Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Tim Kunkel Electric LLC

Founded 2013 • With Angi since April 2013

4.8

(23) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

1622 Van Buren Ave

Saint Paul, MN 55104

Description

We are a locally owned and operated full service electrical contractor. Located in Saint Paul, MN, we pride ourselves on high quality electrical installations with a focus on the future needs of our customers. We are highly skilled in troubleshooting and take our knowledge of what goes wrong into

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
James X.
5.0
07/03/2020
Tim has always answered my calls right away and been able to get in super quickly. He replaced the 60 amp breaker in our early 1900s house with a 200 amp breaker and addressed a lot of code and safety issues. He did everything in one day and cleaned up after himself. He's been quick to respond on subsequent jobs and has even helped me over the phone when I've done things myself. Highly recommend!
Description of Work
Replaced our breaker box, redid some old wiring
Category
electrician
DANIEL M.
5.0
01/06/2020
I called Tim to schedule some help. He told me to check all the QFC outlets in the house. One did need to be reset. That solved the problem.
Description of Work
I had four electrical outlets that did not work. The circuit breaker panel indicated no problems.
Category
electrician
Chase T.
5.0
04/20/2018
Jack arrived on time, got to the work and wrapped up as estimated. He even listened to my jokes and laughed!
Description of Work
Install two Ring.com floodlight cameras
Category
electrician
Sally J.
5.0
03/09/2018
Tim did an awesome job! Everything connected neat and tidily, sweeping up after himself and even putting an extra GFCI on the panel for free! Hired Tim to replace my service panel, upgrading it from 100 amps to 200 amps and get rid of my udersized, underpowered, improperly wired and unpermitted panel that came with the house. I also needed some specialized power (30amp NEMA twistlock) to go to my basement room which he was able to do for a reasonable price and whithin a reasonable timeframe. Everything looks great and no more blowing fuses!!! Nice to see someone who takes real pride in their work and business, it shows from the cool vans and stickers to the professional, clean and neat work he does. Would hire again! PICS before + after
Description of Work
Service Panel Upgrade
Category
electrician
Emily L.
5.0
11/18/2017
Tim came right over and tested all the breakers. Within 15 minutes of arriving we discovered Xcel energy workers in our backyard that our neighbor had called. Tim was very nice about the mix up in what we thought the problem was and we would love to hire him in the future for our electrical needs.
Description of Work
We thought there was issues with our breakers because we were having spotty electric in our house.
Category
electrician
Michael H.
2.0
08/18/2017
He uis timely and efficient but his Minimum is excessive much higher than others
Description of Work
Repair electric ckt
Category
electrician
Chris B.
5.0
08/17/2017
So pleased with the work!! Timely arrival - courteous - friendly - knowledgeable! The job was described over the phone and I was given an estimate of how much time the job might take and the approximate cost. Job completed in record time and cost much less than I expected! I had previously received an estimate from a larger company for this job and it was 4 times what I just paid Tim! Thank you - thank you - THANK YOU!
Description of Work
Replaced two ceiling light fixtures. Added two wall sconces and an on/off switch to a lower level bedroom that previously had no wired light fixtures.
Category
electrician, lighting
Matthew B.
5.0
07/10/2017
Tim was very professional and completed the work in a timely manner. He cleaned up the area very well when he was done and it was a pleasurable experience all around. Will hire again if i need electrical work.
Description of Work
Add electrical outlet in closet for sump pump
Category
electrician
Jenn A.
5.0
07/06/2017
Jack came out and did a great job for us. Installed two floodlights in our backyard yard. Fixed and installed a new entryway light. Also had him install a doorbell outside even though that wasn't something I was expecting him to do. So needless to say he went above and beyond. Great working with them!
Description of Work
Install flood lights, entryway light.
Category
electrician, lighting
Andrew L.
5.0
06/07/2017
He was late one time. The surge protector was not cheap, some places charge a lot for them.
Description of Work
They put in some electrical outlets, added a surge protector to the panel and added 2 lights. He also put in 2 baseboard heaters. It was quite a bit of work.
Category
electrician, lighting
Michelle O.
5.0
04/12/2017
No problems, won’t hesitate to use again.
Description of Work
Overhead light fixtures installed
Category
electrician
Ed C.
5.0
03/03/2017
Tim was very accessible through Angie's List and directly by cell phone. His communication about the work and fees was clear and he was flexible and helpful in making suggestions when my original plan did not turn out to be feasible. Tim and his assistant did a very good job, were friendly, and did a great job cleaning up after the work. When they were done I felt like I've finally found an electrician I can rely on in the future.
Description of Work
I needed some rewiring done in a bathroom, a ventilation fan and vanity light installed, and a couple of switches changed.
Category
electrician
John T.
5.0
02/27/2017
AS near as I could tell, the work was done appropriately and professionally. The installer was personable.
