Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Modern Exteriors of Springfield

Founded 1973 • With Angi since August 2009

3.6

(11) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

810 W Norton Rd

Springfield, MO 65803

Description

We have up to 12 months same as cash financing available for qualified buyers.

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
1.0

04/22/2019


William S.

Nothing has happened yet.

Description of Work
Need to fix window are replace it because when you open the lock the window starts to raise. They don't know how to fix and won't replace the window. Called several time and get the same answer that they are playing catch up.

Category replacement windows, doors

2.0

06/07/2017


Jim M.

Terrible company. 11 months later window still leaks. We had to hire another company to fix the problem. Use this company at your own risk.

Description of Work
Installed windows

Category replacement windows

2.0

03/01/2017


Jim B.

This is absolutely the worst company I have ever dealt with. They showed up on the job 5-6 weeks late. Been there off/on for 6-7 weeks and they are still not done. One excuse after another... 1) They tried to sub-contract out the work that I was told they would do. And also tried to cover it up by attempting to get the sub to act as an employee. 2) They actually work on the job for about 6 hours/day. 3) Inclined to stop work when the weather is marginal. By marginal maybe a sprinkle or two or little too cold... 4)Work performed is okay but there are places that are sub-par. 5) Not all "extras" were reasonably priced. 6) Will not communicate. I have had to pry information out of them on multiple occasions. 7) The salesman and the owner refuse to call me to discuss details. 8) I actually run into the salesman frequently and he basically ignores me. 9) Very messy and does not clean up after themselves. 10) Does not respect my property. Has torn multiple screens and damaged my rain gutters. I would not hire this company again if it were the only company providing this service. If I were you I'd look elsewhere!

Description of Work
Siding, Clad Windows and Doors

Category siding, replacement windows

5.0

12/12/2016


Edward M.

All of the work was performed by skilled carpenters and workmen. They were knowledgeable and answered my questions in a very professional manner. The job foreman, although not a constant presence, consulted with me or my wife very frequently. The owner of the company made at least weekly, and sometimes more often visits. Both he and his foreman readily responded to the rare phone questions that I had(have). All of the debris that was generated during the project was cleaned and disposed of a timely manner. I have posted before and after exterior pictures on my fb page! EdwardDocMahoney, my facebook name.

Description of Work
Stripped and removed all debris' from 7 layers of roofing, removing and replacing 9 broken roof supports. In the process of replacing the supports, they raised 3 new walls resulting in a simple attic space converted to a large room across the rear of the house. To the roof they applied new decking that was not present since the house was first roofed. The new asphalt shingles are attractive and set off the new color of the house. A new door and windows were installed in the new room. A very attractive external stairway was constructed by a very skilled carpenter. The back porch was severely damaged by last year's storms. It was then supported only by bricks without mortar, stacked at only three points. Some of Modern Exteriors’ workmen assisted me in pouring a new 3-sided footer and install new concrete blocks and new decking and walls. They built for me a very attractive new gabled roof and a new door. All the old gutters were removed and replaced with seamless aluminum guttering and down spouts. The front porch pillar supports were wrapped in a vinyl covering. The ceiling and sofitt and facia was covered by new vinyl solid and perforated panels. The old wooden railings were removed and new heavy duty aluminum reinforced vinyl railings were installed! Then the whole house was covered with sheets of Styrofoam insulation and high quality vinyl siding. The period architecture was actually preserved by wrapping the cantilever supports in new trim vinyl. The whole house was then completely sided with new solid vinyl siding.

Category remodeling, siding

5.0

06/16/2016


James M.

Description of Work
.

Category decks

5.0

05/21/2016


jamie R.

In the end, it was very good. The first guy they sent out to do it just did a horrible job. I called them and told them about it. They sent out their manager and had let the better guy come back and totally redo all the windows. They're beautiful now. The guy they had was not their employee. They contracted him and he did an absolutely horrible job. They were awful. Their main worker did a great job. I am incredibly happy about it now. They do wonderful service.

Description of Work
We used Modern Exteriors. We had windows put in. He also did some drywall repair.

