Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Prescription Heating and Cooling

Founded 2007 • With Angi since October 2008

Minnesota Mechanical Bond #MB004442. North American Technician Excellence Certified (NATE). Member of Air Conditioning Contractors of America (ACCA). After hours emergency service is available. Customer satisfaction is our number one goal.

Business Highlights

Family Owned & OperatedFamily Owned & Operated
24/7 Service Offered24/7 Service Offered
Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
Wears MaskWears Mask

Amenities

Free Estimates
Yes
Warranties
Yes
Senior Discount
10%
Emergency Service
Yes
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
Yes
Licensed
Trade License Number
MB004442
Trade License Locale
Minnesota
Trade License Authority
Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry
Trade License Expiration
01/01/2024
Bonded
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page. Contact pro for more details.

Verified Reviews

4.9

(19) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-19 of 19 reviews
Ian Y.
5.0
01/02/2019
I talked to Mike in the midst of a very bad evening scrambling to fix a broken boiler. Turns out we aren't in their service area, but even after determining that, he still talked me through the problem and offered some advice that set me on the right track to solving the issue. It was the most knowledgeable and useful advice I received all day, and this was a day where I talked to literally 15 different heating contractors. It's a real bummer that we aren't in their service area, because I would not hesitate to call Prescription with my heating/cooling needs in the future.
Description of Work
Boiler repair
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Kristina H.
5.0
09/29/2016
Mike is our hero! We have used him for all of our HVAC issues for over 5 years (and 3 different AC/Heating systems)! I can't shout my praises loud enough! He has always been fair and honest - telling us things like "It's an older system, but it's still working and you don't need to replace it". He could have easily made us believe we needed a new furnace, but instead fixed our old furnace, at a reasonable price, and left us happy and warm! Just recently our A/C went out on a Saturday (during a very warm streak), and I called him thinking he might be able to come out on Monday. To my surprise and delight, he was at my house within 45 minutes, had the problem fixed quickly, and we paid a considerable amount less than I thought we were going to have to fork over, to get things fixed! He has my business and trust and I would never consider calling anyone else with my HVAC needs!! We LOVE Mike ( and I promise, we didn't have any affiliation with him before he looked at the furnace at our old house)!
Description of Work
Mike has looked at & repaired a furnace for us, inspected 2 HVAC systems in a property we were looking to purchase, installed a new furnace system (including impossible to reach duct work), repaired our AC, and in general he has been a godsend to us for all things HVAC related!!!
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Earl B.
5.0
10/30/2015
Since moving to MN, I have found services to be pretty unreliable and inconsistent with all sorts of businesses..... Having said that, I have used Mike on four different occasions. By far - he is the most reliable person I have met in MN. He is prompt with communication, honest with the work that needs to be done, reasonable with pricing and does not try and sell you something you don't need. When he says I'll be there at 8am - he's there. He explains everything and makes sure your experience with him is a positive one. He has earned my business and my trust hands down. I highly recommend him.
Description of Work
Replaced Furnace and repair leak.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Joanne G.
5.0
07/26/2015
All went well. With the latest heat wave with high humidity, it was good to know I didn't need to replace my 13-year old A/C.
Description of Work
Mike got our air conditioner working again. He quickly diagnosed the problem & replaced the bad capacitor. He made helpful suggestions regarding our furnace and humidifier. My air exchange unit has quit working. This fall I intend to involve Mike in its repair.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Eric W.
5.0
06/30/2015
unknown
Description of Work
Boiler servicing
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
DALE C.
5.0
01/09/2015
I spoke with Mike Daine from Prescription Heating by phone today to obtain an estimate on a replacement boiler for our home. Within the first minute of our conversation, he asked what city we live in. For installing new boilers (not for repairs), he needs to be licensed in the city in which we live. He promptly found out that we live in St Paul; a city that he is not licensed to install new boilers in. Instead of ending the call after he found out that he could not sell us a boiler, he continued to speak with me for about 15 to 20 additional minutes. He told when what brand of boilers were good brands to buy and why, he told me when was the best time of year to replace a boiler (We don't need to replace ours immediately... so we're flexible), clarified why we're replacing the boiler and if it is necessary to do so, etc. It was very encouraging to me that Mike would be willing to share his knowledge and experience with me even though he wouldn't be able to sell a new boiler to me. I am writing this review so that other potential customers might consider using him (so that a small, very customer friendly business can continue to exist). There's a reason why this business is rated so highly.
Description of Work
Contacted to obtain an estimate for replacing the aging boiler (heater) in our residence.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Mike S.
5.0
12/31/2014
Mike was professional and very helpful in explaining things I should do to maintain the boiler and improving the heating overall.
Description of Work
The cost is low because the service was covered by a home warranty. Mike came out to see why my boiler lost pressure. He spent a good amount of time checking over the boiler, cleaning up things, etc., but could not determine the cause. When it occurred a second time about 10 days later he came out right away and resolved the problem, a small leak.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
David K.
5.0
12/18/2014
unknown
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Robert P.
4.0
12/18/2014
unknown
Description of Work
Got air conditioning working. A wire was worn through in the ground.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
ben R.
5.0
10/28/2014
unknown
Description of Work
Mike provided us with a free estimate to replace our furnace and AC. He was very thorough in determining what sizes we needed for our home and went over all the questions we had. It only took one full day and a couple hours the next to finish the entire installation and we couldn't be happier with our decision and Mikes work! I loved that all the metal work was done on site. I highly recommend giving Prescription Heating and Cooling a call!
