the project, they are dedicated to that project until it's done - they don't multitask and get delayed on another project while working on yours! The guys were as clean and neat as you can be when building something. To pour the footings, they had to pull up some turf, which concerned me - but by the time they got done, the grass was right back where it was, and you couldn't even tell it had been disturbed. These guys were great - easy to work with, professional in their deportment, excellent quality of work. Rates were very reasonable for the quality of the results. Highly, Highly Recommend!

Description of Work
I had a custom-made, maintenance free deck with pergola added on to my home.

Category decks, remodeling

5.0

09/22/2016


Earl F.

Work crew (2) very professional and knowledgeable about what they were doing. Excellent clean up from start to finish. Because of some variances in materials, quoted price adjusted and reduced accordingly.

Description of Work
Removal and replacement with new windows throughout the house. (9 total).

Category replacement windows

5.0

05/17/2016


Donna L H.

Description of Work
Excellent service.

Category remodeling

5.0

11/27/2015


Nadine S.

Description of Work
Completed media room. Worked well with audio/video provider. Installed wet bar. Very happy with the quality of work done.

Category drywall, remodeling, basement remodeling

5.0

11/02/2015


Becky D.

I knew I wanted an inlay on my deck and a stairway with a landing. The contractor listened to all my ideas and incorporated them beautifully. The contractor even gracious when I asked to modify the design by placing two inlays on the deck plus a matching inlay on the landing of the stairway. I was very pleased with the work crew. They cleaned the work area end of each night - all tools and equipment put away nicely.

Description of Work
Tore down old wooden deck and rebuilt larger, redesigned deck with Trex decking.

Category decks, remodeling

5.0

09/16/2015


Jeanne P.

Description of Work
Jim Burgess and his crew have worked for me on 3-4 home projects. I have been pleased with the work each time.

Category remodeling

5.0

06/17/2015


Diedre T.

Smoothly except we had to ask tiler to come back to complete his work. Took a while to get the original appointment. They very busy.

Description of Work
Replaced a toilet, fixed squeaky stairrs, regrouted shower tiles

Category plumbing, remodeling

5.0

03/03/2015


Donna L H.

The design was excellent with Mr. Burgess involving us at every stage and providing very helpful options. He had an excellent understanding of the mobility issues involved. His crew was punctual, polite, capable, and had-working. Despite some very difficult weather during the construction time (al of the work was outdoors), the project was completed on schedule and on budget. The workmanship was professional and, although most ramps built to be handicapped accessible tend to be obtrusive and unattractive, we have received compliments from our neighbors and friends regarding it's appearance. We could not be more pleased and will certainly use the services that Mr Burgess provides in the future. (My husband has wide experience in carpentry and home building/remodeling and I believe that his complete satisfaction with Mr. Burgess's work is a first)

Description of Work
Designed and constructed an ADA compliant front entrance ramp.

Category remodeling, woodworking

5.0

02/24/2015


Steven K.

Jim Burgess showed up the day after I contacted him and gave the area a walk through, providing insights/advice as to how the work would proceed and what would work, considering the concepts we had in mind. He was able to fit us in due to a rescheduling of one of his other jobs and the crew showed up as promised and finished on schedule, with little disruption of our lives, considering we were having two bathrooms remodeled! They did great site prep, and were conscientious about leaving the area clean each day. His team had great attitudes and were willing to explain their work and checked in with us as they started significant phases of the project. They made changes where they could and only charged us for the significant modifications to the original plan. All in all, we were very pleased and felt we got a quality product that exceeded our expectations. In fact, we then asked Jim to GC a whole house paint later in the year because we grew to trust his judgment, honesty and candor. I'd recommend Home Works to anyone. If they say they can do the renovation for the amount and within a certain time frame, you can take that to the bank.

