Beckner Painting & Contracting

About

Founded 1962 • With Angi since March 2003

Beckner Painting & Contracting has been in business for over 50 years. At Beckner Painting & Contracting we provide quality work at reasonable prices. I think you will find working with us is a positive experience and I have no doubt you will be completely satisfied with our service. All

Awards and Badges

Angi Certified

Images

A Service Provider's profile imageA Service Provider's profile imageA Service Provider's profile image

Verified Reviews

4.8

(80) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

68

4

6

3

2

2

2

1

2

Rating Details

Price

4.8

Professionalism

4.8

Punctuality

4.9

Quality

4.9

Responsiveness

4.9

Read reviews by category

interior painting (49)bathtub refinishing (27)house painting (19)home remodeling (3)cabinet refacing (2)drywall (2)deck cleaning (1)siding companies (1)tile installation (1)general contractors (1)
Showing 1-25 of 80 reviews
5.0

11/16/2022


Ben P.

Fantastic! Great communication, work was Completed promptly and at a high quality! A++

Description of Work
Exterior painting

Category house painters

Cost $5,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

5.0

11/15/2022


Mathew E.

Very professional!! Got everything in Tim and budget. I would highly recommend!

Description of Work
Drywall and paint

Category drywall

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

1.0

11/14/2022


Chris F.

Exterior paint started to fail due to improper application after 18 months. Team was nice, but amateurish.

Description of Work
Painting exterior of historic home.

Category house painters

Cost $9,000

Services Performed? Yes

Service Provider Response

Mr. Fuch has a very beautiful, but very old home. He used Google to see how long an "average" paint job should last. However, he should have Googled "How long will a paint job last if you paint over bad wood?" We explained that there was deteriorating wood and it would need to be replaced prior to us painting. He said he had a roofing company that would do the wood replacement. We made a point of putting in our estimate that there was no wood replacement included in our bid. The same estimate he signed also stated we have a one year warranty; which is an industry standard. We actually don't even know where the wood is peeling. The reason we don't know is we haven't gone back. We went back once already and replaced bad wood on his deck and then repainted. This was wood we told him needed to be replaced, but he used Google. We will not keep going back and fixing bad wood that we warned him would fail because he Googled the wrong thing. 1. Because we told him this would happen and it's in his signed contract and 2. It is beyond our warranty period; which is also in his signed contract.
5.0

12/22/2020


Loren W.

Bathtub looks like new. Company was very easy to work with.

Description of Work
Bathtub refinish

Category bathtub refinishing

Cost $450

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/29/2020

2.0

10/06/2020


Monice S.

I requested Beckner's $1,499 deal for a week of interior painting - up to 40 hours. What happened was classic bait and switch. He came to my house and I told him what painting was needed on a 1560 sq ft home - one ceiling. His quote was fro $2395. His quote did not include a breakdown of what I was paying for above and beyond the amount for the deal or how many hours of work above and beyond the 40 hours included with the deal. He said they normally charge $60 and hour but the deal offers additional work for $50 hour.

Description of Work
Interior Painting

Category interior painters

Cost $2,400

Work Completed On 09/29/2020

Service Provider Response

Good Morning, Sorry you were confused by the process, but there is no "bait and switch" here. The deal clearly states $1499 for interior painting up to 40 hours; as you have written above. It also very clearly states it is labor only. When we contacted you, you asked what it would cost to do the whole house, so we sent an estimator. The estimator gave you a price to paint three (3) bedrooms, a hallway, a stairwell, a living room, a dining room, a kitchen, and a laundry room. And it all included material. You did not request a break down of each room (but we are more than happy to bid it that way) you asked for a price to paint your whole house, which is what he gave you. Feel free to reach out to us to discuss the deal, we would love to add you to the very long list of happy customers who have done this deal.
5.0

05/07/2020


Deborah S.

The painter was on time and did a great job. I will definitely use the company again.

Description of Work
Exterior shutters painted

Category house painters

Cost $295

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/17/2020

5.0

11/16/2018


Sarah M.

Guys showed up everyday on time and had a great work ethic throughout the entire project.

Description of Work
Remodel of kitchen and 2 baths

Category home remodeling, interior painters

Cost $55,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/31/2018

5.0

09/26/2018


Anna F.

Workers were professional, showed up on time to work. Made sure area they worked in was left clean. Work done in a very timely manner with great quality.

Description of Work
Kitchen remodel

Category contractors, interior painters, cabinet refacing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/06/2018

5.0

09/26/2018


Donna S.

Jerry & his crew of John & Michael were excellent. Very affable & courteous & diligent. Straightened up every afternoon, at the end of their work day. I just couldn't be more pleased with Beckner Painting & everyone I had contact with.

Description of Work
Beckner painted my living room, bathroom & kichen, with rooms having lots of woodwork (including crown molding). PLUS they were able to make my front door beautiful again with their knowledge of what will or will not work. The stain on front door trim had flaked off because that piece was made with too much silicone.

Category interior painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/26/2018

5.0

09/26/2018


Matt S.

