Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

C BENNETT BUILDING SUPPLY

Founded 1980 • With Angi since June 2003

Family owned and operated for 35 years, we take pride in being "Easy to do Business With." We sell and install luxurious fireplaces, gas logs, premium glass shower doors, mirrors and shelving. We also sell appliances and grills.

Amenities

Free Estimates
yes
Warranties
ask for details
Senior Discount
no
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
No
Bonded
Insured
This pro has not provided any licensing information to Angi at this time.All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page. Contact pro for more details.

Verified Reviews

4.3

(14) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-14 of 14 reviews
David Y.
5.0
05/05/2023
These folks sent out someone for a minor repair, Rob, and he did a great job. Not only took care of the issue, but checked everything else to make sure nothing else was wrong. Highly recommend.
Description of Work
Minor issue with shower door.
Category
glass repair
Jon F.
5.0
07/13/2020
Ken and his crew never let me down! I'll keep coming back.
Description of Work
We use them frequently for glass shower doors
Category
glass repair, appliance sales
Mark M.
5.0
09/19/2016
IT WENT VERY WELL. WE WENT WITH A HEAT & GLO GAS FIREPLACE INSERT. FORSHAW WAS VERY EASY TO WORK WITH. FAST. PROFESSIONAL. AND FLEXIBLE. THE PRODUCT ITSELF IS ONLY CARRIED BY A COUPLE OF VENDORS IN ST. LOUIS. SO THE PRICE IS PRETTY MUCH FIXED. FORSHAW'S LABOR COST WAS LOWER THAN THE OTHER PLACES I CHECKED
Description of Work
INSTALL GAS FIREPLACE LOGS
Category
handyman service
Elizabeth M.
5.0
11/10/2015
unknown
Description of Work
They did a great job. I needed new fireplace logs for my gas fireplace. Someone came out and determined what I needed at no cost. The person who installed them was professional and courteous.
Category
handyman service, fireplaces, gas logs
Beth S.
1.0
11/06/2015
Had appointment scheduled and they asked for some information on our fireplace. I called and left a message and five days later my phone call was returned. The individual was confused and was trying to schedule an appointment when I already had one. I told her I was calling her back with the information she requested and stated that she would need to look at her notes on the computer and call me back. Seriously, she couldn't talk on the phone and look something up on the computer at the same time? Obviously this is the wrong person to do this job, we are in the 21st century and you should be able to perform a simple task while on the phone. When the technician showed up he did not introduce himself. As soon as we turned on the fireplace he said the fireplace was fine and did not need to be repaired. We hope he was honest and wasn't trying to get out of doing the work as the part he brought was more than we asked for and he knew it. If anything had to be replaced, it would have just been a pilot tube and he brought an entire assembly that cost $129. He stated and I quote, "They will be p***** if I don't charge you" so we had to write a check for $95. I understand that a company has charge you something, but $95 for 7 minutes is very excessive. I would not recommend this company at all. Total lack of professionalism from the technician and aggravation in dealing with the person responsible for the scheduling.
Description of Work
Scheduled appointment to have a repair done on our gas fireplace.
Category
fireplaces

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], I am sorry about your experience with C. Bennett. At C. Bennett we pride ourselves on providing excellent service and quality products to our customers. We will definitely take your feedback into account for the future. Sincerely, Courtney C.
Laura W.
3.0
12/18/2014
unknown
Description of Work
Called for service before a move (due to Laclede Gas inspection and a fireplace leak). Was told there was a two week wait for service, but I could have new fireplace logs installed within 5 days. Maybe move some techs from installation to service until you're caught up.
Category
handyman service, fireplaces
Timothy E.
5.0
10/20/2014
Will respond when the fire box is installed... Tim
Description of Work
I have to replace a metal firebox in my home's fireplace. I called another business with the manufacture's model. They called me back with the number for C. Bennett Building Supplies. Paul answered my call and quickly let me know he could source the box, the price, and that they could do the install. It will be a couple of weeks before it arrives but I was pleased to very quickly resolve my problem with no hassle. Tim
Category
handyman service, fireplaces