Description of Work
Home Works renovated two of our three bathrooms (including master) and repaired flooring around toilet in third (1/2 bath). Tiled floors and shower walls, built new stalls and installed glass doors. Moved lights and other fixtures as needed. Removed cabinets and sinks to tile complete floor, not just visible areas. Replaced toilets with taller "comfort" versions and prepared walls for painting.

Category ceramic tile, remodeling, home remodeling

5.0

08/21/2014


BRENDAN E.

They were just fine. They were friendly, competent, and were easy to work with. We needed to change plans, and do some innovative stuff as they went along, and they were very good. The price was more than I expected.

Description of Work
They remodeled the bathroom.

Category home remodeling

5.0

06/06/2014


Melissa S.

Very well, very good. They were nice, efficient and they did a great job.

Description of Work
They did painting, molding.

Category remodeling, woodworking, interior painters

4.0

05/02/2014


Steve R.

Homeworks’ dependability and efficiency were very good and the quality of the work was good for the most part. However, the quality of the work of one sub-contractor they strongly recommended was very poor. Homeworks was made aware of this after the work was finished but no adjustment was offered. In my view, the addition, designed by Homeworks, had a negative effect on the exterior appearance of the house visible from the street. Several renderings of the interior remodel were provided, which was helpful but my request for a rendering of the proposed exterior was shrugged off and never furnished. I would perhaps use Homeworks again, however, but only for projects I designed myself and using only subs whose work I'm familiar with.

Description of Work
Designed and constructed remodel of part of ground-level of existing house; designed and constructed small addition.

Category remodeling

5.0

04/13/2014


Sumner S.

Excellent remodel of primary bathroom in 1880s duplex unit - new fixtures, flooring, tile work, sink & cabinet, painting, installed fan, new lighting, wainscoting, etc. Have followed up with a few minor repairs (promptly, no added charges). Professional, friendly, good teamwork, well managed project. Excellent results.highly recommend.

Description of Work
Remodeled bathroom plus several other improvements in other spaces. Also have provided advice on other contractors for small household projects

Category ceramic tile, remodeling, home remodeling, interior painters

5.0

03/24/2014


Dwan W.

They were on time, very professional and courteous. They made sure materials and colors matched. They showed up for work when they said they would. We highly recommend Home Works!

Description of Work
Finish/correct items on new construction that the builder refused to finish or fix such as installing cabinets, caulking, siding repair/caulk, and much more.

Category remodeling, siding, woodworking

5.0

07/08/2013


Ruth Ann S.

I have used Homeworks for many projects in two different homes the last seven years. This project went very well. The workmen are skilled and professional. Every day they clean up their work area before leaving. I cannot say enough great comments. These guys ate very very good. Would I hire them again? In a heartbeat!!

Description of Work
Remodeled the master bath. Install new vanity, tiled floor, installed new tub, tiled tub surround, painted, installed a toe kick heater under vanity.

Category bathtub refinishing, ceramic tile, home remodeling, interior painters

Service Provider Response

Thanks! Fun project, great people to work for, and we even got paid for it. What more can you ask for?
2.0

06/19/2013


Robert M.

I called this provider for an estimate on building a patio cover and they never showed up to look at the project.

Description of Work
Nothing, never showed up.

Category remodeling

Service Provider Response

I called you to schedule an appointment with you and left a message on your answering machine. When I did not hear back from you I assumed you selected another contractor. I'm sorry this mis-communication happened. We always strive to meet with every potential customer and discuss their project.
5.0

01/14/2013


Joan S.

Excellent quality, communication, workmanship. Please see detailed notes on review submitted for this provider previously.

Description of Work
Complete finishing of basement with three bedrooms and bath, plus exercise room and study.

Category remodeling, home remodeling, basement remodeling

5.0

12/05/2012


Sumner S.