Description of Work
We needed an outdoor receptacle put in a brick wall.
Category
electrician
SUSAN W.
5.0
02/12/2017
See above. We loved Tim's responsiveness and excellent service. A gem.
Description of Work
We had a broken electrical switch and a problem that grew when we tried to replace it. Suddenly not only did the switch not work, but the upstairs bedroom electrical wasn't working either! Sheesh. It's Saturday afternoon and we figured there was no way anyone would come until the work week. We called Tim Kunkel LLC and he answered the phone (no one else on the list did) and he fixed us right up in about 20 minutes. He was responsive, on time, knew so much, explained it to us, and we are thrilled and impressed. What a nice guy too.
Category
electrician
Jennifer B.
5.0
01/05/2017
They are quick with their work.
Description of Work
For electrical I use Tim Kunkel Electric. He was last here to put in a new breaker box/panel.
Category
electrician
KAT C.
5.0
10/26/2016
He and his crew did a great job. They are smart and courteous and got eveything done and cleaned up. Tim is good at solving problems and answering questions.
Description of Work
Lots of miscellaneous updates, outlets, switches, and a new line run. I was selling the house and needed to get the little details fixed up. He and his crew did a great job. They are smart and courteous and got eveything done and cleaned up. Tim is good at solving problems and answering questions.
Category
electrician
Meredith G.
5.0
09/27/2016
Responded within a reasonable time and had all materials on hand to do the work so it was very fast and painless. Did a walk thru of house to discuss existing wiring and future work. It was a small job and I don't have much to compare the price to but he verbally estimated some future jobs and it sounded reasonable.
Description of Work
Light switch replacement
Category
electrician
Courtney A.
5.0
06/03/2016
I can't say enough good things about Tim. Tim came out the same day I called him for a bid (a huge life saver--I'm selling the home, the electrical was called in an addendum and I needed to know what costs I was looking at). Tim's bid was on point with another I received (that guy would only receive text photos and ballpark). We didn't fix a date for the work--because I didn't care when it was done--just a deadline which was weeks out. Tim was over within three business days to complete the work. He answered all of my questions thoroughly and even took the time to look up when a code change happened. Tim is knowledgeable, responsive, friendly, and skilled. I'm honestly thrilled he's a younger guy, so that we can call on him as needed in the future!
Description of Work
Replaced the feed from house to garage and raised electric line height to code.
Category
electrician
MARK W.
5.0
03/04/2016
Working with Tim was a great experience. We hired Tim to do some electrical work as part of our home sale. Tim was easy to connect with, showed up when he said he would, and did excellent work. He even found cost saving ways to do the work we needed and the final bill was less than expected. It seems hard to find a tradesperson who communicates well and does good work at a fair price. Tim, however, hits all the marks. If we ever have electrical needs in our new home, Tim will definitely be my first call. And he should be yours, as well.
Description of Work
Grounded existing outlet in kitchen and rewired and grounded several outlets in garage
Category
electrician
Tom F.
5.0
12/17/2015
unknown
Description of Work
They replaced switchboxes and everything else they did was exceptional. I highly recommend them.
Category
electrician
vishnupriya M.
5.0
09/21/2015
.
Description of Work
.
Category
electrician
Hope F.
5.0
05/26/2015
Tim and his apprentice first came a few weeks ago to look at a light fixture we thought was a problem (it was actually ok) and fixed a couple minor issues (ceiling fan stuff) and we scheduled an appointment for them to come back to our 1930s house to replace old outlets, add additional outlets, and replace our outdoor light. We're really pleased with their work today - they are professional, friendly, and take things in stride (like a couple curious felines and one curious 3 year-old). They made sure our cats were all accounted for before replacing the knee wall panels and left the work areas nice and clean. So pleased to have found Tim and Jack to deal with our questionable upstairs outlet situation and add some outlets to the main floor. We'll definitely recommend Tim to neighbors looking for an electrician!
Description of Work
Added 3 circuits & 10 new outlets, installed new outdoor light, replaced 3 box/wiring/outlets, replaced kitchen outlet & circuit breaker, replaced exterior motion light
Category
electrician
Amy L.
5.0
10/17/2013
I was referred to Tim by a friend. He came to my house in the evening, when it was convenient for me, to give me an estimate. He looked at my entire house and asked great questions about what I needed to have done. He freely admitted that he wasn't the cheapest electrician around, but he said that he uses quality parts - copper connectors, things like that - and doesn't cut corners. Once I decided to have the work done, he was available very quickly. In our initial discussion he said he preferred to schedule about 2 weeks out, but he was available the next day. He really seemed to know his stuff. So far I haven't had any problems. I would use him again in a heartbeat.
Description of Work
Replaced my old fuse box with a new circuit breaker service panel
Category
electrician

