Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

EHM

Founded 1954 • With Angi since February 2012

4.4

(18) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

Washington Ave.

Saint Louis, MO 63130

Description

EHM is a structural moving and elevating company that also specializes in foundation repair and replacement. We have been working in the Midwest since the Great Floods of 1993. We specialize in severely comprised foundation issues. We can elevate, level, pier or replace a wall or your entire foundation. We do not do mudjacking, waterproofing or minor crack repair....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
1.0

08/02/2021


Donna S.

I did not get the service that we originally talked about I am very unhappy

Description of Work
Brick paver patio with paver step. Step has settled causing uneven surface.. loose pavers causing danger of fall.

Category masonry

5.0

06/28/2016


debra F.

Description of Work
Very professional. Were very accommodating as my move date was not certain. Day of move they were on time and worked very quickly. They moved all my items carefully and efficiently. The crew were very courteous and professional. I highly would recommend this company.

Category foundation repair

5.0

06/23/2016


Karl A.

Description of Work
Great job by the team, excellent service, very professional and came less than original estimate.

Category foundation repair

5.0

01/09/2016


Joy A.

Description of Work
Excellent work! Only bright light in one of the worst possible real estate deals ever. We sold our house but, on way to our purchase, found out deal was temporary cancelled due to mistake in paperwork! Had movers not come up w/ solution and demonstrated extreme professionalism and humanity, not sure what I would have done. Dennis and his team are exceptional! Worth the price- which was reasonable and only doubled due to problems with the actual deal.

Category foundation repair

1.0

08/20/2014


Larry L.

Description of Work
At the onset of this project that was to dig, pour new foundations for my 14' x 18' deck that had begun to fall down out of level. I figured that it would take at least 3 or maybe 4 new concrete pads, and new treated post to support the deck. The deck would have to be jacked up and re-leveled. It was agreed that the existing concrete footing were not poured below the frost line and they would have to dig new footings. I told Jim Cooke that i wanted this done right, because i was tired of worring about it. He went on to say that with the experience of his company, and showing pictures of their past work, that this would be a piece of cake for them. The first day the 2 men (1 carpenter & 1 laborer) removed the vinyl siding that closed the deck on 2 sides. Removed 5 decorative bushes to get them out of the way of the foundation work. After gaining access to the foundations, they jacked the deck floor up, remove the old post that had rotted, dug down to the top of the existing concrete footings with a hand tool, that was only 6 to 12 inches and placed a square wood footing form and set the new post. At that point they hand mixed 1 sack of saccrete in a plastic pan and shoveled the concrete into the new form that was very small, about 8" x 8" if that. On Friday, July 30, 2014 the 2 guys spent 4 hours on the project. They poured the concrete and left at 12 noon. They put in 8 man hours that day for the work that they did. One man returned on the folling Monday August 4, 2014 and he put in an additional 4 hours inclosing the deck. I have the scope of work in writing and i don't believe that the scope of work was communicated properly to the Carpenter who was doing the work. They were supposed to dig 3 new footings and pour new concrete down to 32" and below the frost line. My original budget for doing this work was $2000.00. When he found that out he charged me $2,500.00 and he wanted me to pay him in cash. I told him that because they had only worked 12 man hours on this project and that he did not do near the work that I had anticipated, that he should give me a credit on the amount charged. He reluctantly reduce the amount to $2000.00, but that was still too much money for a job that i will have to get re-done. The deck is not level and it is obvious that it under strain. This was suppose to be a job done right and not a quick fix. I did not pay him cash. He wanted me to write the check out to him personally. I refused to do that and wrote the check to his company and to him. |

Category foundation repair

Service Provider Response

We apologize for this experience. These employees were terminated shortly after this experience. We work very hard to satisfy our customers.
1.0

06/09/2014


Nicole W.

Description of Work
I called them to come look at my foundation problems and they never returned my call.

Category foundation repair

Service Provider Response

Sorry, we do not do foundation repair in Iowa. We do large building moves or elevations in this area. We are not set up to do small projects there.
5.0

04/28/2014


Matt D.

Description of Work
The inspector came out promptly and did a full inspection of the home and foundation. He found nothing wrong. We appreciated his honesty.

Category foundation repair

5.0

04/10/2014


Mike H.

