Aardvark Residential and Commercial Services, Inc.

About

Founded 1994

When you need the best chimney sweep and repair services the Kansas City area has to offer, you can trust the experts at Aardvark Residential and Commercial Services, Inc. Our team of chimney sweepers has been serving the Kansas City area for more than two decades, providing quality chimney cleaning, dryer vent cleaning, air duct cleaning, and pressure washing for residential and commercial properties. We pride ourselves on our customer service and quality of work, and we want you to see the Aardvark difference....

Awards and Badges

Angi Certified

Business Highlights

Family Owned & OperatedFamily Owned & Operated
Wears MaskWears Mask

Verified Reviews

4.3

(26) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

19

4

2

3

1

2

0

1

4

Rating Details

Price

4.3

Professionalism

4.3

Punctuality

4.8

Quality

4.5

Responsiveness

4.4

Read reviews by category

air duct cleaning (10)chimney sweep (9)chimney repair (6)dryer vent cleaning (4)fireplace services (3)masonry (1)cabinet refacing (1)roofing (1)HVAC Companies (1)
Showing 1-25 of 26 reviews
5.0

09/28/2022


James H.

Purchased and older home. They came out to do chimney clean/inspect and HVAC duct cleaning. They answered every question and explained every step of the process. Had a drone that proved pictures of the outside of the chimney. We were so impressed with their professionalism and quality of their estimates that we have made an appointment for the repair of the chimney. Great company and staff to work with.

Description of Work
Chimney inspection, Fireplace clean, HVAC Duct clean

Category chimney sweep

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/27/2022

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], Thank you so much for the 5 star review and positive comments. We are so happy that our services met your expectations. We look forward to working with you in the future!
5.0

07/22/2022


Kimberly T.

Only chimney inspection. I think they were very thorough. They pointed out the repairs that need to be done to make the fireplace safe to use. I scheduled them to come back and make the repairs

Description of Work
chimney inspect

Category chimney sweep

Cost $275

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/21/2022

Service Provider Response

Thank you [Member Name Removed]for the 5-star review. We are so happy that our services met your expectations. We look forward to working with you in the future!
5.0

06/30/2022


Bob L.

wonderful 'xxxxxxx

Description of Work
estimate xxxxxxxx

Category chimney repair

Cost $145

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/30/2022

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for the 5 star review. We are glad that our services met your expectations! We look forward to working with you in the future!
5.0

06/05/2022


Wayne T.

It was great!

Description of Work
Dryer vent cleaning

Category dryer vent cleaning

Cost $195

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/04/2022

Images

Review for Aardvark Residential and Commercial Services, Inc. - 13015 6TH ST, Grandview, MO - 39755682

+1 More

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for the 5 star review and we are so happy that we met your expectation! We look forward to working with you in the future!
5.0

06/01/2022


Sandra G.

They were friendly, efficient, knowledgeable, answered my questions and explained the photos they took of the chimney. They emailed all their pictures to me within s couple days and made a followup phone call.

Description of Work
Inspection

Category chimney sweep

Cost $145

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/24/2022

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much [Member Name Removed] for the 5 star review! We greatly appreciate you supporting our business and we are so happy that our services met your expectations!
5.0

01/11/2021


Lindsay F.

It went great!

Description of Work
N/A

Category air duct cleaning, dryer vent cleaning

Cost $549

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/09/2021

Service Provider Response

Thank you, [Member Name Removed]! we appreciate your review AND your business!
5.0

12/22/2020


Lauren B.

Wow I am so impressed with this company!! My husband and I just moved into our home a few months ago and didn’t know if the chimney was even usable. So I called these guys and they came out SAME DAY within just a few hours!! They were so professional, nice, and prompt with their work. They know their stuff and I am so thankful they came out to get us up and running for the remaining winter months. We are so excited to find out our chimney does work and thanks to them- clean and fit to use!! Thank you guys so much! We will definitely be hiring again.

Description of Work
Chimney cleaning and inspection

Category chimney sweep

Cost $245

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/22/2020

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], We appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review. We appreciate our customers very much and glad we could get your chimney in working order. We look forward to continuing to service you for all your chimney and air duct needs.
5.0

08/26/2013


Bon G.

