Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

A&E Painting LLC

Founded 2011 • With Angi since December 2012

3.6

(57) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

1665 Orleans St W

Stillwater, MN 55082

Description

Additional DBA - A & E Painting LLC. We are a small but mighty, efficient and equipped professional Painting company. We strive to walk in excellence not error. though any small mistakes will be corrected pro actively.

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
3.0

08/07/2014


Julie D.

I scheduled the service in November for January. The day before my appointment I was called and told they were unavailable to come on the day that was scheduled. And had to reschedule the appointment for a later date.

Description of Work
Removed upper wall paper and border on a small bedroom

Category wallpaper removal, interior painters

3.0

07/07/2014


Thomas B.

Elisha had done some painting work for my neighbor and she recommend him to me. When his $99 wall paper removal special was posted I jumped on it. Elisha arrived on time but did not have the supplies need to start the job. He asked that I pay the trip fee and the fee for materials up front. Over a cup of coffee we discussed the job and I told Elisha that I just wanted the wall paper removed and that I did not plan to paint the bathroom until spring or summer as money was tight. I gave Elisha a check and he left to deposit it immediately and buy a gallon of DIF gel wall paper stripper. Upon his return he got right to work. I found it odd that it would take him 4 hours to strip a small bathroom of wall paper. He finished in about 3 hours. He did clean up but the walls still had paste on them and were not ready to be painted. I got the feeling that Elisha was using the $99 wallpaper removal special to drum up business for his painting side of the business. Having see the job he did for my neighbor I would not hesitate to hire him for a painting job but it seems his heart is not in wallpaper removal.

Description of Work
Removal of wall paper in a bathroom

Category wallpaper removal

4.0

05/08/2014


Katharine W.

Elisha did fair work in our three bedrooms during one day. The colors were dark red and blue against white trim work, which is why I hired the work given the difficulty. The paint work was clean for the most part. There were a few small areas in the corners that could have been cleaner, but the white trim work looked great when he was done. I did have to ask him to return to touch up one of the rooms as the old paint color was showing through. (Which was strange because he used a primer and two coats of paint over light tan paint.) My biggest complaint with my interaction with Elisha was his timeliness and punctuality. We had to reschedule his work day three times before he actually showed up to do the work. He did say that his lack of a vehicle contributed to his scheduling and rescheduling. However, it would have been nice to have a heads up call when he was unable to make it as I lost time waiting for him to show up. Overall, he did nice work when the work was finally finished

Description of Work
Painted two bedrooms and one wall in a third bedroom

Category interior painters

3.0

04/03/2014


Mary L.

OK on large-scale efforts, not so well on details. Elisha recognized the wall needed taping and did a generally good job of smoothing them. I did spend time afterward sanding and repainting some lumps, cleaning paint off wood and carpet, and touching up missed spots.

Description of Work
Stripped wallpaper, painted.

Category wallpaper removal

2.0

03/29/2014


R T S.

We responded to a coupon offer on Angie's List which was for four hours of wallpaper removal for $99. I have removed wall paper from several rooms here, and I thought the current job would not take a professional contractor more than about four hours. It sounded like a good deal. I paid $99 by credit card to Angie's List, and Mr. Elisha Davidson came to assess the job. He said that it would be better to cover the wallpaper with a thin layer (skim) of lightweight joint compound. He said the walls were not flat, although I could see no evidence of that here or in the other rooms where I had removed wallpaper. The price for his method was $503. Having never tried skimming myself, I agreed even though it was against my better judgement. However, I wondered if the $99 offer was just a come-on. The job took three days. In the end, a lot of sanding was required on our part after the job was done. This was due to rough spots left by his trowel. We didn't notice this until after he had gone. For $500 I thought that the walls should be ready to paint. I paid half the price up front. I paid the remainder when he was done. I asked for the senior discount of 10% and Davidson took 10% off ? off the second check (the remainder) only, that is. Only later did I realize that, in effect, I got only a 5% discount because of that mistake. Additionally, when I got my credit card statement, I also realized that the $99 I had paid originally had not been subtracted from the $503 price that was quoted. Mr. Davidson is a pleasant enough fellow who will spend more time talking than working if you are inclined to listen. I don't believe he is very good with numbers. He said that the contents of his truck had been stolen recently. Because of that, we had to lend him a basic tool which he didn't have. Since the $99 for the coupon was paid to Angie's List, I am requesting that they reimburse me for that amount.

