Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

JIM STRAWN

Founded 2002 • With Angi since January 2007

4.6

(27) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

8210 WALNUT

Kansas City, MO 64114

Description

OWNER-OPERATED. NO SUBS. COST IS DETERMINED BY THE JOB. NO TRAVEL CHARGES. EXTRA CHARGE FOR AFTER-HOURS SERVICE APPLY....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

07/27/2009


WENDY B.

Jim was excellent in responding quickly and being able to schedule work in the near future. He gets right to work and completes jobs fast. His prices are reasonable. When he is going to be late, he calls to let you know, which I really appreciate. He is a very pleasant individual.

Description of Work
Jim did two jobs for me. (1) For $75, he installed a lockset, carried various items to my basement and garage, and hung a large mirror. (2) For $175, he removed spindles above four half walls, then sanded and stained the boards they had been attached to.

Category handyman service

5.0

05/20/2009


Barbara Z.

The project was completed in a timely manner to my satisfaction.

Description of Work
The $450 included the materials he purchased for redoing 2 closets and buying some sod which he put down for me. I was very pleased with his work and the range of jobs he could do. I would recommend Jim and will use him again when I need something else done.

Category handyman service

5.0

04/04/2009


Randi W.

Jim was very helpful and creative. He was willing to work with me to figure out how to solve the problems. I planned to tear the old floor out of the bathroom to keep costs down, but when I ran into trouble he helped me and even did some cutting so I could remove one of the layers of floor. He didn't charge me for it, he just jumped in and gave me a hand. He did that sort of thing the whole time he was there. If he saw me struggling with a project I was working on he would use his strength or expertise to get me through a rough spot. He worked fast and didn't feel like I had to watch over him. But when we went to discount stores to serch for materials he didn't seem to be in a hurry at all. I was worried that he would feel I was wasting his time but he seemed to enjoy being there too. I paid for materials, his bid was just for labor but we went in his truck and he spent time with me picking out the materials and he hauled them back to the work site. In the end I gave him $25 more than he billed me for for all the extra help he gave me.

Description of Work
I was rehabbing a house so I had several odds and ends and a few projects that needed to be done. Specifically Jim realigned a sliding glass door that wouldn't slide into place to lock, he replaced the glass in a replacement window (in both cases others bidding for the job told me I had to replace both items!), he filled an old flew hole in the basement with cement, capped off an old gas line, installed new faucets in the kitchen & bathroom. The two major projects were installing a new tile floor in an old bathroom. He pulled the old toilet and reset it when he was done. The other project was putting insulation under the floor of the addition on the house which meant he had to do it in a crawl space and install straps because the joists were to far apart to simply staple the insulation-he had to run two pieces next to each other and run straps to hold them in place.

Category handyman service

5.0

03/20/2009


DAVID Y.

Everything was just excellent. He was very efficient and did a good job. His prices were fair and I was very happy with his work.

Description of Work
He did a number of different repairs around my home, including replacing faucets, installing a towel bar, caulking in the kitchen and bathroom, and replacing rotting molding on the entrance of my home.

Category ceramic tile, handyman service, plumbing

Service Provider Response

THE MEMBER IS A GREAT GUY TO WORK FOR, HOPE HE CALLS AGAIN.

5.0

02/01/2009


Julia B.

I called Jim on a Friday afternoon, he came by my house on Saturday to give an estimate, and he performed the work on Sunday (today). He is a pleasant, friendly fellow. I already have made arrangements for him to help me with another project. I am delighted to have found him.

Description of Work
The main job was to take down some built-ins in the basement and to haul away refuse from the basement job and also to haul away a box spring mattress. Jim also helped me move some furniture up and down stairs.

Category handyman service

Service Provider Response

ANOTHER GREAT CUSTOMER FROM ANGIE, THANK YOU VERY MUCH.

5.0

01/13/2009


KATHERINE P.

Jim called me back the same day and stopped by to give an estimate for all the work to be done. He was fair and reasonable. He always showed up on time and was fastidious about calling if he had a change to his schedule so I could plan my day. He did excellent work and finished on the day he said he would. What a relief to have quality work performed ON TIME and at a great price from a responsible professional. He really cared about doing a good job, was friendly and flexible with my schedule. I highly recommend him.