They did an excellent job. They are punctual, mannerable, and very professional work Ethic.

Description of Work
They came today to clean my air. ducts.

Category air duct cleaning

Cost $150

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/26/2013

Service Provider Response

Thank you! We enjoyed meeting you as well!
1.0

06/22/2013


Brian C.

Hired these guys to clean the air ducts in my house. I even paid them an extra fee to clean the inside of the furnace and air conditioning coil. A few months later I pulled the humidifier off the furnace for maintenance, and discovered the insides were still caked with dust and dirt. They had clearly never touched it even though I paid an extra fee for them to. I took pictures of all the dust and sent them to Aardvark asking for a refund since I had not received the service I paid for. They said they would send a full refund, but a week later the check never arrived. Over the next month they kept saying that they would send a check that never arrived. Finally after threatening to go to small claims court they sent a check for less than a quarter of the amount they said they would refund.

Description of Work
Was paid to clean out the HAC vents

Category air duct cleaning

Cost $250

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 09/01/2007

5.0

05/16/2013


James A.

They had a $199 special running for two services, we picked the chimney cleaning and dryer vent cleaning. They protected the living room well before doing the sweep, and used a vacuum to make sure soot didn't get everywhere. Its difficult for me to tell how well they cleaned the chimney. The dryer vent I could see all the lint they were blowing out. One quibble we had was the lead technician recommended we remove the outside dryer vent cage because it could lead to lint building up. He said there is already a flapper there to prevent anything from getting in, so we did remove the vent. In two days, a couple of grackles tried to set up shop in our dryer vent duct. We watched them that morning use their beaks to open the flapper and climb in. So I turned on the dryer to run them out and put the cage back on.

Description of Work
Cleaned chimney and cleaned dryer vent.

Category chimney sweep, dryer vent cleaning

Cost $199

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/01/2013

1.0

05/11/2013


Michele V.

They showed up on time is the only positive thing I can say about this company. Overall, this is by far one of the worst experiences I have had dealing with a repair service.

Description of Work
Called them out to do a chimney inspection and give an estimate on any repairs the chimney would need as a result of their inspection. Well, they did show up on time and perfomed a quick inspection of the interior and exterior of my chimney for which I paid $65. I was told by their inspector that the interior was fine, but that they couldn't fix any of the exterior brick work without possibly affecting the stability of the whole structure. He did go on to say that they could however provide a water seal treatment and fix the crown, but he would have to go back to the office and figure out how much that would cost. Several days go by and I don't hear back from them, so I called and spoke with Pat in their office and was told an estimate would be emailed. Pat made a comment that he thought my job was the one where the chimney needed to come down and be totally replaced. Big surprise!! Several more days go by and to this day I have never received another word from this company. I was also told that the $65 I spent on the inspection would be deducted from any repair work they performed. Seems to me that since they can't do the repairs, they should refund my $65.

Category chimney repair

Cost $65

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 04/11/2013

5.0

02/22/2013


DOUGLAS S.

I thought their price was reasonable. I really liked them. They set us up for an annual inspection of that duct. They made other suggestions on how to keep our air ducts clean. I was really impressed by them.

Description of Work
Aardvark Air Duct Cleaning cleaned the duct from our clothes dryer to the outside outlet.

Category air duct cleaning, dryer vent cleaning

Cost $115

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/13/2012

5.0

12/19/2012


Phyllis L.

"John" was very conscientious and took his time. It was a big (double) job for him and he hung in there and did a thorough cleaning of the 28 ducts in the whole house. I could tell the house smelled cleaner and I could see the results!

Description of Work
Cleaned all the returns and ducts in my approx. 3000 sq ft home.

Category air duct cleaning

Cost $398

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/15/2012

5.0

10/30/2012


Alice B.

We accepted a contract for our home and then discovered we had an issue with the damper. We had 2 days to fix it before the Inspectors came. We were so happy when AArdvark Air squeezed us into their schedule. They showed up on time and performed the repair in a timely manner. I would certainly recommend them!