Description of Work
Skimmed and primed over about 100 sq. ft. of existing wallpaper in a small room with plaster walls.

Category wallpaper removal, interior painters

4.0

03/25/2014


Sarah C.

It was okay. First of all, he said he couldn't take off the wallpaper because my filling was too high and it was about eight feet. What he could do is paint it. After trimming the wallpaper, he painted it. He did a pretty good job. It wasn't a great job but he was a nice man. He got the job done.

Description of Work
I used the Big Deal and wallpaper removal service of A&E Painting LLC.

Category wallpaper removal

1.0

03/24/2014


Steven B.

It should be clear from the above response that it did not go well at all. I feel like I have been the victim of a scam artist.

Description of Work
The provider took my check to the bank, Cashed it. Made a mess of my walls, and never returned.

Category interior painters

Service Provider Response

I arrived on the the scheduled day and the job was much larger than voucher would cover. I worked two days totaling 14 hrs i removed wallpaper,primed and did two skimcoats of mudd. i took a afternoon break and the door didn't latch all the way, so it was cracked open approximately onr minute later the home owner ran up to my truck motioning me to roll my window down, I opened my door he said i had left the door open and he did not want to pay for the ##### heat cost, he was aggressive in his tone and body language it was threatening, i apologized. I did not have the ambition to work with some one who treats people that way . His deposit was 240.00$. Material cost with fuel was 165.00$ i have a written contract to show these numbers so I moved on, there was no apology from him or ownership in his actions then he asked me to make sure to let some contractors in that he had scheduled and he couldn't be there to let them in. i walked off the job yes, i also deducted the cost of his voucher as-well, it is in my written contract. too bad i cant scan it and upload it here.
4.0

03/05/2014


Christopher H.

Mari, his wife, scheduler and liaison with Angie's list said all refunds are handled via Angie's list. Please refund our $99.

Description of Work
Elisha said he could not easily remove the wallpaper and it would be a minimum of 40 hours to remove with great difficulty and expense. Instead, he gave an estimate of prime, mudd, prime and paint which we are not ready to do within the expiration time of this Big Deal offer.

Category wallpaper removal

2.0

02/26/2014


Abner Y.

Overall it was a negative experience. Scheduling: I bought the offer on 11/8/2013. They reached out via Angie?s list email and scheduled me for 2/11/2014. When the date came there was no communication, no reminder etc.. I called them a few days before and asked if we were still on and they said yes. I asked if there was anything I needed to prep, and the woman told me something about having wallpaper remover chemical ready but she didn?t recall the name. I took the day (2/11/14) off from work, went to the store and bought the recommended chemical and waited for Elijah to show up. Day of service: Consultation: Elijah showed up around 9:15 looked at the kitchen told me it would take approximately 12 hours to finish. He quoted a price of $355.00 I was hesitant and reluctantly agreed. He said I would have to pay half upfront and the rest when he finished. Again I was hesitant and reluctantly agreed and wrote him a check for $167.50. So next he went off to the hardware store to get the wall paper remover, as I had purchased the wrong one. (Remember: they never mentioned what chemical I was required to purchase prior to the day of service) Elijah then was gone for about two hours, I was sitting around the house just waiting and waiting. No phone call or other communication. I started wondering if he was even coming back. Actual work performed: Elijah showed up around 11:45AM and got to work. He started on one end of the kitchen and kept stopping to complain how this wasn?t what he expected, and how my wall paper was put up wrong. I agreed it was difficult but kept encouraging him to keep going. He then would stop again and try to convince me that I should just paint over the wall paper and the he could do a great job. I was getting so frustrated I tried to help him, so it could get done faster. While doing so I realized that he wasn?t scoring the wall paper and the chemical wasn?t getting thru the paper to loosen the glue. He said that wasn?t a good method and kept going. After about two hours of working he stopped again and said he would have to re-evaluate his estimate and that it would take approximately 18-20 hours to do. At this point I suggested he stop, give me back my check for half and the cost of the material. He then told me that he had already cashed the check and that wasn?t usually done in the industry. To his credit he gave me the value of the check, minus the material he bought in cash. Overall, other than the time wasted waiting for him, he was professional and was personable. I have since scored the wall paper and removed about 90% of it in about 6 hours. Suggestions for improvement: 1. As part of his consultation, he needs to evaluate the wallpaper and give an accurate and realistic estimate of what it would take to do the job. 2. Tell the customer that 4 hours is just a teaser rate, and most work will take longer. They had scheduled me for two days, but they didn?t mention it to me. 3. Tell the customer what chemicals are required so he can show up and get to work. 4. When he starts, start on a hidden corner (i.e. behind fridge) so that if job doesn?t go well you don?t have a half done kitchen like mine.

