Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Fitzgibbons Painting

Founded 1998 • With Angi since September 2004

4.7

(88) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

7726 Michigan Ave

Saint Louis, MO 63111

Description

No subs. Cost is determined by the job. No travel charges. Free Estimates. 25% deposit required, balance due at completion....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
1.0

03/22/2020


STEPHEN D.

I have a standard two car garage. The drywall has already been hung. I have gotten four quotes. Two were for $500 and the third one for $600. Ready for this? Fitzbibbons' quote........$2200.00. Yes, that is $2200.00 to just tape and mud the previously hung drywall. A couple of the other competitor's quotes were between $1000 and $1200.00 to hang, tape and mud. Exit stage right.

Description of Work
Tape existing drywall that was already hung

Category drywall

1.0

12/16/2019


Thomas M.

Disappointing experience. I requested an estimate, which was provided in timely fashion. I then accepted the bid and sent in my deposit. The bid indicated that I would be contacted after receipt of the deposit to schedule the work. After two weeks and no response, I contacted them and was told that someone would call me back in 1-2 days to schedule the work. Another week elapsed with no contact, so I tried to reach them again. Was again told that someone would contact me in 1-2 days. No response for another week. Tried one more time with the same results. I then stopped payment on my deposit, then received my check back from the company and a letter stating that they would not be able to do the work. No further explanation was offered. Timely communication is core to any well-run business, and this was not present here. Would not hire again.

Description of Work
Painting of an exterior wrought iron fence

Category wrought iron, house painters

Service Provider Response

Is it possible the estimate was under a different name? We have no estimates in the name of [Member Name Removed] in our system.
5.0

03/31/2019


John L.

Two painters were able to cover a very dark and very poor previous paint job in a bathroom and large bedroom in one day. Very well done. They were a little more expensive than other estimates but we went with them as they seemed to be the most knowledgeable and did a very good job.

Description of Work
Painting a bathroom and bedroom

Category interior painters

5.0

01/31/2019


Katie V.

I did not hire this company just because I decided to go in a different direction-- however, I did inquire with them. I wanted to leave a positive review for them anyway because they were super-responsive and called me back a few times (although not too many times) even though I did not follow up. That was a lack of courtesy on my part. I really appreciated their prompt and thorough follow-up to see what my needs might be. Thank you so much for your time and professionalism.

Description of Work
Drywall Patching

Category drywall

5.0

12/10/2018


Robert H.

Fitzgibbons was great. They told me it would be 6 weeks before they could work on the project and they were at my house at 6 weeks exactly. Fast friendly people and professional. Project was completed on budget and on time. Thanks Bob Hess

Description of Work
Repair drywall in basement family room including dry wall and trim repair and final painting

Category contractors, drywall, interior painters

5.0

12/09/2018


Sam H.

This was the second time I used this company. The first was on my window shutters and front door last year. This time an area on the kitchen ceiling where the upstairs bathtub had leaked badly was repaired and the whole ceiling painted. The entire master bath was painted. And the area above my garage door had water damage which they repaired and painted. All jobs were done professionally and look great.

Description of Work
Kitchen and Master Bathroom. Also repairs and paint to area above garage door.

Category house painters, interior painters

5.0

12/01/2018


David F.

No complaints or concerns. Good work, excellent outcome.

Description of Work
interior ceiling and drywall repairs

Category drywall, interior painters

5.0

08/01/2018


Len C.

Very impressed with the results. Great people to work with.

Description of Work
Drywall and paint.

Category drywall, interior painters

5.0

06/26/2018


Roger B.

The painting work was very good. There price was competitive. Two men worked for a total of 8 man days. They showed up on time, kept the outside cleaned up, and did a good job applying the paint. They also replaced a rotten fascia board.

Description of Work
Paint the outside of my church

Category house painters

5.0

06/01/2018


Jaime T.

Great, easy to schedule, showed up on time, professional and willing to work around the tenants schedule (new baby). All mess cleaned up, I would hire again.

