Midwest Concrete & Const Inc

About

Founded 1981 • With Angi since September 2010

Established in 1981, in the West County area by Thomas Silber, Midwest Concrete & Const., Inc. is family owned and operated with three sons: Ben, Chris, and Tommy. Years of experience, quality work, and friendly service lead the way to continued customer satisfaction and ongoing referrals. We

Awards and Badges

Angi Certified

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered

Images

Residential Concrete Commercial Concrete & ConstructionResidential Construction

Verified Reviews

4.6

(75) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

60

4

4

3

2

2

2

1

7

Rating Details

Price

4.6

Professionalism

4.7

Punctuality

4.6

Quality

4.7

Responsiveness

4.5

Read reviews by category

concrete repair (62)concrete driveways (30)Patios (12)stamped concrete (9)stone & gravel (7)decks & porches (7)hardscaping (6)basement waterproofing (3)roofing (3)basement remodeling (2)foundation repair (2)woodworking (2)
Showing 1-25 of 75 reviews
5.0

09/10/2022


Jan S.

The job was very professionally done. They were respectful of property,work was done on time and kept us informed of any updates or problems. Job site was clean and care taken when using machinery. Our pool was 50 years old and looks like a brand new pool now. Tom and Ben know their business well and have a great crew. If Tom makes any suggestions listen because he knows his business well in all aspects. Job was completed and came back promptly to finish a few minor repairs. We would definitely hire again for any future needs. They were very reasonable which helps in these times. Jan and Steve

Description of Work
New apron around pool with new coping and patio

Category concrete repair, patios

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/08/2022

Images

Review for Midwest Concrete & Const Inc - PO Box 194, Labadie, MO - 39867348

+3 More

5.0

07/27/2022


Theresa G.

It went well. A few hiccups of course, nothing big and all was taken care of. Our porch turned out great - looks as if it has always been there - we love it.

Description of Work
Addition of front porch with roof

Category concrete repair, decks, roofing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/14/2022

Images

Review for Midwest Concrete & Const Inc - PO Box 194, Labadie, MO - 39813620
5.0

06/23/2022


Persia H.

Great. As I knew it would be. They replaced a driveway for me at a previous address .

Description of Work
Driveway replaced

Category concrete repair

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/12/2022

1.0

02/23/2022


Steve S.

We paid $15,000 and there was not any work done…this company then stopped returning our calls after they were paid. The job was never performed and we never received any reports or plans for the repair of our bridge.

Description of Work
We requested all documentation, plans and reports that were done but they never provided them.

Category concrete repair, mudjacking, foundation repair

Cost $15,000

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 01/01/2022

5.0

11/22/2020


Robert B.

Midwest did an excellent job on all aspects of the project. They were extremely knowledgeable on the work, provided a host of options, and were very competitive on price (vs. multiple other bids). One of the best aspects of the job was the quick timeline from bid to start of work (approximately 3 weeks vs. months for other contractors). I would highly recommend this company.

Description of Work
Remove 22 year old 2,225 square foot asphalt driveway and replace with tinted concrete. The project an aggregate border around the driveway, staining of the home's sidewalks to complement the driveway, and addition of a large decorative planter at the edge of the driveway.

Category concrete driveways, basement waterproofing

Cost $29,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/01/2020

Images

Review for Midwest Concrete & Const Inc - PO Box 194, Labadie, MO - 39041549

+2 More

2.0

10/06/2020


Harold E.

Called several time, got no contact. I finally got a response indicating that they had been busy. We, Crist and myself made an appointment for an evaluation of work to be done. A date of 10/5/20 was agreed on, but this date was not kept. A phone called was made to question why the delay, no answer.

Description of Work
Needed Driveway - Concrete replaced.

Category basement waterproofing, stamped concrete

Work Completed On 10/05/2020

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], I'm sorry but we believe you have reviewed the wrong company. I have consulted both estimators and reviewed our records and bid requests and have no record of your appointment or your job. If we have had some kind of miscommunication I apologize.
5.0

08/26/2020


Myron S.

Completed a month early, very professional and a pleasure to work with. The finished work was beyond our expectations.

Description of Work
Remove old retaining wall and replace with new block wall, backfill and concrete driveway.

Category concrete repair, concrete driveways

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/26/2020

5.0

05/15/2020


susan Z.

They were on time and consistently worked well and produced an excellent result

Description of Work
Remove and replace a driveway and sof

Category concrete driveways, hardscaping

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/31/2020

5.0

05/09/2020


Edward L.

Tom and his crew were incredible. Professional, personable, and went above and beyond when we tweaked some things WHILE they were doing the job. We also added a small side job (parking area) and they were able to get the materials and complete it all ahead of schedule. HIGHLY recommend them!