Just wanted to drop a line or two and let you all know how impressed we were with both your workmen and their work. In today's society, you just don't find companies that really do a great job, they usually just do enough to "get by". At times, without their knowledge, I was home and could hear some of the men talking. Much to my surprise, their language and subject matter were always appropriate. Don't find that much in the labor force today! It spoke volumes to me. When they did speak with us, they were always very kind and informative. The work that was performed consisted of excavating the dirt to gain access to the footings on both sides of the foundation. On the inside, they had to bust out the concrete floor and hand dig to the footing in order to install their brackets for the "unified lift system". After installing the brackets, they attached special hydraulic equipment to the brackets which drove 3" diameter pipes down to bedrock. Next, they attached a hydraulic jacking system to each pier location. Using their special vehicle with a unique hydraulic pumping system they attached hydraulic lines to each location and were able to do a controlled lift. From what we understand, your company is one of the only ones that can perform this "unified lift". We were taking pictures daily and emailing them out to family and friends who could not believe their eyes! They started out making our basement look like a bomb went off and when they were done it was swept and looking very nice! All this to say that the work done was absolutely astonishing! We will highly recommend EHM to everyone that we hear may need this type of work completed. Thanks so much again. We were dreading having this work completed, but you all made it so much nicer by your expertise, kindness, and professionalism. Mike and Cheryl

Description of Work
Unified Lift on house

Category concrete repair, foundation repair

1.0

02/24/2014


Jim N.

Filled out their online form. Asked if they worked in the Fort Myers area...no response. Left voice mail...no response. Since they're out of Mo., maybe they don 't come to Florida....but they show uo on Fort Myers on Fort Myers Angie's list??????

Description of Work
Nothing

Category foundation repair

Service Provider Response

Sorry, we do not work in Florida. We are working with Angie's List to fix the areas we work in.
5.0

12/02/2013


PERRON R.

Previous piering companies had tried and failed to solve our sinking foundation problem with undersized piers. After researching available options and getting quotes from a few companies, we chose Expert House Movers to excavate around our foundation, install custom made piers to support the weight of our house (full masonry, stone foundation, slate roof and terazzo floos) and spray a rubberized coating on the below ground portion of our foundation to stop future water penetrations in our stone foundation. They showed up promptly, performed the necessary work in a timely matter and were careful of the landscaping we wanted to keep. The job itself took longer than anticipated mostly due to additional work needed once the foundation was exposed (tuckpointing, new window wells, etc). There was minor damage to the sprinkler system and the water service line, but we were compensated for the damage by EHM. My only complaint was the amount of old drainage pipes and broken concrete that was left on site during the work and not removed until the end of the job.

Description of Work
Installed piers on front and side of house, and waterproofed front foundation below ground.

Category structural engineer, foundation repair

5.0

11/14/2013


Randy W.

To Expert House Movers We wanted to let you know just how pleased we are with the work you did on our house. Before we contacted you, we had several other contractors look at our home. We actually had hired another contractor, who took such a long time, never returned our calls, missed meetings, and took months to even get us our bid. And when that contractor did get us our bid, it was more than doubled our previously discussed budget! That is when we called you, you came out immediately, was extremely professional, but more importantly, you had a personal interaction with both me and my wife throughout the entire process. You answered all our phone calls, all of our questions, and talked with us throughout the entire process. We felt extremely confident and assured through the entire lift. This house is our dream house and we are going to live in it until we die, and you knew how much it meant to us, and you took care of it as if it were your own. As you know, my wife ended up in the hospital with some complications with her surgery while you were working on our home, and you took such great care of our house. You knew she was very disappointed that she could not be there, as she designed the foundation window placements and had a big part in the doors and steps. Your crew was so kind and so professional and meticulous, that they knew that two particular windows were very important to my wife. Your crew wanted to get them perfect and asked me some questions about them, that I could not answer. My wife was feeling better, but still in the hospital, and I called her on the phone, while your crew waited for me, as she and I discussed for several minutes the exact placement of the windows. Some minor changes had to be made and your crew could have easily just slapped the two windows in the new location, which was only slightly off of the original plan, and be done with it, but they stopped and pointed out where my wife originally wanted them and the new location difference and wanted to be sure that my wife understood the change, and wanted me to talk to my wife first. I was so very impressed that they made the adjustments on the spot that my wife suggested over the phone. I don’t think any other company would have gone through this much trouble to please their customers! You also were very respectful of our property, neighbors, and your crew were always very willing to stop and explain the process of what was going to happen next. Not one time did we ever feel like we were in your way. Actually, it was the opposite, we felt like you and your crew were very excited to show us your equipment and how it worked and actually wanted us around so we could see how it all worked and so we could see for ourselves how everything was perfect - and it was! We will always remember you and think of you so highly. Thank you for making the beginning our home building so easy and off to such a perfect start. There are so many things that can go wrong when redoing a home, and having it go off with such a perfect start gives us such great hope. You have certainly set bar very high for the other contractors that will be coming in for the other parts of the home! Your company and its crew should be very proud of its work. You do a job that is very difficult, complex and tedious, but you do it with care, expertise, and perfection. We actually miss you guys and wish you were around. You are like family to us. We only wish we could rate your service and staff A++ , if there were such a rating. All our best and blessings, Randy and Elizabeth

Description of Work
Lift our home, dig out the old basement, and poured in a new basement, steps, and place in windows.