Description of Work
Repaired damper that was always open.

Category fireplaces

Cost $85

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/30/2012

5.0

04/10/2012


Billy T.

I received a flyer in the mail advertising their services for a chimney sweep and installing a chimney cap. I then checked and saw that they had good reviews on here, and I called them Friday. They said someone would repsond on Monday between noon and 1:00 pm. Their representative, Frank, showed up at 12:30 pm and went right to work. As he was checking things out, he told what he was doing and what he was looking for. He showed where there were cracks and loose bricks in the fireplace, which need to be regrouted, and he quoted me the price for the regrout. He then checked the rest of the fireplace and said it looked it good. He went outside and checked the exterior and the top of the chimney. When he came back inside, he informed of the repairs needed to the crown, showed me pictures of the damage and quoted me a price for the repairs. He then said that the rest of the exterior looked in good shape. After I agreed to repairs, he then proceeded to clean the fireplace and sweep the chimney. While he was sweeping the chimney, he laid out a plastic tarp and used a vacuum cleaner to keep the soot and dirt from spreading all over the living room. After the cleaning and the sweeping, he proceeded with the regrout of the firebox, and he then went outside and repaired the crown and installed the chimney cap. After the repaits were done, he came inside and showed me pictures of the crown repair and the cap. Overall, he was here about 2 1/2 hours cleaning and repairing the chimney and fireplace.

Description of Work
Inspect and clean the fireplace and chimney. Install a chimney cap. Regrouted the firebox and repaired and sealed the chimney cap.

Category chimney sweep, chimney repair, fireplaces

Cost $464

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/09/2012

5.0

11/27/2010


MARY G.

They came out as scheduled and cleaned the chimney. They were in and out in 7 minutes according to my husband. They cleaned up thoroughly.

Description of Work
Clean the chimney

Category fireplaces

Cost $135

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/13/2010

4.0

08/04/2008


ALAN P.

They were very professional and responsive. They had to come back a couple of times to fix some things. They returned quickly and were always on time.

Description of Work
They rebuilt the chimney in our home.

Category masonry, chimney repair, cabinet refacing

Cost $1,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

1.0

05/10/2007

They didn't even have the equipment to start the job(tar.) So they didn't do the job.

Description of Work
They came out to fix the roof around the chimney where it was leaking. Charged $65.00 to even start the job when they offer free estimates.

Category roofing

Cost $65

1.0

11/28/2005


JOE W.

I ASKED THEM TO CLEAN THE SOUTH SIDE OF THE CHIMNEY WHERE THEY WORKED ON IT LAST YEAR. THEY SAID THAT THEY COULDN'T CLEAN IT UP BECAUSE IT WAS HARDENED AND THAT I SHOULD HAVE COMPLAINED ABOUT IT LAST YEAR. I ASKED HIM IF HE COULD DO IT WITH A HAMMER. HE SAID HE HAD ANOTHER APPOINTMENT, HE SAID HE WOULD SEND SOMEONE BACK AND NO ONE HAS COME BACK. I HAVE MADE CALLS TO THE MANAGER AND I HAVEN'T RECEIVED ANY CALLS BACK. THEY ARE UNRESPONSIVE.

Description of Work
GOT THE PIPES CONNECTED BETWEEN THE FURNACE AND THE CHIMNEY.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac, chimney repair