Description of Work
Exterior painting

Category house painters

1.0

04/13/2018


Michael H.

I have never written a poor review before, but the poor treatment my family received by Fitzgibbons, including the owner, merits this being the first time. The owner started off great, being punctual for his appointment to make a bid and providing the bid to us. During his review, he mentioned that they could paint the ceiling as early as the next week if we found the bid acceptable. After we received the bid and discussed it with the owner, we asked that we be scheduled as soon as possible, which turned out to be the Monday of the following week. This was later than the owner had initially discussed, but we could live with it. The Friday before the painters were to arrive, their office called to see if we could move to Tuesday. This required us to move a couple of appointments, but we accommodated their request. Tuesday morning, we eagerly awaited the painters to arrive and had again cleared our calendars so one of us could be there. However, no one showed up. My wife called their office several times to find out what was going on, but no one answered or returned calls promptly. There was no apology from them. There were no attempts to make it right or "own" their mistake. There was no sense of urgency to get us rescheduled. After poor communications from their side in our attempts to reschedule (again), we finally received a random email (not a call and certainly not an apology of any sort) to tell us the painter would arrive tomorrow morning (less than one days notice, and on my son’s birthday, no less). So I called a different office to ask that the owner call us back to explain what was going on. To his credit, he finally did call at night. However, he had no words of apology or even empathy for all of the inconveniences his company had put us through nor for their lack of responsiveness or urgency. Even after I laid out all of the instances where we had accommodated their schedules and moved our schedules around and where we had received poor service from his company, his only response was that he would talk to the office manager to find out more. I was insistent that he at least recognize that we had received poor service and that they needed to do better, which he was unwilling to do and was obviously agitated that I would even suggest that they might have made mistakes. His unilateral solution was to send our deposit check back, leaving us in the lurch after 3 weeks where we could have been on the calendar of a more professionally run painting company. I have rarely seen someone who takes his customers for granted as much as Fitzgibbons. It is as though he feels he is doing us a favor by allowing us to pay him money to provide us a service. I hope this review helps others understand the kind of situation they might encounter should they choose Fitzgibbons for their painting needs. I chose Fitzgibbons based on the reviews of others on Angie’s List. I hope my review prevents others from making the same mistake.

Description of Work
paint ceiling in entry way

Category interior painters

5.0

01/04/2018


Glenn B.

Very well Painters were very professional

Description of Work
Exterior painting of 2 story house and garage .Repairs to soffits and 2 new windows in attic Pressure washed exterior also before painting

Category house painters

5.0

12/30/2017


James W.

They essentially painted all the wood surfaces (and the concrete steps) in the front of our home. They also replaced one section of fascia board. The house looks great! They did an excellent job and I would definitely hire them again.

Description of Work
Exterior Painting

Category house painters

1.0

11/29/2017


Jenny W.

The contract I signed stated that they would "Wet scrape the entire house in a lead safe manner." Instead they seemed to follow none of the lead safe practices, i.e. putting down plastic to catch the chips and dust, misting with water first (which is the wet scraping mentioned in the contract), or vacuuming up the dust and chips. I certainly did not receive the pamphlet they are supposed to give you about lead paint removal. They left a lot of loose lead paint on the ground outside my house and in the grass. After I complained they came back a week later to vacuum around the house. They also left a lot of cracking and loose paint un-scraped and just painted over it. It seems that much of the paint they applied will very quickly begin to peel. The owner later claimed that it would have been too difficult to scrape the old paint off and might be cheaper to replace the wood--however he is the one who wrote the contract stating that "wet scraping the entire house" would be the appropriate thing to do before painting! The job was just super sloppy too. They did not do what they said they would do.

