Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Scandia Heating & Air Conditioning

Founded 1973 • With Angi since April 2007

4.4

(16) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

21260 Olinda Trl N

Scandia, MN 55073

Description

Scandia Heating & Air Conditioning is a customer focused heating and air-conditioning company that was originally started in 1973. Located in Scandia, MN, we employ highly trained people whose goal is to make our company the best service company in Twin Cities Minnesota and Northeastern Communities. Our company specializes in designing, engineering, and installing complete comfort systems for owners of existing homes and buildings just like yours. We take special pride in the craftsmen we train and employ--a fact you'll notice immediately in the attitude and integrity they bring to your job site. Our entire company works hard to make your experience with us hassle-free and enjoyable. Should we make a mistake, we will do everything in our power to correct it to your satisfaction. From the professionalism of our sales engineers, to the dedication of our field personnel, we are dedicated to delivering you the best. We take our responsibility very seriously when you place your trust in us. We pledge to always tell you up front what your cost will be to complete your job correctly. We make it a point to go over any details or limitations of the proposed system that will affect your enjoyment of the end result. You are told exactly what to expect up front. Give us a call for your service needs and see what you've been missing....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

12/26/2018


Randy E.

Scandia Heating and Air Conditioning is prompt with estimates, contract specifications and completion of the work. Scandia completed two projects for us. The first was installation of a mini-split air conditioning system for an area that could not otherwise be cooled. The second was replacement of the entire AC/Heating system and installation of a new water heater. Scandia’s was one of four estimates on the mini-split system and although not the lowest cost, we were impressed with their promptness, perceived competency and thoroughly specified contract. JR and the crew set an early date, showed up on time and in short order had the system installed including some rewiring. The team made sure we understood the system and it worked well. Over winter it did lose some coolant and they immediately returned and trouble shot the system and it has worked well ever since. Great service followup at no expense to us. Because of such great installation and service on the mini-split, we of course made Scandia one of four estimates on the larger HVAC and water heater project. Again, JR was prompt and thorough with the estimate and in discussion of what would be the best approach. We went with Scandia on the project and the crew again showed up on time and very quickly removed the old system and fit in the new one. They took the time to explain the new control system to us before leaving. During an especially cold time a few months later, we made a service call to better understand system moisture and temperature control. Scandia came immediately and explained the solution. One year out, we decided to expand the system and Scandia was back with another unit and completed the upgrade in two hours one morning. Both new systems had energy rebates and Scandia filed the paperwork needed for us to claim them. Excellent service again. Scandia is an excellent firm. They are prompt with estimates and work. Their service is topnotch and timely. The installation and service reps are great to work with. We highly recommend Scandia for design, installation and service of heating and AC systems.

Description of Work
Scandia completed two projects for us. First, we installed a mini-split AC system. A year later we replaced the entire Heating and AC system and installed a new water heater.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac,water heater repair

5.0

08/24/2017


Paul H.

Staff arrived on time and completed work as requested. Very professional installation team! Care was taken to avoid any damage or dirt in my house on install and removal. We have high efficient Furnace and AC now. I would recommend them to others. Better pricing compared to other estimates I had obtained for same equipment. Quality and affordable.

Description of Work
New Trane Furnace and AC

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

07/31/2017


Mark N.

The first time I turned the air conditioner on after they installed it did nothing. It turned out that mice had eaten through the wiring in the outside air conditioner. They came out and fixed it and gave me some advice to prevent that from happening. They actually had to replace one of the circuit boards downstairs because of what the mice had done. The price was fair, I did some checking around and they were spot on. They were prompt and I had no problems.

Description of Work
They repair wiring in the air conditioning unit.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

12/14/2016


Sheila S.

Service person arrived in three hours, several hours quicker than promised, which was great. He assessed and tested and tweaked the radiators and furnace and discovered that yes, it was slightly frozen, but also full of too much air, the water was low, and someone had turned off an important valve that bleeds out the extra air. He fixed it all up in about a half an hour and the radiators are now warming up.

Description of Work
Our second floor was 10 degrees colder than the first floor and the hot water radiators were stone cold, we suspected they were frozen.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

3.0

01/02/2016


Larry G.

