Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Mid-West Floor Company Inc

Founded 1939 • With Angi since November 2004

4.8

(34) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

14816 Clayton Rd.

Chesterfield, MO 63017

Description

Additional address - 2714 Breckenridge Industrial Court St. Louis, MO 63144. Additional DBA - Midwest Floor. Additional contact names - Herb Omsted, Virgil Hendricks, Drew Guldner. Mid-West Floor is a locally owned and operated flooring company located in St. Louis, Missouri. We operate out of two beautiful showrooms located in Brentwood and Chesterfield. The company was founded on quality and service and since 1939 that is what customers have come to expect from Mid-West Floor. Our professional sales staff and ASID designers are eager to assist you in selecting the right style of flooring for your next project. We offer the finest selection of products including Karastan, Shaw and Fabrica in carpeting, Mirage, Somerset and Johnson in Hardwood and Armstrong and Mannington in Vinyl and Laminate along with other well known brands. As always we guarantee the most professional and knowledgeable sales staff and craftsmanship offer anywhere in the St. Louis area. We Also offer: Free Delivery in Greater St. Louis Free Professional Consultation Custom Design Flooring Master Craftsmanship ASID Design Professionals on staff Sand and Refinishing existing hardwood Custom Area Rugs...

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

01/21/2015


susan M.

I would recommend them. I don’t want to say that they would be the cheapest I could possibly find. I’d rather spend the extra hundred dollars to get it done right.

Description of Work
We used Mid-West Floor Company for flooring. They resurfaced a hardwood floor.

Category hardwood floor

5.0

10/27/2014


Ian H.

Salesman was very professional, responsive and knowledgeable. The flooring we chose was high quality. We had an issue with the integrated register covers but Mid-West quickly rectified the issue. The only problem was that at the end of the job, we had approx.180 sf or $1900 left-over. The Mid-West salesman measured for the job. However, when we had so much left-over at the end of the job, Mid-West would not refund us for the excess. I think that the error was theirs in measuring and they should accept responsibility for that error.

Description of Work
Provided pre-finished hardwood floors for entire 1st floor of house.

Category flooring contractor, hardwood floor

5.0

07/14/2014


G N H.

I've used Midwest in the past. That is why I chose them for this large job. I requested the same salesperson who had been helpful on an earlier and fairly small job. After a visit to our home, we were presented with detailed drawings showing placement of the seams, saw how the layout made most efficient use of the material and were able to define some specific details relating to a portion of the stairway where the carpet would be bound as a runner. As in the previous installation, the salesperson was on site at the start of the job. It is obvious that they have a stake in the outcome. The rooms had been recently painted and the crew was extremely careful not damage trim or walls. They were equally careful moving the heavy furniture during the process. My biggest concern had been the difficulty of the staircase and Mid-West had an installer who did a perfect job with the onsite binding. The crew was efficient, polite and professional. They cleaned up at the end of each of the three days of installation. I didn't bid this job out. I had a reasonable idea of price before hand, and we were able to take advantage of a promotion. Overall the job was perfect.

Description of Work
Midwest installed new carpet on the 2nd floor of our house.

Category carpet installation, flooring contractor

5.0

06/23/2014


Diane P.

Very professional company. The crew did excellent work and left area very clean.

Description of Work
Recarpeted basement level.

Category flooring contractor

5.0

06/17/2014


David B.

They did very fine work. They were very good. We have used them before. We had good service with them. They were prompt and refined. I would use them again.

Description of Work
I used Mid-West Floor Company Inc for installation of ceramic tiles.

Category ceramic tile

5.0

04/01/2014


Lynn C.

Mid-West Floor Company Inc was wonderful. Mary was wonderful. She went above and beyond. They were extremely professional, neat and they did a great job. My experience with them was excellent. You have to get Mary. She was the sale person. She did everything. She was on the site, on the job. She was really good. She is the only Mary in there. I would rate them straight 'A's, 'A's for everything.

Description of Work
We used the services of Mid-West Floor Company Inc in maybe October.

Category floor cleaning

5.0

03/19/2014


Mary M.

My experience with Mid-West Floor Company Inc. went very well.

Description of Work
They installed tile on my master bathroom floor.

Category ceramic tile

2.0

03/09/2014


JAMES M.