Category foundation repair

5.0

11/02/2013


Teri S.

Expert House Movers brought a crew of 6-8 & came in late August 2013 to start the process of raising & moving the house. My husband had done all the prep work of disconnecting the utilities & removing the furnace, etc. They dug access ramps to the old foundation/basement with bobcats. They poked good sized holes around the foundation so they could put in steel beams and jack up the house. Our foundation was from 1917 & built from old creek gravel cement, so it was pretty tough. It took three & half days to jack the house & move it over the driveway. It seemed really fast to me. The only thing to fall in the house was a picture off the piano. We still had access to the house through a tall ladder to get clothes, etc. that we needed. We took over the process of arranging excavation, concrete pouring, and carpenters with more local contractors. Expert does have concrete people & others they use in the St Louis area that know exactly the requirements needed for the new foundation. After the basement was poured & cured (curing takes about 3-4 weeks), Expert returned in October 2013 to move & set the house. They had been in contact with the concrete man for specifications, but there were no slots for the beams when setting the house down. A concrete worker had to come & cut those slots. We had a carpenter on hand to finish the sill installment & make sure the sills for the permanent beams was correct & set the support posts in the basement. We also had a friend's tractor help Expert's bobcat pull the house back over the foundation. While all this was going on, Expert was jacking and moving supports & placing slider beams & raising & lowering the house. The process was complete in about 2 1/2 days with care & precision. Some of the cracks in our house even disappeared. Great job guys. Our carpenters returned to build a staircase & some other requirements. We are working on re-connecting utilities & returning the furnace, water heater, etc. to the new basement. We plan to move back into the house in the first week or so in November 2013. It's been a long process, but well worth it. Made possible by Expert House Movers!

Description of Work
Expert House Movers jacked up our house and moved it to the side so we could excavate & replace the old foundation & half basement. Then they moved it back over the new basement/foundation & set the house down.

Category foundation repair

5.0

09/03/2013


CHARLES O.

The work went very well. We had a few rain delays, but that could not be helped. Also we were coordinating other work with another contractor (see R and R Concrete) that sometimes caused delays. They showed up when expected, excavated one side of the house and dug holes on the other (walk out basement) for the piers. When finished the yard was repaired as good as could be expected for St Louis summer. I have a little work to do on it now that it has cooled off. I had to have cracks repaired inside and concrete work done on the outside. The people they recommended did wonderful work.

Description of Work
One corner of my foundation had fallen. EHM put in 9 piers and raised the foundation back to original.

Category foundation repair

5.0

08/16/2013


Meg T.

Very friendly and clean cut workers. Everything went very smoothly. They obviously know exactly what they are doing!! We are extremely happy with the work.

Description of Work
EHM stabilized and lifted an addition off the back of our house. Originally the addition was not set properly. They came in and piered it and lifted it to a level position.

Category mudjacking, foundation repair

5.0

07/01/2013


rita D.

I loved their commraderie.

Description of Work
Moved a home for me.

Category structural engineer

5.0

05/17/2013


Don R.

Last year my wife and I had enough with our foundation problems. Our back basement wall and side wall was cracked form the top of the foundation to the basement floor. The cracks were so big that water constantly came through during and after heavy rains. We called several different foundation repair companies, but none of them could provide us with what we knew we needed. We needed a sixty foot section of our basement wall replaced, but none of the companies that we contacted could provide that service. It wasn't until we contacted Frank Matyiko, owner of Expert House Movers, that we were able to get the assurance that a section of our foundation could be replaced. Our friends asked us how they were able to hold our two story home up while taking out such a huge section of our foundation wall. I tell them like owner Frank Matyiko said to me "we combine over 50 years of structural moving experience with 30 years of foundation repair experience and that's how we get it done." He provided me with a structural engineer and obtained the repair permits needed for the job, which no other company would provide. Frank Matyiko oversaw the entire project from day 1 to completion. Thanks for saving our home, EHM is awesome.