Description of Work
We had them reinforce our culvert for our creek that runs under our driveway and they did an amazing job at a VERY reasonable price!

Category pavers, gravel, basement waterproofing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/11/2020

5.0

04/14/2020


Rich H.

Awesome Tom and his crew were great, wall looks fantastic!!!!

Description of Work
Retaining wall

Category concrete repair, concrete driveways, patios

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/14/2020

5.0

09/23/2019


Bryan M.

We needed a Bridge constructed to access our farm. After searching for a company that built rural bridges, we were very happy we chose Midwest Concrete & Construction. Tom was great and easy to work with and the quality of work and attention to detail was excellent. After a flash flood during construction, Tom took additional measures to ensure the structure would handle any amount of rain in the future. We are very pleased with the work and will hire them again for any future concrete or road grading work.

Description of Work
Rural Bridge Construction

Category concrete repair

Cost $55,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/30/2019

Images

Review for Midwest Concrete & Const Inc - PO Box 194, Labadie, MO - 38127097

+2 More

1.0

08/09/2019


Larry H.

They would not do the work because we're in their location

Description of Work
New deck and ramp

Category concrete repair, decks

Work Completed On 08/09/2019

5.0

07/17/2019


Marsha A.

They had built me 2 homes in the past so looked them up again to do a few small things and get quotes for others. They are great to work with, professional and courteous extremely friendly. The work is outstanding, that’s why I keep going back. I certainly would not have any other company pour my concrete!!! Next project is a screened in deck this fall/winter!

Description of Work
Shelves built, hanging fans. Installed new walkways and a patio

Category concrete repair, decks, woodworking, stamped concrete

Cost $6,700

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/18/2019

Images

Review for Midwest Concrete & Const Inc - PO Box 194, Labadie, MO - 37989515

+1 More

5.0

07/17/2019


Stephanie E.

I have worked with Midwest Concrete & Construction on many projects over the years, and most recently hired them to rebuild a large number of decks. As always, they did an excellent job. They preformed the work in a very timely manner, are extremely knowledgeable /professional, and are quick to answer any questions or concerns. I can always count on Tom, and his team, to meet our high expectations. I highly recommend Midwest for any construction needs.

Description of Work
Deck Replacements

Category remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/17/2019

5.0

07/16/2019


Sharon M.

We are very pleased with the work that Midwest Concrete did and we would recommend them to anyone having concrete work done.

Description of Work
We had the pad in front of our garage paved

Category concrete repair

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/16/2019

1.0

07/08/2019


Katie G.

Tom stated over the phone bids were free unless he needed to send a crew out to remove drywall. Tom arrived late without his own ladder. He was dressed unprofessionally in a cardinals pullover as well. He came to my home to give a estimate and did not get in the crawl space or the attic. He then gave me a bid 2 weeks later and the sq. footage of the home was wrong it is 1350. The estimate stated the house would cost over $38k to repair. I had other contracts come to give bids as well. None of them were over $20k. He has since harassed me weekly through email for $400 after he told me the estimate was free. I would not recommend Tom or his company to anyone.

Description of Work
Termite bid repair

Category remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 04/24/2019

Images

Review for Midwest Concrete & Const Inc - PO Box 194, Labadie, MO - 37970955

Service Provider Response

We are sorry and disappointed you are unhappy with the services provided by our company. Free estimates are a policy of Midwest Concrete, there is exceptions such as traveling an excessive distance or providing bids for litigation purposes, these conditions are always and were agreed upon before estimate is scheduled. Under these circumstances the estimating cost can be credited towards any work contracted. Often our estimators will wear light jackets or clothing with long sleeves in situations where they have to go into an attic as protection from bug bites or stings as well as insulation irritation. Our estimators always have their own ladder for performing these types of services. In some situations, with permission, they will use an existing ladder if it is already in place. Using information provided to us and obtained after reviewing the damage we provided the most accurate estimate we could. As standards and opinions vary between contractors without comparison between the multiple estimates it is impossible to address the discrepancy in the bids. We hold our workmanship to the highest standards and look to provide our customers with the most complete solution possible. As a standard practice after an invoice is not paid additional invoices are sent on a monthly basis. Mrs. [Member Name Removed] we believe that our accounts of this situation are factual and accurate, if you would like to discuss this matter further Tom or Ben would be happy to discuss this with you.
5.0

05/05/2019


Linda L.