Description of Work
Re screening and painting outdoor porch, staining wood deck, repairing deck doors and installing new electric switches for interior lights. He also installed new sink disposal and assessed latch problem on 100 year old interior door.

Category house painters

Service Provider Response

KATHRYN WAS A PLEASURE TO WORK FOR. I LOOK FORWARD TO WORKING FOR IN THE FUTURE. I WISH ALL MY CUSTOMERS WERE AS NICE AS SHE IS.

5.0

01/05/2009


Beverly P.

He did a good job. We would use him again.

Description of Work
He did some electrical work.

Category electrician

1.0

11/20/2008


Mary L.

The price seemed fair since it was only a half day's work. He put the stones back in place and then covered it up with concrete so now I have two concrete blobs on my stone wall. It looks awful.

Description of Work
He repaired my stone wall in my front yard.

Category masonry

Service Provider Response

I TOLD HER THIS WAS AS GOOD AS IT COULD GET WITH WHAT I HAD TO WORK WITH. I'M SORRY SHE WAS NOT HAPPY. SEE MY REPORTS ON OTHER JOBS . I TRY TO MAKE ALL OF MY CUSTOMERS HAPPY BUT SOMETIMES I DO MY BEST AND SOME PEOPLE ARE NOT HAPPY WITH THE JOB. SOMETIMES THE JOB CAN ONLY GET SO GOOD DUE TO WHAT YOU HAVE TO START WITH. THIS WAS ONE OF THOSE JOBS . HER WALL HAD CAVED IN ON ONE PART. I TOLD HER IT WOULD NOT LOOK LIKE THE REST OF THE WALL AND I WOULD PUT IT BACK TOGETHER AS BEST I COULD. THE WALL WAS A STONE WALL ABOUT A HUNDRED YEARS OLD AND THE MORTAR WOULD NOT MATCH. SHE SAID OK SHE SEEMED HAPPY WHEN I LEFT. I WILL CALL HER AND GIVE HER A REFUND. THAT'S ALL I CAN DO. IN THIS BUSINESS SOME PEOPLE ARE HARD TO PLEASE, MOST PEOPLE ARE GREAT, ALL I CAN DO IS MY BEST. PLEASE READ ALL MY REPORTS TO GET A FAIR LOOK AT MY WORK.

1.0

11/06/2008


Sonja C.

Not well. I called him on a Monday and scheduled the estimate appointment for Wednesday. He never showed up on Wednesday. I called him, but he didn't answer so I left a message - but he never called back. I guess he didn't want our business :(

Description of Work
No services were performed, he never showed up for the estimate.

Category insulation

Service Provider Response

I THINK THERE WAS A MIX UP . I TOLD HER I DIDN'T DO INSULATION AND WAS SORRY . SHE MIGHT HAVE ME MIXED UP WITH SOMEONE ELSE. SORRY FOR THE MIX UP. I TRY TO PLEASE EVERYONE BUT SOMETIMES YOU MAKE MISTAKES AS WE ALL DO . ALL I CAN DO IS TRY MY BEST,DO A GOOD JOB FOR A FAIR PRICE.

5.0

10/23/2008


DEBORAH J.

He was very professional. He came on time. He completed his work. I thought the pricing was reasonable, and it was a very pleasant experience.

Description of Work
He did some handyman services. He put in a new stainless steel sink for me, fixed some of my light fixtures, and put together some beds for me. He did a variety of things like that.

Category handyman service, lighting, plumbing

5.0

10/07/2008


Ruth L.

I left a message for Jim and he responded within a couple of days and was able to come to my house and make recommendations on the needed repairs within a week. Jim tackled everything on the list and made helpful suggestions about how they could be repaired and then did the work as we agreed.

Description of Work
I had a list of things that needed to be done including a minor repair to the front door bell, a problem with the toilet, an outside gate that wouldn't close, gutters that constantly got clogged with leaves, a broken back door screen from my daughter's dog, and a broken window frame for the storm window.

Category handyman service

5.0

10/02/2008


VIRGINIA P.

Jim is prompt, efficient and personable. His prices are very reasonable. He's honest, his clean up is great and he always does excellent work.

Description of Work
Jim repaired, replaced and painted the wood eves on my house. He replaced a light on the deck. Here repaired a leak in the roof. He installed crown molding in the master bedroom, as well as woodwork on 1 wall.

