Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

English Stone

Founded 1991 • With Angi since March 2011

5.0

(52) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

1742 Dominion Ave.

Shakopee, MN 55379

Description

English Stone is a second generation, Minnesota based, stone and brick mason company; owned and operated by the professional stonemason Joel Forsberg.

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

07/29/2018


Julie P.

Joel was great! I reached out last fall, just before the first snowfall. I sent Joel a few pictures and he provided an estimate via email within a day. He also sent several pictures from similar jobs to give me an idea of what the finished project would look like. The team that did the work was polite and cleaned up the work area each evening. My new steps look fantastic! Well worth the money.

Description of Work
My 115 year old house was badly in need of tuck pointing and new front steps. Everything was in such bad shape that it was actually embarrassing to request an estimate.

Category masonry

5.0

06/06/2017


Stephen P.

Joel Forsberg came out as soon as he was called, seemed excited by the project, proposed an excellent design, and manipulated his calendar and crew to get my work in by the time I needed it. I sought other estimates, which ultimately were lower than Joel's (which is why I marked a "B" in that column), but Joel's demeanor, enthusiasm, and assistance gave me the confidence to go with his firm. Chris and Dane came out to do the work. They seemed to share Joel's enthusiasm and were not only professionally skilled, they were also friendly and informative, explaining all their decisions throughout the process. I am more than pleased with the final outcome: its design and function greatly improve the garden area. I would definitely go back to them!

Description of Work
Landscaping and stone steps replaced

Category landscaping, masonry, pavers, gravel, hardscaping

5.0

09/12/2016


Howard M.

Joel did an admirable job fixing my bluestone front steps. He replaced the leading edge stones on each step with a thicker, more stable stone to prevent loosening of the treads. He shored up the risers to make each step height more uniform and raised the level of the walkway to a more appropriate height for the stoop. Filled in the seams between stones with polymeric sand. When the construction was done, someone came back to acid wash the steps for a cleaner look.

Description of Work
Replace bluestone on front steps, shore up base, raise level of walkway to appropriate height.

Category hardscaping

5.0

01/30/2016


Lawrence C.

Joel and his team completed the job timely within the original timeframe quoted. There was an issue with the original stone selected and Joel promptly alerted me then worked to find the right match. Joel was able to match the stone and repair the wall with quality craftsmanship, quickly. This was something that several other contractors failed to do. I appreciate Joel's professionalism and quality work. I am pleased and would definitely refer him to anyone and use his services again in the future.

Description of Work
Repaired stone siding wall of house.

Category pavers, gravel, hardscaping

5.0

11/04/2015


Paul N.

Joel and his team were very responsive and extremely pleasant to work with. Work was high quality, and they were careful of the surrounding furniture and floors.

Description of Work
Placed thin brick veneer on pillars in basement

Category masonry, hardscaping

5.0

09/17/2015


Patty T.

Joel is very knowledgeable about the entire process. He directed us to avoid potential problems with our suggestions by expanding the retaining wall directly to the garage and not compromising the footers for the front porch. He even suggested using a white stone to play off the white trim work on the house. The job site was a mess for a few days (slight weather delay which nobody can control). The wall and garage look so much better than we had hoped. It gives the entire front of the house a look that is so much better than it previously did. It makes me smile every time I come home and see the new stone work. If you need a top-notched stone mason that knows his stuff Joel is the guy to call.

Description of Work
Remove old timber retaining wall and replace with mortared stone. Also removed the old brick from the front of the garage and replaced with mortared stone. Removed sidewalk and installed drain tile from the downspout on the side of the garage with a pop-up drain in the lawn to divert the rain water.

Category concrete repair, landscaping, masonry, pavers, gravel, hardscaping

Service Provider Response

Hi [Member name removed]. Thank you for the nice review. I just want to let you know we did put the flashing on. It is the black rubber looking material that is against the siding. Maybe your husband didn't know that that's what that was. Thanks for the business.
5.0

01/24/2015


Ronald W.