Category drywall, remodeling, replacement windows

5.0

03/11/2016


jamie R.

The first time the company sent an employee out he did an absolutely horrible job, and we brought the problem to the company's attention. They then sent out another employee and everything was done perfectly. The company is very great at following through and correcting the problem. I was thrilled with the services after they came and fixed our problem. They were very prompt in responding to the issue we had. We also had the company do some drywall work in the home and it is perfect. Wade Short is the one who fixed the windows and completed the drywall job. He was very polite, considerate, cleaned up after he was done, and did excellent work.

Description of Work
They came and installed windows and also a drywall job.

Category drywall, replacement windows

5.0

08/19/2014


Sandy K.

We are really happy with our new windows! Modern Exteriors carries a few different brands, but we chose NT Windows. Windows and components made in the USA. The new windows are vinyl (metal-reinforced), dual pane. Very easy to open and close. They made a noticeable difference in our heating/cooling bill. And they block a LOT of sound. The house is much quieter with the new windows. Working with Modern Exteriors was easy; John answered all our (many, many) questions. They will definitely work with you on the price, so don't be afraid to ask. We signed the contract in March and the windows were manufactured and installed exactly eight weeks later, which is what we expected. Paid half up front and half on completion. Received the appropriate lien wavers when the job was done. Overall, we were happy with the installation. The crew removed our old windows and hauled them away. The new windows were installed, checked for proper function and sealed around the perimeter of the window. The aluminum trim around the windows on the outside looks great and really updates the look of the whole house. If we were disappointed in anything, it would have to be the trim on the inside of the windows. Some of our windows were double-hung, and the existing interior trim wasn't disturbed. But some windows were casement, and because of the placement of the hardware, the interior trim on those windows needed to be replaced. They did an OK job, but they're not finish carpenters, for sure. We had to pull out some siding nails that they had used for trim, and the caulking was a real mess! Took us some time to clean it up so we could paint the new trim. You might want to just do the trim and caulking yourself; it would have saved us time in the long run. But it's all taken care of now, and looks great. The installation took 3 days--but we have 26 windows, some on an upper floor, so it was a big job. We didn't get a lot of notice when they were ready to start; they called in the afternoon to let us know they'd be starting the next day. If you have to take time off work to be there, for the installation, that's pretty short notice. We handled it, but more notice would have made things easier on our end. We have two outside dogs, and we took them to doggie day camp so we didn't have to worry about the crew leaving the gates open and letting them out. Before we let the dogs into the yard each night we went around the house and picked up wood scraps, nails/screws and aluminum shavings so our dogs wouldn't get into them. The crew took care of most of it, but there were still bits and pieces left behind. No big deal. We would use Modern Exteriors again (and we did; they built a deck for us after this job) and we would definitely buy NT Windows again. It was a lot of money to spend, but we feel like we got our money's worth and added value to our house. UPDATE: One year later, and we still love our new windows! We have had zero problems with the windows and installation. Very happy with this purchase!

Description of Work
Removed existing windows, installed 26 new vinyl windows, interior wood trim, exterior aluminum trim, removed and hauled away old windows.

Category decks, siding, replacement windows

Service Provider Response

WE THANK YOU FOR YOUR FANTASTIC REVIEW! WE STRIVE TO REACH OUR GOAL OF QUALITY WORKMANSHIP, AT A REASONABLE PRICE SO THAT OUR CUSTOMERS BECOME OUR FRIENDS. "WHERE QUALITY AND PRICE BECOME FRIENDS"
5.0

07/17/2014


Richard N.

Other than their scheduled start date (which had to be postponed owing to all the rain in May and early June), the installation went well; very good crew that constructed the sunroom - attention to detail, making sure all was right - finished product is great and worth the wait! Overall construction took about two weeks. Feel the TEMO product is the best on the market owing to its structurally engineered construction.

Description of Work
Addition of new TEMO sunroom and four Velux skylights.

Category remodeling, siding, skylights, sunrooms

Service Provider Response

IT'S FABULOUS CUSTOMER'S LIKE YOURSELF THAT MAKE US GREAT! WE WOULDN'T BE HERE IF IT WASN'T FOR OUR LOYAL CUSTOMERS. "WHERE QUALITY AND PRICE BECOME FRIENDS"
5.0

11/30/2011


Patricia B.