    Other local Pros in your area

    Randy's Electric

    You deserve a safe and reliable home. Get the job done right the first time with outstanding customer service from the Twin Cities top rated electrician. Outlets, fans, lighting, smoke detectors, switches, and service panels. Your full service electrician.  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Offers Coupon

    McQuillan Bros Plumbing Heating & AC

    McQuillan Bros Plumbing Heating and AC is a FAMILY OWNED and operated company that has been SERVICING HOMES SINCE 1883. With a 100% craftsmanship guarantee, you can rest assured knowing your plumbing and HVAC issues will be addressed properly and quickly.  

    Angi Certified

    Harrison Electric, Inc.

    14 Employees. No subs. Cost determined by the job. Travel charge applies. No extra charge for 24-hour emergency service (for existing customers only). Primary service area- Western & Northern suburbs of Minneapolis/St Paul including Hennepin, Anoka & Ramsey counties and parts of Sherburne county. All employees are background checked and drug tested.  

    Angi Certified

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Licensed
    Trade License Number
    EA665176
    Trade License Locale
    Minnesota
    Trade License Authority
    State of MN Board of Electricity/Department of Labor and Industry
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Electrical Contractor

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Tim Kunkel Electric LLC

    How is Tim Kunkel Electric LLC overall rated?

    Tim Kunkel Electric LLC is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

    What days are Tim Kunkel Electric LLC open?

    Tim Kunkel Electric LLC is open:

    Sunday: Open All Day

    Monday: Open All Day

    Tuesday: Open All Day

    Wednesday: Open All Day

    Thursday: Open All Day

    Friday: Open All Day

    Saturday: Open All Day

    What payment options does Tim Kunkel Electric LLC provide

    Tim Kunkel Electric LLC accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover

    Does Tim Kunkel Electric LLC offer free estimates?

    Yes, Tim Kunkel Electric LLC offers free project estimates.

    Does Tim Kunkel Electric LLC offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Tim Kunkel Electric LLC offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Tim Kunkel Electric LLC offer emergency services?

    Yes, Tim Kunkel Electric LLC offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Tim Kunkel Electric LLC?

    Yes, Tim Kunkel Electric LLC offers warranties.

    What services does Tim Kunkel Electric LLC offer?

    Tim Kunkel Electric LLC offers the following services: Electrical Contractor