Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Jason Black Landscaping

5.0

(42) Verified Reviews

Founded 2015 • With Angi since April 2015

Awards and Badges

Angi Super Service Award badge
Super Service
Award 2020
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

Hours

Monday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Tuesday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Wednesday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Thursday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Friday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Saturday
8:00 AM - 2:00 PM

Company Contact

PO Box 616

Shakopee, MN 55379

Description

Owner/designer Jason Black has 24 years of professional design/installation experience and holds a Bachelor’s of Science from South Dakota State University in Landscape Design....

Verified Reviews

5.0

(42) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

42

4

0

3

0

2

0

1

0

Rating Details

Price

4.9

Professionalism

5.0

Punctuality

5.0

Quality

5.0

Responsiveness

5.0

Read reviews by category

lawn & landscaping (42)hardscaping (16)mulch delivering (9)lawn care (8)stone & gravel (7)Patios (2)
Showing 1-10 of 42 reviews
5.0

10/05/2021


Anne S.

Jason and his crew were reliable, knowledgeable, polite, and very punctual. The work was done exactly the way it was described to us. His turn around time was very fast, and the quality of his work was excellent. We would highly recommend Jason for you landscaping needs.

Description of Work
We hired Jason to install a paver patio, regrade an area of land, and lay sod.

Category landscaping

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/04/2021

5.0

10/01/2021


MATTHEW G.

Jason created a great plan for the space around our home after a major addition. His bid was competitive. Jason was onsite with his team for most of the project overseeing the installation. They laid plastic and river rock in areas along with mulch in others. Plantings were then added. We are really happy with the finished product and are planning to use Jason in the spring to do additional plantings in other areas of our yard and to install a water feature.

Description of Work
New landscaping post-remodeling

Category landscaping

Cost $7,772

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/11/2021

5.0

11/21/2020


John L.

Perfect. Jason was extremely easy and pleasant to work with and did an excellent job. He actually did more than we contracted for, and at no extra cost. He was also good about letting us know when he would be at our place. We will definitely hire him for future projects.

Description of Work
Backyard landscaping that included thirty-some stone steps down a steep hill, plus some retaining walls, tearing down some old landscaping, and an 8x10 flagstone area at the top.

Category landscaping,pavers, gravel,hardscaping

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/18/2020

5.0

10/09/2020


Allie W.

Jason and his team are a joy to work with. They have performed landscaping services for us since 2019 and I will never use another landscaper; he's created dedicated, lifelong customers in us. I would recommend him and his team to anyone. They are priced right, honest, good communicators, and get the work done in a timely manner; that's huge in home projects. Most important, Jason really listens to what the homeowner wants and isn't afraid to suggest alternate ideas if the homeowner's idea can't or won't work for various reason. He truly wants your lawn, driveway, patio, or whatever work he is doing, to turn out beautifully -- and it always does. Give him a call today!

Description of Work
Landscaping, both hardscaping (drive way and sidewalk pavers) and plants, mulch, and edging

Category landscaping,lawn service,mulch,hardscaping

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/07/2020

5.0

08/05/2020


wanda L.

Jason and his crew were a pleasure to work with. They were very reliable and worked hard. Jason is very professional, communicated well, and was flexible when we asked him to modify a couple of our plans at the last minute. His written bid was itemized, very detailed, and fair in price. I have no reservations about recommending Jason Black Landscaping to others! Very pleased with the quality and pricing of his work.

Description of Work
Removal of rock and edging material from existing landscape on all sides of the house. Extend and modify previous landscape area and replace all rock and edging as well as backfill with soil. Regrade slope and extend and upgrade timber wall on one side of the house. Plant bushes on the corners of the front of the house. Install sod in several areas of the yard. Put concrete steppers outside patio door and at the base of the steps coming off the deck.

Category landscaping,pavers, gravel

Cost $6,225

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/05/2020

5.0

08/01/2020


Holly C.

They did an excellent job. Lots of complement.

Description of Work
new landscape for front yard

Category landscaping

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/01/2020

5.0

07/01/2020


John N.

Wow, an incredible job. It started with a beautiful design by Jason, which was then implement by Jason and his team. Jason was able to quickly adapt to changes and additions in the plan. I looked at six other companies, and Jason by far offered the best design and value. His team was very friendly and all were willing to answer any questions I had.

Description of Work
Landscaping around home

Category landscaping,mulch,hardscaping

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/01/2020

5.0

06/19/2020


Wendy C.

We wanted to replace our current rock/plants around front yard and side of house, as well as remove/replace some bushes in the back yard. We asked Jason to suggest design with little to no maintenance. He gave more thought to the design than some other designers who also gave higher estimates. The plants should flower at different times, and have nice color contrasts, and be easy maintenance for someone who doesn't want to pay for annual landscaping upkeep. We are very pleased with the design, quality of work, outcome, and value for what we paid.

Description of Work
residential landscaping

Category landscaping

Cost $5,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/05/2020

5.0

06/18/2020


BOB & LINDA W.

In April Jason came out to look at our projects and get an idea of what we wanted to have done. The next day we received a drawing and an estimate via email. Last week (June 10 right on schedule) he and his crew removed dead shrubs, rock, timbers from the front yard and dead shrubs from the backyard. They put several new plants and soil in the front and replanted some shrubs we had. They put in a low boulder wall and mulched the area in the front yard. In the backyard they planted seven new shrubs .They left the work area tidy when the day ended. On the first day we asked Jason to replace some sod in the backyard and transplant a couple of plants and put in new ones (not in the original plan, but he was very willing to do the extra work). .An area of the paver patio in the backyard had sunk with time. His crew removed the sunken pavers, leveled the area, cleaned the pavers, and put them back in the original pattern. The patio looks like new. The crew was very pleasant and worked hard. All of this was done in two days! We have worked with three different landscapers over the years, and Jason was the best. He was very hands-on and his attention to detail was impressive. Jason was extremely easy to work with and very accommodating. We highly recommend him and would use him again in the future.

Description of Work
Shrub removal and replacement, mulch, sod, paver patio repair

Category landscaping,lawn service,mulch,hardscaping

Cost $4,100

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/10/2020

Images

Review for Jason Black Landscaping - PO Box 616, Shakopee, MN - 38652879

+5 More

5.0

06/17/2020


Colleen F.

From start to finish our experience was outstanding. From our first communication with Jason (he called back within a day!), setting a time to walk through our yard, understanding what we wanted/needed, a fair estimate, right down to the landscape team was professional and did great work. The work they did was top-notch, courteous staff, efficient and overall the end product looks great. At the end of their work day, Jason walked us through all that was done and gave instruction and recommendations to maintain our new, refreshed landscape. We would for certain hire the company again.

Description of Work
Trees planted for privacy, new shrubs, everything trimmed, new mulch

Category landscaping,lawn service,mulch

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/17/2020

Services Offered

Owner/designer Jason Black has 24 years of professional design/installation experience and holds a Bachelor’s of Science from South Dakota State University in Landscape Design. We provide consultation, custom design, fire pits, water features, pavers, retaining walls, patios, planting, mulching, trimming, sod, and more!

Services Not Offered

Ask for details

General Information
Free Estimates
Yes
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
Yes
Payment Options
Check
Senior Discount
No
Warranties
Yes