Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

GLOECKNER-MELVILLE PLUMBING CO

Founded 1910 • With Angi since December 2002

6 EMPLOYEES. USES SUBS FOR EXCAVATION WORK. COST IS USUALLY DETERMINED BY HOURLY RATE BUT FLAT RATE MAY APPLY. TRAVEL CHARGES APPLY.

Amenities

Free Estimates
no
Warranties
call for details
Senior Discount
no
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
No
Bonded
Insured
This pro has not provided any licensing information to Angi at this time.All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page. Contact pro for more details.

Verified Reviews

4.9

(33) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-25 of 33 reviews
ken M.
5.0
04/24/2017
Excellent. Prompt, polite, professional, friendly. Wasted no time checking and diagnosing specifics of problem and explaining the repair needed. Work was done in an expeditious mode, no time wasted. Work area was left cleaner than it was prior.
Description of Work
plumbing line repair/replace for drain line.
Category
plumbing
Albert C.
5.0
01/05/2017
It wasn't an emergency, and we scheduled an appointment two days later. He called about 15 minutes before arriving at the scheduled time and quickly got started with the repair. He made the repair and was on the way in about a half hour. We have used them for a variety of plumbing needs over 30 years in our 90 year old house. They are very professional and do excellent work. They are the first company we think of for plumbing work. We would highly recommend them to all our friends and neighbors.
Description of Work
The kitchen faucet was beginning to leak and needed new packing and o-rings.
Category
plumbing
Carolyn E.
5.0
08/12/2015
Previous to Steve giving me an estimate a friend of the family who is a plumber looked at area on ceiling of first floor kitchen where leak had caused damage and he told me in no uncertain terms that he would have to remove heating duct work and a lot more drywall in order to reach leaking pipe. I called Gloeckner Melville and Steve assessed the damage. He proceeded to remove an additional small amount of drywall and removed leaking pipe and replaced it. I call him Spiderman because I still don't know how he managed to get to that pipe to repair it but he sure did and in a reasonable amount of time. I have used Gloeckner Melville in the past and would not hesitate to do so in the future.
Description of Work
Found and repaired a leak coming from second floor bathtub to ceiling of first floor kitchen.
Category
plumbing
julia O.
5.0
12/23/2014
Totally trust Steve. Makes good suggestions and always cost aware!
Description of Work
Steve and the other plumbers at Gloeckner-Melville have been my plumbers for literally decades. They've done everything at my home from un-clogging toilets to replacing disposals, to fixing leaks.
Category
plumbing, drain cleaning
John J.
5.0
10/03/2014
Steve is a meticulous guy with a great work ethic. He wants to do the job right. He did. The actual charge was less than the estimate by $200. We have had trouble finding good plumbers who are able to work on 70 year old building with who knows what kind of plumbing infrastructure. G-M was referred to us by the manager of a similar building down the street. We are very happy with the results, and would definitely use them again.
Description of Work
We are an old apartment building (70 years) that was converted to condos 30 years ago. Plumbing is orginal, and always seems to be in the walls. In this case it was a leak in a bathtub drain of a second floor unit, that messed up the ceiling in the bathroom below. As the condo manager, I had to get three bids. First, was to diagonose the problem. One plumbing company said it was a roof leak. Another misdiagnosed which pipe was leaking, and gave a bid much higher than G-M's. However, Steve came in an spent time accurately diagnosing the problem, provided a reasonable estimate, and was hired to do the repair.
Category
plumbing
John H.
5.0
06/03/2014
Gloeckner-Melville sent out a plumber on the same day and fixed the problem, which turned out to be a few parts that needed to be replaced. I was thrilled that the plumber came so quickly, since I was afraid of sustaining substantial water damage to the ceiling. Since we have only one bathroom in the house, it was not an option to cut off the water to the toilet and fix it later.
Description of Work
Our toilet was leaking, but we could not figure out where - We had noticed a new watermark on the ceiling, which tipped us off to the problem.
Category
plumbing