They did excellent work and were very personable. I would recommend them to everyone.

Description of Work
Painting/dry wall repair

Category drywall, interior painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/26/2018

5.0

09/26/2018


james K.

Excellent Job. Professional and Courteous Staff. Outcome of tub far exceeded expectations.

Description of Work
Refinished Tub

Category bathtub refinishing, interior painters

Cost $200

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/26/2018

4.0

09/09/2017


THERESA S.

Good job with reglazing. We declined addititional repairs recommended due to the age of the tub. Our only complaint was the extra 150 added to the cost because it was a clawfoot tub instead of a stand tub.

Description of Work
Reglazing a clawfoot tub.

Category bathtub refinishing

Cost $445

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/02/2017

5.0

09/04/2017


Diane D.

It went very well. Took less time that expected. It looks great!

Description of Work
My bathtub needed to be refinished.

Category bathtub refinishing

Cost $295

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/21/2017

5.0

09/01/2017


Lauren C.

The service was excellent! They got the job done much sooner than I expected, and the painters did a great job. They cleaned up after the job was done, and finished in one day. I would highly recommend this company.

Description of Work
These professionals painted the exterior of my ranch house.

Category house painters

Cost $899

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/01/2017

5.0

08/28/2017


Mary Lee B.

excellent as he was prompt and professional

Description of Work
Bathtub reglazing

Category bathtub refinishing

Cost $295

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/23/2017

5.0

08/21/2017


Gilbert S.

They were good. We were pretty happy with the work. They did something that was of value and they did it timely. They did a pretty good job. One guy was really hard working, his assist was kind of a goof ball but basically between the 2 of them they got it done. I'd recommend them, they are good guys.

Description of Work
Big deal for 4 hours of general contracting. Took down an awning.

Category remodeling

Cost $199

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/01/2017

1.0

07/29/2017


Diane B.

I never had work done due to no one ever called me back last year after 5 calls and being forwarded to the person's voicemail whom handles these areas. Yes I I did leave a message each time. Hence the "F" rating is for responsiveness and professionalism. A company that is in business to service the community should "respond" to attempted communication from a potential customer because it is the "professional" thing to do and it keeps a company in business. The attempts where made from April through June. I was trying to get on their schedule and have the work done before the rise in temperature. Also, if they had been hired and I was pleased with the work, I would have hired this company for my kitchen remodel as well as made so they were my "go to" company for home improvement and maintenance, since I do strongly prefer to deal with the same company.

Description of Work
Exterior painting of the full wood area over front porch where the street numbers are, aluminum siding for 2 story sun room ( including soffits and fascia), 2 car garage in the rear of my home (including soffits and fascia). I also needed 2 bath tubs refinished.

Category bathtub refinishing, siding, deck cleaning, house painters

Work Completed On 06/30/2017

Service Provider Response

Hi [Member Name Removed], You are writing this review from over a year ago, so it is hard for us to know what you are referencing. I do see in our system that we have done a plethora of bids for you going all the way back to 2008. I think the fact that you received those numerous bids, shows we respond to phone calls. What number did you call? I ask that because, again, we have had 5 estimators at your house through the years, which means we have called you back every time you called. Finally, I just wanted to point out that our records indicate those old bids are actually for the items you mentioned in your review; except the kitchen remodel. Our office number is 314-646-7000, we would love to clear up the confusion.
5.0

07/27/2017


Beverly B.

Matthew was extremely punctual and did an outstanding job. Very friendly and professional. His work was meticulous and the tub looks better than new! We are now having Beckner resurface our fiberglass shower stall. Will definitely recommend and use again. A+++

Description of Work
Tub resurfacing.

Category bathtub refinishing

Cost $295

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/26/2017

5.0

07/12/2017


Cherie T.

GREAT! Very punctual and professional. Tub looks fantastic.

Description of Work
Bathtub reglazed

Category bathtub refinishing

Cost $275

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/05/2017

5.0

07/12/2017


dale W.

Great professional work. I'm very happy.

Description of Work
Painted bedroom and bathroom.

Category interior painters

Cost $200

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/06/2017

5.0

07/03/2017


dale W.

It went very well. I am pleased with the work done.

Description of Work
bathtub refinished

Category bathtub refinishing, interior painters

Cost $300

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/03/2017

5.0

07/03/2017


James T.

Well. Workers clean up at completion.

Description of Work
Painting various.

Category interior painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/03/2017

5.0

06/21/2017


Douglas H.

They were very professional. They called me immediately after I purchased the offer to set up the appointment. They were on time for the appointment. They explained everything to me and told me that about the previous work that I didn't even know about.

Description of Work
I purchased their offer for $295 Full Bathtub Refinish, but due to the previous work that had been done on my tub, they advised against the refinish.

Category bathtub refinishing

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/21/2017

5.0

06/16/2017


Kathy G.

They did a nice job. They showed up on time and cleaned up after themselves.

Description of Work
Tub reglazing

Category bathtub refinishing