Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

A 1 Construction & Exteriors

Founded 1979 • With Angi since June 2010

4.5

(27) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

18535 371 Hwy

Platte City, MO 64079

Description

45+ Years of experience. The quickest way for me to respond to you is by my business phone number.

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
Debbie L.
5.0
08/30/2018
He did really good work! Chuck was here all the time checking the guys during the job. I've been hit with some hair since, and they've been out to replace it! They cleaned up after themselves.
Description of Work
They've done siding for me, my soffits and my wraps.
Category
roofing
Robert K.
1.0
06/26/2017
We had A-1 roofing company give us a bid for re roofing our house and garage. He was supposed to replace any sheathing that needed replaced which he failed to do. He finally replaced the wood that needed replaced after we put some pressure on him.We also have a flat roof on our house which he replaced and a few week's ago it started leaking, they were not bad leak's just a few drip's. I called him and asked him to com look at it. He said he would be up to check on it and he never showed up. I called him back and told him I wanted it torn off and replaced along with any bad wood that needed replaced. He said he was not going to replace it. We paid him $ 15'000 dollar's to do the job. He gave us a 10 year warranty on labor and materials.I would not recommend him to replace the roof on a dog house much less than a house if I knew about his company.
Description of Work
Reroof house and garage.
Category
roofing
Peter M.
5.0
05/26/2017
I was pleased with the job they did. It took a little longer than expected, but the guy doing it was trying hard to make sure he did a good job. Chuck came out several times throughout the job to inspect, and even had them rip a few things back off and redo them. He also brought in a window wrap guy to help with that part since the main carpenter was a little inexperienced with it. They did a great job cleaning up around my house after as well.
Description of Work
Around 30% of my wood siding needed to be replaced along with some trim repair. Also had vertical batting installed on 16in centers, aluminum wrap on all 1st floor windows (to match 2nd floor), and some cedar shakes installed in a gable.
Category
siding, replacement windows
Shirley C.
5.0
03/08/2017
Excellent. Couldn't be more pleased! Chuck worked with my insurance company to get all siding replaced along with guttering, etc. on the side of the house the tree fell into. In addition he painted the front of my house and the trim (no siding on the front) and the concrete foundation up to where it met the siding on the remaining sides of the house. Chuck is very meticulous and has high standards. He takes pride in his work. He is honest and fair, and made sure I was satisfied with the work being done as it was being done. This was a big job and it was completed in a timely manner. I do highly recommend this man and his company.
Description of Work
Tree fell into house. Needed to replace/repair steel siding, guttering, soffit and fascia that Chuck had put on our home 20 years ago.
Category
gutter repair, roofing, siding, house painters
LaMonte D.
5.0
03/08/2017
I give them the top rating, he did a really good job. The price was fair and reasonable. He's really good, professional guy. He did the work himself and took about two days to complete. He left the area pretty clean when done. He took his time, good craftsmanship. He explained what type of windows used and how they work. I plan on using him again.
Description of Work
He installed new windows on my home.
Category
replacement windows
LEA R.
1.0
10/04/2016
We hired this contractor because we wanted one crew who could do the 3 jobs we needed done rather than try to juggle 3 contractors schedules. Because of our split work schedules we needed the work done between a Wed thru Sat and we made that very clear numerous times. Chuck was quick to respond to bid the job, and to return the next day for us to pick colors, sign the contract and require a LARGE check for the deposit. WE PUT DOWN HALF OF THE CONTRACTED PRICE AS A DEPOSIT. That was all that went smoothly! SEVERAL appts were made, supplies were even delivered (and when they were delivered the guttering supplies/roof vents etc were laid in the yard, next to the alley where anyone could have just pulled up and loaded them up-so WE had to move them all to the porch). A disposal trailer was placed in our driveway (which was fine thinking the job would be SURELY be done in a couple days - while we parked vehicles on the street!) but no crews ever showed up. Many many many phone calls and promises happened but after 8 appts total (2 maybe 3 were due to rain) we had had enough and cancelled the contract. Come to find out this company does not employ regular crews, it hires different crews from wherever, whenever. Plus a separate contractor hired for the guttering. We were under the initial assumption that Chuck EMPLOYED crews (HIS CREW/EMPLOYEES-not subcontractors). If we had known that he subbed things out he would not have gotten the bid. When we cancelled, and asked for our deposit back immediately, Chuck refused until the supplies could be retrieved from our roof. He was suddenly "too busy" to come back to town and return the money that we paid him BEFORE supplies were delivered or work was started. Chuck was rude and short and hung up on me twice, refusing to return the deposit until the supplies could be picked up. He and my husband finally agreed that could be done on Saturday (when the supplier could come back and get them down) and a check would be given to us then. When this was done, the supplier pointed out that they had knocked off a vent while placing the supplies on the roof, which left an exposed opening (and it had rained a couple times on the supplies). The contractor did leave a vent and had them seal it down and left a check, assuring us it was good. Then wrote on the voided contract that he was "not responsible for any damages"???????? We deposited the check on a Saturday, the check was sent to his bank on Monday only to find out on Tuesday that it "would not clear at this time". After many phone calls and emails my husband called Chuck on Wednesday who contacted his bank. He told us he was going in the next morning to "clear it up". My husband received a call later from the contractor, his bank, and our bank, that the check had been covered and would be paid. All of this inconveniencing our bank and us, all the while holding up getting the roof replaced for yet ANOTHER week! We thought we researched our choices in roofers well...but learned important questions to still ask: Do you have personal references? (Because obviously a few sporadic reviews can give false grades) Do you employ your own crew? Materials warranty comes from the manufacturer but what happens to the labor warranty when you use various crews or retire? How long will it take to complete this work? Will YOU (the contractor) ever be on site? and I don't know about most other companies policies but we will NEVER give a deposit this large (half of the job costs) to a company up front again! Total: we are out several weeks of stress and aggravation and STILL HAVE NO ROOF!!! Not to mention the guttering! Buyer beware! Even an "A" rating on Angies List can spell disaster! Be sure to check the number of ratings and how old they are!
