Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

ALEXANDER HOMES

Founded 1985 • With Angi since September 2008

5.0

(14) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

1640 ORWELL AVE N

Stillwater, MN 55082

Description

Alexander Home Exteriors is a locally family owned Roofing and Siding Company located in St Paul, MN. We specialize in Roofing, Siding and Stucco Remediation throughout Minneapolis and St Paul.

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

06/21/2017


Tami M.

It took only a day to do both roofs, house and detached garage. The crew was very efficient. Chris Nitardy is very helpful and answers your questions as quickly as he can.

Description of Work
We had our roof replaced after a hail storm.

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the great review!
5.0

02/04/2016


Michael K.

Description of Work
They did great work. New windows and siding.

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the great rating. Hope you are enjoying your new siding and windows.
5.0

05/14/2015


KIM K.

The stove moved is extremely heavy. They maneuvered out of the house without incurring any damage to the walls or trim. Alexander responded to my time sensitive needs. Chris insured the proper review of the job beforehand so I did not have to be there for the work they did.

Description of Work
Alexander Homes responded in a timely manner to remove a wood burning stove, the chimney through the roof, repair the roof, remove the air intake, repair the siding, and place the stove in my garage.

Category roofing, siding

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], It was great working with you again. Good luck with house hunting. Please keep us in mind for future projects. Thanks for your business. Chris Alexander Homes Inc.
5.0

10/08/2014


Kandrea J.

I called and spoke to Chris. I explained that I had a siding and roof repair. I was conscious of stating that because I knew that many companies didn't even consider repair work because they are too busy with the "big jobs". It so happened that he was going to be in my area that same morning and agreed to come by. The fastest response to an estimate request I had ever had. I explained the roof repair and then when I moved on to the siding, he stopped me and explained he didn't realize it was just a repair job. He must have misunderstood over the phone. It appears as if this company is extremely good at what they do, are in high demand and only want to work on high dollar projects. So, a repair job is not something to pursue with them. I would consider them if I had a full siding or roof job to be done in the future. Chris was very personable, professional and apologetic for the misunderstanding.

Description of Work
Came over to do an estimate for a roofing and siding repair.

Category roofing, siding

Service Provider Response

Hi [Member Name Removed], Thank you for the kind review. Please keep us in mind for future projects. Thanks again! Chris
5.0

05/13/2014


VALERIE R.

Great! Responsive on the detailed estimate and explanation, updates on the install date, 1-day install on a large rambler roof, and clean up. Chris was onsite for the start and managed the repair, and came back at end of day to check the roof, vents, and clean up, then did the magnet and pick up again. The crew was polite, efficient and careful as well and a did a great job on clean up. The repair portion of the project was "ballpark priced" (until they tore into it to determine what was needed), but final price came in lower than we anticipated. Plus we were able to use an Angie's list coupon discount. We were very impressed with the communications and install process. Would definitely use again and recommend for roof and other home projects.

Description of Work
Tear off, roof repair in sagging area (add rafter supports, new plywood), new ice and water barriers, new roof shingles, new vents & valley color matched, add roof edge flashing, clean up, haul away.

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], Thanks for the positive review... I really appreciate it. Please keep me in mind for any future projects that may come up. Thanks again! Chris Nitardy Alexander Homes Inc
5.0

04/10/2014


Tracy A.

Chris and his team have successfully completed 4 or 5 projects at our home over about a 5 year period, including a large interior remodel. Chris' attention to detail and integrity can be summed up with this story, told to me by one of his sub-contractors: he said Chris is tough to work with because he is so picky, but that he continues to work for Chris because he always pays on time. This is just the kind of guy I can trust with my home projects!

Description of Work
Interior Remodel, Window and door replacement, exterior trim work, new deck, new roof

Category remodeling, roofing

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your great review. I really enjoyed working with both of you. Thanks again!
5.0

10/24/2013


Don L.

