Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Van Cleave Construction LLC

Founded 2006 • With Angi since April 2012

4.9

(20) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

4209 Cook Road

Saint Joseph, MO 64506

Description

A fast growing home improvement company, Van Cleave Construction, located in St. Joseph, MO offers complete home remodeling and light construction. We take great pride in the work that we do, and it shows. Our experienced craftsmen will make your remodeling project go smoothly. Our focus is on service and professionalism. We strive to offer you the best possible products, installation and service available. We know that hiring a contractor can be a little scary, and at times frustrating. Our goal is not to meet your expectations, but to far exceed them. We will work hard to earn and keep your business. Customer service is key to a successful company, which is why we have many return customers, and we receive many customer referrals. We welcome the opportunity to be a part of your home improvement and construction needs. Please browse our site and contact us with any questions or if you would like to schedule an in home consultation to see how we can serve you. We are a licensed and insured company, and provide references with every proposal....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

05/30/2019


Kristina K.

Everything they have done has been exceptional! Greg was our on-site contractor and he was awesome to work with! He answered all our questions that he could or found the right resources to help us. There were a couple unexpected issues that came up (hidden in the walls) that they immediately took care of for us. Would recommend Erich and his team to everyone. Already have them set up for the next remodel project.

Description of Work
Kitchen, Living Room, Dining Room, entryway remodel...done. Bathroom, Bedroom remodel...starting

Category ceramic tile,countertops,decks,remodeling,siding,replacement windows,home remodeling,doors

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your review! We have enjoyed working with you and getting to know you guys. Enjoy!
2.0

05/01/2019


Richard M.

First, let me say. This is not easy for me because I like to believe the best in people or companies. Erich sales rep, was very responsive when I originally emailed about getting a price quote. He came out Thursday before Easter. We explained what we were looking for and he was very nice about making a recommendation of doing a poured slab for deck instead of wood. This would save us money on labor because a lot of dirt work would of been needed to level area for wood deck. I was happy with recommendation. I had also told him that because of the ( A rating ) from everyone on Angie’s list, we would only be getting a bid from them. My wife asked him about lead time on getting work done and he said mid July, Mary said ok she would wait for them. All because of there rating. Erich said that the estimate would be to us by midweek following week. No estimate and no follow up from him the following week, so I emailed him. He was quick to respond and apologized. Said no matter what I would have it by first of this week, he had been swamped. I understood and said ok. Well, now it’s the middle of the week he promised to have to estimate and still nothing. Regrettably, I now have to go out and try to find a company that has a good reputation like they did. Not sure how they got that reputation but in our opinion NOT deserved.

Description of Work
16’x20’ deck and 24’x24’ cement garage slab for future building

Category decks,garage builders

Service Provider Response

I'm sorry you didn't get your estimate for the work we discussed yet. This is an overwhelming time of year for us and we do the very best we can to get everyone taken care of. We have been looking at 10-15 new jobs per week for the past several weeks that require a lot of time to produce proposals for. However, our first priority has to be to our customers that we are currently working for so that their projects are successful. I'm sorry you feel the need to give us a bad review over a bid that you haven't received yet, but I would much rather have a bad review from a potential customer than one that we are actually doing work for, and I hope you understand that with no disrespect intended. I think it is for that reason that we have the reviews and reputation that we do. I wish you the best on your project and sorry we weren't a good fit for you at this time.
5.0

10/10/2016


Tony S.

Erich is very professional. Always available for questions or comments. Always willing to help with suggestions. We needed a roof put on before the winter weather hit and he had it bid and installed in no time at all. Probably by far the easiest contractor I have ever worked with. I will definitely use them on future projects.

Description of Work
Remodeled bathroom using onyx shower surrounds, new window, all new Sheetrock, new flooring, new lighting, new toilet, basically complete demolition and rebuild of bathroom, also had them install a new roof, gutters, soffits, and gutters. Complete rebuild of back enclosed porch including new Windows and doors.

Category decks,home remodeling,sunrooms

5.0

09/26/2016


Gary H.

Did an excellent job, professional, friendly and prompt.

Description of Work
Replaced 4 doors, took up carpet and replaced with engineered flooring, remolded master bath.

Category remodeling,replacement windows,home remodeling,doors

5.0

09/24/2016


Patti S.

Erich and his crew are professional, easy to communicate with, and highly skilled. Erich was quickly available to us when we had questions. He helped us find items that would fit our budget. Super pleased with Brad Lengel's craftsmanship on our beautiful new kitchen cabinets! They are stunning! It was a long process, but every person on his crew was friendly and they LISTENED! if I had a concern. They were on time and considerate! Beautiful work! We recommend VanCleave and his crew very highly!

Description of Work
Full kitchen remodel, new hardwood flooring on main floor and kitchen, and new detached garage.

Category decks,garage builders,home remodeling

5.0

09/20/2016


Kim B.