Claimed our 11 year old furnace was rotten out. Put CO2 meter in the chimney and showed that the CO2 went off the scale. This is normal operation of a furnace. All the CO2 is to go up the chimney. This is a scam. We replaced our furnace due to it not being reliable, every year that we have owned the house we have had furnace problems. The original installer went out of business. The installation of the new furnace looked good, I watched. The furnace they installed had a bad blower fan that they make two trips back to their shop to get a good fan.

Description of Work
Checked our furnace due to not starting. Found the problem and repaired it.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

03/19/2015


Dick A.

We are very satisfied with this company! They are very good!

Description of Work
We have them out many times for projects!

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

07/15/2013


Mark N.

I received 4 different estimates for replacing my heating and air and Scandia was the least expensive for a full Trane system. They were punctual, courteous, professional and did a fantastic job. I would not hesitate to recommend Scandia Heating to anyone. Great job JR!! Mark

Description of Work
Installed a new furnace and air conditioner system

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

2.0

07/17/2011


GEORGE D.

We're seniors on a fixed income and when my husband's Parkinsons got so bad he couldn't work, we decided to build our retirement home. Little did we know the real estate bubble was ABOUT to burst, but by the time our new home was underway and our old home was on the market, the burst was in full bloom. Our new home was completed in January 2009, and it wasn't until the first heat spike in spring that we realized our air conditioner wasn't working. My husband's meds don't work when he is overheated, so we put in an emergency call to our builder. He hunted down the guy who had installed the furnace and air conditioner, who added coolant and said he'd forgotten to do that when he installed them because it was winter. He disappeared forever right after that. There is no trace of his business. In the spring of 2010, when the heat did returned, our air conditioner again failed to cool. Since we couldn't find the guy who installed it, we checked Angie's List and found Scandia Heating and AC who were close by and had a report with an A rating (even though the person said their prices were high.) We live about 40 miles from a large city, so ratings are thin out here. We called and were thrilled they could come right out. The people were polite and cheerful, put covers over their shoes while in the house, and they said they often needed to fix the work done by new construction HVAC people. They needed to completely fill the AC with coolant at $75/lb of coolant ($750.00). We gulped hard at the price, but paid it. Spring of 2011 brought a repeat of failed AC, but this time they only needed to half-fill the unit. Said this was costing too much to continue refilling it all the time, and have given us the recommendation to replace the AC completely (the bid is for $4314 to replace.) When we called other HVAC people in the area for comparison bids, we discovered the current rate for the coolant used in our AC should be $15 - $18/lb instead of the $75/lb we've been charged by Scandia. This isn't just a higher price that the others, it is 4-5 TIMES what others would charge us.

Description of Work
On 5/24/10 (Air Conditioner)- Replaced cap on A-coil, added 10 lbs R410A coolant ($750), added dye for leak check ($120), service call ($75.00) TOTAL ($945) On 6/4/10 - Installed new humidistat ($150), Checked for AC leaks, found none. TOTAL ($150) On 1/31/11 - Turned water panel around on humidifier to prevent leaking ($15) Service call ($75) TOTAL ($90) On 6/6/11 - Added 5 lbs of R410A coolant ($375), looked for dye leak but found none. Service call $75) TOTAL ($450)

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

07/28/2010


Patty B.

The work done by them was okay and our experience with them has been satisfactory. They billed us and I paid them and it has been working. They were good overall. My husband was here and he was satisfied. Their responsiveness was fine. I called them and they have to call me back. They set up a time and they came when they said they were going to come out. The woman who set up the appointment and the person who I paid the bill to were both fine. I would use their services in the future too.

Description of Work
We used the services of Scandia Heating & Air Conditioning in spring for inspecting our air conditioning system since we had some problems with it. They also did a little repair work on the AC.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

2.0

06/30/2010


GEORGE D.

These guys were GREAT! First off, they came within 24 hours of our first call. Our house is just over a year old, but the HVAC installers had done a horrible job. We didn't have any humidification this past winter, and when spring arrived, the air conditioner didn't cool. They found connections that had been left "finger tight" and all coolant had escaped. Came back two more times to check that there were no more leaks. They also replaced the humidifier controller and tested that things would work correctly. They put on shoe covers when they stepped inside, were incredibly professional and efficient in everything they did. We found out that they overcharged us for this service from other service providers.

Description of Work
Recharge air conditioner with Puron, and inject with dye. Find and tighten all air conditioner fittings. Replace non-functioning furnace humidifier control.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

    Other local Pros in your area

    Water Heaters Now, Inc.