Overall, we are very happy with the results. Good value received. Very responsive and provided detailed and easy to understand accounting of work and invoice. Communicated with us throughout the process so we know what was going on, when changes were needed or when we asked for some added work. Staff was polite, took time to explain things or to ask for our input, were readily available; clearly an experienced team in working together and communicated with each other. Project was well managed. It took a bit longer than anticipated but there were changes necessitated by remodeling an old house and requests that we made for added items. We have asked them to help with several other items - not related to the above. And they have responded.

Description of Work
Remodeled primary bathroom - removed wall coverings, added wainscoting,painted walls and inside closets and cabinets, tiled bathtub surround, replaced plumbing, rewired with new outlets and hung new lights, replaced toilet and added new bathroom cabinet with new sink and fixtures, new bathroom exhaust fan, new flooring and other activities (e.g.hanging mirrors, reused some fixtures, etc.). Also replaced toilet and baseboard in second bathroom.

Category ceramic tile, electrician, flooring contractor, plumbing, remodeling, home remodeling, interior painters

5.0

11/19/2012


Cidre S.

Loved the job - love my new kitchen! Everyone who sees it cannot believe what a great kitchen it is now - and how big it is with all the counter space and cabinets! He gave us a written agreement at the beginning with all the work to be performed and the cost. The only change were the 2 items we added during the project (recessed light in the corner to match the others and counter top on the hutch in the dining room). So there were no surprises - everything up front as agreed to. Would definitely use Homeworks again and have recommended him to several of my friends. I wish I had found him sooner, but will only go to Jim for future projects!

Description of Work
First job was to put in a larger shower in the downstairs bathroom. We had a built in closet next to our shower, so the contractor pulled it out and moved it over - seamless! You'd never know it was moved. Job required moving the shower drain, breaking concrete, installing new shower, fixtures, drywall, and painting. Loved the job and the kids now use the new shower! ($2,000) Second job was rearranging the kitchen. I thought we would just be able to eliminate the peninsula, make an island, and install cabinets in the dining room to make a built in hutch. Jim looked at the kitchen, took measurements and came back with a plan. He asked me to think about removing the side door, which entered the kitchen (we also have a front door and a back door onto the deck from the dining room). He said we could then make the kitchen a U, adding more cupboards and counter space in the corner - PLUS eliminating the traffic through the kitchen. Never even crossed my mind to do this! He centered the stove and microwave on the back wall. He used cabinets we pulled out of the peninsula where he could, then purchased the same frame/box that we had to match the kitchen. Kraft Maid would not make the doors since they were a discontinued product. Jim made the drawer fronts and stained to match our current cabinets and found a cabinet maker to replicate 3 doors to match our current cabinets. Jim again stained to match. Note: we bought different cabinets for the hutch area and the island. My husband has chemical asthma, so we have to be careful about chemical smells in the house. Jim stained our cabinets and then let them air out for several days to keep the VOCs down. They were very careful about the dry walling and painting as well and taped off the area to separate from the rest of the house. He also moved our outside stairs to the back of the house to accommodate our new entrance using the back deck. Installed electrical outlets along the new wall and island. Pulled the heat register from the floor to the toe kick under the sink (so much nicer!). Built custom book shelf at the end of the counter (used to be the corner for the peninsula) - matches the small shelves on the upper cabinets that were already there.

Category decks, drywall, remodeling, home remodeling, interior painters

5.0

07/03/2012


Joan S.

As stated above (sorry this is my first review) Homeworks was on time and respectful, cleaned up daily, and finished the entire project timely. When I work with contractors, I want written estimates with clear parameters before the work starts, as much as possible. This is how Homeworks does business, so I highly recommend them. The cost was substantial, so you need to do your due diligence for apples-to-apples comparisons, but we love the result. The other contractors we contacted were less detailed or less professional or were not as comprehensive in their plans. Homeworks presented a plan, based on our request, that created confidence on our part that they had heard what we wanted to do and would meet expectations. That means a lot.