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your feedback, C Bennett Building Supply is glad that we are able to help you. Please contact for any other needs you may have, like shower doors, shelving, mirrors, door hardware, gas logs, mantles or surrounds for your fireplace. We also sell appliances.
Lynn C.
1.0
10/18/2014
Caveat Emptor-Buyer Beware I had a semi-frameless 3/8" glass shower enclosure, with bright brass header and hardware. The glass was perfect, CLEAR, and free of any defects. I wanted to change the brass header and hardware to oil rubbed bronze. The sales rep stated that he could not use my existing glass and a new enclosure had to be ordered. The cost was $2173.12 which included: removal of existing shower, keeping configuration, glass, thickness the same, replacing brass to oil rubbed bronze. The installation was poor, sharp edges were left on the header and channels. The angles were improperly cut. Also the header was not the one that I ordered. The installer cut all the metal in the street and left a pile of shavings for ME to clean up. The sales rep came to my home, took several pictures, and agreed that the job was poor and certainly not typical for the company. My installer must have had a "BAD DAY". Problem with the product, glass is GREEN and not transparent! The green glass is so pronounced against my white cultured marble walls and looks terrible. My original glass enclosure was completely CLEAR. The sales rep NEVER mentioned that his vendor's glass would be green and did not provide a SAMPLE. He was at my house twice, and never mentioned that I would not be receiving the same glass that I originally had. The specs also noted 3/8" CLEAR GLASS. I asked the owner to fix the problem and provide me with the glass that I ordered. The owner asked if his operational manager could inspect the product and installation. He totally agreed that the glass was green and installation was poor. I also pointed out to him that our newly installed baseboards were getting ruined from water due to improper installation. I gave the owner 2 options: make it right, and give me the glass that I ordered,(same as my existing shower) or, remove your product and refund my initial deposit. I was told that I would have to pay an additional sum of $1350 in order to get this so called "transparent clear glass". That would put the price of this small semi-frameless shower to $3400. I have now contacted Visa's Billing Dispute Department and have supplied them with numerous emails & photos. The owner informed me that his staff basically deals with pre-construction and builders. New home construction is slow & C Bennett is now looking to branch out and deal more with the public. The installers and sales reps definitely need a refresher course in how to deal with the public consumer and improve their standards. I received a standard piece of glass containing a "greenish hue" that should never had been used in a light colored shower with a hefty price tag. C Bennett was the highest bid out of 5, obviously the most expensive is not the best!!! Last date of contact 10/20/14.
Description of Work
Provided an estimate for a CLEAR GLASS,3/8 inch semi-frameless shower glass enclosure with oil rubbed bronze hardware. The estimate also included the removal of an existing CLEAR GLASS, 3/8 inch semi-frameless enclosure with bright brass hardware.
Category
handyman service
Richard L.
5.0
03/29/2014
.
Description of Work
Our only complaint is that they are hard to communicate with. They seemed to prefer to work through our contractor. They did not return calls to us promptly, nor respond to emails directly. Almost all communication was through our contractor, which was a little annoying since there were decisions that had to be made about style, colors, etc. The actual work done was good, however.
Category
handyman service
AMY Z.
2.0
02/07/2014
We've had 7 service calls after installation to fix the custom master shower doors, gas fireplace, closet shelving and towel/shower bars for our new house - and there are still problems. Every time an installer arrives he doesn't have the right parts or tools, doesn't know what he's supposed to do, doesn't know how to fix the problem or says it can't be fixed. We've been working with C Bennett for about 6-8 months (through the construction process) and clearly Louie, the sales guy is the weak link but management isn't doing anything to resolve the issues. It's just been one service call after another with no end in sight. The installers are unprofessional, messy, have no pride in their workmanship & don't know what they are doing. We're going to cut our losses and hire another company to complete/ fix everything we already paid C Bennett Supply to do. Any recommendations on a bathroom company, fireplace company or closet company?
Description of Work
Supplied and installed a custom master shower, gas fireplace, closet shelving and towel/shower bars for a new house.
Category
handyman service

Service Provider Response

[removed member name] we are very sorry that you feel this way towards C Bennett. We are a family owned company that has been in business since 1980. We pride ourselves on customer service and try to make and keep every customer happy. We are still currently working with you to resolve the issues that you have presented to us. We hope after all issues have been resolved you will look back and be happy with everything C Bennett has installed in your beautiful home. Thank you for your feedback and giving us an opportunity to be a part of your homebuilding experience.
Lynn B.
5.0
01/21/2014
.
Description of Work
We purchased our fireplace doors from them. I con't remember if they installed them or if my husband did. We also purchased our shower doors from them, which they installed. We are very happy with and will use C Bennett in the future.
Category
handyman service