Category lighting, woodworking, house painters

4.0

10/02/2008


Nancy S.

The experience went fairly well. Jim completed a great deal of work in a short amount of time. I would recommend making a list if you have a number of items--attention to detail is a bit lacking. One disappointment was the unfinished painting in one of the bathrooms. We were from out of state and I didn't notice the trim work had not been completed until the day we emptied the house and were leaving the next day. So no chance to have that finished. For the dollars spent we received good service and there was no objection to additional requests. I would recommend.

Description of Work
Wallpaper stripping, painting, carpet removal, yard service, power washing deck, trash removal.

Category carpet installation, handyman service, hauling services, lawn service, wallpaper removal, pressure washing, interior painters

2.0

09/13/2008


CHARLES & SUSIE C.

We had used Jim one time previously to help us re-finish our basement after it flooded. While there were several issues/problems with his first job with us (sloppy work, cutting a few corners, didn't clean up very well, broke one of the lights we had him install and did not finish a few of the things we asked him to) for the price we paid him (50% of what others had quoted us) we figured he performed adequately. On this job, we figured it would be very difficult to mess up a house that came as a kit. We were wrong. On this job Jim was not on time, did not complete the job and did a very poor job assembling the house. In fact, much of the work had to be redone. Corners were not square, walls were not plumb, the floor was not level, there were significant gaps in the roof. More frustrating however, was the fact that he did not finish the job. When he was close to done, my wife paid him the $500. We have not heard from him since. He did not clean up. He left a ladder of his. He left tarps he had tacked over the roof of the house (it was not shingled at that point. We called him more than a dozen times asking him to complete the job. The last message I left I told him we would write up our experience on Angie's List if he did not complete his work. We still have not heard back from him. If you use him, do not pay him until he is done with the job to your satisfaction. We will not use him again. If anyone would like more information about Jim and his work, I will gladly speak with anyone about his pros and mostly cons. It really comes down to this: Jim is cheap. And he does a fair job completing 90% of the job. Don't expect him to clean up. Don't expect him to be responsive to a timeline. And if you give him the money...don't expect to see him again.

Description of Work
Had Jim assemble a child's house from a kit bought at warehouse store. Everything was delivered cut and fit. All Jim had to do was assemble.

Category handyman service

Service Provider Response

THE MEMBER'S CALLED AND WANTED A CLUBHOUSE ASSEMBLED. AFTER I LOOKED AT IT TOLD THEM I WOULD DO THE BEST I COULD WITHOUT ANY DIRECTIONS. THE KIT WAS DUMPED ON THE DRIVEWAY IN ABOUT 2000 PIECES AND NO INSTRUCTIONS. I DID THE BEST I COULD BUT THEY WERE NOT HAPPY. I NEVER SHOULD HAVE TAKEN THE JOB. IT WAS LIKE BUILDING A 10 BY 10 FOOT HOUSE. I'M SORRY THEY WERE NOT HAPPY, 99% OF MY CLIENTS ARE VERY HAPPY WITH MY WORK. PLEASE READ MY OTHER REPORTS TO GET A FAIR IDEA OF MY WORK. SOMETIMES NO MATER WHAT YOU DO SOME PEOPLE ARE NOT HAPPY. I CAN ONLY DO MY BEST. MOST OF THE TIME I DON'T GET PAID UNTIL I AM DONE AND IF YOU ARE NOT HAPPY YOU DO NOT HAVE TO PAY ME. I TOLD THE MEMBER I WOULD DO MY BEST WITH WHAT I HAD TO WORK WITH BUT IT WOULD NOT BE PERFECT. I'M A HANDYMAN NOT A HOUSE BUILDER. SHE SAID OK, I SPENT NEARLY A WEEK ON THIS CLUBHOUSE FROM HECK. I WAS FRUSTRATED AND SO WAS SHE. I LEARNED A LESSON ON THIS ONE, I WILL NEVER ATTEMPT ANOTHER PREFAB CLUBHOUSE WITH NO DIRECTIONS.

5.0

09/05/2008


VIRGINIA P.

My experience was very good. He was on time and professional. I really liked the quality of work. I told him I wanted him back! I would recommend him to anyone.

Description of Work
He took care of things around my house and fixed things up for me.

Category handyman service

5.0

08/08/2008


DIANNE K.