Albert C.
5.0
02/06/2013
We called at 7:30 a.m. and they had a plumber working at our house by around 10 a.m. He replaced the waste piping under the kitchen sink and brought it up to the current code. He also fixed a leaking faucet in the 1st floor bath. He was very professional and cleaned up before he left. We have used this plumbing company for years, and they have always given excellent service.
Description of Work
Kitchen sink waste line replacement and bath room leaking bath hot water repair
Category
plumbing
julia O.
5.0
12/20/2012
I have used this plumbing company for probably 20 years. I trust them to be honest, reliable, professional, knowledgable and nice to work with. Steve has been in my home so many times he knows all the ins and outs of my house's plumbing. He fixed this for me while I was not home. That's how much I trust them to get it right.
Description of Work
Another contractor hit my water line. After water was turned on, my master bath shower was not providing any cold water. Steve came over and cleaned the filters in my shower and calibrated the water.
Category
plumbing, drain cleaning
Tom T.
5.0
12/28/2011
They did an excellent job and I would use them again in the future.
Description of Work
They did plumbing services for me.
Category
plumbing
Mary F.
5.0
05/26/2011
The last time around, it was a major plumbing job that they had to do, and they did a very good job of it. They have very good experience with older homes which are in the area that they serve; this area has homes that are 100 years old including large two-story homes, so there are leaks behind plastered walls and so forth. I don’t have anything to compare their prices with. I would use them again in the future if necessary.
Description of Work
I have used Gloeckner-Melville Plumbing Co over the years for plumbing.
Category
plumbing
Eric K.
5.0
12/02/2009
Noted clogged sewer drain over the weekend. Following Monday, called several plumbers and none were available until later in the week. Called Gloeckner based on limited reviews in Angie's list. They were able to come out the next day. They gave us an arrival window and called before they came out. Worked until the service was complete. Since I wasn't available I asked them to call me to let me know the services performed and they did so. Checked the drains when I got home and the offending drains were indeed no longer clogged.
Description of Work
Opened clogged sewer drain by cabeling from exterior trap to open sewer and then cabeling from trap to inside house to make sure there were no blockages inside of the house.
Category
drain cleaning
EMMA KAYE S.
5.0
11/09/2009
They did a variety of things, and I had no problems with them. Their work was quite satisfactory.
Description of Work
I used Gloeckner-Melville Plumbing Co. They replaced the toilet tank, which had cracked. They installed safety bars in 2 bathrooms, and they repaired a leak in a pipe in the basement.
Category
plumbing
Alicia B.
5.0
02/11/2009
Plumber was on time, described what he was doing in non-plumbing terms, was efficient and attentive. He provided excellent customer service and even left a direct contact number.
Description of Work
Overnight 3 inches of wall to wall water turned up in my basement. Plumber used cable auger to clear clog from the roof of the house and stuck around to make sure the flooded basement drained. Removed the manhole cover in the street to make sure the water flowed away from the house.
Category
drain cleaning
MARY JO T.
5.0
12/12/2008
This was intended to be a 2nd opinion estimate after another plumbing company (which I had successfully used before) had diagnosed a broken drain plug in the tub and a blockage in the wall behind the sink as the respective problems. Not only were those not the actual problems, but Steve was able to fix the actual problems instead of just providing an estimate, and for 1/2 the cost of the first (wrong) estimate.
Description of Work
Cleared two clogs from tub drain and one clog from sink drain.
Category
drain cleaning
MARY S.
5.0
11/21/2008
The level of professionalism was most impressive, from initial contact through service and eventual invoice. All plumbing services are expensive, but efficiency was demonstrated at every step. I felt I received high quality work for my hard-earned dollars. We opted out of doing risky work at the water service line in our basement as we do not have a problem yet, and the improvement work itself could create a major plumbing project. Our home is 85 years old, so no doubt we will eventually have to deal with it, but not right now.