From my first phone to get a bid until completion, everything went smoothly (except the weather--days and days of rain). Tom was great in coming out to inspect and provide a bid. Once hired, Ben and his crew did an amazing job. Demo only took a few hours, but delays happened due to mother nature, but work was completed as quickly as possible in between the rain. We are very pleased with everything and could not have asked for better service. While Midwest wasn't our lowest bid, we felt most comfortable with Tom. He has been doing this a long time, and it showed. We went with the saying, "You get what you pay for.". While spending less money is always ideal, it was worth the extra money we spent. We would definitely recommend Midwest Concrete & Construction. Our new driveway is beautiful and a long time coming. Thank you for everything.

Description of Work
New Concrete Driveway

Category concrete repair, concrete driveways

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/15/2019

5.0

04/02/2019


Jim A.

Tom Called me and we discussed the project. I am very impressed with Tom's honesty and integrity. He explained that the best course of action is to do nothing at this time. Patching would not make any difference in the future life of the floor. He went on to explain the root cause of the problem is the way the builder poured the slab as one piece. As such, it is almost guaranteed to crack. The long term solution is to have the floor demolished and replaced in sections. This would cost about $5000.

Description of Work
Cracks in concrete floor in garage.

Category concrete repair

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/02/2019

5.0

03/18/2019


Robert R.

Tom and his team built my family a 14 foot wide double steel reinforced box culvert bridge across a creek to connect two pieces of property we own in Jefferson County, MO. Tom handled all the proper Corps of Engineers permits and approvals as well as Jefferson County inspections. The work took about to two weeks to form and pour the base and walls of the culvert. Once base and walls were set it was on only a couple day process to set the top of the culvert steel and forms and pour. The team finished the project after the curing time frame was met by cutting the road properly leading up to the bridge and filling around it with appropriate rip rap and road gravel. Midwest were always prompt to answer questions, took time to explain the process and original bid so we could make informed decisions, cleaned up the site after long days of work, and went the extra mile to ensure we would have a bridge for many years to come. They made recommendations as needed and were flexible to adjust plans when requested. I really appreciate the work Midwest Concrete did for our family and would have no concern hiring them again for future concrete projects. Thank you for your time and dedication to getting our bridge right, Great Work Midwest Concrete!

Description of Work
Box Culvert Concrete Bridge over Creek

Category concrete repair

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/10/2018

5.0

03/17/2019


Teresa R.

We initially contacted Midwest for a bid to replace our asphalt driveway and concrete porch/sidewalk. Their response was quick and while walking over the area we discussed some plans we had that went beyond just concrete work. Tom offered some suggestions that made sense and let us know that he is capable of handling carpentry/construction type work. Our project ended up consisting of a new driveway with apron/turn-around, new stamped front porch, 3-tiered stone walls on the downhill corner of the house, new patio for basement walkout and stairs/walkway connecting front porch with the patio. We also had them rehab our 20 year old deck. After determining that the structure was sound they added/upgraded much of the hardware, replaced some footings, replaced the stairs and replaced all the deck boards and top rail. In addition, the front porch has a two-story high roof extension over it that had to be supported during the replacement of the concrete. Tom came up with the idea of replacing the four existing posts with just two posts to open up the front entrance area. The project was completed last June with some finishing touches done this fall. We have been pleased with the quality of the work and Tom’s attention to detail. He offered many good ideas/suggestions during the course of the work. Even though the project seemed to grow as we progressed, they still met our deadlines. Our new stamped patio at our basement walkout is our new favorite place to hang out. . The crews were professional and the quality of the work is excellent and all of our deadlines were met. We would use them again on future projects.

Description of Work
concrete replacement & additions, Deck rehab

Category concrete repair, decks, concrete driveways, pavers, gravel, deck cleaning, woodworking, hardscaping, stamped concrete, patios

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/30/2018

5.0

10/29/2018


Jim B.

Tom replied to my request for a quote quickly and they were able to work the job in fairly quickly as it was a relatively small driveway. The crew were all friendly and hard-working. They did a 5” pour with added fiber to strengthen the driveway at my request. My only issue seemed to be in passing along communications of what we initially agreed to regarding finish work. I was out of town when they did the work and I’m sure that had an effect. Overall, I would give them an A.

Description of Work
New residential drive and sidewalk

Category concrete repair, concrete driveways

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/17/2018

Images

Review for Midwest Concrete & Const Inc - PO Box 194, Labadie, MO - 37512926
5.0

10/28/2018


A M C.

We were so pleased with Midwest's work that we had them back for additional work! First time they replaced ugly pavers around our driveway and a front walk with aggregate. That went so well, we asked them to replace our lower level patio (pavers again) and extend a walk around back of house. Both jobs were done well and look beautiful. Would recommend Midwest for anyone considering concrete work!

Description of Work
Replaced pavers around driveway with aggregate concrete

Category concrete repair