Description of Work
The trim and windows of my house were to be painted. The old paint is lead paint; much of it was loose and needed to be scraped off. I was very concerned about the safe removal of the lead paint because I am a gardener and also young children live in the homes on both sides of mine. I asked multiple of the company's workers (the receptionist, two of the painters) if the old paint would be caught/contained and was assured that it would be done correctly. Supposedly the company also does lead abatement, and so would know how to do it.

Category house painters

Service Provider Response

Our company is committed to honoring its contracts, following all safety requirements, and making sure that each of our customers is satisfied. We are an EPA-certified renovation firm and we believe appropriate procedures were followed during this exterior painting job. No concerns were ever expressed during the job. When the customer did express concerns after the job was completed (and the invoice was due to be paid), I personally visited the site and had our painters return to clean up a few typical "punch list"-type items, such as a drop of paint on the porch, a cutline that needed touchup, and a loose paint chip or two that we missed. We believe we have now satisfied any potential quality issues on the job. The customer's concerns about future "peeling", in the event any problems would ever arise in the future, our company will certainly honor its warranty obligations, as we would for any customer. With regard to the EPA lead paint pamphlet, we agree that this customer should have received the pamphlet (which is also available online) at the stat of the job. As the pamphlet was apparently either misplaced by the customer or inadvertently not delivered by us, we are sending another pamphlet today. -Jeff Fitzgibbons Fitzgibbons Painting, LLC P.S. I also had offered to reduce the cost by $900.00.
5.0

10/07/2017


ALAN M.

We had a crew of two for most of eight days with three on the first and last day. They started at 7 am and worked a full day. The house looks great.

Description of Work
Replace cedar shake and some wood trim. Paint exterior of two-story house and unattached garage.

Category contractors, pressure washing, house painters

4.0

05/30/2017


Janis G.

Good, does great work with the cut in.

Description of Work
Painted great room with high ceilings. Hallway, entry way, 3 bedrooms.

Category house painters

5.0

05/14/2017


Cheri O.

Things went great... The painters were here at 7:00 AM and left at 3:00 PM. They worked the entire time and cleaned up any messes they made. I will be hiring again when we need a painter.

Description of Work
Exterior Painting of house

Category house painters

5.0

05/11/2017


Jane D.

The team that came out her were incredible. They started the cleaning process in spite of impending rain and continued until it was too dangerous to proceed. Very professional, personable and most importantly great work ethic.

Description of Work
Painted the exterior of our home. They first power wash the entire house with a bleach and water solution and then pressure wash. Scraped and spot primed as needed. All surfaces were painted by hand.

Category house painters

5.0

05/04/2017


Richard S.

Except for numerous rain delays, the painting went very well. The lead painter texted me when weather or circumstances prevented their coming. They did a fantastic job! Covered every square inch, caulked wonderfully, cleaned up after themselves 100%. They exceeded our expectations. Would definitely hire again.

Description of Work
Painted exterior of our house.

Category house painters

5.0

11/21/2016


Mary G.

Things went well. The crew did the work in 2 weeks. The crew supervisor (Fred and I don't know if he still works there) was great. Very professional and very knowledgeable.

Description of Work
I had work done because we were selling my parents' house - they pressure washed the exterior of the house and painted; pressure washed and re-stained the deck; painted the interior rooms including closets and removed wallpaper. there was wrought iron railing near the front door and that was scraped before painting. It a big job. I don't remember how much it cost.

Category wallpaper removal, pressure washing, house painters, interior painters

5.0

10/05/2016


Martha S.

We were pleased with the work and the professionalism of the painters.

Description of Work
Painting the eves of our house.

Category house painters

5.0

10/04/2016


Dorothy J.

They were professional and did a very good job. I would recommend them to my friends

Description of Work
Some interior and some exterior.

Category pressure washing, house painters, interior painters

5.0

09/20/2016


Robert F.

We had the entire exterior of our house painted during the dog days of August. Robert was the leader of the team consisting of Jeremiah, Larry & Fred. They simply did an outstanding job. Our 28-year-old house never looked so well. The team paid meticulous attention to detail and the results show it so well. Thanks again to Robert and the team. We look forward to working with them for other work in the future.