Description of Work
Repaired a leak in a water line to an outdoor(detached garage)faucet, plus checked a corroded pipe in the basement that provides our water service from the street, and discussed options available to us.
Category
plumbing
Tom T.
5.0
08/28/2008
We called them and they came the same day. It took him fifteen minutes to fix it and that was it. He was clean and orderly.
Description of Work
We had a faucet that was running and we couldn't get it to stop.
Category
plumbing
Jeanne B.
5.0
07/01/2008
He took 2 hours to fix the leaks. He is not that cheap in cost. He arrived on time, finished his work and cleaned up his mess.
Description of Work
We had a plumber come out and fix a few leaks we had in the bathroom shower and basement.
Category
plumbing
GREG B.
5.0
09/19/2006
This is my first Report and I could not be more happy. Steve from Gloeckner-Melville has been extremely helpful and has assisted me with bringing my old house into code (Kitchen Stack) and replacing a bathroom at the new house I just purchased. Steve and the team at Gloeckner-Melville came recommended from a friend and I in turn have recommended them to several friends and family.
Description of Work
The BEST Plumbing Company EVER! I am in the process of selling my home and had to have the Kitchen Stack replaced which required moving the cabinets. Gloeckner-Melville did the job on time and in budget. Additionally, the Plumbers cleaned up after themselves and were kind, courteous and answered all of my questions.
Category
plumbing
PETER M.
4.0
06/04/2006
They were prompt and professional as always. We were disappointed it took three visits to fix the drain. However, they did not charge for the second visit, and for the third there was no service call charge included. The bottom line is we will continue to use them.
Description of Work
We had a clogged kitchen sink drain. It took three visits to fix it. The first two times they cabled the line from the sink. The third time they cabled the stack in the basement.
Category
drain cleaning
CHARLES B.
2.0
04/17/2006
Not impressed. They did complete the work just fine. My gripe is with their customer service. The owner is gruff on the phone and difficult to communicate with. They ended up knocking half off the ridiculously extorted $75 instead of crediting it toward the work they did, which pissed me off. Won't ever use them again, and unless you don't mind flushing money for BAD customer service, then DON'T use them either.
Description of Work
We called them initially to attach a new pipe from the wall to the J in the guest bathroom to line up with a new sink. They performed this just fine; expensive though. Once the new sink was in, we discovered a leak in what appeared to be their work. Called them out to fix that. They came, charged me $75 to walk in the door and tell me what I already knew. "Yep, you got a leak." Didn't fix it then. Told me I had to reschedule because they didn't have enough "time." I was the first apt. of the day, too. (Hmmm) Had to call them a third time to come and fix it. After I tore a hole in the adjacent wall, they fixed it. They did extra work not estimated, too. And again, it was expensive. I've paid lawyers less per hour, and not cheap lawyers.
Category
plumbing
PETER M.
5.0
02/25/2006
Gloeckner-Melville responded promptly to our request and did the work quickly when they came. We have always been pleased with their work and will use them again.
Description of Work
Checked twelve faucets and repaired six to stop leaks.
Category
plumbing
PETER M.
5.0
05/05/2005
URB WAS ON TIME, COURTEOUS, VERY PROFESSIONAL, CAME THE TIME I WANTED, AND DID ALL THE WORK IN TWO HOURS. I HAVE USED THIS COMPANY BEFORE AND WILL USE THEM AGAIN.
Description of Work
THEY CLEARED TWO CLOGGED BATHTUB DRAINS, REPLACED A TOILET WAX SEAL, FIXED A FAUCET AERATOR, AND REPLACED A SADDLE VALUE FOR A REFRIGERATOR WATER LINE.
Category
plumbing
RICHARD B.
5.0
07/13/2004
PROMPT, COURTEOUS AND KNOWLEDGEABLE.
Description of Work
PROPERLY FIXED IMPORTED KITCHEN FAUCET THAT TWO PREVIOUS COMPANIES HAD FAILED TO FIX. ALSO SNAKED DRAIN.
Category
plumbing
WILLIAM L.
5.0
12/30/2002
THAT IT HAS ALWAYS BEEN EXCELLENT. I'VE USED THE SAME SERVICE FOR 32 YEARS.
Description of Work
THEY HAD PERFORMED ALL SORTS OF REPAIRS FOR ME, TOILET REPAIRS AND ALL KINDS OF STUFF.
Category
plumbing
5.0
12/30/2002
THEY ARE VERY KNOWLEDGEABLE AND DO A GOOD JOB.
Description of Work
THEY INSTALLED A GARBAGE DISPOSAL AND FIXED MY SHOWER.
Category
plumbing