The entire project went very well from my perspective. Joel contacted me promptly to set up a date for installation and directed me to his stone provider to select the stone. Outstanding selections and variety of stone available. On the appointed day, Chris and Joel showed up at 8:00 a.m. They tarped off their work area, set up their equipment and went to work. They spent most of the day putting the stone work in place (I never realized the creativity and artistry involved in selecting pieces), cleaned everything up and left completing the job in one day. I can't say enough positive about their work, creativity and professionalism; they did a very nice job. The end result is a beautiful fireplace with a stone facade; makes me ashamed I waited so long to get it done. I would recommend their work to anyone. I am very happy with the work, the price and ease in arranging the work.

Description of Work
Joel and Chris installed a stone facing on a family room fireplace.

Category masonry, pavers, gravel, fireplaces, hardscaping

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for the positive feedback [member name removed]. It was a pleasure to work for you. Have a wonderful week.
5.0

01/22/2015


Ashley S.

Joel did a wonderful job!! I was extremely impressed with his responsiveness, professionalism and the quality of work he did. I would definitely hire him again, and would recommend him to family and friends.

Description of Work
Joel removed two stone shelves from above our fireplace, and replaced them with stone that matched the existing fireplace. He matched the stone and grout perfectly! You can't even tell that the shelves were there. He also hung our tv wall mount above our fireplace and worked with us to help figure out the proper dimensions of the wall mount above the wall.

Category fireplaces

5.0

01/14/2015


Robert S.

The company was fine to work with, though no services were performed. The product that they were going to install is not what I was looking for.

Description of Work
.

Category masonry

5.0

11/03/2014


Roger B.

We can see why Joel and his company are in such great demand. The project went very smoothly from estimate to completion. We wanted to remove an unsightly boat deck that had been built up on a hodgepodge of wood frames between two garages and replace it with a distinctive patio. Joel's team removed the back fence using a Sawz-all, demolished and hauled away the deck, dug down several inches using a bobcat and shovels to level the ground, added what appeared to be several inches of compact base, and then installed a mixed bluestone patio with an angled opening to the yard. The bluestones themselves are beautiful, and very thick. Due to the dry fall weather, they were able to get to our project early and, with a double team of 4 overseen by Joel himself, were able to complete the work in one day. Joel and his team were very courteous and mindful of our years. I was expecting the project to do major damage to the yard and/or to scar the garage foundation, but the work was very precise and clean and inflicted almost no damage to either. We love the new "outdoor room" and are only sorry that we have to wait until next spring to put it to good use/show it off.

Description of Work
Demolished an old rotting boat deck and replaced it with a 9.5' by 28' bluestone patio

Category hardscaping, patios

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the work [member name removed]. We really appreciate being able to make you and your wife happy with this project. Hope you enjoy the patio for many years to come. Have a Happy Thanksgiving.
5.0

06/21/2014


Edward S.

Better than expected. The new buttresses loo great, match the house even better than the old ones. Team was on time an did the job in 1.5 days. Cleaned up thoroughly and we're very professional.

Description of Work
The decorative buttresses on the front of out 1928 south Minneapolis home were turning into a pile of rubble. Joel's team has replaced the with new ones.

Category hardscaping

5.0

06/18/2014


Matthew E.

With the surprise of the extremely affordable bid on the front wall we expanded the project to a blue stone patio and more rock walls in back. The project could not have turned out better. We have received so many compliments about the work done it is crazy. It really makes the house look so much better. Our return on investement will be fantastic, the curb appeal is through the roof. I would hire these guys again in a second!!

Description of Work
Came out for estimate on front wall. On time and very professional. Estimate was way lower than I thought, planning on having work completed early this fall. Was given a list of previous projects, many within a short drive from our house, the work speaks for itself, outstanding. Price was so low that I am expanding the project!! Now that is an awesome surprise.

Category hardscaping

5.0

04/10/2014


Conor J.

Everything went very well. Service was quick, and professional. Everything was built exactly how I wanted it.

Description of Work
Built a stone retaining wall and front steps.

Category hardscaping

5.0

01/31/2014


Joseph M.

Joel and the crew from English Stone were incredible to work with. From the initial consultation through the completion of the job everything went as planned. The way Joel helped guide our vision for our front walk and steps, made it feel like he was working with us, not for us. The attention to detail in the work was great, and we really got the feeling that not only are they great at what they do, but they love doing it. I can't recommend them enough. We are looking forward to working with them again this summer!

