Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Clean Sweep Chimney Service

Founded 1979 • With Angi since December 2002

Cash or check accepted

Verified Reviews

4.9

(56) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-25 of 56 reviews
Claudia B.
5.0
11/08/2020
Took about an hour. Very professional and cleaned up behind themselves. Vick and the young man with him were great.
Description of Work
Fireplace cleaning and chimney inspection.
Category
chimney sweep, pet sitters

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to share with others, enjoy your fireplace. Victor
CAROL D.
5.0
08/14/2017
Very well. Victor was very professional and thorough. Did a great job.
Description of Work
Cleaned the chimney and replaced new pins on the damper
Category
chimney sweep
Steven W.
5.0
11/04/2016
Service and work were stellar. Our first time for this service ...and we should have done this sooner. No issues, but nice to have it professionally inspected and cleaned. Vic also pointed out that our gas insert burner was getting to it's end of life and to consider replacing in the next year, which we will do. Will absolutely use Clean Sweep again.
Description of Work
Inspect and clean our gas log burning chimney.
Category
chimney sweep
Lauren D.
5.0
02/16/2016
Excellent, as always. We've been using Clean Sweep since we bought our house and couldn't be happier. They remind me to schedule each year. Victor's always great - clean, efficient, and friendly.
Description of Work
Annual chimney sweep
Category
chimney sweep

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and the kind words.
Frank M.
5.0
12/30/2014
It went great. I called and scheduled an appointment. They arrived on time and did a good job.
Description of Work
They cleaned out our very dirty fireplace and chimney
Category
chimney sweep, chimney repair

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking your time to leave nice comments and review. We look forward to making your next appointment as good as your last.
Michael J.
5.0
12/18/2014
I had a great experience with Clean Sweep Chimney Service. Victor came on the day scheduled and even came early. Called before he came. We had just bought this house and this was the first chimney cleaning we have had at the new property. In addition to cleaning the chimney Victor explained all the bells and whistles I had with this fireplace other than just opening the flue. He was very helpful and informative. I would definitely use this company again.
Description of Work
Cleaned my chimney
Category
chimney sweep

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the kind review and taking your time to review us during this busy time of year. We look forward providing you quality chimney care in the future.
Rebecca R.
5.0
02/24/2014
He laid down a mat so there was no mess. He cleaned the chimney and glass doors. He was very thorough. I was very pleased.
Description of Work
He cleaned the chimney.
Category
chimney sweep

Service Provider Response

Thank You for taking your time to leave your kind review. We always look forward to helping you and others in any way we can and we will do our best to provide you service again that is second to none when you need it. Victor and the Clean Sweep Crew
Bill W.
5.0
02/10/2014
the best service per dollar I've ever had. Clean, respectful of property, knowledgeable about early 20th century architecture, codes then and know, polite, meticulous, and thorough.
Description of Work
cleaning of 3 fireplaces and chimneys.
Category
chimney sweep, fireplaces

Service Provider Response

Thank You for your very kind review, it was our pleasure to service your fireplaces and our pleasure talking with you about the homes history. Victor and the Clean Sweep Crew
Karen L.
5.0
01/10/2014
I had just bought my home and the previous owners didn't know when the fireplace was last cleaned (if ever). Playing it safe, I wanted to have a professional take a look at it prior to using it. After searching Angie's List and reading reviews, I wanted to give Clean Sweep a try. I called and spoke with a very nice woman who took my information and helped me set up an appointment for the following week. Victor showed up on time and went to work right away. Sheets/tarps were placed along the walking path to the family room where the fireplace is located so as not to track any of the rain/snow into the house and to ensure that no soot was tracked on the way out of the house. Victor inspected the entire unit and cleaned everything meticulously. The whole process took about an hour. Victor answered my questions and provided me with some information about my fireplace that I was not aware of. He also made some replacements on the unit and I am happy to say my damper is now functioning with ease. The cleanup was spectacular and I couldn't find a spec of soot or dirt anywhere in the vicinity. I am very happy with the services performed and really appreciated the little things that set Clean Sweep apart from other services (a thank you note and a few reminder gifts). I will definitely be using Clean Sweep for all my future fireplace and chimney needs.
Description of Work
Inspected and cleaned my wood burning fireplace/chimney.
Category
chimney sweep

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. Extra thanks for the kind words, we look forward to our future visits. Victor and the Clean Sweep Crew
Angie B.
5.0
12/10/2013
Very professional and clean. Did a great job. Answered all of my questions. Will definitely stay with them. Great experience!
Description of Work
Cleaned chimney
Category
chimney sweep