Phone

Address

1414 S BIG BEND BLVD

Saint Louis, MO 63117

Service Categories

Other Information

Services offered

PLUMBING SERVICE WORK, REMODELING, & DRAIN CLEANING & REPLACEMENT.

Payment options

Check
Visa
MasterCard
Discover

FAQ

GLOECKNER-MELVILLE PLUMBING CO is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

GLOECKNER-MELVILLE PLUMBING CO is open:

Monday: 7:30 AM - 4:30 PM

Tuesday: 7:30 AM - 4:30 PM

Wednesday: 7:30 AM - 4:30 PM

Thursday: 7:30 AM - 4:30 PM

Friday: 7:30 AM - 4:30 PM

GLOECKNER-MELVILLE PLUMBING CO accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover

No, GLOECKNER-MELVILLE PLUMBING CO does not offer free project estimates.

No, GLOECKNER-MELVILLE PLUMBING CO does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

No, GLOECKNER-MELVILLE PLUMBING CO does not offer a senior discount.

No, GLOECKNER-MELVILLE PLUMBING CO does not offer warranties.

GLOECKNER-MELVILLE PLUMBING CO offers the following services: PLUMBING SERVICE WORK, REMODELING, & DRAIN CLEANING & REPLACEMENT.

Other Local Pros In Your Area

KIRKWOOD PLUMBING INC

4.0

(93)

Angi Certified

KIRKWOOD PLUMBING INC

Since 1985, Kirkwood Plumbing has been performing fast, affordable, and high-quality plumbing services to homes and businesses in St. Louis and beyond. Our licensed and certified plumbers believe that quality workmanship and clear, honest communication makes all the difference, which is why you can count on us to always deliver honest recommendations, unmatched service, and 5-star customer care. No job is too big or small for our skilled plumbers, so whether you need seamless installations, remodels, repairs, or replacements, our team can help. From designing and installing your dream kitchen to replacing an outdated water heater and everything in between, you can count on our plumbers to exceed your expectations at every turn.  

Bieg Plumbing Co Inc

Angi Certified

2022 Super Service Award

Bieg Plumbing Co Inc

Bieg Plumbing Company Inc. is a Missouri based corporation founded in 1960 by Robert G. Bieg, Sr. We provide residential, commercial and industrial plumbing contracting in the metro St. Louis area. Since its founding, Bieg Plumbing Company has enjoyed continued success and growth by providing exceptional service. Our goal is to establish and maintain value-based relationships with customers by offering a complete line of plumbing services. For over 50 years, Bieg Plumbing Company has been successful in fulfilling our customers' many diverse plumbing needs by providing quality and reliable service and support in all areas of plumbing. From commercial construction projects to residential repair and sewer service, we provide customers with a complete plumbing solution .  

Ambassador Plumbing L.L.C

5.0

(35)

Angi Certified

Offers Coupon

Ambassador Plumbing L.L.C

Master Plumber with over 19 years experience for ALL Plumbing Needs! We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service! Call or click to schedule an estimate today! Install, repair, and maintain pipes, valves, fittings, drainage systems, and fixtures on commercial and residential structures. Collaborate with general contractors, electricians, and other construction professionals. Follow building plans and blueprints. Respond to, diagnose, and resolve plumbing emergencies. IF WATER RUNS TO IT OR THROUGH IT, WE DO IT!!!