Salesman Steve came to our house and inspected the basement area where the floor would be installed. Area was approximately 900 sq. ft. and had been cleared of all furniture (except for a couch, a desk, and a computer table). All prior flooring had been removed, so that concrete floor where new floating vinyl tile would be installed was exposed. Steve measured the area and said that some floor prep would be needed and that the proposal includes an allowance for the floor prep. Received a proposal for about $6,000, which Steve said included 3 hours of prep time and estimated materials. We placed the order for the job and paid 50% up front. Mid-West called to say materials were in and we scheduled the delivery and installation. Delivery was scheduled for the first delivery of the day at 8:00 in the morning. On day of delivery, no one had arrived by 8:30, so I called Mid-West and spoke to Brian in Customer Service. He said the truck had arrived and that no one was home, that driver had called and texted the contact number on the order (my cell phone number), and that there was no answer or reply. I told Brian that I had been home all morning (I had) and that I had received no call or text on my cell phone. Brian said the driver would need to reschedule for later in the day. I told Brian that was not acceptable that the delivery needed to happen as soon as possible (now). Brian said he would call the driver and see what he could do. Brian called back and said truck would arrive in about 10 minutes, which it did. We determined that the problem was that the driver had gone to the wrong address and had called and texted the wrong cell phone number. Two installers arrived on time the next work day. Steve the salesman also showed up. Installers told Steve they needed more materials and floor prep time than he had estimated. The proposal included a clause saying I was responsible for extra time and materials not included in the proposal. Steve asked if it was ok if there was some extra prep time and materials. I agreed, since materials had been delivered and paid for (I assume that the 50% down payment covered the cost of the flooring materials) it seemed I had little choice. Floor installation took 3 days instead of the 2 days in the proposal. I received the bill 2 days after the work was completed. The invoice included an additional charge of $1,600 over the proposal for extra labor and materials. I contacted Steve, the salesman about 5 days after I received the bill. He told me that there was nothing he could do, that there was no way he could tell how much prep time and materials would be needed, and that the proposal said I was responsible for extra labor and materials. I told him that billing for more than 25% over the proposal was not acceptable. Steve said he could check with his boss. I said he should do that. His boss, Brian, called me back within 5 minutes. Brian asked me what the problem was. I asked Brian if he had discussed my bill with Steve. Brian said yes. I told Brian that I was not happy with the extra charge on the bill. I said that I understood I was responsible for extra prep time and materials, but that if Steve misses estimates by more than 25%, then he is in the wrong line if work. Brian said Steve was one of his best salesmen, and that there was no way that he could know the condition of the concrete floor and the prep time required. I told Brian that the entire concrete floor was exposed for Steve's inspection when he bid the job, that the installers knew immediately that additional time and materials would be needed, and that Steve could have brought in an installer to look at the job before he bid it to help determine prep time and materials. Brian said he could take $300 off the bill. I told Brian, that was not acceptable and he should talk to someone else that could do better. Brian told me he was the owner and that $300 was the best he could do. I told Brian that since the original bill included 3 hours of prep time (this according to Steve) that I would pay for an additional 3 hours and the billed price of $530 for the materials (which I assume is the retail price). Brian said he did not find that acceptable that his final offer was to take $500 of the bill. I told Brian to send me the adjusted invoice and that I would consider it. We have used Mid-West in the past and found them to be reputable and to do good work. I have worked in the residential construction industry. The labor rate charged for extra work ($90/hr.) is generous to Mid-West. This bid certainly seems deceptive to me. If the proposed amount had been as high as the actual amount charged, I would have had to reconsider doing the work. In my opinion, the amount charged should not have been more than 10% over the proposed amount.

Description of Work
Installed floating vinyl tile floor in basement over concrete floor.

Category flooring contractor

Service Provider Response

This is in response to the customer complaint from (member name removed) dated March 9, 2014 through Angie's List. (Member name removed) filed a complaint based on the additional charges for time and material to properly prep and level the existing floor prior to installing the materials. It is clearly stated in our contract with (member name removed) that his agreed upon price only included 3 hours of floor prep time and he was subject to time and materials of $45/half hour per man on anything above and beyond these three hours. Upon arrival to the job site, my installers reviewed the project and determined that they were going to need additional floor patch. We brought out more patch twice based on the installers recommendations. We ended up using an additional 14 bags of floor patch. Due to the necessity to add that much patch, we then had to use additional trim pieces to properly match up the other areas of the floor. The total cost for the additional materials was $530. We ended up having a total of 15 hours to properly prep and level the floor to an acceptable condition for installation. Per the contract, 3 hours was already paid for, so we billed the additional 12 hours at a rate of $90/hour that was agreed to in the contract. This brought the total of additional charges to $1610.00. (Member name removed) called me after he received his invoice and was upset with the additional charges. After our discussion, I agreed to reduce the bill by $500 which is a 31% deduction. I believe this to be a fair and acceptable offer. It was impossible to know exactly how long it would take to prep this subfloor due to the condition it was in. Because of this, we included a few hours in the bid and had a time and material clause to cover the rest. The salesman (Steve) had this discussion at the time of the proposal explaining only three house were included in this bid. Per our contract, (member name removed) agreed to pay the additional time and material and he isn't disputing that the work was done, he is just stating he doesn't want to pay what was contractually agreed upon.
5.0

