Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Bates Electric - St Louis

4.8

(78) Verified Reviews

Founded 1992 • With Angi since March 2003

Business Highlights

Family Owned & OperatedFamily Owned & Operated
24/7 Service Offered24/7 Service Offered
Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
Licensed
Trade License Number
20190033743
Bonded
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

Hours

Sunday
Open All Day
Monday
Open All Day
Tuesday
Open All Day
Wednesday
Open All Day
Thursday
Open All Day
Friday
Open All Day
Saturday
Open All Day

Phone Number

Address

2006 Sierra Pkwy

Arnold, MO 63010

https://bates-electric.com/locations/st-louis-mo/
COVID-19 Update
We are actively performing full services. We are taking additional precautions to protect our customers.

Health & Safety Measures

Please call for more details.
All statements concerning COVID‑19 business operations and essential services are informational only, and are self‑reported and not verified by Angi.

Description

For 29 years, Bates Electric, Inc. Has proudly served the St. Louis Metro area and surrounding areas. Please contact us to speak with one of our Customer Service Specialists for service rates. ALL OF OUR TECHNICIANS ARE LICENSED, BONDED, AND DEPARTMENT OF LABOR CERTIFIED....

Verified Reviews

4.8

(78) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

71

4

1

3

2

2

1

1

3

Rating Details

Price

4.6

Professionalism

4.9

Punctuality

4.9

Quality

4.9

Responsiveness

4.9

Read reviews by category

electrician (72)lighting (12)generator service (6)ceiling fan installation (5)landscape lighting (1)
Showing 1-25 of 78 reviews
5.0

02/02/2021


Fletcher R.

Pete at Bates Electric was a fantastic electrician! We were very pleased with his punctuality, efficiency and genuinely positive attitude. He came up with a solid idea for a difficult electric car charger installation (box was located far away from garage) that saved us both time and money. Very knowledgeable about his trade and the price was very reasonable. We wouldn’t hesitate to recommend Pete and Bates Electric for any electrical project or repair!

Description of Work
Electric car charger installation

Category electrician

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/28/2021

5.0

08/06/2020


Zacarias C.

Teandre came out, was ten minutes early, and ready to work. He quickly found the issue, and fixed two spots that weren’t wired properly, and removed some legacy wiring that was terminated but not removed. Through it all, Teandre was cheerful, kind, and just a joy to be around. I’m glad that Bates Electric was able to send someone on short notice, and I’m really happy with the work done.

Description of Work
Correct electrical wiring issues

Category electrician,lighting

Cost $400

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/06/2020

5.0

02/28/2018


NANCY R.

I called to set up an appointment, and at that time was given the cost of a service call and the cost per hour for repairs. A time frame of 2 hours was given for an electrician to arrive. On the day of the appointment, i was called within the time frame and the electrician arrived within the time frame. The circuit breaker was replaced and the amp reading was checked afterwards. Senior discount was applies to the invoice,

Description of Work
Several Electric outlets quit working. Wanted the circuit checked

Category electrician

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/28/2018

5.0

09/26/2017


Dianna F.

Couldn't have gone better. Installers were there 2 days. Always prompt and cleaned up their mess every day. They were very considerate and verified exactly where I wanted something placed. They received an incorrect size for one of the transformers for the under cabinet lighting and had to reorder. Very apologetic. Item arrived next day and was installed. Turned out beautifully and I am very pleased.

Description of Work
Had track lighting removed and can lighting installed in kitchen.

Category electrician,lighting

Cost $2,700

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/28/2017

5.0

05/01/2017


DEANE T.

I would tell others that they ran a new electric line from the house to the detatched garage and replaced the control panel inside the garage. There was one and sometimes a second person that did the work. They left the area clean. They had good communications and I enjoyed working with them.

Description of Work
They ran new electrical lines underground to the house.

Category electrician

Cost $3,100

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/23/2017

5.0

04/01/2017


Nona Y.

I use them a lot. They know what they are doing and do it quickly. They don't make mistakes. They show up when they say they will. Generally I can get scheduled and sometimes they will even ask to come early, which is fine. They are always reliable.

Description of Work
They repaired a track light that another company had broken. They installed some LED spotlights outside.

Category lighting,outdoor lighting

Cost $280

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/15/2016

5.0

02/13/2017


Ann G V.

Great guy-polite, quick knowledgeable.

Description of Work
Replace lot chem lite much electric box.

Category electrician

Cost $213

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/31/2017

5.0

01/25/2017


Rosemary T.

I’ve had good experience. I did not have a service contact with them, I just called them one time.

Description of Work
I have used Bates Electric.

Category electrician

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/24/2013

5.0

12/29/2016


David S.

Very efficient. The technician Sean was on time and very pleasant.

Description of Work
A landscape lighting transformer was replaced.