He was very polite, he was there at the time he said, didn't leave a mess and made sure he cleaned everything up when he finished

Description of Work
He repaired some steps, installed a hot water heater and fixed a faucet.

Category handyman service

5.0

07/30/2008


Michael D.

I liked everything about him, he did an excellent job and his pricing was very competitive. He was also very good about responding, so it was never an issue to get a hold of him.

Description of Work
He repaired some wood rot, tuckpointed my front steps, installed an electrical outlet, and repaired some weatherstripping as well as repairing a gate.

Category contractors, electrician, fencing, handyman service, masonry

5.0

07/24/2008


VIRGINIA P.

He was prompt and the charge was minimal. I was very satisfied. I am having him come back to do more work.

Description of Work
He repaired a bracket on a drawer in the kitchen.

Category contractors, handyman service

5.0

02/29/2008


ROBERT B.

Great!!! Jim is a top notch handyman!!! Have used his services time and time again. Not only for home but business as well.

Description of Work
Painted interior walls, hung drapes and hardware. Hung TV flat screen (wall mounted) shelf for DVR.

Category handyman service, interior painters

5.0

02/28/2008


Diane D.

Although there was a small electrical glitch that took Jim more time than expected to do the installation, he did not charge us any additional amount. Everything is working fine and we are very happy with the installation.

Description of Work
Although we had several very small projects we wanted done, Jim was happy to come out and give us an estimate on each item. Although we could not afford to get all of the small things done at this time, Jim was very understanding and did not pressure us. He took down a ceiling fan with no light and installed a new ceiling fan with a light and remote control.

Category electrician, ceiling fans

3.0

02/17/2008


Ruth S.

The work was scheduled to be done a few weeks in advance. He forgot, but did show up after I called him. He rescheduled twice to return and finish the trim. He sanded the walls, which went fine, practically no dust, and I have no complaints about that. The switch and the outlet were in the wrong place in the beadboard, and trim needed to be cut out around them. He slapped them on top of the trim. I asked him to cut out the trim around them, and he did, shoddily, and put the trim back up in the wrong place. When I asked him to return and fix it he said that it's hard to fix something someone else messed up (maybe true, but he was paid to do it). He made arrangements to return, then showed up at the wrong time and left his card in my mailbox; Oops, sorry I missed you, instead of calling me. I'm pretty sure I was home. Also, the price he charged me was 20% over the bid. He is TOO BUSY. I would not hire him again. I ended up fixing the trim myself, because I needed to paint.

Description of Work
I needed my bathroom remodel finished up. Jim sanded the walls, finished the trim around the baseboard, installed a light switch and a GFC outlet.

Category electrician, handyman service, woodworking

5.0

09/12/2007


Chris K.

Jim came on a Friday to estimate the job. He said he could show up the next morning around 7 to do the work. I was impressed with how quickly he jumped at the job! On Saturday morning I rose from a deep sleep at quarter to 7 to get ready for Jim. Jim called around 7:45 stating he was on his way. He showed up around 9, however, explaining that he was delayed in having to help his wife with her car. Once here he worked hard and got the job done to our satisfaction. I thought the price was reasonable for the work performed.

Description of Work
Attic insulation re-attached between rafters. and also attic swept. Also insulation removed beneath new roof vents.

Category insulation

5.0

09/03/2007


DIANNE K.

Excellent job. He was prompt, helpful, completed the job on time, and charges a reasonable fee.

Description of Work
Remodel bathroom.

Category home remodeling

5.0

08/13/2007


JILL W.

Jim responded the same day to my message to get an estimate of the long list of work I needed to have done. I believe he even came out the same day to look everything over. He said he would call the next day with the estimate and he did. He had every job listed with a price for each one as well as the cost of whatever materials he would need. That was a really nice and easy way to keep track of what things were going to cost and when they were completed. Jim was very flexible with me on working around my daughters' hospital schedule on the days she had been on call and needed to sleep during the day. He was very good about telling me when he would be there and what he would be doing that day. He was extremely patient in explaining things to me and what needed to be done and very thorough with each task which I really appreciated. He is a very pleasant, honest, competent person that I would not hesitate to recommend to anyone. I am extremely pleased with the work that he did for me.

