Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Zell Plumbing & Heating

Founded 1996 • With Angi since September 2000

4.9

(655) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

unknown

White Bear Township, MN 55110

Description

We are a small plumbing and heating service contractor servicing the entire Twin Cities Metro Area. Our service technicians are mobile repair shops on wheels that can deliver parts and expertise to solve your Residential and Commercial plumbing projects. Because we stock common repair parts and supplies in our service trucks we are able to make most repairs on the spot. If major plumbing work is needed we can work with customers and vendors to secure the necessary fixtures and materials to complete your job. Our technicians are fully trained and qualified to handle most plumbing and heating projects. Call today if you would like to set an appointment and schedule work. Our friendly Customer Service Representative will take your information to place you on a service technician’s schedule. ...

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

08/16/2019


LISA S.

Les returned my call and actually suggested that I could call another company that they recommend for potentially quicker service for drain issues. I wasn't in a hurry (out of the house) and had been happy with Zell in the past so I decided to wait (the wait was due to my needs as well as their availability). Les made two calls to confirm and showed up on time. He went right to work and got through the gunk that must have been pretty far down the pipe (traps were clear). He gave me suggestions for keeping the drain clear in the future.

Description of Work
Kitchen sink was stopped up

Category drain cleaning

5.0

02/17/2019


ANNE H.

Les Zell removed an old bathroom faucet that we had found it impossible to take apart and remove, installed a new one, and replaced supply lines. We have used Zell Plumbing before and know that while his prices are on the high side, he is the person to call when we have a tough situation or need good advice.

Description of Work
Faucet removal and replacement

Category plumbing

5.0

09/21/2018


Brett D.

Mr. Zell began with an inspection of valve/tee and agreed that it needed to be replaced. Given that some of the pipe were galvanized and some copper AND he was not sure if he could access all items without tearing out walls he gave us an on the spot quotes. We agreed to proceed starting knowing what it might cost even if it were the worst case. After continued inspection he found that he could remedy the problem by replacing the valve/tee and replaced the section of galvanized pipe with a copper pipe with out tearing out walls or ceiling. He completed the task quickly. Now we have copper to copper piping as is proper. And, we have piece of mind that we will not have a ruptured tee in this area. We have had Mr Zell out for plumbing jobs several times and will continue to use his services.

Description of Work
Replace corroded tee to shower and sink

Category plumbing

5.0

04/24/2018


Melody P.

Very helpful, professional. It was more expensive than I had hoped, but I suspect that it was not overpriced. I would definitely hire them again.

Description of Work
repair of toilet leak

Category plumbing

5.0

04/05/2018


Rita M.

They are efficient, reasonable and they explained everything.

Description of Work
Plumbing service.

Category plumbing

5.0

01/04/2018


LISA S.

I left a message New Year's night and Wes called me back first thing in the morning. He suggested that the pipe was frozen, not blocked. Made perfect sense. He said he hoped to get to me by late afternoon but made several suggestions for how I could tackle it myself. I used a space heater, a hair dryer, a fan and cranked up thermostat. He called later to say he couldn't get to me but referred me to another vendor. I waited a bit longer to see if I could get it thawed and I did! (just in time for dinner guests). I appreciated Wes's early phone response, his suggestions and his calling me back later.

Description of Work
My kitchen drain pipe was plugged.

Category plumbing,drain cleaning

5.0

09/11/2017


Jessica T.

Great! I was replacing my kitchen faucet, and while I was able to complete most of the installation, I couldn't get the supply lines hooked up without leaking, and decided it was time for a professional. I called hoping I could get a same-day appointment, and not only was Mr. Zell able to accommodate me, he happened to be conveniently located such that he was able to stop by within the hour. After determining the issue (original shut-off valves wouldn't accommodate the new installation) and offering me some options on how to address it, we agreed that he would acquire the necessary parts to replace the shut-off valves. He was able to return the same day, and after another hour or so, the work was completed and the faucet was up and running! Nary a drip to be seen. I feel extremely pleased about Mr. Zell's work, and he was also very personable and professional. A+!

Description of Work
Replacement of shut-off valves, connecting new faucet to supply lines

Category plumbing

5.0

08/03/2017


LARRY B.

Excellent. Les knows his profession and explained what he was doing from start to finish. Everything now is in good repair.

Description of Work
I had two water heaters replaced, four toilets repaired, and new lines installed in the garage sink as well as the line going to my outdoor water.

Category plumbing,water heater repair

5.0

07/24/2017


LILLIAN K.

Mr. Zell took care of my problems the same day I called because he was in my neighborhood when I called. I watched and he told me what I could do to take care of the faucet and drain issues by myself in the future.

Description of Work
Slow drain, toilet part replacement, faucet fix.