Description of Work
Removed front concrete steps and walkway. Replaced with stone.

Category hardscaping

5.0

12/18/2013


andrea L.

They did a fantastic job! Chris & Kris who did the work are great at what they do! On time, professional, cleaned up great. Would highly recommend!

Description of Work
Took fireplace from the 1980's and updated with Bouldercreek stone. Did stone on two fireplaces. Upstairs fireplace they tore out old hearth and replaced with new hearth stones and all new stone. Basement fireplace built up hearth, added stone and mantle.

Category fireplaces

5.0

11/27/2013


Ken T.

Project turned out great. We worked directly with the owner Joel who was very responsive in setting the initial appointment and seeing the project through to our satisfaction. Joel takes great pride in his craftsmanship. Many people have the typical paver patios all of which look the same. If you want that custom unique look go with English Stone.

Description of Work
Blue stone patio with Fonda lac circle inlay and 10 foot stone sitting wall.

Category masonry, hardscaping, patios

5.0

11/11/2013


Paul H.

He called back in a timely manner about his schedule until Dec. l, 2013. He suggested making a visit and project estimate in mid-March, which I found reasonable.

Description of Work
He made a phone respone to my online inquiry about an onsite estimate.

Category landscaping, masonry, hardscaping

5.0

08/27/2013


Timothy C.

Joel is easy to work with, has good ideas, and is quick to respond via email or phone. They began the job a week EARLIER than planned so we were pleasantly surprised. They were worth the money. The crew showed up every day ready to work. They didn't let on if they were annoyed when I bombarded them with questions. Nice guys and good experience all around.

Description of Work
English Stone replaced our front door steps with stone, covered old brick with new stone veneer, enlarged our back yard patio, and added a new, beautiful stone step for our deck.

Category landscaping, pavers, gravel, hardscaping, patios

5.0

08/21/2013


James M.

We met with Joel Forsberg to discuss our needs. He is very personable and knowledgable and understood exactly what we needed and had pertinent suggestions about materials. His experienced employees did an excellent installation job. There was a complication with a less important step in the job that involved spreading a small layer of concrete along the top of the stones that were at the base of the house. The problem was that it unexpectedly rained before the concrete dried, causing a film of concrete on face of the stones and making the concrete topping uneven. Joel responded quickly and removed the film. He also installed a mailbox post gratis in compensation. Great response. I noticed a crack on the side of the chimney that was allowing water to damage a wall inside the house. (This was not caused by the English Stone crew) I asked for help two days ago because we expect a thunderstorm tonight and Joel sent someone this morning to repair the crack. Great follow-up service. We have received many compliments on the new look of the stonework.

Description of Work
Rebuild deteriorated stone work around stoop and base of the front of the house.

Category landscaping, pavers, gravel, hardscaping

5.0

06/03/2013


Benjamin C.

It went very well. English Stone was very responsive to the price requests and other questions I had throughout the process. I tried to use the Big Deal. Although my stone replacement did not fully apply, English Stone did provide a discount off their full price. English Stone was able to provide example photos of what the stone replacement would look like ahead of time. English Stone also met all of their schedules for completing the work. I was very pleased with the process and the end result of the stones.

Description of Work
Replaced the dolomite stones on the steps on the entrance to the house.

Category masonry, pavers, gravel

5.0

05/31/2013


Bobbie H.

They were absolutely wonderful! I would highly recommend them. They performed quality and thorough work. I was very impressed with the results.

Description of Work
I purchased a Big Deal for a stone fireplace with installation and materials included.

Category masonry, pavers, gravel, fireplaces

5.0

05/30/2013


Thomas B.

They did work on our front steps and on tuckpointing. I would have liked a better job on the tuckpointing but they did fine on the front steps and the back steps. They were very good, they were young guys. They did a lot of heavy work. They came across a few surprises during the job but they did a good job. They gave me estimates for all 3 jobs and I gave them the okay and they did all 3.

Description of Work
I last used English Stone in May of 2012. I had purchased a Big Deal for one job and had them do 3 jobs total.

Category masonry, pavers, gravel

5.0

05/24/2013


GARY H.

