Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

PROCTOR DRAPERY & BLINDS

Founded 1974 • With Angi since June 2010

4.4

(8) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

3108 CHERRY AVE

Saint Louis, MO 63143

Description

With more than 45 years of experience, Proctor Drapery and Blinds serves residential and commercial clients in the St. Louis area. People come to us for custom window treatments, drapery, blinds, shades, & shutters. Proctor is also a top tier HunterDouglas priority dealer and your first choice for Norman Plantation Shutters. In-home consultations are offered via our exclusive Mobile Design Center. 100% satisfaction is guaranteed....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
1.0

04/09/2021


Jennifer W.

The owner, Michael, came to our house for a consultation. I introduced him to my wife and asked if he'd take off his shoes. We don't wear shoes in our house. I told him that I am Asian, and it's an Asian household tradition to not wear shoes. He immediately and aggressively stormed out, refusing our business. I thought he was joking and going to get shoe covers from his truck. But then he yelled, "This is America! I don't need to take off my shoes. My shoes are clean." He then drove off, but circled around the block to again yell "This is America!" It wasn't about the shoes, Michael is a bigot. He should not yell at potential customers or circle the block to yell more. He was unreasonable and scary, but mostly a bigot.

Description of Work
New drapes

Category window treatments

Service Provider Response

That’[Member Information Removed] Member Information Removed] not how it went down at all. [Member Name Removed] is not Asian; her wife is. I told her I had to make several trips to & from my vehicle during the consultation to get fabric samples, and it would be too difficult & time consuming to keep taking off & putting on shoes. Plus, I’m 70 years old and it is ’[MemberInformation Removed] very difficult to work without wearing shoes. She immediately started calling me a Racist, and both she and her Asian wife followed me outside screaming at me. While attempting to drive away, [Member Name Removed] began beating on my passenger side door & window dangerously impeding my ability to drive away. I rolled down the window a bit, and told her to get away, and as she was screaming & threatening me, spittle was actually spewing from her mouth giving me concern about COVID. Out of pure disgust, fear, and anger, I did say that this was America and I had a Right to leave her home and not take off my shoes. I have the finest reputation in [Member Information Removed] Louis’ well appointed homes for the Window Treatment work I’ve done for the past 47 years. I have great friends & clients who are Black, Latino, Asian, Middle Eastern, & LBGTQ. I greatly appreciate all the opportunities I’ve had by such wonderful clients who’ve entrusted their Window Fashion design additions to Proctor Drapery & Blinds / Since 1974 / AtYourService / Haute couture Window Fashion / owner Michael Proctor
5.0

11/28/2018


Julie & Fred D.

It was wonderful from the first time we met to the end. He had ideas right away. He show us some samples. I was impress with his sense of time. Very knowledgeable

Description of Work
honeycomb shade, drapery for our windows.

Category window treatments

5.0

11/26/2018


mary S.

Very well. Very responsive, great samples and good design ideas. Workmanship for installing is very good.

Description of Work
Window Treatments

Category window treatments

5.0

09/28/2018


Karen G.

Michael was very professional and punctual. I had provided the fabric for the living room curtains but he had a nice selection of fabric for the Roman shades and found one that was perfect for the kitchen. It took a little longer for them to be installed than anticipated but they look great and I am very happy with how they look. I can’t opine on the cost since I did not get quotes from any other providers but I would definitely contact Michael again should I need any other drapes or blinds in the future.

Description of Work
Living room curtains and Roman shades for kitchen

Category window treatments

5.0

09/26/2018


Don & Laura W.

Quick and perfect. Showed up on time and got it done quickly. Very easy to work with.

Description of Work
installed some blinds

Category window treatments

5.0

08/18/2018


Debra S.

Michael was wonderful to work with. He was professional, friendly, and helpful with window treatment design and fabric selection. I really appreciated the time he took to carefully measure, fabricate, and then install the draperies, cornice boxes, valances, and bedspread. The window treatments are beautiful and the quality is outstanding. We would recommend him to anyone needing professional window décor!

Description of Work
Draperies and bedding

Category window treatments

5.0

02/26/2017


Mark C.

Well

Description of Work
He came to my house and listened to what I thought I'd like. He also told me what would look good for my house, and agreed with my daughter that shutters were the way to go. Haven't hired him yet, but he knows his stuff!!

Category window treatments

5.0

11/27/2015


Rosemary Q.

Mr Proctor was courteous, knowledgeable and professional. He arrived on time for our initial meeting armed with samples of fabrics, photos of various treatments and suggestions for my living/dining room. The draperies were delivered and installed by Mr. Proctor in the time frame promised. Workmanship is excellent. The draperies are beautifully made and are the perfect accent to the room without overpowering it. Price was very reasonable. I would highly recommend Proctor Drapery and would use this company again without hesitation.

Description of Work
Custom made draperies and valances for two patio doors and one equally sized window.

Category window treatments

    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    MasterCard, Check, Visa
    Senior Discount
    10%
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Michael Proctor / Proctor Drapery and Blinds offers In home window treatment design consultations no obligation, and written estimates cheerfully given.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about PROCTOR DRAPERY & BLINDS

    How is PROCTOR DRAPERY & BLINDS overall rated?

    PROCTOR DRAPERY & BLINDS is currently rated 4.4 overall out of 5.

    What payment options does PROCTOR DRAPERY & BLINDS provide

    PROCTOR DRAPERY & BLINDS accepts the following forms of payment: MasterCard, Check, Visa

    Does PROCTOR DRAPERY & BLINDS offer free estimates?

    Yes, PROCTOR DRAPERY & BLINDS offers free project estimates.

    Does PROCTOR DRAPERY & BLINDS offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, PROCTOR DRAPERY & BLINDS does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does PROCTOR DRAPERY & BLINDS offer a senior discount?

    No, PROCTOR DRAPERY & BLINDS does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by PROCTOR DRAPERY & BLINDS?

    Yes, PROCTOR DRAPERY & BLINDS offers warranties.

    What services does PROCTOR DRAPERY & BLINDS offer?

    PROCTOR DRAPERY & BLINDS offers the following services: Michael Proctor / Proctor Drapery and Blinds offers In home window treatment design consultations no obligation, and written estimates cheerfully given.