    Water Heaters Now! WHN WE SPECIALIZE IN REPLACING WATER HEATERS THE SAME DAY WHILE REPAIRING WHENEVER POSSIBLE. WHN offers Made in USA Bradford White but deals in all major brands of tank style water heaters. We are also a Rinnai TANKLESS dealer. WHN is locally owned and operated. WHN has been in the water heater repair and replacement business for over 10 years. We offer free estimates usually within 15 minutes. If you order by 2 PM, your water heater will be replaced the same day. WHN has a better than average warranty of 3 years on labor and 6 years Tank and parts when compared to industry standard 1 year parts and labor. Call, text, or email for a free quote within 15 minutes.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Total Comfort

    We sell different. We service different. Experience the Total Comfort difference, since 1956. If you’re in need of heating and cooling services in the Minneapolis-St. Paul area, Total Comfort is a skilled, award-winning HVAC company that can solve all your needs! From AC repair to furnace replacement, HVAC maintenance, and more, we are here to provide you with trustworthy, quality, affordable HVAC services in the Minneapolis-St. Paul area, from Brooklyn Park to Eden Prairie and everywhere in between! Since 1956, we’ve been doing whatever it takes to ensure each of our customers are 100% satisfied with their heating and cooling service. As a locally owned, customer-focused company, providing honest, quality work to our neighbors in Minneapolis-St. Paul is our #1 goal. Every job we do is performed with respect and courtesy, leaving you satisfied in a more comfortable home! For unparalleled HVAC services, experience the Total Comfort difference now! For top-quality products and service from technicians with the latest industry knowledge, contact us today.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Offers by Total Comfort on Angi
    DuctWorks Heating & Air Conditioning, LLC

    DuctWorks is a small locally owned business. We are licensed, bonded and insured in Minneapolis, Golden Valley and surrounding suburbs. All employees have background checks completed. The following financing options are available: 18 Months Same As Cash - No payments or interest for 18 months!! - other options available - please inquire!  

    Offers by DuctWorks Heating & Air Conditioning, LLC on Angi

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Financing Available
    Senior Discount
    No
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Ask for details

    Services Offered

    Annual Maintenance, Steam Humidifier, Ductwork Modifications, Residential Zoning Systems, Moisture issues, Air Filter, Protective Remote Monitoring Devices , Surge Suppressors & Lightning Arrestors, Carbon Monoxide Detector, Additional Return Air Runs, Digital Setback Thermostat

    Services Not Offered

    Over-the-counter part sales.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Scandia Heating & Air Conditioning

    How is Scandia Heating & Air Conditioning overall rated?

    Scandia Heating & Air Conditioning is currently rated 4.4 overall out of 5.

    What days are Scandia Heating & Air Conditioning open?

    Scandia Heating & Air Conditioning is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 7:30 AM - 4:00 AM

    Tuesday: 7:30 AM - 4:00 AM

    Wednesday: 7:30 AM - 4:00 AM

    Thursday: 7:30 AM - 4:00 AM

    Friday: 7:30 AM - 4:00 AM

    Saturday: Closed

    What payment options does Scandia Heating & Air Conditioning provide

    Scandia Heating & Air Conditioning accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Financing Available

    Does Scandia Heating & Air Conditioning offer free estimates?

    Yes, Scandia Heating & Air Conditioning offers free project estimates.

    Does Scandia Heating & Air Conditioning offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Scandia Heating & Air Conditioning offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Scandia Heating & Air Conditioning offer a senior discount?

    No, Scandia Heating & Air Conditioning does not offer a senior discount.

    Does Scandia Heating & Air Conditioning offer emergency services?

    Yes, Scandia Heating & Air Conditioning offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Scandia Heating & Air Conditioning?

    No, Scandia Heating & Air Conditioning does not offer warranties.

    What services does Scandia Heating & Air Conditioning offer?

    Scandia Heating & Air Conditioning offers the following services: Annual Maintenance, Steam Humidifier, Ductwork Modifications, Residential Zoning Systems, Moisture issues, Air Filter, Protective Remote Monitoring Devices , Surge Suppressors & Lightning Arrestors, Carbon Monoxide Detector, Additional Return Air Runs, Digital Setback Thermostat

    Are there any services Scandia Heating & Air Conditioning does not offer?

    Over-the-counter part sales.