It was great! The team arrived on time on the day agreed to and after the roof was put on (in one day!) my yard was COMLETELY cleaned. They also use a device that removed all nails from the yard. Chris is great to work with and very professional. If you need a new roof get this guy. Ny neighbor also had his housr done a few days later. The price was good too, I had some estimates and negotiated with Chris and was VERY happy with the price.

Description of Work
Complete roof tear off and replaced with new shingles.

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

Thanks for the great review. We really appreciate your business. Please call us if you need anything: 651-436-6916. Thanks again!
5.0

09/30/2013


Jue H.

Chris was very knowledgeable, informative and communicative throughout the entire process. The level of detail and knowledge he possess made the process so easy and main reason why we decided to go with him. Though his price came out slightly higher than other bids we received, we felt his area of expertise was worth more than saving a few hundred dollars. Chris came out on time, assessed the area and provided his drawings on what the gutter system should entail, provided constructive recommendations and legitimate reasons why. His attention to details such as color we should go with on downspouts to match the sidings of the house and pointing out what eye sores to watch out for was very much appreciated since this was our first time having a gutter system installed. On the day of installations, his crew introduced themselves and asked if there was any special instructions. I did ask them to stay off the neighbors grass as much as possible since our landscaper had just been there and there was a lot of tread marks from their wheel barrows. The crew members agreed and worked around to ensure not to damage anymore yard, they cleaned up after themselves. I would highly recommend Alexander Homes.

Description of Work
Alexander Homes installed a new gutter system for us.

Category gutter repair

Service Provider Response

Thanks for the great review. I'm glad your gutters are working well. We look forward to building your deck next spring. Please call us if you need anything: 651-436-6916. Thanks again!
5.0

09/04/2013


Kristin B.

Right away I started to relax when I met Chris. He was attentive and a good listener. He did not confuse me with asking me questions that I could not answer and, rather, made me feel like he was going to listen to me and help me at the same time. He did not use high pressure sales tactics or fear tactics by telling me that my insurance company appraisal was not adequate. He was thorough and calm and reassuring. Throughout the process he was organized and communicated each step to be via e-mail so there was no phone tag. He quickly got me my estimate and provided documentation and phone calls to my insurance company when needed. He was fair with his pricing and a creative problem solver. His team worked in a professional manner and cleaned up my yard very nicely. When asked to do yet more paperwork for my mortgage company, he did so in a prompt and professional manner. The quality of the work was excellent and the customer service outstanding.

Description of Work
Alexander Homes helped me with my roof and ceiling following storm damage. They were willing to replace only half a roof as my other side had been done recently. They also helped me restore the interior of my kitchen. They did a nice job working with both me and my insurance company.

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

It's been a pleasure working with you [removed member name]. Thanks for the great review. We really appreciate your business. Enjoy your new roof. Thanks again!
5.0

07/12/2012


Sallie & Denny H.

see above

Description of Work
Remove old shingles. Replace with new. New gutters and downspouts. New trim moulding around garage door and service door. All phases of construction were coordinated by Chris in a timely manner. We were extremely satisfied with the quality of the work and Chris' attention to detail. He made sure everything was spotless and to our satisfaction. Chris returns calls immediately and shows up when promised. I would highly recommend Alexander Homes.

Category gutter repair, roofing, siding

Service Provider Response

(removed member name), You were both wonderful to work with. I love your shingle selection...it realy complements your home. Thanks for the outstanding review! Chris Alexander Homes Inc.
5.0

07/02/2012


STEVE E.

After looking at many roofers, I chose Alexander Homes to do my roof because his price was almost the lowest but the deciding point was that he promptly called me back when I would call him, and how he planned for the extra item. On the job his handling of the extra item ( cutting a hole in the roof to let the asbestos people in and out ) and then after the job was done he carefully went over the yard looking for any waste material ( nails broken shingles etc) that may have escaped his other clean ups. Chris did an excellent job. As for the actual job I was amazed at the speed at which the roof was stripped, repaired, repapered and shingled. His crew showed up on time, 7:00 am and they were gone by 8:00 pm their work was done and there was not a trace of them. Excellent job Chris !

