Chimney Specialists LLC Buster Pruente

About

Founded 1977 • With Angi since August 2011

We're a Father/Son team and have been in business since 1977 and on all the major Insurance Company's preferred contractor list. We'll share with you all the technical specs and practical fixes for any problems you have and do the work ourselves. We have masonry craftsmen to call in on bigger jobs.

Awards and Badges

Angi Certified

Verified Reviews

5.0

(26) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

24

4

0

3

2

2

0

1

0

Rating Details

Price

4.8

Professionalism

4.9

Punctuality

4.9

Quality

5.0

Responsiveness

4.9

Read reviews by category

chimney repair (26)masonry (5)chimney cap repair (4)chimney sweep (2)fireplace services (1)
Showing 1-25 of 26 reviews
5.0

05/05/2020


Michele S.

Fit me into their schedule and arrived promptly. Does not work on chimneys made from wood framing and siding; so, they gave me contact information for another company that does this type of work. Honesty and referral greatly appreciated.

Description of Work
Chimney Flu Inspection & Repair

Category chimney repair

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/05/2020

5.0

04/26/2019


ELAINE D.

Very good repairs...looks like new!!! He replaced the bricks on the chimney and repaired the brick facing that was pulling away from the house. Buster is very nice and honest!! I will definitely call him again!!! Very happy with the results!!! Excellent!!!

Description of Work
Repaired chimney brick and brick facing on house

Category masonry, chimney repair

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/15/2019

5.0

10/04/2018


Theodore S.

Excellent!

Description of Work
Replace damaged bricks, some tuckpointing, seal cap and water seal entire chimney.

Category masonry, chimney repair

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/04/2018

5.0

08/07/2018


Dennis N.

On time and a great job was done.

Description of Work
Chimney rebuilt

Category chimney repair

Cost $3,700

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/17/2018

5.0

05/07/2018


Evan G.

The work was completed quickly and done extremely well.

Description of Work
Chimney Repair

Category masonry, chimney caps, chimney repair

Cost $1,350

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/22/2017

5.0

12/17/2017


Johnny B.

They came ahead of schedule and performed the work professionally to my satisfaction.

Description of Work
Power wash chimney. Tuck point chimney.. Seal concrete around chimney. Install new metal cap. Repaired crack inside flue box.

Category chimney sweep, chimney caps, chimney repair

Cost $550

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/17/2017

3.0

10/25/2017


William V.

He did not present a bid. Seemed knowlegable with information of codes and options for work he could accomplish. He and co-worker spent a busy 30-45 minutes checking our 2 chimneys. He said he would have a bid ready in 1-2 days. We are still waiting - have not heard from him since.

Description of Work
Chimney repair & water-proofing

Category chimney sweep, chimney repair, fireplaces

Work Completed On 09/27/2017

Service Provider Response

Hey Bill sorry about the mixup I sent you a estimate via e-mail and it is under sent messages so again I'm sorry you didn't get it bit I just resent it. I will be glad to answer any questions or do the job for you. I will follow up with a call.
5.0

10/16/2017


Jane M.

They showed up quickly to give me an estimate. They were in time for the estimate and to complete the work. The recommended fixing what needed done at a reasonable cost. No extra costly repairs like some of the other bids. They cleaned up everything very well when finished. Overall, extremely professional and did great work for a reasonable price. I would recommend them to anyone.

Description of Work
They rebuilt the cricket, replaced a dozen spalded bricks, sealed around the flashing, sealed the cap and shoulders, and coated the whole chimney with sealant to fix a problem with water getting in our wood burning insert.

Category chimney repair

Cost $1,300

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/12/2017

5.0

09/25/2017


Amy B.

Showed up when he said he would and work was completed in a timely manner

Description of Work
He repaired our stone chimney which was leaking by tuck pointing and resealing.

Category masonry, chimney repair

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/25/2017

3.0

08/22/2017


Randall W.

Read previous entry..... I had to contact him two weeks after buying his $67 coupon for $150 worth of work. Please provide refund to CC used.

Description of Work
I needed chimney otside stack sealed from water leaking. I had to call him for appointment after I had paid for device deal 2weeks earlier. He did come and give an estimate. His estimate was $300 more than another company I used instead.

Category chimney repair

Cost $67.5

Work Completed On 08/22/2017

Service Provider Response

Hey [Member Name Removed] sorry about not getting your job even though it is well outside the area I service I was glad to give you a quote as you called from Angie's List! Since you purchased the coupon from Angie's List that is where a refund has to come from I apologies for any inconvience this put on you but I have no control over the refund policy. I would be happy to give you an free inspection/estimate on any chimney you have that is in my home area and will honor the discount coupon for you even after you have got your refund. Again sorry about not being able to fix your chimney!
5.0

08/22/2017


Sandee A.