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we look forward to servicing your home and providing quality chimney care in the future. Victor and the clean Sweep crew
Marilyn M.
5.0
10/12/2013
Very friendly and professional company. Did an excellent job with both fireplaces. Was careful with existing carpeting, and when work was .completed explained what was done
Description of Work
had two fireplaces to clean
Category
chimney sweep

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your review and taking the time to leave the nice comments on our company. Victor and the Clean Sweep crew
John W M.
5.0
09/03/2013
They called when they were on the way to our house and they showed up on time. The work was very professional. Absolutely no problems. Left everything very clean. We will use them again.
Description of Work
Inspected and cleaned the chimney and fireplace.
Category
chimney sweep

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your review, we look forward to servicing your home in the future. Victor and the Clean Sweep crew
Kathleen B.
5.0
06/03/2013
Everything was professional and friendly from my initial phone inquiry to the service provided. The lady I spoke with informed me that there was a possibility that they might not be able to remove the bird if it was a certain type of federally protected bird. (Who knew?!) The technician called me later that day to again make sure that I understood that. I appreciated their honesty. The technician was friendly, professional, and very clean. I joked that my floors might have actually been cleaner when he left than when he arrived. I would highly recommend this locally owned business.
Description of Work
Checked for trapped bird, found cause of noise was just birds on top of chimney, not inside. (Thankfully!) While he was here I had him do the chimney cleaning as well.
Category
chimney sweep

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the kind review. Victor and the Clean Sweep Crew
Tracy N.
5.0
05/10/2013
Victor came out to sweep and inspect four fireplaces in a home we recently purchased. While it is not inexpensive, I found Clean Sweep to be competitively priced. He was at the home for approximately four hours and did a thorough job of cleaning and inspecting the entire chimney, inside and out. I was very impressed with the detail, the cleanliness and overall professionalism of Victor. Not to mention, he was just a really nice guy! When he left, I was provided with a detailed explanation of additional services that he suggested we may want to consider to keep our chimneys in safe working order. I was, in no way, pressured to use Clean Sweep for these services.
Description of Work
Clean and inspect four fireplaces
Category
chimney sweep
Sondra D.
5.0
02/13/2013
He was knowledgable, prompt and pleasant.
Description of Work
Cleaned the chimney
Category
chimney sweep
Jessica R.
5.0
02/05/2013
Showed up on time did the job that was asked and did not try to up sell or push other services.
Description of Work
Good, honest and efficient. Locally owned.
Category
chimney sweep
Bryon C.
5.0
10/27/2012
He was very neat, competent and professional. Our service was stellar. We will use Clean Sweep in the future for our home!
Description of Work
Checked chimney for any sweeping needs and cleaned out dryer vent.
Category
chimney sweep
Kathy P.
5.0
09/07/2012
We needed our flue checked and/or cleaned. Victor was punctual and professional, showing me that the it was fine and did not need a cleaning so he just charged for a service call.
Description of Work
Chimney inspection and/or cleaning
Category
chimney sweep
Bridget T.
5.0
03/15/2012
Overall the experience was more than I anticipated, the technician used a camera to view the inside of the chimney, allowing he and I to view everything. He gave us a detailed report of maintenance needed, when needed, and a free estimate on future work. Educated us on the kind of flute we have nd how best to care for it.
Description of Work
Competitive in pricing. Thorough in the job. I referred them to several neighbors, and we all agreed, we will continue to use ths company.
Category
chimney sweep
Carlos C.
5.0
01/04/2012
I was happy with the job done. I will call them again next time I need my chimney swept.
Description of Work
Joe came right on time. He cleaned the chimney with a special vacuum and he took care to keep the floors clean. He answered my questions in detail.
Category
chimney sweep
Vicki S.
5.0
11/28/2011
My experience with Clean Sweep was excellent. Setting up the appointments were easy and the lady in the office was so nice to deal with. I also received a post card in the mail confirming both appointments and he was right on time. Both times Victor laid out tarps to protect the carpet and hearth. First time he came out to clean the chimney he answered all my questions very patiently and did a great job. I feel confident that it was done correctly and thoroughly. I asked him to provide me a quote for replacing the damaged ceramic and his office called the next day with the estimate. I set up the second appointment at that time. Second time he came out with the new ceramic and made the necessary repairs maticuously. He also made some suggestions on how to avoid future damage to the ceramic which I really appreciated. I will be calling Clean Sweep back next year for our annual chimney cleaning!
Description of Work
Victor from Clean Sweep cleaned our chimney on November 1, 2011. He also inspected the ceramic in the fire box as it was starting to crack and crumble and gave me suggestions on what to do about the fireplace doors that were damaged. On November 21, 2011 he came back out and replaced the damaged ceramic.
Category
chimney sweep, chimney repair
Kelly P.
1.0
11/25/2011
I contacted this company a month ago, They missed the first appointment they made and set up another. A few days before the appointment I got a post card to remind me of the appointment and that it would cost $70 just to get the size of my chimney so they can order the parts I need. I called them and said they had never informed me of this $70 fee (and it wouldn't be deducted from the overall bill once they completed the work) They said they have always charged a fee for estimates. Well they are the only ones who do that I have talked too. Do yourself a favor, unless you have more money than brains, don't use this company, they are going to charge you every penney they think they can get out of you.
Description of Work
they wanted to charge me $70 just to come to my house to measure my chimney so they could order the right parts, in addition to the parts and the instalation!
Category
chimney sweep, chimney repair