We were so pleased with the work done!! As the job was a remodel, a structural issue was discovered which was resolved by Van Cleve quickly and professionally. All of the work was completed in a timely and professional manner. The staff was profession, courteous and very skilled.

Description of Work
Van Cleve Construction did a full renovation of the main floor of our home. Hardwood floors were installed throughout, our kitchen was completely, including a new tile backsplash and granite countertops, painting was done throughout the entire home, including all trim and cabinets. A new deck was built across the back of the home.

Category decks,remodeling,home remodeling

5.0

09/20/2016


Matt P.

Would highly recommend-professional!

Description of Work
Remodeled basement and kitchen

Category remodeling

5.0

05/24/2016


William S.

Description of Work
They do very nice work.Good to work with.

Category decks

5.0

03/13/2016


Jennifer M.

Great quality and attention to detail. Erich is extremely responsive and his crew is professional and courteous.

Description of Work
We've used Van Cleave twice. Once to build a large deck and next a large walk-in shower.

Category decks

5.0

09/23/2015


William S.

Description of Work
Fine its a showpiece.

Category decks,home remodeling

5.0

06/19/2015


Bob N.

.

Description of Work
.

Category remodeling,basement remodeling

5.0

03/26/2015


Jason S.

Description of Work
They replaced a garage roof rafters. Then later they replaced some windows. Quality work! Highly recommend them.

Category decks,home remodeling

5.0

01/14/2015


Patti S.

Description of Work
Built new screened in porch and deck. Also stairs leading to new pool deck. Beautiful work. Punctual and polite. A wonderful experience, and we love the finished work.

Category decks

5.0

06/02/2014


Kyle H.

They have not started the work yet because of the winter, and so they will start next week. They were pretty good, I just wish they would communicate better.

Description of Work
We got a quote from Van Cleave Construction, for an 8 foot extension of the deck, and they will be pouring concrete for the post, and they will put 2 new posts. They will put stairs down from the back to the back yard.

Category decks

4.0

06/29/2013


Kevin P.

Description of Work
Slow. 1 week became 2 weeks. Said he only did one job at a time but only spent 2-3 hours a day working on my bathroom and went to other jobs Work quality was satisfactory.

Category home remodeling

5.0

05/31/2013


Blair C.

Van Cleave Construction were very helpful in helping us decide on a solution to remodeling our 30+ year old master bathroom shower on a limited budget. We used the Onyx shower surround, which is a composite material, not tile or fiberglass. Examples can be seen at Ekards on the North Belt highway. After demolition, we discovered a serious code violation where an issue with the electrical wiring for adjoining rooms was not properly secured or routed away from the plumbing fixtures. Van Cleave was very prompt in getting a licensed electrician to come out and make the required repairs before moving on. The installation took less than two days. There was an issue with the glass doors coming loose from the mounts in the tracks and they sent someone out immediately and made the proper adjustments. The doors are now safe and secure.

Description of Work
Demo shower surround, replace with new surround and repair found hazards.

Category fencing

5.0

03/11/2013


William L.

Eric was very good at helping us with decisions on both projects. We came in close to budget and very minor issues which I think is unusual with any remodeling job. Eric has done a deck replacement, privacy fence replacement, deck door replacement and now a bath redo and kitchen back splash. We are already planning to redo the master bath next year and will not bother trying to get estimates from others as Eric seems to know what looks good and bow to stay within budget. He was a rare find and we can't give him anything but the highest recommendation. Just don't keep him so busy we can't get our next project scheduled. If you use him once, you will be hooked.

Description of Work
We needed to replace an ugly back splash in our kitchen and remodel our main bathroom. The kitchen took about 3 days and the bathroom about a week.

Category remodeling

5.0

10/22/2012


Sharon L.

Mr Van Cleave was prompt and offered suggestions right from the time he came to give us an estimate through the completion of both projects. We also had to have some minor repairs during the projects and Mr. Van Cleave offered suggestions both in how best to do the repairs and how to keep the costs down to stay within our budget.

Description of Work
Deck and fencing were removed and replaced. Both were done with far greater craftsmanship. We even had a pergola added for shade on the deck. Already planning on future projects with this contractor. When you find someone you can trust, you hire them again!! Erich Van Cleave will definitely be back.

Category decks,fencing

5.0

09/16/2012


William L.

Mr. VanCleave was prompt to come over and see what we were needing taking measurements and offering suggestions on the best way to do our projects and a ballpark estimate. He returned in only a couple of days with a firm bid which we accepted. He did say he was booked up for a few weeks and would be July before he could start the project. We said we were in no hurry and that would be fine. Due to the extreme heat this summer he was delayed in starting but started the first part of September and was done in about a week and a half. The new fence could not be done the way we had hoped due to buried cables but still looks very good and is sturdy. The gate is had made and well done swinging in as we had requested. In removing the old deck, they found hidden damage on the house where the deck had been connected. They found only minor damage and said it would not be much extra to repair but needed to be done. We agreed and felt that he could have inflated both the cost as well as the amount of work involved. I believe that says a lot about a person's honesty and integrity. The deck was slightly enlarged from the original with steps leading down to the patio and a pergola was also added for shade as the deck faces the west. Both of these were far beyond what we expected and we are extremely pleased with the outcome. We have already asked him to do a couple of other jobs for us and are looking at possibly bathroom renovations down the road and will definitely talk to Mr. VanCleave about these as well. We will recommend him to anyone anytime.