They did a real good job except that we had a few little things that needed to be taken care of. We called them and even went down there. We think that they are going out of business so they didn't bother about coming back. Other than that, everything was great. We have a big house which is about 3000 square feet. We have a lot of windows, doors and sliding glass doors, all of which had to be insulated. It was a major endeavor. We got a good deal. We think we would use them again.

Description of Work
We used Modern Exteriors Of Springfield to do the windows and the doors. They also did all the siding on our house.

Category insulation, siding, replacement windows, doors

1.0

08/05/2009


Fred C.

Installed Siding on our two story home in 2002. Due to installation problems and a recall on a vent above our garage door (two story home) they didn't inform us of a recall and it caused considerable damage to the inside or our home. After several calls, they came and replaced the vent after several visits and considerable amount of water damage later. We still have a big issue with that damage plus damage on another part of the house due to faulty installation. They will not return our calls, we didn't know that we had leaks from the siding until the damage was already done. We have had"out of pocket" expenses to correct some of the damage and several contractors out and they all agree it is the installation of the siding that has caused the damage.

Description of Work
Installed vinyl siding on our house in 2002.

Category siding

    Other local Pros in your area

    Door Renew

    We specialize in door restoration. Our skilled craftsmen are trained to utilize proven processes and products. We are able to return most any door to its original beauty and provide many more years more protection for a fraction of the cost of replacement. These processes have been utilized for 8-10 years in other areas and are being expanded to your region. Call today 1-877-door-705 to Dave your $$$ and door today!  

    Angi Certified

    Gladiator Exteriors

    Locally veteran owned and operated in the Springfield, MO. area, Gladiator Exteriors has over 35 years of experience in all phases of construction. We specialize in siding, gutters and windows. We stand by our work and offer a lifetime labor warranty. We offer an end-to-end client experience that includes seamless communication, budgeting, staffing, on-site organization, and solid, quality handiwork every time. We have worked with homeowners and designers to produce work we think you'll love. Call us today and bring our project management skills and extensive construction experience to your next project.  

    Angi Certified

    Craftsmen Unlimited

    Hello, We are a family owned and operated Business we have been in business for over 30 years. We are a well rounded company So we are experienced in electrical,plumbing,flooring,drywall,painting Framing,windows. We offer needs from handyman service to complete whole house Remodel. Thank you for looking in to are business.  

    Angi Certified

    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover, Financing Available, American Express, PayPal
    Senior Discount
    5%
    Warranties
    No

    Services Offered

    Sunrooms, solariums, patio & deck enclosures, conservatories, vinyl & metal railings, composite decking, windows; wood, fiberglass, composite & vinyl, entry doors, seamless guttering and all types of siding installation; fiber cement, wood, cedar, solid vinyl & polymer.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Modern Exteriors of Springfield

    How is Modern Exteriors of Springfield overall rated?

    Modern Exteriors of Springfield is currently rated 3.6 overall out of 5.

    What days are Modern Exteriors of Springfield open?

    Modern Exteriors of Springfield is open:

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    What payment options does Modern Exteriors of Springfield provide

    Modern Exteriors of Springfield accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover, Financing Available, American Express, PayPal

    Does Modern Exteriors of Springfield offer free estimates?

    Yes, Modern Exteriors of Springfield offers free project estimates.

    Does Modern Exteriors of Springfield offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Modern Exteriors of Springfield offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Modern Exteriors of Springfield offer a senior discount?

    No, Modern Exteriors of Springfield does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Modern Exteriors of Springfield?

    No, Modern Exteriors of Springfield does not offer warranties.

    What services does Modern Exteriors of Springfield offer?

    Modern Exteriors of Springfield offers the following services: Sunrooms, solariums, patio & deck enclosures, conservatories, vinyl & metal railings, composite decking, windows; wood, fiberglass, composite & vinyl, entry doors, seamless guttering and all types of siding installation; fiber cement, wood, cedar, solid vinyl & polymer.