01/28/2014


CJ R.

Al, was the installer and did a phenomenal job! Al showed up early and stayed late, to expedite the duration of the project. He installed a new underfloor, before covering it with vinyl and fixed squeaks in the floor. The clean up, was unbelievably immaculate. I was quite pleased with the service, from start to finish.

Description of Work
Had vinyl flooring installed in my bathroom.

Category flooring contractor

4.0

01/19/2014


Laurel G.

The install went great and the guys did a good job. The buying process is somewhat painful, as the salesman just told me what he thought I wanted to hear, which was not at all helpful, about my carpeting options. I also heard him on the phone talking about making his quota for the month. Made me feel less than confident in his advice. Also, they are pretty expensive. I was not an Angie's List member when the work was done. Next time, I'll look elsewhere.

Description of Work
Replaced carpeting upstairs.

Category carpet installation

5.0

05/23/2013


LINCOLN M.

Knowledgeable staff. Installation was fast and professional. I had one small issue later which was fixed promptly and permanently. Carpeting price was regularly higher than other suppliers for the same patterns but not by very much. I was very happy with the outcome of the entire job.Mid-West seems to stand by their work.

Description of Work
Provided carpeting and installation for 3 bedrooms, 3 closets, hall and stairs.

Category carpet installation

5.0

05/06/2013


Amy M.

Mid- West is great! What a fantastic job they did! They are always professional, courteous and VERY neat. The entire job was completed in two days, as they had said it would be. They moved furniture (included in the price), which is a big differentiator. The quality of the materials they use is first rate and they do little things that other companies will NOT do that make a BIG difference. For instance, on this job we asked them to also remove squeaks in the floor, which they did on a time and materials basis, no issues or problems, they were happy to do the work. The workmen are clean and neat, both in appearance and during the work install. The reliability and trust factor is huge when someone is coming into your home and Mid-West always makes me feel right at ease. Their workmen show up on time and leave without a mess. This is the second job we've had them do for us. A few years ago we had them install laminate on our first floor and again they were great.

Description of Work
We had carpet installed (and old carpet removed) on our second floor (approximately 1,000 square feet). They also moved furniture (included in the price) and took away the old carpet. We also had them remove squeaks in the floor.

Category flooring contractor

5.0

12/28/2012


Joel G.

They were very professional and provided good services.

Description of Work
They service were used for carpet purchase and installation.

Category carpet installation

5.0

05/04/2012


Mary H.

They quoted $3800 for carpeting two bedrooms, a hallway, and a staircase. They were knowledgeable. They were really good because my husband actually contacted with them for the work and then the next day had to call and cancel because I thought we were just getting busy and then my husband and I miscommunicated. They were really nice about it and I felt good because I had contacted and they did not have a cancellation policy. They were expensive, but their service was good.

Description of Work
Mid-West Floor Company Incorporated gave us an estimate and we choose not to use them yet because it wasn't in our budget.

Category carpet installation, flooring contractor

1.0

04/28/2012


George W.

Great installation, knowledgeable and professional installers. Not happy with recuperation on company mistake. No follow through on promises.

Description of Work
Bad estimate, no follow through! Ordered way too much carpet, wouldn't admit the mistake. Utilized leftover for unestimated stairs and was charged for installation.

Category carpet installation

5.0

04/06/2012


JOSEPH S.

It was a pretty sizable bill. They are a local company. Their installers are employees and not subcontractors. The employees did a good job. Since we really didn't compare the prices, I don't have any criteria for judging that, but the price was acceptable.

Description of Work
We used Mid-West Floor Company Inc to have laminate flooring put in the kitchen and hallways. We had carpeting put in our grate room.