Category plumbing,drain cleaning

5.0

09/07/2016


Mike M.

Les was punctual, professional, knowledgeable and did a great job

Description of Work
Replace broken kitchen faucet, check bathroom water pressure

Category plumbing

5.0

03/19/2016


VALERIE R.

Les was prompt at returning calls, on-time, did the work quickly, was courteous and tidy. We had concerns about our sump pump sounding funny (15 years old and check valve failed), and some dripping from our water heater. He determined the water heater was fine, but needed a new pressure valve. Sump pump was still running, but because of the age we had it replaced. He was also very good at explaining what the options were and how things work, as well as the work he completed.

Description of Work
Install new pressure valve on water heater, replace sump pump and check valve

Category plumbing,water heater repair

5.0

02/29/2016


MAUREEN T.

He took his camera downstairs and took pictures, showing me what needed to be replaced. He suggested waiting until spring to do the outside faucet, but fixed the kitchen sink and sprayer. He took out the faucet and sprayer and installed a new one. I thought he was neat, friendly, and professional, but his pricing was extremely high!

Description of Work
I had low water pressure in the outside faucet and the spray of my kitchen sink.

Category plumbing

5.0

09/11/2015


Sara R.

came very fast, identified the problem right away, fixed the issue and clean and courteous

Description of Work
we had some major plumbing issues

Category plumbing

5.0

05/18/2015


JUDITH J.

For the past month I have been having problems with a leak in my toilet flushing system. I was told at a local hardware store that I could remedy the situation by replacing the flapper myself. However, the situation worsened, so this afternoon I called Zell Plumbing. The owner returned my call within an hour and offered to come to my home shortly after that. He discovered three issues that were causing the problem (a defective flapper, a loose screw and an outdated valve). No more leaking toilet!

Description of Work
Installed new flush valve seal in toilettank

Category plumbing

5.0

04/29/2015


Judy M.

I am a real estate agent who lives on the opposite end of town needing help with drainage issues. I called Les at Zell Plumbing twice and he helped on both occasions. He was prompt, fair and went over and above looking for the water issue. He worked on the sump pump which we hope is going to solve the problem. Les could not have been more attentive to our call and the problem. I would certainly use him again if I needed a plumber in the area.

Description of Work
Filled gap between porch & house - lowered the water level in the sump pump - searched for drainage issues.

Category plumbing,wells

4.0

03/09/2015


SANDRA G.

We use him regularly. He is extremely pleasant and his costs are reasonable.

Description of Work
We had a reluctant toilet that he came to look at.

Category plumbing

5.0

01/16/2015


MICHELE W.

Went very well. Les called me the same day that I left a message. He called before he was on his way. He was happy to look at other things other than what I called him for.The job went fast and he explained what was going on and what he was doing. Les is very nice and I will be calling him again if I need a plumber.

Description of Work
Fixed a leaky toilet and a sump pump

Category plumbing,wells

5.0

01/01/2015


Rita M.

great determined a grandchild must have overflowed the shower or bath and water leaked causing ceiling stain no problems found with pipes or toilet in that room Zell's correct address is not Somerset, WI; it is 27th St N., Lake Elmo, MN

Description of Work
checked garbage disposal educated me how to operate reset button and clean it checked for possible upstairs bathroom leak due to a stained ceiling below that bathroomj

Category plumbing

5.0

12/23/2014


LISA S.

Tub had standing water for a long time (it's a tub used only by guests and rarely). I called Zell and received a call back saying that they could come out the next morning. I have him a tour to show where things are (he wanted to know where second floor bath hooks into basement pipes). Then I went back to work (I work from home). I heard some famliar clanking from above and went up to say that it hadn't occurred to me to check the tub stopper (it's an internal one so not visible to the eye). That's all it was! (silly me) He did some snaking anyway as it hadn't been done in a long time. He also gave me some advice about code requirements not met by such an old faucet system. Good to know. So I guess I'm not really assessing his competency because nothing was REALLY wrong but he was good about it and explained a few other things.

Description of Work
Clear stopped up bathroom tub

Category plumbing,drain cleaning

5.0

12/10/2014


JANET B.

I called for my annual boiler check. While Les was here, I asked if there was anything I should be doing to maintain my water heater. He went over the types of things that could be done but recommended we wait a year or so to do anything more than drain it so the "gunk" was out of the bottom. That is what he did. I look forward to seeing him again next fall but will call if any other plumbing needs come up.

Description of Work
Checked and cleaned my boiler (I have hot water heat) and drained my water heater.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac,plumbing,water heater repair

5.0

08/22/2014


Steve A.