Service Provider Response

We never missed an appointment, on November 10 the homeowner called to check prices for a cap and damper at which time they were quoted, price depended on size, type and other factors along with estimate price for a service call. Homeowner wanted to talk with a tech and he was called back and again explained the factors that determine price, at which time he wanted someone to come out and check and was also told he did not need to be home as it could be checked from the outside. He was told at that time the office would call him back to set an appointment within a few days. Homeowner was called back on November 17th for the appointment set for December 1st Reminder cards were mailed on November 23rd with prices quoted and type of work that was to be performed. Cards are mailed out to all appointments as a reminder of price, time and work to be performed, the cards are written at the time the appointment is booked. Homeowner canceled appointment November 25th claiming we never told him about the $70 service call fee and he felt it should be free. We checked our records and phone log back to August and found no other calls from the homeowner or missed appointments. All callers are told about our service call fee of $ 70.00 that we have charged for many years. I can not speak for all companies but I know most trades as well as many other sweep companies in the metro area charge for estimates and service calls to help offset the cost of doing business .We strive to provide quality service at a fair price while continuing to be the oldest full service chimney company in the state.
Kathleen G.
5.0
10/31/2011
Great. Received a postcard confirming the appointment, services and pricing. Got a call from the night before to give a closer time of arrival. Good service.
Description of Work
Full chimney sweep - cleaning and check out.
Category
chimney sweep
Jennifer J.
5.0
10/04/2011
The chimney got cleaned and inspected, the gas logs were swept and rearranged and they installed new "embers." We were really pleased with the service!
Description of Work
Cleaned chimney
Category
chimney sweep
Kathleen O.
5.0
10/04/2011
Very good experience with Victor. Spent time instructing me on how to use the gas fireplace controls.
Description of Work
Cleaned and inspected chimney and gas fireplace components. Instructed me on use and maintenance of gas fireplace controls.
Category
chimney sweep

Other local Pros in your area

Marlon Tuckpointing LLC

A family owned and operated company serving the St Louis area since 2012. We have been helping homeowners with spot or complete tuck-pointing Chimney Repair . We service all types of residential and commercial properties. We are committed to provide you with very affordable and professional services. Call Us TODAY for a FREE estimate.  

Angi Certified

2022 Super Service Award

Critter Sitters

Critter Sitters is a personalized in-home pet care service. We have a dedicated staff of pet huggers who are employees of our company, not independent contractors.  

Angi Certified

MIRELLI TUCKPOINTING LLC

10 EMPLOYEES. NO SUBS. COST IS DETERMINED BY THE JOB. NO TRAVEL CHARGES. Honest companies cannot compete pricewise with companies that DO NOT pay insurance premiums. Potect yourself by getting a copy of the Certificate of Insurance from whatever company you choose.  

Angi Certified

2022 Super Service Award

Phone

Address

4004 Emerald Dr

Saint Charles, MO 63304

Other Information

Services Offered

Services Not Offered

Ask for Details

Payment options

Check
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

FAQ

Clean Sweep Chimney Service is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

Clean Sweep Chimney Service is open:

Sunday: Closed

Monday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Thursday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Friday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 AM

Saturday: Closed

Clean Sweep Chimney Service accepts the following forms of payment: Check

No, Clean Sweep Chimney Service does not offer free project estimates.

Yes, Clean Sweep Chimney Service offers eco-friendly accreditations.

No, Clean Sweep Chimney Service does not offer a senior discount.

Yes, Clean Sweep Chimney Service offers warranties.

Clean Sweep Chimney Service offers the following services: Complete chimney & dryer vent, chimneys repair, chimney sweeping, tuckpointing, video scans, covers, dryer vents, safety inspections, fire box repair & waterproofing.