Description of Work
Entire exterior of our 2-story home.

Category house painters

1.0

05/26/2016


Robert J.

I had to call them twice because they missed spots on the wall. Just last year, in the fall, we happened to be looking at the master bedroom ceiling that the painter missed. We just ignored it. This year, we were selling the house and the inspector brought it up to our attention. I called Fitzgibbons to get information on what paint they used so that I can take care of it. The paint number they gave me did not match the color on the ceiling. They were unwilling to assist. I understand its been several years and they don't want to do the work but what really bothered me, is they wouldn't provide me with the correct paint information. Now, I have to paint the entire ceiling to cover the spot they missed.

Description of Work
I hired them to paint the bedrooms and hallways of my home.

Category interior painters

5.0

01/06/2016


Bridgette J.

I appreciated the professonalism of Fitzgibbons painting company. From the beginning bid through the completion of the project, I was treated with the utmost respect. The workers arrived early each day and worked through the day taking a limited break. They consulted with me on the color selection and on repairs that were needed. In a few days my house went from being one of the most embarrassing on the block to one of the most attractive. I would certainly use Fitzgibbons painting again and have alread made referrals.

Description of Work
Painted the exterior of a three story historic house.

Category house painters

    Other local Pros in your area

    KG Power Washing LLC

    Over at KG Power Washing LLC we put care into our work. We treat every job like it is our own not just some random person paying us. We offer house, gutter, driveway, sidewalk, porch, deck, fence, outdoor furniture, boats, and jet ski washes. All of which you can get a free quote from out owner and primary operator Christopher. Cant wait to work with you and get your stuff looking KG fresh  

    CV Wall Painting

    Our goal is to keep things simple and convenient for our clients. We offer straight forward, affordable pricing and are flexible to meet your needs. You can rest easy knowing our team has very high standards for integrity and we won't consider the job completed until everything is perfect! ​ CV Wall Painting provides the following Residential and Commercial services including: Painting Walls, Ceiling, Trim, and Doors Cabinet and Furniture Painting/Refinishing Deck and Wood Staining Exterior Painting including Vinyl, Brick and Masonite Surfaces Lime Wash Available for Brick Fire Place ​ Need something you don't see listed here? Reach out and we will do our best to help!  

    The Paint Company

    Since 2009, we have been specializing in interior and exterior painting, wallpaper removal, cabinet refinishing, and more! You name it, we paint it! We guarantee your satisfaction and we won’t leave until the job is done right. We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service! Check out our services offered and call or click to schedule a free estimate today!  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check
    Senior Discount
    No
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Painting, drywall repairs, cedar restoration, carpentry, power washing, plaster work, wallpaper removal and installation, textures, faux finishes and window installation.

    Services Not Offered

    Sandblasting.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Fitzgibbons Painting

    How is Fitzgibbons Painting overall rated?

    Fitzgibbons Painting is currently rated 4.7 overall out of 5.

    What days are Fitzgibbons Painting open?

    Fitzgibbons Painting is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Saturday: Closed

    What payment options does Fitzgibbons Painting provide

    Fitzgibbons Painting accepts the following forms of payment: Check

    Does Fitzgibbons Painting offer free estimates?

    Yes, Fitzgibbons Painting offers free project estimates.

    Does Fitzgibbons Painting offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Fitzgibbons Painting offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Fitzgibbons Painting offer a senior discount?

    No, Fitzgibbons Painting does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Fitzgibbons Painting?

    Yes, Fitzgibbons Painting offers warranties.

    What services does Fitzgibbons Painting offer?

    Fitzgibbons Painting offers the following services: Painting, drywall repairs, cedar restoration, carpentry, power washing, plaster work, wallpaper removal and installation, textures, faux finishes and window installation.

    Are there any services Fitzgibbons Painting does not offer?

    Sandblasting.