Description of Work
Jim removed the storm windows on the house and painted the window trim. He repaired 3 outside window frames and repainted them. He painted several areas on the exterior of the house that needed it. He repaired an outside door frame and painted it. He installed a new storm door on the front of the house. He patched and painted an area in the bathroom that had gotten wet from the shower. He installed weatherstripping on 2 doors. He hauled away several large items that I needed to get rid of. He installed a long wood strip on the front of the house that covered some unsightly wear on the wood panels and painted it. He installed a new front porch light and address plaque. He also cleaned out window wells and put on new well covers. He mulched around all of the trees and front bed of the house. He trimmed the bushes and cleaned around them, trimmed and edged the yard and mowed.

Category handyman service, hauling services, lawn service, woodworking, house painters

5.0

07/27/2007


IDA F C.

Jim, the plumber, realized that he would be a little late. He called to let me know so that I would not worry. The faucet I brought was defected from the factory. I called Jim at 5:00 A.M, he came immediately, turned off water too faucet defective and exchanged it for a better one, no extra charge.

Description of Work
Installed new kitchen faucet.

Category plumbing

Service Provider Response

I INSTALLED A NEW KITCHEN FAUCET FOR $75. THE MEMBER CALLED ME AT 5AM UPSET BECAUSE WATER WAS ALL OVER THE KITCHEN. I DROVE TO HER HOUSE AND TURNED OFF THE WATER TO THE SINK. I RETURNED AT 9AM REMOVED THE NEW FAUCET THAT WAS DEFECTIVE, RETURNED IT TO THE HARDWARE STORE WERE IT WAS PURCHASED, EXCHANGED IT FOR A NEW ONE AND INSTALLED IT. I DID NOT CHARGE HER ANYTHING FOR REPLACING THE FAUCET, SHE WAS VERY UNDERSTANDING. IT WAS JUST ONE OF THOSE THINGS THAT HAPPENED AND I DID NOT FEEL RIGHT CHARGING FOR THE TIME AND TROUBLE TO REPLACE THE DEFECTIVE FAUCET. I AM HAPPY NOTHING GOT DAMAGED DUE TO THE WATER LEAKING AND SHE WAS HAPPY TO GET IT FIXED. I GIVE THE MEMBER AN A+.

    Other local Pros in your area

    Old Goat Painting

     

    David’s Hauling & Moving

    Veteran Owned professional and affordable moving services in Overland Park. Junk Removal, Debris Hauling, Furniture Hauling, Appliance Hauling, Large Item Removal, Large Item Pick Up, Martin City, KS Moving, Moving Service, Moving Company, Movers, Local Mover, In House Moves http://davidsmovingks.com/  

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check
    Senior Discount
    ASK FOR DETAILS
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Ask for details

    Services Offered

    ALL HANDYMAN WORK, PLUMBING, ELECTRICAL, REPAIR, PAINTING, CARPENTRY, SHEETROCK, LANDSCAPING, CABINET MAKING, POWERWASH AND WEATHERPROOF DECKS, HAULING, PICK UP AND DELIVER WASHERS, DRYERS AND REFRIGERATORS.

    Services Not Offered

    CLIMB OR WORK UP HIGH.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about JIM STRAWN

    How is JIM STRAWN overall rated?

    JIM STRAWN is currently rated 4.6 overall out of 5.

    What days are JIM STRAWN open?

    JIM STRAWN is open:

    Sunday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Monday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    What payment options does JIM STRAWN provide

    JIM STRAWN accepts the following forms of payment: Check

    Does JIM STRAWN offer free estimates?

    Yes, JIM STRAWN offers free project estimates.

    Does JIM STRAWN offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, JIM STRAWN does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does JIM STRAWN offer a senior discount?

    No, JIM STRAWN does not offer a senior discount.

    Does JIM STRAWN offer emergency services?

    Yes, JIM STRAWN offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by JIM STRAWN?

    No, JIM STRAWN does not offer warranties.

    What services does JIM STRAWN offer?

    JIM STRAWN offers the following services: ALL HANDYMAN WORK, PLUMBING, ELECTRICAL, REPAIR, PAINTING, CARPENTRY, SHEETROCK, LANDSCAPING, CABINET MAKING, POWERWASH AND WEATHERPROOF DECKS, HAULING, PICK UP AND DELIVER WASHERS, DRYERS AND REFRIGERATORS.

    Are there any services JIM STRAWN does not offer?

    CLIMB OR WORK UP HIGH.