They did a very good job. They had a great angle turn in it and matched the landscape by the garage. It took him about three weeks longer then it could have but I wanted it that way because I wanted the concrete curried the right away. You want to to rest for a little bit.

Description of Work
I used English Stone to put in a retaining wall.

Category masonry, pavers, gravel, hardscaping

5.0

03/25/2013


Scott H.

Joel was very responsive with my many email questions, and he was able to install a few days after choice of stone. His installers were courteous and did a good job covering floors, limiting mess, and cleaning up. Unfortunately (through no fault of English Stone), I discovered that the stone they were installing was the wrong color. The supplier had mistakenly given them the wrong stone. Joel and his guys were very apologetic, as was the supplier. As soon as the new stone came in, they were back at my house installing the new stone, with no expense to me. Another note - my hearth turned out to be deeper than the standard hearthstones, so they had to fabricate custom stones to fit. Again, no additional expense to me. They were able to install everything in less than a day. My fireplace looks great. I would definitely recommend English Stone to anyone and would use them again in the future.

Description of Work
I took advantage of the $899 stone fireplace Big Deal with English Stone. They installed new stone, backer board (and installed new studs), and a new hearth to my fireplace.

Category hardscaping

5.0

01/29/2013


Bonnie N.

I took advantage of the Big Deal that was offered by English Stone and was extremely glad I did. It was the first time I used Angie's List and was so impresssed with the service. Joel is so easy to work with, very responsive, very professional, on time, and I could go on and on. The work was done so perfectly that it looked like it was meant to be there. I couldn't stop admiring it!!! I would HIGHLY recommend English Stone for any job you have. You won't be disappointed. I woould rate them an A+++++++++. That's saying something because I'm normally very picky about things.

Description of Work
I had ledgestone put around my fireplace. I used the Big Deal offered and paid a little extra to have some additional work done.

Category masonry, fireplaces, hardscaping

    Other local Pros in your area

    Kali Concrete

    Our business has been family owned for 40 years. We bid our own jobs and our company completes the work. Our owner is on every job! We work with a 5-7 person crew to control the quality of our work. We specialize in concrete driveways, sidewalks, patios, decorative, stamped, color concrete, curbs, footings, & commercial projects. We arrive on time and clean up our projects upon completion. KALI will do the little extra's because we care about the work we do. It would be our privilege to discuss your upcoming projects. Let our professionals help you cross these projects off your to do list! We are completing our 2022 scheduled projects. We will start bidding projects for 2023 in the middle of November.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2022
    FORM & POUR CEMENT WORKS

    5 EMPLOYEES. NO SUBS. COST IS DETERMINED BY THE JOB. NO TRAVEL CHARGES.  

    Aurora Asphalt & Concrete

    Asphalt & Concrete Contractor. Driveways, Concrete Aprons, Asphalt/Concrete Driveway Additions, Asphalt Sealcoating, Patios, Sidewalks and more. Stamped & Colored Concrete also Available.  

    Offers by Aurora Asphalt & Concrete on Angi
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check, Visa, PayPal, Financing Available
    Senior Discount
    5%
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    We do exterior landscape walls, steps, patios, walkways, pillars, waterfalls, fireplaces and more. We also do indoor floors, fireplaces, and veneer. We can demo and haul away old concrete, dirt, trees, block, etc. We can work with your designer or help you design your own project. We also do Landscaping, edging, and lighting. We build new or repair.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about English Stone

    How is English Stone overall rated?

    English Stone is currently rated 5 overall out of 5.

    What days are English Stone open?

    English Stone is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    What payment options does English Stone provide

    English Stone accepts the following forms of payment: MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check, Visa, PayPal, Financing Available

    Does English Stone offer free estimates?

    Yes, English Stone offers free project estimates.

    Does English Stone offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, English Stone offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does English Stone offer a senior discount?

    No, English Stone does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by English Stone?

    Yes, English Stone offers warranties.

    What services does English Stone offer?

    English Stone offers the following services: We do exterior landscape walls, steps, patios, walkways, pillars, waterfalls, fireplaces and more. We also do indoor floors, fireplaces, and veneer. We can demo and haul away old concrete, dirt, trees, block, etc. We can work with your designer or help you design your own project. We also do Landscaping, edging, and lighting. We build new or repair.