Description of Work
I bought the offer “$99 for Four Hours of Wallpaper Removal” to have the wallpaper in my kitchen removed. He worked for 2 hours and barely made any progress.

Category wallpaper removal

3.0

02/24/2014


James B.

The service was fine but he never gave me a breakdown of the work that was invovled and what my $99 credit was for. He could not tell me where the credit came in so I was not satisfied with that. He had me make the check out to him personally and not his business name as well. However, the results of the work he did were fine.

Description of Work
I purchased the big deal for $99 for Four Hours of Wallpaper Removal.

Category wallpaper removal

4.0

01/29/2014


Karla F. H.

Work was just fine. Two months ago (when I paid) he offered 2 dates. I picked one. Didn't hear back. Two weeks before first date I called. He said he had to check. Didn't call back. 3 days later I called again. Said he lost my number. Showed up w/o product he needed. I went to get it to save time. Other than all that inconvenience, the work was just fine.

Description of Work
Removed wall paper in bedroom.

Category wallpaper removal

4.0

01/23/2014


William W.

Removed wallpaper from kitchen and painted the kitchen walls where the wallpaper had been

Description of Work
I purchased a BigDeal from A&E Painting LLC.

Category wallpaper removal

5.0

01/17/2014


Carolyn A.

Very punctual and professional. Worked around my schedule. Could not properly inspect work at completion. When inspected, found bits of wallpaper here and there and found spray over from the ceiling in a few spots. Called, promptly returned to correct.

Description of Work
Removed wallpaper in kitchen and paint ceiling in kitchen and adjoining den.

Category wallpaper removal, interior painters

5.0

01/08/2014


Sheila J.

Removed wallpaper and filled holes. Painted bathroom and 2 walls.

Description of Work
I used A&E Painting LLC.

Category drywall, wallpaper removal, interior painters

4.0

12/22/2013


Sheila J.

The service provider did a good job and finished up the area in only half the time I had paid for. He said he would contact me to come back and put in the rest of the time on another room but he has not contacted me yet. I am still waiting to hear from him.

Description of Work
I used A&E PAINTING LLC

Category interior painters

2.0

12/21/2013


Chana F.

I thought it was good till my husband came home from out of town and pointed out that there was no tape used and therefore there is paint over all the tile bordering the painted area. Also that irregular areas on walls were not all smoothed out. Nevertheless Mr. Elijah was very pleasant to deal with.

Description of Work
I used A&E Painting LLC.

Category interior painters

5.0

12/19/2013


Chuck S.

The whole project was bigger than I anticipated, but he honored his quote and even spent time working on Saturday & Sunday to finish on schedule. He arrived on time, was willing to touch up areas needing extra work, and cleaned up afterward. We wanted to use him to remove the rest of the wallpaper & paint upstairs but ran out of time and budget for now. We would have him back.