Description of Work
Replaced a basement wall

Category foundation repair

5.0

04/29/2013


Nicole B.

Please see above the details of the service performed.

Description of Work
In the spring of 2010 I had finally decised to do something about my failing foundation. It was concerning to me and the safety of my family. My basement wall had horizontal and verticle cracks leaking water. My primary concern was that the basement wall would collapse or my house would begin sinking in to the grounds. I had five different foundation companies look and give me an idea of how to repair it. four of the five told me they were incapable of fixing my foundation and repairing the damage. When I first came into contact with Expert house movers I was a bit frustrated at the responses I had been given, with over 50 years of experience they assured me they would be able to stablize my home, rip out my failing basement wall and replace it with new footings and a new wall. I learned so much from this experience, Expert House Movers provided me with a liscensed structural engineer that would stamp the constructionbefore work would begin. They also provided me with a 12 million dollar general liability insurance policy and a 1 million dollar workers compensation package, After signing the contract the construction started that very next week. Owner Frank Matyiko oversaw the project and was on sight from start to finish. Each phase of the project was completed in a professional detailed and timely manner. Expert House Movers was able to do what no other foundation repair company could do. I have a new basement wall and my foundation was saved. Calling and signing with Expert House movers was the right thing to do for me and the safety of my home. I could not thank them enough for all thier hard work.

Category concrete repair, structural engineer, foundation repair

5.0

03/22/2013


quinn J.

We bought a building that was going to be demolished in the Page extension/ Hwy 364 route. We owned property adjacent to the building and had Expert House Movers move the structure approximately 1000 foot across a roadway and onto a new foundation. I was amazed that they were able to do it without any of the brick fascade cracking/crumbling. Before the building was lifted and moved, we inspected the interior of the building and took a black marker to areas of interior drywall cracking. After having them lift and move the building, there were no new cracks and the existing cracks were unchanged. I couldn't believe it. I would highly recommend them. It's unbelievable to see the buildings and structures they have moved.

Description of Work
Expert House Movers moved a 200 ton, 5600 sq ft., 2- story, Brick Building acrosss a roadway to allow for construction of the Pave Ave. extension into St. Charles County.

Category concrete repair

    Other local Pros in your area

    MIRELLI TUCKPOINTING LLC

    10 EMPLOYEES. NO SUBS. COST IS DETERMINED BY THE JOB. NO TRAVEL CHARGES. Honest companies cannot compete pricewise with companies that DO NOT pay insurance premiums. Potect yourself by getting a copy of the Certificate of Insurance from whatever company you choose.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    GATEWAY CHIMNEY SERVICE

    Gateway Chimney Service, LLC has been in business and serving the St. Louis metro area for over 30 years! Family owned and operated. We are CSIA certified chimney sweeps. Thank you for allowing us to be of service.  

    Atlas Foundation Solutions, LLC

    Atlas Foundation Solutions, LLC provides long-lasting solutions for all your foundation repair and waterproofing problems in the greater St. Louis, MO area. Located in Fenton, MO, our experienced team of contractors will effectively and efficiently complete crack repairs, install drainage solutions, brace your foundation walls and increase the structural stability of your homes foundation.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check, PayPal
    Senior Discount
    10%
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    House & Building Movers, Lifters, Basement Replacement, Full or Partial Foundation Wall Replacement, Flood Elevations, Piering/Leveling, Shoring, Roof Elevations.

    Services Not Offered

    We work with serious foundation issues. We are not a crack repair or waterproofing company.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about EHM

    How is EHM overall rated?

    EHM is currently rated 4.4 overall out of 5.

    What days are EHM open?

    EHM is open:

    Monday: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Tuesday: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Wednesday: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Thursday: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Friday: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Saturday: 8:00 AM - 12:00 PM

    What payment options does EHM provide

    EHM accepts the following forms of payment: Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check, PayPal

    Does EHM offer free estimates?

    Yes, EHM offers free project estimates.

    Does EHM offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, EHM does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does EHM offer a senior discount?

    Yes, EHM offers a 10% senior discount.

    Does EHM offer emergency services?

    Yes, EHM offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by EHM?

    Yes, EHM offers warranties.

    What services does EHM offer?

    EHM offers the following services: House & Building Movers, Lifters, Basement Replacement, Full or Partial Foundation Wall Replacement, Flood Elevations, Piering/Leveling, Shoring, Roof Elevations.

    Are there any services EHM does not offer?

    We work with serious foundation issues. We are not a crack repair or waterproofing company.