Category hardwood floor

5.0

02/23/2012


Jim R.

They are a very good company. They do very good work. I am very happy with them. They are very prompt. They are very professional.

Description of Work
They place hardwood floors in my home.

Category hardwood floor

5.0

11/01/2011


Alison M.

We did not go with them. We had a couple of other bids that came in lower. They were able to do a little bit more of what we were looking for with the work. We basically just needed some repairs done on the hardwood floor. Mid-West Floor didn't seem to think that repairs were possible. They just wanted to replace. We didn't want to do that. We haven't had the work done yet. It is scheduled for next week. They were very timely in coming out and explained very clearly what they could and couldn't do. It was definitely informative and helpful in that respect.

Description of Work
Mid-West Floor Company Inc gave us a bid for some hardwood floor work in June

Category flooring contractor

5.0

10/20/2011


Linda S.

They did a great job. I would recommend them.

Description of Work
I purchased carpet from this company. They also cut the carpet into different sizes to make an area rug.

Category carpet installation, flooring contractor

4.0

10/10/2011


JENNIFER D.

When we initially bought our carpet, we were very impressed with the sales person. He was very informative as we had never bought carpet before. The selection is incredible, almost overwhelming and one certainly needs help. We love our carpet, it has been almost a year since installed and seems to be holding up very well. It is exactly what we wanted. My criticism lies in the service after the carpet was bought. We worked with the same salesperson through the entire process. After our initial visit, he came across as a little impatient and somewhat condescending. Because my husband and I are not particularly demanding customers, I thought this was unnecessary. I also quite surprised by his behavior because we had mentioned to him we were remodeling our entire 3200 sq. ft. home. The carpet was the first of a lot of flooring to be replaced. He did nit seem to interested in future business. I marked yes on whether I would shop there again despite this because I know everyone has bad days, and there selection is really outstanding. The installers also give me pause on using this company again. They did a good job overall in putting the carpet in. They did leave several bags of scraps and garbage behind (an inconvenience because we were not yet living in the house and did not have trash service). They were also not overly friendly and took a lot of breaks. I realize carpet-laying is very hard work, but even so the number of breaks seemed excessive to me. We have had a lot of people working on our house since, from installing wood floors to putting up a new roof. None of the crews have taken anywhere near as many breaks.

Description of Work
Bought and had carpeting installed in three bedrooms of our home.

Category flooring contractor

5.0

07/06/2011


Bill H.

They were terrific. David was the estimator. He worked with us on getting some very nice carpeting in national sale. He was very good. We were able to get a great brand of carpeting that we wouldn't have otherwise been able to fit in the budget. He worked it out in a national sale when there was a promotional thing and got significant discounts on the materials. We did bid out quite a bit. We did quite a bit of work on bidding and pricing. The insurance gave us an allowance to work with and we pretty much made it fit but we added a little extra in it. We pretty much made it fit though. I'm convinced that they did absolutely the best they could. They worked their numbers and sharpened their pencils and came up with what I thought was a very fair number. They didn't try to sell me anything. They were very straight forward. Their installers were top notch to work with. We didn't need to get into anything to figure out if they were expensive or not. In fact they are a union shop. They are bonded and insured all over the place but regardless, if you look at the quality of work, it's just beautiful. They did fabulous work. I would not hesitate to go with them again especially since they are three miles from my house. They are close by. It was a very satisfying experience. We will use their services again in the future.

Description of Work
We used Mid-West Floor Company Inc. They installed carpets for us. We probably had twelve hundred square feet may be in the basement. The family room was fourteen by nineteen may be. They did the basement, the family room and a stairway. The basement was big, almost thirty feet long on one wall.

Category flooring contractor

5.0

05/31/2011


KAREN R.

They were wonderful. Their service was great. They scheduled everything around my schedule. The clean up was amazing. We will definitely use them as we painted three bedrooms and we need the whole house redone, and we will continue to use them. The floors look beautiful. I would use their services again in the future.

Description of Work
I used Mid-West Floor 287 Lamp & Lantern Village. I last used their services two months ago. They took out all the old carpeting and they refinished the hardwood floors.

Category flooring contractor

5.0

07/18/2008


CHERYL C.

I was at work when they came. Top-notch quality and I couldn't be happier.

Description of Work
They came, cleaned and restored my wood kitchen floor.

Category floor cleaning

4.0

10/09/2005


PAULA H.