Description of Work
Elisha used my Big Deal Coupon to remove wallpaper from the front hall/entryway. Since it did not take the full 4 hours, he offered to prime and paint as well for the same price. We then decided to use him to prep and paint the downstairs bathroom and family room plus spray ceilings.

Category wallpaper removal, interior painters

4.0

10/12/2013


Jenna S.

The company came out this morning to give me an estimate and wanted to charge me more than what big deal was. So, I have decided not to use this service provider.

Description of Work
I bought a big deal through Angie’s list for drywall repair.

Category drywall

2.0

10/09/2013


RUTH W.

There were weather delays because of rain in June. We asked him just to wait until September so we could use our porch this summer. He said September would work. He came out and looked at the porch and said that it would be $250.00 more than cost of the deal that was okay with us. However, he was supposed to come on Monday and he called and said he had to meet with this attorney. He pushed the date back to today but he didn't call or show up or email. I'm not sure what happened but I called and told him we did not want him to do the work any longer. We have an event at our home the end of this month and wanted this done before then. It is an oil based stain and takes two weeks to dry he said.

Description of Work
I purchased a Big Deal for $199 for Professional Deck Restoration -OR- 1 Room of Paint.

Category deck cleaning

4.0

09/18/2013


PAM C.

They did a really good job. They deck looked very nice when they finished.

Description of Work
I used the "Big Deal" that I purchased for the services of A&E Painting. They restored the deck.

Category deck cleaning

5.0

08/26/2013


Joseph O.

Elisha is friendly and competent.

Description of Work
Textured ceiling and painted walls in master bedroom.

Category drywall, interior painters

5.0

08/24/2013


Andrea S.

They were great. They came twice, the second was around August 8. We had had the deal and I think we had a little more work done, I think I paid them $100 extra. The initial four hours was done by an employee who was no longer working at the company but the business owner was very responsive and came back and checked the work and took charge of the job. The first worker kind of left a couple places that needed more attention. He's just a very responsive business owner. The price was fine, it was a good deal.

Description of Work
They did wallpaper stripping, painting and ceiling repair.

Category wallpaper removal, interior painters

5.0

07/25/2013


JOHANSSEN K.

It was an Angie's List Big Deal that I purchased. They did a good job at the end but there were some delays in coming out to provide the services because of the weather. According to them, the deck as in a bad condition so I needed to pay some more money because the coupon was not enough to do the job.

Description of Work
A&E Painting painted the deck for me.

Category house painters, interior painters

2.0

07/22/2013


Jeanne L.

When the work was finally done, it was done well.

Description of Work
The cleaning work was started in May and we did not have our deck stained until late July. I know it was been rainy, but communication from the company left something to be desired.

Category interior painters

Service Provider Response

Weather was a factor we had approximately 6 weeks of rain, we were able to strip and clean floorboards. The weather broke during that time I had 15 emails of communication with the wife. I arrived on the first good day which was a Sunday morning at 10:30 am, I knocked on the door as I'm in painter whites and have a color stain book open in my hand, I introduce myself by name, she says sorry were not interested and proceeds to shut the door. Then realizing what she did I was instructed to go around back and work. I had been asking for a color confirmation for a week, I came back and rang the doorbell 15 minutes later to go over colors no responce, I then went to my truck and sent a email waited another 30 minutes still no reply. I got a email at 4:30 pm instructing me to do the spindles and rails, I gave that additional cost in the beginning it was declined, not an issue. The response was my price was high etc. I was emailed again if I did not come on the day she picked I was fired from.the job and a bad review will be given, yet still no color confirmation. I was contacted by the husband which whom I coordinated with in the beginning, I was given apologies and he went on line and picked the color, I came out the fallowing day and finished. I wasn't the person she expected to see in business for himself at the end of the day, as I have witnessed this in her treatment I still finished my commitment and word to stain the deck floorboards our agreement.
3.0

07/08/2013


Barb S.