Description of Work
Roof and guttering replaced per insurance specs. Possible deck work in addition at our cost.
Category
decks, gutter repair, roofing
Jared W.
5.0
03/28/2016
.
Description of Work
.
Category
roofing
Robert T.
5.0
12/25/2015
unknown
Category
roofing
Matt H.
5.0
12/15/2015
unknown
Category
roofing, siding
LaMonte D.
5.0
11/05/2015
unknown
Description of Work
They put a new roof on my home. They did a great job!
Category
roofing
Lisheng C.
4.0
09/12/2015
unknown
Description of Work
He is very nice explaining everything but many extra costs than I would expected.
Category
siding
Mark S.
5.0
07/09/2015
unknown
Description of Work
We contacted Chuck for an estimate and were impressed with his down to earth honest consultation. We did the five windows for 1499 deal but we had a total of eleven windows bringing the cost to 4198(one picture window included). Windows were installed as promised on time all in one day. The thing I liked best was the fact that Chuck is not a window contractor (I just had a less than impressive roof replacement through a contractor this past fall), he has his own people and he supervises installation and inspects the final work. | If you're looking for new windows I highly recommend you give Chuck a chance to bid on the work.
Category
roofing
Kathleen P.
3.0
07/02/2015
unknown
Description of Work
It seemed like a loosely put-together contract from the beginning. We were told after purchasing the deal for a certain price that it was misrepresented on Angie's list and it would cost about twice as much as quoted. We were given the option of backing out, but we decides to go with the new quote anyway. The salesman said they would do a few things that they never did (after full payment was received) like paint the foundation to match our new siding. There are a few places where the siding doesn't look quite right. Overall it isn't a terrible job, but I wish now we had gotten other quotes elsewhere because the Angie's Deal wasn't all it was pumped up to be!
Category
siding
Jackie P.
5.0
04/16/2015
I didn't have any problems with this company, I just decided to go with another company.
Description of Work
I purchased a Big Deal for $5,999 for a New Roof with 3-D Architectural Shingles and Lifetime Warranty
Category
roofing
Jill W.
4.0
02/04/2015
I was not happy with the company over all. First the service was delayed a couple of times which wasn't that bad but on the day of service I arrived home from work and found the crew but not the owner and there was not one person on site that spoke English. I had to ask my neighbor to translate to them for me. They had most of the roof done but had not installed the roof vents that were ordered. There was some fascia siding removed from a 2nd story dormer and not replaced. I called the owner and he said they had not done this, but that it was already like that. I'm pretty sure as many times as I've been on that roof and called other roofing companies for repair work that this big of a hole would have been noticed. Mr Polley said he would come back out and take care of it but never did.
Description of Work
New roof.
Category
roofing
Jack R.
2.0
12/12/2014
We got a quote from A1 for windows. I was happy with the price and they seemed professional. When I was ready to move forward with having the windows installed I called several times and left voicemails. I still have not heard back from them and its been at least 3 weeks since I last called. I would not recommend them. Is this how A1 would handle an issue if I did use them?
Description of Work
Called provider for quote on windows.
Category
roofing
Marlene H.
5.0
10/30/2014
I called and Chuck responded very quickly, he met us the next day and we knew right away we wanted to go with his company. Chuck is very personable and friendly, it?s almost like talking to family. He ordered the windows and in about two weeks he was installing them. The little house is old and the old windows we?re poorly installed and fitted, but Chuck has made the new ones look as though they are original to the house. They look great!! We will be using A-1 Construction again.
Description of Work
H e replace 5 window with very high quality replacements
Category
roofing, replacement windows
Pamela H.
5.0
07/08/2014
Chuck originally installed my siding and windows in 2005. His work at that time was excellent. The window was under warranty and I wanted to make sure I gave the company the proper measurements and Chuck came out and measured it for me. He said to call him when I received the replacement and he would install it. It fit perfectly and I was able to install it myself. My siding was also under warranty and I decided to replace the defective area. Chuck also replaced the defective area for a very reasonable price ($400). It looks great again. The bigger project was my new deck. They prepped the site and poured cement footings for the 6 X 6 support posts one day and built the deck after letting the cement cure. Chuck's crew (Terry and Robert) worked all day through the heat and humidity and finished my new deck in one day. They did a great job of cleaning up the area after finishing. Chuck is not only an experienced professional, his crew has a superior work ethic. I would not hesitate to use him again. I was glad to find him on Angie's List nine years after he had done the original work on my home.
Description of Work
Measured a window that had lost it's seal (under warranty). Replaced a 6 X 12 area of siding that had excessive fading. Built a 6 X 14 deck off my bedroom.
Category
roofing, siding, replacement windows
larry H.
5.0
01/06/2014
I was very pleased with the job A-1 did. they were prompt efficient, and friendly. They did a thorough clean-up of debris when they were finished and no payment was made until they were through. If I need any exterior work done on my house in the future I plan on contacting A1 Construction & Exteriors.
Description of Work