Buster and Steve were very prompt, didn't try to talk us into any excess work and performed the work when they said they would. I would recommend and hire again without any hesitation.

Description of Work
Chimney flue liner replacement and brick tuck pointing

Category masonry, chimney caps, chimney repair

Cost $4,300

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/09/2017

5.0

08/18/2017


Todd S.

it went well

Description of Work
patch crown, seal chimney,

Category chimney repair

Cost $525

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/18/2017

5.0

07/31/2017


Beth P.

Great!xxxxxx

Description of Work
Chimney brick repair

Category chimney repair

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/31/2017

5.0

05/26/2017


craig B.

Perfect! Did a Great Job, covered roof with tarp- no damage to shingles, rebuilt chimney- very nice clean job, sealed bricks & caulked flashing- no leaks, cleaned up & hauled away old bricks, started and finished job quickly and his work is of very good quality.

Description of Work
Tear down & Rebuild Chimney from roof up.

Category chimney repair

Cost $1,350

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/26/2017

5.0

04/27/2017


Dave G.

he did a great job!!!

Description of Work
put on rain cap, cleaned chimney

Category chimney repair

Cost $350

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/17/2017

5.0

04/04/2017


John B.

I asked Buster to take a look at our flue for our water heater to determine if the flue needed a liner in the chimney. Buster was quickly able to determine that we already had a liner. He was honest, punctual and fast. I really appreciated his help. I will hire him if we need any chimney work in the future.

Description of Work
Inspection of flue liner in chimney

Category chimney repair

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/04/2017

5.0

01/15/2017


Phil S.

Great job, no disruptions to us, he worked through the bad weather we had at the time and got it done. Thanks Buster

Description of Work
Buster and his crew replaced the brickwork on our chimney.

Category chimney repair

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/14/2016

5.0

11/14/2016


Michael G.

I had to wait a bit longer than I was hoping to get them scheduled, but they arrived on time on the day. They worked well and communicated clearly and often as they got the job done. As Buster originally proposed in his estimate, they dropped the removed bricks down the abandoned chimney flues. This initially made me a bit nervous, but it worked well and was more efficient and safer than dropping or carrying the brick down the side of the house. I was pleased with the final result and they even covered the resulting hole in the roof with a tarp to keep it dry until roofers could patch where the chimney had been. Bottom line: They did a good, quality job for a very reasonable price!

Description of Work
I hired Buster to remove the exterior portion of an abandoned chimney at the top of a tall, 100-year-old, 3-story house with a steep roof. He let me know early that he did not do the exterior work like that himself, but had other guys that worked with him to get it done. He gave me a very reasonable estimate and explained the basic details of how they would accomplish it.

Category chimney repair

Cost $1,350

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/07/2016

5.0

09/22/2016


Joanne B.

Buster immediately responded to my initial inquiry for chimney repairs and provided a free estimate to replace deteriorate chimney bricks. He was prompt to arrive on the scheduled day, did an excellent job of removing the bad brick and matching the new brick so you could not tell that the old bricks had been replaced and did a wonderful job of clean up when the work was completed. I am a retired commercial real estate property manager having worked with numerous commercial exterior restoration contractors in the past. In reviewing his work I'd recommend Buster to anyone who needs chimney repairs .

Description of Work
Replace approximately 9 deteriorating bricks, tuck pointed numerous mortar joints, repaired the chimney cap, and waterproof the entire chimney.

Category chimney repair

Cost $1,377

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/21/2016

5.0

07/22/2016


Suzanne C.

Description of Work
Buster bid on repair of spalling bricks and cracks in the crown of our chimney. We will definitely hire Buster again. He replaced only the very worst bricks, which we appreciated very much. That allows us budget for the replacement of the next worst bricks.

Category chimney repair

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

5.0

09/01/2014


JOHN & PAT G.

This was a tough job with unfamiliar parts, but Buster and his son John performed the work excellently. They inspected old or unused chimney flues for use with Polypro flexible polyethylene pipe and aluminum pipe. Advised me on what parts to order and/or to inquire further about to the manufacturer. Met with HVAC company to discuss venting needs and to coordinate timing. Installed vents with persistence, ingenuity and some tearing into flue from inside house, with ultimate success. Installed new chimney caps and raised fireplace flue opening. Very pleasant to work with. They bring lots of experience to the job.

Description of Work
Installed four flexible Polypro vent pipes in two chimney flues for new HVAC systems. Helped owner select proper vent parts needed to buy.

Category chimney repair

Cost $1,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/24/2014

5.0

04/07/2014


Samantha N.

I was impressed with his work. He is very polite and knowledgeable. His work has held up over the past 4 years. I remembered his name after 4 years because he did such a good job and was recommended to me by a friend.

Description of Work
He replaced several bricks on our crumbled chimney and built it back up. He also repaired our brick veneer on the front of the house.

Category chimney repair

Cost $300

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/01/2010

</