Description of Work
We had an unfinished basement, with only the interior walls framed out and the bath roughed in to start from and numerous large egress windows in place. Jim and his crew, along with contractors he subcontracted, completely finished off the basement to result in a full bath, three bedrooms, a study area, and a large workout/family room area with a cool ceiling feature (a cove surround to match an illustration we had found) with indirect lighting. I asked for a built-in window seat with bookshelves, also to look built-in, surrounding one of the bedroom's windows. I wanted the design to blend with existing bookshelves I had in the home. It looks great. We wanted the drywall to match the design in the upstairs and the drywaller working with Homeworks reviewed what we wanted and delivered. It's beautifully done. When we found a fault with the paint in one spot, it was immediately corrected and had been on the list to revise the next day the painter was available. We had to change our original plan in the bathroom due to how the HVAC had been configured (completed before engaging Homeworks) and Jim designed a shaker style door for a storage unit with counter top that has worked out wonderfully. I liked the regular communication, having clear understanding of what was to take place through a professional written estimate and appreciated the availability of Jim for discussions of any changes we needed to make along the way, with clear choices based on cost estimates of the options. Jim liked to work from a written plan to stay on target to finish and that's exactly what happened. Also, the crew was respectful of our space and cleaned up daily.

Category drywall, remodeling, woodworking, home remodeling, basement remodeling

5.0

03/19/2012


Ruth Ann S.

All work has been done in a timely manner! The crew cleans up every day! There is no trash or debris left laying about. The crew has provided high quality workmanship in all projects. They follow construction codes and are highly ethical.

Description of Work
We first hired Homeworks to repair a large section of cedar fencing that had blown down in a microburst on Memorial Day weekend in 2006. We had several "handymen" and fence companies provide estimates for the repair. None of those estimates provided a detailed report on what would be done and I did not feel comfortable hiring any of those workers. Then I saw an ad for Homeworks in the local newspaper. I called and Jim Burgess came out to our house, took measurements, asked questions and within a day I had a detailed estimate that included the amount of materials that would be used (down to the number of screws and brackets needed). Based on the professionalism of the estimate I hired Homeworks. My husband and I were extremely pleased with the work done. Since then we have hired Homeworks for the past six years for a wide variety of projects that have included remodeling a bathroom (replacing tub and laying tile both on the floor and tub surround), moving a skylight, adding insulation to the attic, replacing vent tubing for two bathroom exhaust fans, adding under cabinet lighting....and the list goes on. Every time the workmanship has been of highest professional quality. We have had times when we couldn't be home when Homeworks was scheduled to work. We have never hesitated to provide them with a key to the house. Homeworks' prices are, at times, higher than other companies, but I know that when they have completed the job it is done right!! Between the professionalism, high quality work, and great ethics the price is well worth it, you truly do get what you pay for. We highly recommend Homeworks.

Category bathtub refinishing, ceramic tile, drywall, egress windows, fencing, insulation, remodeling, skylights, woodworking, home remodeling

5.0

02/24/2012


Janie P.

The project went very well from start to finish. Homeworks met our completion date and the finished addition is amazing. We like every single thing about our new handicap-accessible bathroom and laundry room. Homeworks did a very high quality remodel for us. Four months after the project was done, we have found nothing to complain about. The price for the project might have been a little higher than some other contractor, but we aren't going to have to get someone in here to fix everything. I'd rather have it done right than regret having a poor end result and having to redo it or live with sub-standard work.