Elisha is very nice but we were disappointed with the quality of his patching and his painting. I was out of town so when I got back I called him and told him we were not happy with the quality of his work. He responded immediately and came back and redid some of the work at no additional charge and it looks much better. I thought his quick response and professionalism were great.

Description of Work
We signed up for a Sheetrock patching deal and ended up having him paint also. He did some taping and mudding also.

Category drywall, interior painters

Service Provider Response

The garage was the issue, I came into a garage that the sheetrock and ceiling were coming down. I also noticed the previous seems were not sanded, they were painted over. I instructed them there was only so much I could do. The house is going on the market and it's a garage I was told. I moved forward it was late February early March, there was a furnace so the temperature was held at 70 f°; I was finished so I informed Mr. A.m. he said the work was great wrote a check and invited me and my family to his dinner table out of state as I have family where they relocated too. I got a call a month after I was done and they are not happy, the water and heat had to Have been turned off , all the seems cracked and shifted. I fixed them not wanting a bad review, I pulled a seem out in the garage sealing to find out only four nails attaching it to the studs, I put approximately 12 sheet rock screws in no charge and skimmed it. I the said I was finished labor hr spent 16 fixing there negligence. I am thankful that I get an opportunity to rebuttal. I also have photos aswell. The end result is my labor was witnessed as my grace and obedience, I learned to take refuge and still walk in his righteousness.

    Other local Pros in your area

    Anderson Painting

    Anderson Painting winner of the Super Service Provider Award seven years in a row. We pride ourselves on the quality of our work and the cleanliness of our worksite. We service the eastern Twin Cities and western Wisconsin. My name is Daniel Anderson. I am the owner and I work on every one of the projects. If you mention you seen us on Angies List you will receive 10% off labor.  

    Angi Certified

    Offers Coupon

    Complete Custom Painting

    Complete Custom Painting offers interior and exterior residential and commercial painting in the Twin Cities and Seven Country Metro Area. Since we were founded in 2005 we have completed hundreds of paint jobs. Our experience is second to none. Our company has a history of maintaining a quality, detailed relationship with its customers. Every bid we give to a customer includes a well thought through description of the work to be completed. We take into consideration the homeowners goals and objectives and customize their job to achieve their desired result.  

    Angi Certified

    Offers Coupon

    Angel JR Painting

    We are providers of painting services in the Minneapolis area. Our mission is to maintain the highest quality and professionalism from start to finish. We are confident in our results because all our jobs are custom needs to each home. We strive for the highest degree of quality products and workmanship. During the years in business, Angel JR Painting has satisfied many customers. It is our reputation of quality work, professionalism and customer service that our customers continue to rely on us for their needs. To understand the needs and expectations of our customers, we take great care to work and communicate with every customer in a professional manner. We base our reputation on service, safety, and quality. Contact us today and find out how we can meet all of your painting needs! Additional phone number: (612) 388-3646  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Offers Coupon

    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check
    Senior Discount
    10%
    Warranties
    Ask for details

    Services Offered

    All Painting or staining applications residential and commercial. We offer interior and exteriors as well.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about A&E Painting LLC

    How is A&E Painting LLC overall rated?

    A&E Painting LLC is currently rated 3.6 overall out of 5.

    What days are A&E Painting LLC open?

    A&E Painting LLC is open:

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    What payment options does A&E Painting LLC provide

    A&E Painting LLC accepts the following forms of payment: Check

    Does A&E Painting LLC offer free estimates?

    Yes, A&E Painting LLC offers free project estimates.

    Does A&E Painting LLC offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, A&E Painting LLC offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does A&E Painting LLC offer a senior discount?

    No, A&E Painting LLC does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by A&E Painting LLC?

    No, A&E Painting LLC does not offer warranties.

    What services does A&E Painting LLC offer?

    A&E Painting LLC offers the following services: All Painting or staining applications residential and commercial. We offer interior and exteriors as well.