SALESMAN MORRIS BONER WAS VERY RECEPTIVE, AND CAME UP WITH THE IDEA TO LAY THE HARD WOOD ON AN ANGLE TO GIVE THE ROOM A DIFFERENT LOOK. INSTALLERS WERE PROMPT, AND CLEANED UP UPON COMPETITION. ISSUE OUTSTANDING IS THAT THE INSTALLER DIDN'T CAP A PIPE IN THE POWDER ROOM, AND 3 SLATS ARE WARPED FROM THE DRIPPING WATER. THE CUSTOMER SERVICE TEAM WAS RESPONSIVE AS WAS MR. BONER.

Description of Work
HAD VINYL FLOORING REMOVED FROM MY KITCHEN AND, POWDER ROOM. HARD WOOD FLOORING INSTALLED.

Category flooring contractor

5.0

05/14/2005


SARAH B.

THEY WERE VERY PLEASANT TO WORK WITH FROM INITIAL SHOPPING TO FINAL INSTALLATION. VERY FLEXIBLE WITH INSTALLATION DATE AND ALLOWED US TO DELAY INSTALLATION WITHOUT HASSLE WHILE OTHER PARTS OF PROJECT WERE COMPLETED. ABSOLUTELY NO DAMAGE DONE TO FRESHLY-PAINTED BASEBOARDS WHEN CARPET WAS INSTALLED. CLEANED UP WELL AFTER THEMSELVES AND EXTREMELY PROFESSIONAL INSTALLATION.

Description of Work
HAD CARPET INSTALLED IN BASEMENT.

Category flooring contractor

    Other local Pros in your area

    CVM Enterprises Inc.

    Check our reviews on THUMBTACK Top Pro & 5 star HOME ADVISOR 5 star ANGIES LIST rated A GOOGLE 5 star reviews & google guaranteed  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Fine Craft Custom Tile LLC

    We have been specializing in tile installations of all kinds, hardwood flooring installs and refinishing, vinyl, laminate, and more! Residential and commercial. We guarantee your satisfaction and we won’t leave until the job is done right. We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service! Check out our services offered and call or click to schedule a free estimate today!  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Finely Finished Remodeling

    Finely Finished is a residential remodeling company specializing in flooring install (hardwood, laminate and LVP) as well as tile install - flooring, showers, backsplashes. In business since 2003, we are reputable, dependable and honest. We provide high-end services at an affordable rate. The son of a carpenter and artist, Tim Pastor has an eye for design, an incredible talent for bringing projects to life, and prides himself on quality of work and integrity. View testimonials from previous customers on our YouTube Channel: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC5RRUNUkgiAqfM_qLyVl4Tg/featured From full basement and kitchen remodels to small projects to update and freshen up your home, Finely Finished can do it all. We carry a $1,000,000 insurance policy, and we background check all workers/subs for your safety and peace of mind.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Financing Available
    Senior Discount
    No
    Warranties
    Ask for details

    Services Offered

    Carpeting, hardwood floors, ceramic tile, wood floors & refinishing, rugs, ceramic tile, marble, vinyl & laminate.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Mid-West Floor Company Inc

    How is Mid-West Floor Company Inc overall rated?

    Mid-West Floor Company Inc is currently rated 4.8 overall out of 5.

    What days are Mid-West Floor Company Inc open?

    Mid-West Floor Company Inc is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 9:00 AM - 8:00 PM

    Tuesday: 9:00 AM - 8:00 PM

    Wednesday: 9:00 AM - 8:00 PM

    Thursday: 9:00 AM - 8:00 PM

    Friday: 9:00 AM - 8:00 PM

    Saturday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    What payment options does Mid-West Floor Company Inc provide

    Mid-West Floor Company Inc accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Financing Available

    Does Mid-West Floor Company Inc offer free estimates?

    Yes, Mid-West Floor Company Inc offers free project estimates.

    Does Mid-West Floor Company Inc offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Mid-West Floor Company Inc offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Mid-West Floor Company Inc offer a senior discount?

    No, Mid-West Floor Company Inc does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Mid-West Floor Company Inc?

    No, Mid-West Floor Company Inc does not offer warranties.

    What services does Mid-West Floor Company Inc offer?

    Mid-West Floor Company Inc offers the following services: Carpeting, hardwood floors, ceramic tile, wood floors & refinishing, rugs, ceramic tile, marble, vinyl & laminate.

    Are there any services Mid-West Floor Company Inc does not offer?

    Ask for details