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Tracie T.
5.0
05/29/2014
He was on time, it went very well. I was very pleased with the job and the professionalism. I have not had any issues a month later. He was little more expensive then one of the bids, he came in the middle of the pack. But I picked him because he went over everything in the estimate and was very clear on why I should go with the different options.
Description of Work
He installed a new 96% efficient furnace.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Pamela R.
5.0
02/21/2014
He is the most polite, careful and thorough repair person we've ever encountered. He ALWAYS explains and shows why and what is needed patiently and carefully. He often suggests things that we could do ourselves to make systems work better and save on repair biills. He is immaculate in his work, and always timely. We would give him the highest reference possible..
Description of Work
Mike has helped us many times over the past three years with furnace and ac issues at two propterties.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Gordon W.
5.0
10/12/2013
I have used Prescription Heating in the past and everything went well, as expected. I called Mike and we worked out a time for the visit. He was on time and performed the furnace check up. He explained what was going to happen and provided me with a check list detailing the work performed. Mike is thorough and professional. He is also NATE certified.
Description of Work
Mike provided a furnace check up.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
WILLIAM H.
5.0
10/07/2013
Mike and his assistant were very professional and went above and beyond the call of duty (through spider webs, skunk poop, rat poop, etc.) to get the job done. We got a number of quotes, per Mike's own suggestion, but hands down he was the best choice in terms of price and quality of the work he did! We used his service at our old house and really liked him and he has proven time and again that he is trustworthy and wants to have long term customers and not just make a quick buck. He has made sound recommendations that weren't always in his favor (in terms of him making a quick profit), because he truly wants life-long customers. At our old house he could have told us we needed a new furnace, but he was honest and let us know that it was still in good shape and didn't need replacing despite the fact that it was getting on in years. For our recent service, the other quotes we received all recommended a much more expensive furnace, but Mike was able to explain why those would have been more power than we needed for the space we needed it to cover, and therefore a higher expense than we needed to spend. He has been nothing but kind and professional and has always taken the time to simply and clearly answer all of our questions and help educate us on our heating/cooling systems.
Description of Work
MIke not only replaced our water heater and furnace, but he had to excavate through a 100+ year old foundation to do so.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac, water heater repair
JENNIFER M.
5.0
09/03/2013
Mike is very prompt and responsive, even if you call after hours. The other nice thing is that Mike actually answers the phone and is able to discuss the problems with you on the phone. Mike is extremely knowledgeable and takes the time to go through all the options and explain everything in as much detail as needed to make you feel comfortable with your decision. When we did have him put in our a/c system Mike offered to put our system in on a Sunday morning, no extra charge! We're very happy with our a/c unit and even happier that we have found a great HVAC guy!
Description of Work
Identified leak in the air conditioning system; attempted to fix the leak; installed new air conditioning unit
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Ingrid G.
5.0
12/29/2012
The technician let me know that he would be a bit late due to snowy roads. He spent a lot of time with me telling me what he was looking for in the heating system, venting and gas lines. I knew the furnace and water heater are very old, and they passed the inspection. Because the units will not last too much longer, he told me about upcoming changes to the efficiency of new unites and the requirements/costs that they involve. I felt he understood my concerns and took time to answer my questions and offer details on when I replace the unites.
Description of Work
I hired Prescription Heating and Cooling to performa a furnace inspection that was required as part of obtaining a certificate of occupancy for a new rental.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Joshua W.
5.0
07/04/2012
Called Prescription in the late afternoon of July 4th expecting to have to leave a message and having to worry about our Air Conditioning on one of the hottest and humid days of the year. Mike answered and was on a job, but thought he might be able to swing over between jobs. He called me back within 10 mins and said he would be over to our house in 30mins. 45mins later, Mike had assessed and fixed the issue. He also helped answer some questions we had regarding replacement of our furnace and AC. Very impressed with his service, speed and knowledge. Will for sure be using him again.
Description of Work
Water was leaking into the blower section of furnace. The condensate line from the AC unit was blocked causing the condensate pan to overflow into the lower portion of furnance. Mike cleared blockage and problem was resolved.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
l G.
5.0
07/27/2010
I could tell from the one report on Angie's list that this company was new but was set up to do things right. I was right. He explained everything he was doing and gave quotes on every thing he did. He gave me ideas on how to maintain my equipment better and how to save money on filters. I highly recommend this company - he is a straight shooter. Prescription Heating and Cooling will be doing all of my furnace and AC maintenance from now on. He says he sends out reminders for regular maintenance - another feature I obviously need :)
Description of Work
He thawed the air conditioner which was frozen because I hadn't changed the filter in two years, replaced the filter, checked the refrigerant, replaced the drain line so it will drain somewhere other than where it was - because it was getting clogged all the time (he did this at my request). I was extremely busy filling orders while he was here so he worked and only talked to me with things he needed me to interact on.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
dennis M.
5.0
10/15/2008
Great. Mike is extremely knowledgeable and detail oriented. He explained everything about our system and then a little more. Very neat, instead of replacing our humidifier like other two companies said we had to do, he just leveled unit and cleaned it. I would definitely use his services again (probably for A?C this spring).
Description of Work
Safety and efficiency checkup, and fixed humidifier.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac

Phone

Address

1803 Buerkle Rd Suite 103

White Bear Lake, MN 55110

Other Information

Services offered

Prescription Heating and Cooling LLC services all makes and models of furnaces, boilers, water heaters, humidifiers, roof top units, garage heaters, gas fireplaces, heat pumps, air conditioning, ventilation, and air filtration systems. We represent Luxaire, Honeywell, Aprilaire, Ultravation, Fantech, Weil-McLain, and Rheem Water Heaters to name just a few of the manufacturers of high quality, high efficient heating, cooling, and air quality systems on the market today.

Services not offered

We do not service wood burning appliances or chimney systems, but we will service gas log sets. Free estimates are for new equipment installations only.

Covid-19 update

We are actively performing full services. We are taking additional precautions to protect our customers.

Health & Safety Measures

We will wear masks and gloves when we visit your home
All statements concerning COVID‑19 business operations and essential services are informational only, and are self‑reported and not verified by Angi.

Payment options

Check
Visa
MasterCard
Discover
Financing Available

FAQ

Prescription Heating and Cooling is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

Prescription Heating and Cooling is open:

Monday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Thursday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Friday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Prescription Heating and Cooling accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover, Financing Available

Yes, Prescription Heating and Cooling offers free project estimates.

Yes, Prescription Heating and Cooling offers eco-friendly accreditations.

Yes, Prescription Heating and Cooling offers a 10% senior discount.

Yes, Prescription Heating and Cooling offers emergency services.

Yes, Prescription Heating and Cooling offers warranties.

Prescription Heating and Cooling offers the following services: Prescription Heating and Cooling LLC services all makes and models of furnaces, boilers, water heaters, humidifiers, roof top units, garage heaters, gas fireplaces, heat pumps, air conditioning, ventilation, and air filtration systems. We represent Luxaire, Honeywell, Aprilaire, Ultravation, Fantech, Weil-McLain, and Rheem Water Heaters to name just a few of the manufacturers of high quality, high efficient heating, cooling, and air quality systems on the market today.

We do not service wood burning appliances or chimney systems, but we will service gas log sets. Free estimates are for new equipment installations only.

Other Local Pros In Your Area

Water Heaters Now, Inc.

5.0

(80)

Angi Certified

Water Heaters Now, Inc.

Water Heaters Now! WHN WE SPECIALIZE IN REPLACING WATER HEATERS THE SAME DAY WHILE REPAIRING WHENEVER POSSIBLE. WHN offers Made in USA Bradford White but deals in all major brands of tank style water heaters. We are also a Rinnai TANKLESS dealer. WHN is locally owned and operated. WHN has been in the water heater repair and replacement business for over 10 years. We offer free estimates usually within 15 minutes. If you order by 2 PM, your water heater will be replaced the same day. WHN has a better than average warranty of 3 years on labor and 6 years Tank and parts when compared to industry standard 1 year parts and labor. Call, text, or email for a free quote within 15 minutes.  

PLUMB RIGHT

Angi Certified

PLUMB RIGHT

Plumb Right- is a family owned and operated full-service plumbing company working in the Twin City Metro area since 1988. Winner of the North Dakota/Minnesota Better Business Bureau Torch Award for Ethics 2015-2016. We are committed to providing the best plumbing service at a fair and competitive price and dealing honestly and fairly with our customers. Plumb Right uses a straight forward pricing system with options so our customers always know what the exact price is before any work begins. We offer convenient two-hour appointment windows and answer our phones 24/7 so we are always available if you need us for an emergency. We offer Saturday appointments at Mon-Friday rates. we offer a 100% Satisfaction Guarantee. We offer two-year warranties on all parts furnished by Plumb Right and all labor performed by our technicians on new installations. All our employees are drug tested, background checked and professionally trained. We understand our responsibility to the environment and our community. Our customers have the opportunity to join our membership club that gives you a discount on all services. Fully licensed by the State of Minnesota and carry local city licenses including Minneapolis and St. Paul.  

McQuillan Bros Plumbing Heating and AC is a FAMILY OWNED and operated company that has been SERVICING HOMES SINCE 1883. With a 100% craftsmanship guarantee, you can rest assured knowing your plumbing and HVAC issues will be addressed properly and quickly.