Description of Work
Chris was hired to strip and reshingle my roof. He was also expected to assist the Asbestos guys in creating a hole in the roof so the asbestos guys could move in and out of the attic without passing through the house proper.

Category roofing

5.0

09/23/2011


Mary D.

Grea, great, great

Description of Work
He was there the day I called for an estimate and the work was completed in a timely manner. Absolutely no problems and he was a pleasure to work with! He gave me information about the types of shingles that I had used and were very poor performers and told me I did not need to replace the shingles of my garage at this time. Honest, reliable and a joy.

Category gutter repair, roofing

5.0

11/14/2008


KIM K.

Chris did the work on time and on estimate. He did a very professional job, from working with me, the insurance adjuster, the roofers, and the gutter contractor. The work was very well done and I am sure the quality of the work is first rate.

Description of Work
Chris replaced my roof and gutters damaged by hail.

Category gutter repair, roofing

5.0

09/04/2008


LANCE A.

Very professional. Extremely clean. They caused no damage to the landscape. Communicated well throughout the whole process. They worked well with the insurance company. The workers were polite and hardworking. They followed up extremely well. A nice, local family man runs the business.

Description of Work
They tore off the old roof and replaced it with new tar paper and asphalt shingles.

Category roofing

    Other local Pros in your area

    RC Seamless Gutters

    There are plenty of gutter service companies but none can match the sheer ability, knowledge, and value that RC Seamless Gutters delivers. Active in the area for over 10 years, we're a full-featured gutter services firm that strives to keep prices low for our local clients. We offer 5in, 6in, 1/2 round, copper, galvalume, and zinc gutters. Our company was built on respect for our customers and you can see that in every job we do. Caring about quality, explaining the process, and never taking shortcuts. When you want gutters done right, RC Seamless Gutters is the one to call. Call (855)283-8742 or (715)268-4877 to discuss your gutter installation options.  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    LWL Construction

    Our projects include anything from deck building, home additions, kitchen remodels, bathroom remodels, basement finishes, ect. Not only do we provide superior design and craftsmanship, we also pride ourselves on educating our clients throughout the remodeling process. We have over 50 years of construction experience.  

    Angi Certified

    Viking Contractors LLC

    Viking Contractors LLC Has years of industry experience and professional knowledge restoring damaged roofs. We identify, evaluate, and provide full-service repairs for hail and storm-related losses to get your life back to normal as quickly as possible.  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    General Remodeling
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa
    Senior Discount
    2%
    Warranties
    Ask for details

    Services Offered

    ROOFING, SIDING, REMODELING, HAIL & STORM DAMAGE REPAIRS and STUCCO REMEDIATION.

    Services Not Offered

    Flat roof and metal roofs

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about ALEXANDER HOMES

    How is ALEXANDER HOMES overall rated?

    ALEXANDER HOMES is currently rated 5 overall out of 5.

    What days are ALEXANDER HOMES open?

    ALEXANDER HOMES is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Saturday: 8:00 AM - 7:00 AM

    What payment options does ALEXANDER HOMES provide

    ALEXANDER HOMES accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa

    Does ALEXANDER HOMES offer free estimates?

    Yes, ALEXANDER HOMES offers free project estimates.

    Does ALEXANDER HOMES offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, ALEXANDER HOMES offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does ALEXANDER HOMES offer a senior discount?

    No, ALEXANDER HOMES does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by ALEXANDER HOMES?

    No, ALEXANDER HOMES does not offer warranties.

    What services does ALEXANDER HOMES offer?

    ALEXANDER HOMES offers the following services: ROOFING, SIDING, REMODELING, HAIL & STORM DAMAGE REPAIRS and STUCCO REMEDIATION.

    Are there any services ALEXANDER HOMES does not offer?

    Flat roof and metal roofs