Description of Work
We needed to have a privacy fence and old deck replaced.

Category decks,fencing

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your kind words, it was our pleasure to work with you on your outdoor projects, and we look forward to your future projects!
5.0

09/14/2012


Sharon L.

Mr. Van Cleave gave us an estimate and an approximate time they could do the job. We told him we were in no big hurry just wanted them to not jump from one job to another. We had to wait a few weeks longer than we expected due to the extreme heat. Once they started they did the job completely. The deck was absolutely gorgeous and much nicer than we had expected. The steps leading down were wide with hand rails on both sides. The pergola they added for shade IS BEAUTIFUL. We are more than pleased with the work and plan on using them on several more projects in the future. This is a contractor who is on site and working. We were concerned when they found damage on the siding when the old deck was removed and how much the repair would add to the cost of an already tight budget but Mr. VanCleave and his worker were able to make the needed repairs. We asked if they needed to check further down behind the older siding for any additional damage. They could have said they needed to do more and inflated the cost but they didn`t. That tells me a lot about their honesty and integrity. I would highly recommend them.

Description of Work
We had our fence and deck replaced. The old fence and wobbly deck had to be removed. Total time from start to finish was about a week and a half.

Category remodeling

    Other local Pros in your area

    Graber Outdoors

    Coming from the heart of Amish country; Graber Outdoors is a business that has an intentional focus on Trex Decking and productive relationships with customers in the greater Kansas City MO area. We strive to provide first-class service throughout the entire deck-building process. We travel to jobs all around Northwest Missouri and Eastern Kansas. Our business is committed to providing excellent craftsmanship in each and every job that we take on. Our company is licensed and insured in Johnson County and will provide free estimates and drawings with multiple free estimates if needed. We pull all the permits necessary for each job and have a portable bathroom facility on all job sites, which allows you, the homeowner, to lock your home and leave for the day while we work. Our commitment to take care of every little detail ensures you that the construction process will not interrupt your everyday life. Contact Us For Your Free Estimate  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Offers by Graber Outdoors on Angi
    Champion Windows and Home Exteriors of Kansas City

    There’s never been a better time to transform you home with Champion of Kansas City! Think of us as a one-stop shop for everything you need to beautify your home’s exterior: windows, sunrooms, siding, roofing and doors. Only Champion offers the superior energy efficiency of Comfort 365 Windows, industry-leading limited lifetime guarantee, and award winning products made in the USA. For over 60 years, Champion has been manufacturing and installing quality windows, doors and sunrooms while creating a seamless experience for our customers. More than 9 out of 10 customers recommend Champion. Not only do Champion products enhance your curb appeal, but can also lower your energy bills, improve the comfort level of your home and reward you with a high return on your investment. Experience the difference Champion products can make for your home today! ENERGY STAR®, NSA, AAMA, Installation Experts, VSI, BBB, NFRC  

    Window World

    Window World replacement windows beautify & modernize homes, while lowering your energy costs through our energy efficiency technology & heat saving design. Economically designed to minimize effective heat loss, Window World Low-E replacement windows are made of the highest quality insulated vinyl products. Fairview Heights (satellite for STL) 4646 Illinois Street Fairview Heights, IL 62208 Lenexa (satellite for KC) 9160 Marshall Drive Lenexa, KS 66215 913-647-0435 618-233-8573  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Licensed
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express
    Senior Discount
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Interior and Exterior Remodeling, Design and Build. Siding (including installation of James Hardie products)

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Van Cleave Construction LLC

    How is Van Cleave Construction LLC overall rated?

    Van Cleave Construction LLC is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

    What days are Van Cleave Construction LLC open?

    Van Cleave Construction LLC is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 7:30 AM - 6:30 PM

    Tuesday: 7:30 AM - 6:30 PM

    Wednesday: 7:30 AM - 6:30 PM

    Thursday: 7:30 AM - 6:30 PM

    Friday: 7:30 AM - 6:30 PM

    Saturday: 8:00 AM - 12:00 PM

    What payment options does Van Cleave Construction LLC provide

    Van Cleave Construction LLC accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express

    Does Van Cleave Construction LLC offer free estimates?

    Yes, Van Cleave Construction LLC offers free project estimates.

    Does Van Cleave Construction LLC offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Van Cleave Construction LLC does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Are warranties offered by Van Cleave Construction LLC?

    Yes, Van Cleave Construction LLC offers warranties.

    What services does Van Cleave Construction LLC offer?

    Van Cleave Construction LLC offers the following services: Interior and Exterior Remodeling, Design and Build. Siding (including installation of James Hardie products)