I wanted one leaky pipe removed and remaining pipe rerouted- Completed I wanted both shutoff valves for the outside faucets, which were in the rafters,removed and placed at a lower level so anyone could turn them off. Instead he offered another cheaper solution. He added a new valve close to the floor that handled both upper valves.One of the upper valves was leaking when it was turned on. He merely tightened this one, that's all that one required.. Both outside faucets were leaking as well. Instead of replacing them though, he took them apart and replaced the washers. I'm glad he didn't do everything the way I wanted it done. He found better, more efficient, cheaper ways of doing things. He saved me quite a bit of money. He was punctual, friendly ,competent and honest.

Description of Work
Removed and capped off a leaky pipe.Rerouted remaining pipe. Tightened one of the shutoff valves for one of the out door faucets. Replaced washers in each of the outside faucets. Replaced another valve with a newer , more efficient valve with a bleeder screw.

Category appliance repair,plumbing

5.0

07/29/2014


Robert T.

The installation went great. Les got there on time as he said. During the installation, he educated me and was very personable. In the future, I will definitely not call Roto Rooter anytime in the future. Really appreciated his work. Thanks Les!

Description of Work
Replaced 50 gallon water heater

Category plumbing,water heater repair

5.0

06/26/2014


Chad W.

Les was very friendly and went above and beyond to improve surrounding basement problems. Professional and a fraction of the price we got on two other quotes.

Description of Work
Replaced cracked pipe

Category plumbing

5.0

05/08/2014


Linda H.

I am a repeat customer. Zell has always been responsive, timely, courteous and friendly. Scott has been to my house several times over the years. He is the best plumber ever! He has repaired or replaced faucets, toilets, clogs, replaced water heater. He always does a wonderful job. He is extremely knowledgeable and honest. I know I can trust him, which is especially important as a single mom. Scott has a wealth of knowledge and history of products. He was even familiar with the specific type of sink in my bathroom which was an unusual design from the seventies. He will advise me on my options for repair or replacement and what the cost and future implications are so I can choose the best option for my needs. He was out again this week. He was able to get my pump running again for my well which still feeds my outdoor water faucets. The well and pump are 35 years old. When I turned the water on last week and the pump did don't fire up, I feared the worst. Thankfully, Scott was able to get it working very inexpensively. I am so glad to have Zell for my go to plumbing needs.

Description of Work
Repaired my well pump.

Category plumbing,water heater repair,wells,drain cleaning

5.0

05/06/2014


Marvin K.

He cut the pipe and put the valve in the line.

Description of Work
Installed a pressure valve where the water comes into the house.

Category plumbing

    Other local Pros in your area

    CNO Construction LCC

    With over 20+ years of professional construction experience, we are here to address all your construction needs and dreams. "We are what works for you."  

    Snelling Heating Cooling Electrical

    The Snelling Company is a family owned & operated HVAC business. Since 1931 our company has been providing quality service to Twin City & Saint Paul residents. Additional phone number - (651) 646-7381. Award winning.  

    Rodak Construction

    Rodak Construction was founded in 2008, and everyday my crew and I are inspired by the projects we get to work on. In all of our designs, we strive to find the perfect balance between comfort and beauty. My goal is not only to create beautiful outdoor living spaces, but to improve the way we live. I’m passionate about quality of work, and I always design with functionality in mind.  

    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Ask for details
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover
    Senior Discount
    No
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    All repairs and upgrades, water, gas, drains, RPZ certified, frozen pipes, kitchen & bath remodeling, water heaters, laundry hook-ups, hydronic heating & in floor heat.

    Services Not Offered

    Main drain lines, air conditioning, tile and tub resurfacing, appliance repair.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Zell Plumbing & Heating

    How is Zell Plumbing & Heating overall rated?

    Zell Plumbing & Heating is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

    What days are Zell Plumbing & Heating open?

    Zell Plumbing & Heating is open:

    Sunday: Closed
    Monday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM
    Tuesday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM
    Wednesday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM
    Thursday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM
    Friday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM
    Saturday: Closed

    What payment options does Zell Plumbing & Heating provide

    Zell Plumbing & Heating accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover

    Does Zell Plumbing & Heating offer free estimates?

    No, Zell Plumbing & Heating does not offer free project estimates.

    Does Zell Plumbing & Heating offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Zell Plumbing & Heating does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Zell Plumbing & Heating offer a senior discount?

    No, Zell Plumbing & Heating does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Zell Plumbing & Heating?

    Yes, Zell Plumbing & Heating offers warranties.

    What services does Zell Plumbing & Heating offer?

    Zell Plumbing & Heating offers the following services: All repairs and upgrades, water, gas, drains, RPZ certified, frozen pipes, kitchen & bath remodeling, water heaters, laundry hook-ups, hydronic heating & in floor heat.

    Are there any services Zell Plumbing & Heating does not offer?

    Main drain lines, air conditioning, tile and tub resurfacing, appliance repair.