Category electrician

Cost $165

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/09/2016

5.0

11/17/2016


Bill P.

Sean Kraus was prompt, professional, efficient and a pleasure to have in my home.

Description of Work
Replaced outlets.

Category electrician

Cost $350

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/01/2016

5.0

09/20/2016


John M.

Everything went great with Bates - prompt responses from the beginning, always on time, professional, nice and got the work done ahead of schedule. We will definitely use them again for any electrical needs.

Description of Work
Add lighting and outlets in kitchen, add lights down long hallway, add lights and outlet in garage, add outlet in basement

Category electrician,lighting

Cost $2,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/20/2016

5.0

07/22/2016


debbie L.

Came on time, worked until he got it fixed.

Description of Work
Fixed kitchen light fixture.

Category electrician,lighting

Cost $160

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/06/2016

5.0

06/20/2016


Brenda C.

Kevin Midurta and Anthony arrived promptly and began to work completed both tasks, quickly answering all of my questions, great job!

Description of Work
Replace electrical light (outside), and fix gfci that had burnt out, affecting a 5 light globe post in front.

Category electrician,lighting

Cost $267.5

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/07/2016

5.0

06/19/2016


Rosanne E.

I hired Bates Electric twice – both times arrived prior to promised time. The office staff and electricians are professional and helpful. I will definitely hire Bates Electric again. The following staff were excellent!

Description of Work
Had electrical lines to home moved. Had electrical wall switch run from garage to home. Had new switch to out fan run to home. Had carriage lights door installed requiring wiring.

Category electrician

Cost $1,200

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/05/2016

5.0

06/08/2016


Patrice K.

Two men came at the pre-arranged time and each worked steadily. One had to be in attic to drill holes. They were efficient – polite and worked well together. Very good. One worker named Paul. One worker named Patrick.

Description of Work
Hard wiring of combination smoke – CO2 detectors 4 in total. *My landlord is paying this.

Category electrician

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/01/2016

5.0

05/20/2016


thomas M.

It went well. When there was a problem they took care of it right away.

Description of Work
I am getting ready to sell my house and I needed them to install a new circuit breaker box, replace the line outside, and replaced the outlets on the floor and put plates over them.

Category electrician

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/13/2016

5.0

04/04/2016


Tim S.

Bates has been one of the only contractors that shows up when they say they will and stays until the work is done. Not only has Brian P been very punctual and professional, but also been very helpful in explaining the construction process to me. He has always been very responsive when I had a question or needed anything. Bates had a great price compared to many other bids I received and have done a great job. They have called and asked questions if anything was unclear on my plans. All office personnel have also been very responsive and polite throughout!

Description of Work
Bates wired my new home construction project from start to finish.

Category electrician

Cost $8,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/01/2016

5.0

01/06/2016


Charles S.

I use Bates for annual maintenance on my Generac whole house generator. They are always punctual and professional.

Description of Work
Annual service on my whole house backup generator.

Category electrician,generator service

Cost $200

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/16/2015

1.0

10/01/2015


Laurel L.

We had an emergency on a Saturday night with a circuit constantly tripping. We were to leave on a bus tour early Monday morning so we had very little time to get the situation fixed. To make matters worse, we were leaving our animals in the house with a petsitter checking in on them several times a day - we were afraid to leave the animals in case of fire. We also wanted the outside lights to work while we were gone. We had called several companies that listed emergency work and no one had bothered to call us back. I left a message with this company, telling them our desperate we were. The answering machine stated they would call back shortly. Never heard from them. That's not what I consider 'emergency service' as advertised on their site on Angie's List.

Description of Work
Absolutely nothing

Category electrician,lighting

Work Completed On 09/12/2015

5.0

06/25/2015


Teresa S.

This company has been wonderful every time I've had them fix something my husband has short circuited. They arrive quickly and estimate the cost and upon return to fix the problem, they are courteous and fast in getting the job done. Like this company very much.

Description of Work
Hung new ceiling fan in kitchen. Capped off wires in bedroom from old ceiling fan.

Category electrician,ceiling fans

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

5.0

01/06/2015


Suzette F.

They're always wonderful. They're very prompt and very nice.

Description of Work
They installed my standby generator several years ago ago and they serviced it this morning.

Category

Cost $268

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/06/2015

5.0

03/28/2014


Sally S.

Very professional and neat and did a very nice job. I've used them before and would not hesitate to use them again.

Description of Work
installed two ceiling fans

Category electrician,ceiling fans

Cost $350

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/20/2014

5.0

03/10/2014


NEAL B.

Went Great! Very professional, explained what work needed to be done to fix my situations and also I learned some valuable lessons for the future. Also, was able to complete all the work in one hour which meant a LOT to me.

Description of Work
Helped fix a dimmer switch and replaced 5 smoke alarms.

Category electrician

Cost $160

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/05/2014