Description of Work
Homeworks designed and built (with demolition of the existing exterior wall and addition of foundation, plumbing, wiring, and heat ducting) an accessible bathroom laundry combination. The project was delayed by our changing the scope of the project after city permits had been acquired, which necessitated a new permit. That was our fault and not the contractor's. The complicated project included excavating our existing root-clogged sewer line and replacing it with new pipe to connect with the city sewer. We also replaced the old water heater with a tankless heater, and the sub-contracted plumber made himself available until that equipment was functioning properly. Every stage of the project was completed with complete professionalism by the workers and met all our expectations. The finished product is the nicest area of our house. We have 2 dogs in a fenced yard. Homeworks made sure our animals were protected from construction debris and that the gates were secured. You know you can count on your contractor when your dogs like their crew! The construction crew cleaned up as they went, so the rest of the house stayed liveable. The workers had access to my home while I was at work and I consider them to be trustworthy. I would not hesitate to recommend Homeworks for any renovation, remodeling or construction project. We have just hired Homeworks to remove and replace the siding and trim on our home as soon as the weather permits, and intend to hire Homeworks to do a kitchen and back porch remodel later this summer.

Category drywall, excavators, remodeling, water heater repair, home builders, home remodeling

5.0

12/27/2011


Beth E.

HomeWorks completed an addition to the back of our house that in total was 400 square feet. We initially wanted them to do a finished kitchen and dining room, but realized with our budget that we could afford to have them take the project all the way to texturing the drywall, where we would then take over. They were more than willing to provide bids for both phases of the project, which was very helpful in us sticking with our budget and determining what we would hire them to do. They were always prompt with work times, and great about communicating to us where they were in the project, what would happen next, and if they weren't going to be there why and when they'd return. They stuck to our project until it was complete, which took approximately 5 weeks. During that time they took only a handful of days off, and that was mainly to allow things to dry, sit, etc. Overall we were very happy with their professionalism and integrity. They came in only a few days behind schedule and exactly on budget. Great experience and excellent finished product!

Description of Work
Completed a 16 x 20 foot addition to the back of the house, completing or subcontracting all phases of the project from excavation to texturing drywall.

Category remodeling, home remodeling

    Other local Pros in your area

    360 Painting of Southern Montana

    If you’re ready to give your home a new coat of paint, don’t do it alone! Painting your home yourself can not only be time-consuming and stressful, but it can also result in less than professional results. With the help of 360° Painting, you can sit back and relax while our residential painters handle the job with confidence and precision. We are an interior and exterior painting company that provides services for every area. Whether you simply need the kitchen painted or want to change every room in your house, our team can handle it all, and we’ll ensure smooth and consistent results free of drips, seams, and inconsistencies.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Grout Like New

    Our mission is to be a provider that brings back the personal touch with our customers. We will build a relationship that will last a lifetime after you see our quality work. As a locally owned and operated business we feel invested in our clients and constantly strive for customer satisfaction. We won't leave until the job is done right! Call or click to schedule an estimate today!  

    Renewal by Andersen of Montana

    Renewal by Andersen of Montana is a window and patio door replacement company. We are the only replacement window on the market made of Fibrex material. All of our windows and doors are installed by our certified installers. We offer free in-home estimates and have financing available.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check
    Senior Discount
    No
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Home Additions, Kitchen Remodeling, Bathroom Remodeling, Commercial Remodeling, General Contracting, Design Services, Decks & Patio, Basement Remodeling, Whole House Renovations, Finish Carpentry, Home Modifications For Personal Independence

    Services Not Offered

    Interior Decorating

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Homeworks

    How is Homeworks overall rated?

    Homeworks is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

    What days are Homeworks open?

    Homeworks is open:

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    What payment options does Homeworks provide

    Homeworks accepts the following forms of payment: Check

    Does Homeworks offer free estimates?

    Yes, Homeworks offers free project estimates.

    Does Homeworks offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Homeworks offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Homeworks offer a senior discount?

    No, Homeworks does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Homeworks?

    Yes, Homeworks offers warranties.

    What services does Homeworks offer?

    Homeworks offers the following services: Home Additions, Kitchen Remodeling, Bathroom Remodeling, Commercial Remodeling, General Contracting, Design Services, Decks & Patio, Basement Remodeling, Whole House Renovations, Finish Carpentry, Home Modifications For Personal Independence

    Are there any services Homeworks does not offer?

    Interior Decorating