Service Provider Response

I am happy to hear that we were able to help you in your remodeling needs. Thank you for your business and I hope to see you again when you are in need of our wide variety of services and products.
Curtis M.
5.0
01/07/2014
Excellent! Heather Moss took the measurements, showed me the options, and got everything ordered and installed in about 2 weeks time. I had an existing frame-less glass shower that had all sorts of problems with leaking water, and heather designed a framed-in glass shower that took care of the problem once and for all! I am extremely happy with the quality of the product and the service! I strongly recommend checking with this company!
Description of Work
Installed a new glass shower.
Category
glass repair, handyman service

Service Provider Response

We are so happy we could help you with your shower door needs and that you had such a great experience. We strive to be "easy to do business with" . We hope to be of further assistance to you in the future with all the other products we offer.
Sharron B.
5.0
07/16/2013
Paul Rowden demonstrated all appliances and was extremely helpful in providing information to help us make the right choice for our new kitchen remodel.
Description of Work
Bought the following GE Appliances from this provider: GE Profile Series Advantium 120 Above-the-Cooktop Oven GE Profile Series 30" Built In Single Convection Wall Oven GE Profile Series 30" Electric Induction Cooktop
Category
appliance sales

Service Provider Response

I am so glad that Paul and C Bennett were able to meet your appliance needs in your kitchen remodel. Thank you for choosing C Bennett and we hope to work with you again in the near future for any other needs you have for a remodel or an update.
MIKE H.
4.0
06/30/2003
unknown
Description of Work
INSTALLED VENTILATED SHELVING
Category
handyman service

Phone

Address

1700 West Terra Lane

O Fallon, MO 63366

Other Information

Services offered

We install and sell shower doors, mirrors, shelving- wire and melamine, fireplaces, gas logs, mantels, surrounds,stone,appliances,fireplace doors, door hardware and more.

Services not offered

N/A

Payment options

Check
Visa
MasterCard
Discover

FAQ

C BENNETT BUILDING SUPPLY is currently rated 4.3 overall out of 5.

C BENNETT BUILDING SUPPLY is open:

Sunday: Closed

Monday: 7:00 AM - 4:30 PM

Tuesday: 7:00 AM - 4:30 PM

Wednesday: 7:00 AM - 4:30 PM

Thursday: 7:00 AM - 4:30 PM

Friday: 7:00 AM - 4:30 PM

Saturday: 8:00 AM - 12:00 PM

C BENNETT BUILDING SUPPLY accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover

Yes, C BENNETT BUILDING SUPPLY offers free project estimates.

No, C BENNETT BUILDING SUPPLY does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

No, C BENNETT BUILDING SUPPLY does not offer a senior discount.

No, C BENNETT BUILDING SUPPLY does not offer warranties.

C BENNETT BUILDING SUPPLY offers the following services: We install and sell shower doors, mirrors, shelving- wire and melamine, fireplaces, gas logs, mantels, surrounds,stone,appliances,fireplace doors, door hardware and more.

Other Local Pros In Your Area

MIRELLI TUCKPOINTING LLC

Angi Certified

2022 Super Service Award

MIRELLI TUCKPOINTING LLC

10 EMPLOYEES. NO SUBS. COST IS DETERMINED BY THE JOB. NO TRAVEL CHARGES. Honest companies cannot compete pricewise with companies that DO NOT pay insurance premiums. Potect yourself by getting a copy of the Certificate of Insurance from whatever company you choose.  

Archway Clean Sweep

Angi Certified

Offers Coupon

Archway Clean Sweep

Archway Clean Sweep is a locally owned and operated business here in St. Louis. We are certified through the CSIA. We take pride in our work and building a relationship with our customers.  

Hyperion Glass Company

5.0

(75)

Angi Certified

2022 Super Service Award

Hyperion Glass Company

We provide residential and commercial window glass replacement. Don't replace your whole window when you just need new glass. Whether you just need one window repaired or you're looking for new glass in every window in your house, we can help. Locally owned and operated company that specializes in flat glass replacement or installation. We are located in Maryland Heights, but we can go just about anywhere in the Saint Louis area. We offer the best products possible while proving exceptional customer service. We're not happy until our customers are happy.