removed all shingles and replaced with new black felt and replaced with new three-tab shingles, on west half of roof. replaced 5 turtle type roof vents on east side of house. did re-tuck repair of chimney on upper top and lower sides.
Category
roofing
Karen M.
5.0
09/01/2013
Worked fast and did a great job. Chuck is very pickey and wont leave until everything is perfect. I guarantee if you go with chuck you will be happy.
Description of Work
A year ago I had Chuck replace all my windows. Great job. This year I needed siding ,so I got 2 other estimates and called Chuck. He gave me a great deal and helped me work with ins. co.
Category
siding, replacement windows
James E.
5.0
08/24/2013
After sitting through sales pitches of well known siding companies, we looked at the BBB website and discovered this local company with an A+ rating. The sales pitch from this local company was much better. He did not attack the competitors; he just gave us our options, told us what his company would do and how it would be done. The price was thousands less than other quotes, and we were able to look at some jobs that he had completed nearby. A-1 Construction not only gave us a great job on the siding, they also painted the portion of our concrete foundation that is exposed above ground the same color as the siding, plus they painted our garage doors -- all at no extra charge. The company did a great job for us, and we would use them again.
Description of Work
Installation of vinyl siding with form-fitted insulation.
Category
roofing
Bob S.
5.0
08/17/2013
The roof on the house in independence, MO was leaking. I obtained bids from three sources. A couple of bidders said they could repair the leaks for around $350. The age of the roof made replacement a better option. The bid by A-1 Construction and Exteriors, which is owned by Chuck Polley, was substantially less than the other two bids for the same quality roofing materials. One bidder only wanted to overlay the existing roof rather than remove and replace it. A-1 Construction and Exteriors had previous excellent reviews and my discussions with the owner led me to accept their bid. Mr. Polley noted that the roof was not properly vented and suggested that I replace the old vents and put one in where the hole for a previous vent had been covered over when the old roof was installed. It is this attention to detail and that Chuck Polley explained to me everything he suggested and the attendant costs that demonstrated to me that I had chosen wisely. During the roof replacement some other repairs were needed. The deck at the back of the house had disconnected from the rim joists because of old, now inactive, termite damage. Also, the rim joists of the front porch needed some repair and replacement along part of their lengths. Mr. Polley and I discussed the requirements of the jobs and arrived at a satisfactory price. Again, each step was discussed and explained. I believe that A-1 Construction and Exteriors provides honest, well-explained services at a reasonable price. Also, Mr. Polley will go above and beyond what is required to ensure customer satisfaction.
Description of Work
A-1 Construction (A-1) replaced a roof on a house that I own and rent to tenants.. A-1 removed the old roof shingles and disposed of them.
Category
roofing
RICK D.
5.0
08/10/2013
We purchased our home about 5 weeks ago and during the home inspection I learned that "some improper" roof repairs had been performed. A surprise as the roof had been represented as "recently replaced". I then contacted a roofing specialists (recommended by real-estate agent) to evaluvate the roof and result was the roof appeared to be in good order excepting some caukling that had recently been applied around the roof vents. I was assured it was simply cosmetic and there were no apparent issues to be concerned about. However, recent rains caused the roof to leak. We did have a problem that needed repaired quickly. After researching Angie's list I contacted A-1 Construction (Chuck Polley) because they were located nearby and had received good reviews. As it turned out, dealing with Chuck and crew proved to be a great value to me. Despite a busy schedule, Chuck made time to visit me and evaluate the roof. His professionalism and expert knowledge became quickly apparent. After Chuck inspected the roof he stated although it looked good, something was making it leak. He recommended they pull off one of the roof vents to see how it had been installed. We also discussed adding gable vents (my suggestion as the house had only one) to improve attic ventilation and I pointed out a few spots on the siding that needed repaired. I was quoted a price and approved the repair plan. Chuck scheduled a crew which began work 2 days latter. Sure enough, the roof vents were improperly installed. The shingles and vent flashing were improverly layered and there was no sealer between the vent flashing and roof. One vent was leaking and all of the others had water trapped under them. The crew removed 14 vents and surrounding shingles and reinstalled the vents properly. The shingles were then replaced with new ones. 3 gable vents were installed and the siding was reattached in 2 or 3 areas. The repairs look great and the crew cleaned up all the mess. Repairs took 2 days. The one thing I want to point out is Chuck's professional habits. He explained everything as the work progressed. His quoted price was held firm despite finding a few other things that needed fixed. The work was completed quickly and properly. All very much noted and appreciated. He's the "Real Deal" and if I sound like I'm related to him, not the case. But, I was treated as if I were! Rick Dragoo
Description of Work
Repair roof leak, install gable vents and siding repairs.
Category
roofing, siding
Andrea H.
5.0
02/28/2013
It went great. He was punctual and gave me an estimate without any sales pressure. When I said "lets do it", he was there within a week and had the whole job done in just a few days. They also did a great job cleaning up afterwards!
Description of Work
Put up siding with insulation and wrapped my windows and doors. Painted foundation to match. Put up new gutters and downspouts. Installed 2 new garage doors. Did a great job and even put siding on my dog house to match at no charge! Had 2 other neighbors that liked it so well, they had their houses done also! Great job!!
Category
remodeling, roofing, siding, doors
Michelle K.
4.0
11/03/2012
Check Polley was reasonably priced, on time, professional & completed the job on the time. His crew was courteous & professional, working efficiently & cleaning up as they went.
Description of Work
Replaced roof, front door, front door frame & rehung front screen door.
Category
remodeling, roofing, doors