Cost $2,000

Services Performed? Yes

Service Provider Response

HE WAS A VERY DIFFICULT CUSTOMER TO DEAL WITH. THE HOME WAS IN NEED OF A LOT OF REPAIRS AND IT WAS DIFFICULT TO MAKE ARRANGEMENTS TO DO OUR WORK. I AS THE OWNER WAS AT THE JOB LOCATION A COUPLE OF TIMES. THE ONLY EXTRA CLEAN UP THAT WAS NEEDED WAS IN THE BASEMENT WHERE WE USED TO CEMENT TO KEEP A FURNACE PIPE IN HIS CHIMNEY STACK. A LITTLE MORTAR HAD FELL TO THE FLOOR. THE BASEMENT WAS PILED UP AND VERY DIRTY AND THE WORK CONDITIONS WERE VERY DIFFICULT. WE INSTALLED A STAINLESS STEEL FURNACE FLUE LINER AND NEVER HAD ANY CEMENT ON HIS CHIMNEY. THERE HAD BEEN SOME WORK DONE YEARS AGO BY SOME OTHER COMPANY IT APPEARED LIKE OR THE HOMEOWNER HIMSELF AND IT LEFT SOME CLEAN UP THAT WAS NEVER COMPLETED. WE HAD COMPLETED THE JOB 1 1/2 YEARS AGO TO JUST NOW GET THE REPORT SENT IN. WE HAVE BEEN IN BUSINESS SINCE 1994 AND HAVE A VERY GOOD FOLLOWING AND WORK WITH MULTIPLE INSURANCE COMPANIES. WE DO A HIGH VOLUME OF WORK AND DON''T HAVE COMPLAINTS FROM OTHER CUSTOMERS. WE DIDN''T EVEN DO THE WORK THAT CAUSED OR CREATED HIS COMPLAINT. WE WOULD BE HAPPY TO CLEAN THINGS UP FOR HIM BUT MY EMPLOYEES DON''T WORK FOR FREE. THIS IS A VERY HIGH AND DANGEROUS CHIMNEY TO WORK ON. I CAN''T RISK MY EMPLOYEES SAFETY FOR A FREE JOB THAT WE DIDN''T DO TO START WITH.
3.0

11/16/2005


ANNE C.

THIS WAS THE FIRST ANGIE'S LIST COMPANY WITH WHICH WE WERE NOT THRILLED. NOT BEING AN EXPERT, I GUESS THEY CLEANED THE DUCTS, BUT THE WORKERS COULDN'T GET THEIR EQUIPMENT TO WORK AND WERE SLOPPY WITH LEAVING FINGER PRINTS, DUST, AND WITH REPLACING THE AIR VENTS. IN THEIR DEFENSE, WE DID NOT BRING THIS TO THEIR ATTENTION AT THE TIME, BUT DO NOT THINK IT IS OUR JOB TO POINT OUT THE OBVIOUS.

Description of Work
CLEANED AIR DUCTS.

Category air duct cleaning

Cost $400

Services Performed? Yes

Service Provider Response

WE STRIVE AT PLEASING EVERY CUSTOMER. WE HAVE 100''S IF NOT 1000''''S OF REFERRALS FROM MISSOURI AND KANSAS IN THE METRO AREA. WE DID HAVE A NEW PERSON TRAINING THAT DAY AND MAYBE SOME THINGS WERE OVERLOOKED. I WISH THE CUSTOMER WOULD HAVE MENTIONED ANYTHING THEY WERE NOT HAPPY WITH. WE HAVE A SATISFACTION GUARANTEE ON EVERYTHING WE DO. WE HAVE BEEN IN BUSINESS SINCE 1994 AND HAVE A GREAT FOLLOWING. WE WILL WORK THAT MUCH HARDER TO MAKE SURE IT DOESN''T HAPPEN IN THE FUTURE.
5.0

10/30/2005


EMILY C.

I WAS VERY PLEASED WITH THE WORK THAT AARDVARK DID. THEY WERE QUICK, CLEAN, AND EVEN GAVE ME DIGITAL PICTURES OF WHAT MY CHIMNEY SEAL LOOKED LIKE AT MY REQUEST. THEY RECOMMENDED THAT I GET MY CHIMNEY SEAL REPLACED FOR AROUND $500 TOTAL (INCLUDING SOME BRICK REPAIR) AND HAVE FOLLOWED UP VIA PHONE SEVERAL TIMES SINCE. THEY HAVE BEEN POLITE AND INFORMATIVE.

Description of Work
I HAD MY CHIMNEY CLEANED.

Category chimney sweep

Cost $100

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

5.0

06/06/2005


ANNETTE H.

POLITE. VERY EFFICIENT. ON TIME. GOOD WORK.

Description of Work
CLEANED AIR DUCTS.

Category air duct cleaning

Cost $500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes