Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

SCHWANTES HEATING & AIR CONDITIONING

Founded 1947 • With Angi since August 2003

4.6

(129) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

6080 OREN AVE NORTH

Stillwater, MN 55082

Description

At Schwantes Heating & Air Conditioning, we have specialized in servicing and maintaining air conditioning, heating, ventilation and control systems since 1947. No other company in the Greater St. Paul Area commits more resources to training their employees and providing quality service to its clients. We pride ourselves on delivering outstanding customer service at competitive rates and installing only the best equipment....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

07/06/2022


Kathryn B.

We were very satisfied with Schwantes. We were new customers, but Dave arranged same day service. Mike was friendly, speedy & very professional. Will use again!

Description of Work
Diagnosis of strange noise; A/C maintenance

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

01/19/2021


Kathleen P.

The Schwantes team turned a stressful and potentially unsafe situation into an amazing, positive experience. My carbon monoxide detector alarms went off at 11:00 am on 1/18/21. I immediately called the Stillwater fire department for assistance. They confirmed that I had a significant problem and called Excel energy which deployed a technician who confirmed my furnace was the cause of the leak. I had to quickly find a heating company in the area who could help me determine the magnitude of my challenge. Within 20 minutes of my call, Mike Rumpf was at my door. He did a thorough inspection and found the challenges with my current furnace were not repairable. He called in a request for a sales consultant to come and give me an estimate and options for replacement. Tim Bachmeier arrived within the hour, discussed my options, gave me a quote and got back to me immediately with the incredible news that my new furnace would be delivered and installed later that afternoon. By 4:00 pm, Dylan and Rock were at my door to take care of the removal and replacement of the furnaces. By 6:10 pm, the job was complete and my home was returned to a safe heating system!! Everyone at Schwantes was professional, considerate, informed and skilled and all wore masks to keep our interactions safe. Kudos to Schwantes for instilling such a high level of customer service at every level of your company ensuring all my future heating and AC projects will be theirs!

Description of Work
Furnace replacement

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

08/16/2019


lynn L.

Joe - the technician did an excellent job. My thermostat was going wacky on the furnace and AC that Schwantes installed two years ago. Joe was on time and made a quick repair which they covered. Thanks Schwantes (and Joe) for the excellent customer service.

Description of Work
Thermostat Issues

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

04/13/2019


Mark J.

After a routine furnace service call, the technician recommended the possibility of replacement in the future. Though it wasn't urgent, we had their sales rep visit and provide an estimate. The information was detailed just enough to help us make an informed decision, but without high-pressure sales. He even downgraded his initial recommendation to a different (and presumably less expensive) unit based on later research as to what would best work in our home. The installation completed by Patrick was a professional job. He was courteous, friendly, and efficient and made the project look clean and tidy when he was finished. The furnace is amazingly quiet compared to the last one and our electricity bill is about $20+/month less due to the energy efficient fan. I am highly satisfied with Schwantes from this experience.

Description of Work
Furnace installation

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

12/22/2018


Michael N.

We returned home after a week away and found we had no heat. I called Schwantes and soon Joe was dispatched to have a look. He identified the problem quickly (the motor was out), gave an estimated time to fix it and then took care of the problem. Joe was curtious, professional, and funny. I’ve used Schwantes for all our HVAC needs over the years. To notch service every time.

Description of Work
Furnace was out

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

12/20/2018


David J.

Great! Joe came the day we called. Arrived right on time. Had me sit with him and review all of the aspects he was checking. It was so valuable to learn about my furnace and how to properly maintain it!

Description of Work
Furnace annual service

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

09/27/2018


Richard P.

I wanted to commend Schwantes' Service Technician Joe Letendre for the excellent service he provided to my home today. He was prompt, personable, professional and obviously skilled in his profession. He took time to answer my questions which will help keep my HVAC equipment working well educated me on recognizing problems which will require service. I would highly recommend Schwantes to other people seeking HVAC purchase/service. Dick Pebler, Maplewood

Description of Work
Furnace Routine Check up, Answer questions about Ventilation, Air Exchanger

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

09/23/2018


Julie H.

Emailed Schwantes on Saturday, they called my husband Monday morning. Work was performed on Wednesday. On time, within budget, everythings working.

Description of Work
Furnace motor/blower replacement

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

07/23/2018


John A.

Presentation and details of their trane furnace and ac were very detailed and informative. They were 1 Of 3 quotes we received. Pricing was competitive even though we were willing to pay more for quality. We had a Trane prior to the new one we have, but the technology is different as they do not use freon, but some other cooling product in the new AC's. We noticed a difference right away in how the new Trane cools. 74 feels like 70 in our home now. Anxiously waiting to see our electric bill next month! The Technicians were professional and on time as well as neat and tidy. We are just waiting for our salesmen to come out and walk us thru our new products to see how we like it. I like that we did not have to come up with any money prior to installation to ensure we are satisfied. We were given additional discount for cash payment on top of the company and energy rebates. Overall, top notch. We will see how the furnace heats this winter.

Description of Work
Air conditioner and furnace

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

05/25/2018


Mike F.

Excellent service from scheduling to repair. I had no air and with 90 degrees days it was getting quite hot in the house. Called and was given a next day morning appointment. Service showed up at 8am and had me up and running in no time. Prompt and Professional. I will be calling Schwantes to look at a new system.

Description of Work
Air conditioning repair

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

05/10/2018


Julie H.

My AC was turning on/off every 1 minute. I called Monday and the service person gave me a 3 hour window today (Thursday). Joe came out, changed the furnace filter to one that is less constrictive and cleaned the AC unit itself. It was $90 for the service call and $100 to clean it. All fixed in less than an hour, professional and informative. Awesome job!

Description of Work
AC was short cycling - fixed it

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

11/29/2017


Deb B.

Everything was great. The installers were good. They did a good job and we were very happy.

Description of Work
We got a brand new furnace installed.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

11/27/2017


Tammy N.

Excellent. Joe showed up on time. He described what he was doing and provided several helpful tips to keep my furnace in good shape.

Description of Work
Furnace tune-up

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

10/25/2017


Kevin F.

Joe Letendre did a great lob....clearly answered a lot of questions I had.

Description of Work
Furnace Check Up

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

10/20/2017


Judith R.

Joe did an excellent job. It is nice to have him come, he knows the boiler and the house, and does an excellent job. He is careful and thorough, a pleasure to have his services. I like that they are prompt and are able to respond to requests in a timely way. Price is right too!

Description of Work
Annual boiler check up.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

09/22/2017


Clinton T M.

Work done in a day. Added additional vent gratis. System works great

Description of Work
Replaced 12 year-old AC system after lightning hit it.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

07/31/2017


Dianne W.

We had used Schwantes previously for a secondary furnace installation and maintenance check-ups. Professional, good explanation of our issues and their recommendations, great installation crews and customer service follow-up. Obviously, this was a large $ set of projects. I give Schwantes a B on price only because on a project like this you would always like to pay less. I have no doubt that we received a 'fair' price for quality products and quality service.

Description of Work
We had two central air conditioning units replaced: a new furnace; and a new hot water heater.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac, water heater repair

3.0

07/20/2017


Stacy H.

Repair person was late and not in a great mood. He replaced the failed part, but he didn't fix the clogged drain tube that was potentially the source of the part failure in the first place. I had to fix that the next day when water continued to pool on the floor.

Description of Work
Fan on furnace repaired.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

07/12/2017


Richard M.

It was fine. They come twice a year. They came in June and then they'll come sometime in the Fall. I have to wait for them to call to tell me when. We've used them for so many years. They're local and we use them all the time. It takes 20 minutes for the service to be completed.

Description of Work
This was just for a maintenance check-up.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

1.0

06/28/2017


Kevin D.

I have been having issues on and off with my Trane central air conditioner unit that was installed by this company in 2010. Almost annually, I have an issue with not enough cooling. The service providers have usually chalked it up to a dirty outside coil (dust, cotton, grass clippings, etc. in the coils). I clean the coil multiple times a year, change the filter monthly, but still have the same issue. From internet searches, this is apparently a common issue with the Trane units with the "spiny" type of coils which are harder to clean. This year was no different and I had an issue with lack of cooling despite cleaning the coil. I decided to call the installing company, Schwantes, out to look at it for a tune-up and hopefully they will properly clean it. They did not have a tech available for the tune-up for about two weeks after I called. My appointment window was noon-3 PM. I waited around until about 2:45 with no call or no show. I called the company and asked for the status. They told me he was still on another job and that I would need to wait about 45 more minutes. I understand that service calls can be hard to predict, but all he had to do was call and let me know that he would be late. As a customer, I should not be the one to have to call for the status. When the tech arrived, he was polite enough but had a bit of an arrogant attitude. He was not disrespectful or unprofessional, but not exactly friendly either. He took a look at the system and cleaned the outdoor coils with a blow torch which I had never seen anyone else do before. He said that it will burn off the debris and then he rinsed it off with a hose. During the tune-up he discovered that the TXV valve was not functioning properly and he recommended replacement. The cost of the replacement would be approximately $650 and he offered to do it on the spot. My AC was only two years out of warranty. Doing a quick internet search for Trane TXV valve will find that it is a known issue and there is even some law firms looking at a class action for the faulty part. Many other popular AC brands use the same part and have similar issues. Anyway, I have Xcel Energy Homesmart which is their repair program. I declined the repair from Schwantes and called Xcel to have them take a look for free. They came out the next week and concurred with the assessment of the Schwantes tech that the part needs replacement. Unfortunately for me, the part was not covered under the repair program. The Xcel tech recommended I call the install company and ask them to give some kind of discount as the AC unit is only 7 years old and these types of issues should not be happening at this point. I called Schwantes who had "Dave" call me to discuss the repair. My goal for the call was to get some kind of discount on the repair. I was not asking for free repairs. I stated my case and from the get-go he was clearly uninterested in helping me. To paraphrase, he did not understand why I would even ask for a discount. He said that I should have had their tech do the repair on the spot and did not understand why I wanted to try to have Xcel do it under their repair program for free. He said something along the lines of, "Why should I give you a discount, when you have been paying Xcel money every month and not paying me anything." He would not even waive the $99 service call charge to have the tech come back out to my house. He did not understand why I was calling in the first place and seemed almost flabbergasted that I would even ask for some kind of accommodation. Again, I was not asking for a free repair, but I was asking for some kind of discount to makeup for the fact that a 7 year old system that I paid $5000 to have installed was already in need of $700 repairs. This company does not stand behind their installations or products and have a generally negative attitude toward good customer service and retention. I will never do business with this company again and do not recommend them for install or service of any kind.

Description of Work
Annual tune-up and issue with inadequate cooling on my central air conditioner system

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Nearly everything [Member Name Removed] claims is a gross exaggeration. 1. He claims that he has had problems with the unit cooling since it was installed. I question that claim since the first time he ever called us for service after it was installed was this year. He also never mentioned having ANY issues with his air conditioner over the years on our phone call. This unit came with a full 5 year parts and labor warranty. In fact, the only reason he called us this year is because the utility company, who he has a service plan with, could not get there quickly enough. 2. The cost of the repair quoted was $419.40 plus $115.48 for a total of $534.88. [Member Name Removed] states the repair was $700. 3. The cost of the system was $3403 and not $5000 as [Member Name Removed] states. 4. The reason [Member Name Removed] declined the repair was because he expected his service plan to cover this repair. At that time we explained that if we had to come back he would have to pay a $90 travel/truck charge and he agreed. 5. The repair was denied by the utility company as they don't cover these types of repairs. 6. When [Member Name Removed] called he demanded that I split the bill with him. He also tried to hold me hostage by threatening to damage my reputation if I did not agree. 7. He is right that I was flabbergasted. I was flabbergasted that he was attempting to hold me hostage. I explained to him that he should be more upset with the utility company than he is me. After all, he has apparently been paying them a hefty monthly fee for years and they won't cover the repair. Yet, he expects me to pay for half of the repair when we haven't had any contact for nearly 7 years. While it is unfortunate that [Member Name Removed] has had a failure of a component of his air conditioner, I think it is important to understand that this equipment is two years out of warranty. In this case, I think it is very clear that [Member Name Removed] is using Angie's List as retribution for not getting a discount on his repair.
5.0

05/24/2017


michelle R.

Wonderful - he was on time and professional. He even sold me some filters for my furnace since they are difficult to buy locally.

Description of Work
I needed my furnace to have the yearly check.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

05/21/2017


Marie C.

Scott Rude, the sales rep, did an excellent job of explaining the Trane products that would be appropriate for my home and preparing a clear estimate of cost. The installers, Brian, Pat, and Chris were prompt, courteous, and professional. The installation site was clean after they left. The only small issue I had was that no one from the office called to confirm the installation day and provide an estimated time of arrival. Also, no one told me that an electrician would be arriving later in the day to do some necessary upgrades. Alone at home, my 98 year old mother was understandably reluctant to let him in, especially given the fact that he arrived in an unmarked van. He was, however, very understanding and kind toward her and completed his work in a professional manner. Would definitely recommend.

Description of Work
Schwantes heating and air conditioning replaced a furnace and air conditioner.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

05/09/2017


Jennifer D.

They’re local and they have helped when we’ve had problems before. They’re reliable. They cleaned up very well. The workers were very nice.

Description of Work
They cleaned our heating system.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

02/14/2017


GLEN G.

They're top notch, our go to people. Their price is comparable with others, they are very responsive. We have the same two guys that have come for over the last four years. The show up during the window time they say.

Description of Work
They came out for a routine maintenance check which also included co 2 testing.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

02/14/2017


GLEN G.

We like them, they know their stuff. They have always been fair and have always given good tips. Very responsive.

Description of Work
They found a faulty circuit and changed the mother board.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

    Other local Pros in your area

    Tony's Plumbing & Heating

    At Tony's Plumbing & Heating, we repair all major brands of plumbing fixtures and hot water heating equipment. Our technicians are fast and friendly to make sure the job is done right every time. We are the foremost choice for plumbing and hot water heating in the Twin Cities. We handle both residential and commercial jobs, including installation, service and repairs. We are conveniently located in Oakdale, MN and serve the surrounding suburbs including, but not limited to: St. Paul, West St. Paul, North St. Paul, Mendota Heights, Eagan, Woodbury, Newport, Cottage Grove, Oakdale, Maplewood, White Bear Lake, Lake Elmo, Stillwater, Bayport, Afton, and Lakeland. When you are looking for help with your plumbing and heating needs, make sure you call Tony's Plumbing & Heating!  

    DuctWorks Heating & Air Conditioning, LLC

    DuctWorks is a small locally owned business. We are licensed, bonded and insured in Minneapolis, Golden Valley and surrounding suburbs. All employees have background checks completed. The following financing options are available: 18 Months Same As Cash - No payments or interest for 18 months!! - other options available - please inquire!  

    Offers by DuctWorks Heating & Air Conditioning, LLC on Angi
    Total Comfort

    We sell different. We service different. Experience the Total Comfort difference, since 1956. If you’re in need of heating and cooling services in the Minneapolis-St. Paul area, Total Comfort is a skilled, award-winning HVAC company that can solve all your needs! From AC repair to furnace replacement, HVAC maintenance, and more, we are here to provide you with trustworthy, quality, affordable HVAC services in the Minneapolis-St. Paul area, from Brooklyn Park to Eden Prairie and everywhere in between! Since 1956, we’ve been doing whatever it takes to ensure each of our customers are 100% satisfied with their heating and cooling service. As a locally owned, customer-focused company, providing honest, quality work to our neighbors in Minneapolis-St. Paul is our #1 goal. Every job we do is performed with respect and courtesy, leaving you satisfied in a more comfortable home! For unparalleled HVAC services, experience the Total Comfort difference now! For top-quality products and service from technicians with the latest industry knowledge, contact us today.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Offers by Total Comfort on Angi

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Ask for details
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, Financing Available, American Express, Discover
    Senior Discount
    No
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Ask for details

    Services Offered

    REPAIR AND REPLACEMENT OF: HEATING, VENTILATION, AIR CONDITIONING, HEAT PUMPS, WATER HEATERS, DUCTLESS AIR CONDITIONING, BOILERS, HIGH VELOCITY AIR CONDITIONING.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about SCHWANTES HEATING & AIR CONDITIONING

    How is SCHWANTES HEATING & AIR CONDITIONING overall rated?

    SCHWANTES HEATING & AIR CONDITIONING is currently rated 4.6 overall out of 5.

    What days are SCHWANTES HEATING & AIR CONDITIONING open?

    SCHWANTES HEATING & AIR CONDITIONING is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 7:30 AM - 4:00 PM

    Tuesday: 7:30 AM - 4:00 PM

    Wednesday: 7:30 AM - 4:00 PM

    Thursday: 7:30 AM - 4:00 PM

    Friday: 7:30 AM - 4:00 PM

    Saturday: Closed

    What payment options does SCHWANTES HEATING & AIR CONDITIONING provide

    SCHWANTES HEATING & AIR CONDITIONING accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, Financing Available, American Express, Discover

    Does SCHWANTES HEATING & AIR CONDITIONING offer free estimates?

    No, SCHWANTES HEATING & AIR CONDITIONING does not offer free project estimates.

    Does SCHWANTES HEATING & AIR CONDITIONING offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, SCHWANTES HEATING & AIR CONDITIONING offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does SCHWANTES HEATING & AIR CONDITIONING offer a senior discount?

    No, SCHWANTES HEATING & AIR CONDITIONING does not offer a senior discount.

    Does SCHWANTES HEATING & AIR CONDITIONING offer emergency services?

    Yes, SCHWANTES HEATING & AIR CONDITIONING offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by SCHWANTES HEATING & AIR CONDITIONING?

    No, SCHWANTES HEATING & AIR CONDITIONING does not offer warranties.

    What services does SCHWANTES HEATING & AIR CONDITIONING offer?

    SCHWANTES HEATING & AIR CONDITIONING offers the following services: REPAIR AND REPLACEMENT OF: HEATING, VENTILATION, AIR CONDITIONING, HEAT PUMPS, WATER HEATERS, DUCTLESS AIR CONDITIONING, BOILERS, HIGH VELOCITY AIR CONDITIONING.