    Other local Pros in your area

    Alpine Roofing

    .With over 14 years of professional roofing experience, here help you with all your residential roofing needs.  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Christopher Painting LLC

    Quality, Honesty, Reliability!! Christopher painting has been in business for over 10 years. Christopher Wilson is the owner and has been in the painting industry for 27 years. He has Experience in Residential and new construction. Christopher and his staff are friendly, professional and detailed oriented.He believes in doing the job right the fist time and treats your homes as if it was his own.  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Offers Coupon

    Rodriguez Painting LLC

    With over 14+ years in the painting industry and being locally owned and operated, we can offer a more personalized touch compared to the big chains. We understand it's a big deal to have strangers inside your home and question if they can be trusted or not. Our employees treat every home like it's their very own. We will work with you through the entire process to make sure your project comes out exactly the way you want. Whether it is wood staining, color change on your walls, or something as simple as a patch on the wall we can ensure complete satisfaction.  

    Angi Certified

    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Financing Available
    Senior Discount
    10%
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Siding. Roofing. Windows. Gutters. Remodeling & repair.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about A 1 Construction & Exteriors

    How is A 1 Construction & Exteriors overall rated?

    A 1 Construction & Exteriors is currently rated 4.6 overall out of 5.

    What payment options does A 1 Construction & Exteriors provide

    A 1 Construction & Exteriors accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Financing Available

    Does A 1 Construction & Exteriors offer free estimates?

    Yes, A 1 Construction & Exteriors offers free project estimates.

    Does A 1 Construction & Exteriors offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, A 1 Construction & Exteriors does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does A 1 Construction & Exteriors offer a senior discount?

    No, A 1 Construction & Exteriors does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by A 1 Construction & Exteriors?

    Yes, A 1 Construction & Exteriors offers warranties.

    What services does A 1 Construction & Exteriors offer?

    A 1 Construction & Exteriors offers the following services: Siding. Roofing. Windows. Gutters. Remodeling & repair.