Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

The Fireplace Guys

With Angi since December 2011

We are a professional fireplace installation and maintenance company serving the Twin Cities metro area. We specialize in attentive, personalized service and a complete solution for all you fireplace needs. Our experienced staff will assist you in choosing a setup that meets your expectations for appearance, price, and efficiency. Our free in home consultation is the ideal place to gather ideas and to ask questions about the many fireplace options. Stoves and fireplaces have evolved so much in the past few years you may not even realize what is available.

Amenities

Free Estimates
Yes
Warranties
Yes
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
Yes
Licensed
Bonded
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page. Contact pro for more details.

Verified Reviews

4.7

(48) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-25 of 48 reviews
Robert S.
2.0
09/12/2019
This year I was experiencing the same problem, however they now only repair fireplaces that they originally installed. Not a very nice way to treat a repeat customer.
Description of Work
Every year I have had a problem getting our fireplace pilot lit. So for the last several years the Fireplace guys came out to fix it. They provided good service and I continued to use them.
Category
fireplaces
Sue O.
5.0
10/11/2018
The service was excellent, "A" Rating on their work. They were very careful, efficient, and they were very pleasant to work with and not a very pushy. Jeramy is my technician, and he was excellent, I highly recommend the company.
Description of Work
Fireplace Service Maintenance
Category
fireplaces
Steve G.
5.0
01/03/2018
New glass with seal ordered promptly after first visit, then appointment made as soon as parts were received. No charge for first visit when problems were discovered. Only did the work required, did not try to sell more than needed. Also good at explaining the cause of issue and maintenance needed.
Description of Work
Replace glass with seal, cleaning and adjust gas fireplace.
Category
fireplaces
Janet J.
5.0
12/01/2017
I loved working with this company! The process was smooth and well communicated from the visit to give me an estimate, selecting the product and installing the new unit. It was very helpful to visit their showroom to see the wide variety of fireplace options available and to actually see how they work. They handled all aspects of installing the unit including permits and inspections.
Description of Work
I had my wood burning fireplace converted to gas burning.
Category
fireplaces
KEN R.
5.0
11/06/2017
He did an excellent job and showed us what product to buy to clean the glass again when it gets dirty.
Description of Work
Fireplace relit and residue cleaned from glass
Category
fireplaces
Robyn O.
5.0
08/22/2017
The service was excellent from beginning to end. The original person that came out, initially spent about a week trying to find new piping for a more than 20 year old gas fireplace. When it became apparent that it was not available, the Fireplace Guys laid out all my options clearly and the costs. Ultimately it was decided to replace the existing fireplace and the work that they did was amazing. They were incredibly attentive to the smallest detail. I will absolutely use them again
Description of Work
I had an old gas fireplace that needed new pipe or to be replaced.
Category
fireplaces
Peter W.
5.0
05/17/2017
Very good! Knowledgeable and friendly sales staff and excellent installation crew.
Description of Work
Conversion of wood fireplace to gas insert.
Category
fireplaces
linda E.
5.0
02/20/2017
Problem resolved and nicely cleaned
Description of Work
Fireplace wouldn't stay operational; performed general cleaning, inspection, and rewiring.
Category
fireplaces
Penny S.
5.0
12/14/2016
I was thrilled with the work. It had been four years and I just thought it didn't work because when I turned it didn't come on but they got it working and it's still working.
Description of Work
The Fireplace Guys cleaned my gas fireplace.
Category
fireplaces
Kirk B.
5.0
11/19/2016
Excellent experience; technician showed up early, was professional, thorough and tidy.
Description of Work
Inspect & clean a gas fireplace.
Category
fireplaces
Elizabeth A.
5.0
11/13/2016
Great! Technician arrived within the designated 2-hour window. Very courteous and efficient. Didn't make a mess. He recommended a new wall switch, but didn't have any on-hand...he said we could get one from Menards for about $2.50, otherwise they could install it at a later time for about $50.
Description of Work
Gas fireplace cleaning/inspection and tightened the wiring.
Category
fireplaces
TED S.
4.0
11/04/2016
Estimator was quick to make an appointment and arrived on time. He was able to provide knowledgeable answers about all their products, and answer detailed questions about the feasibility of the project. They made sure to have their head installer come on site to review for any potential hidden surprises. Firm quote was slightly below other companies. They do require 50% down before work will be scheduled. As other reviews noted, there was resistance to officially amending or adding scope or specifications to their standard contract. Installers arrived on time. Work went surprisingly fast. It had been quoted that this would be a two day job, but installers were only scheduled to have it done in one. When they couldn't finish, they returned "after hours" in the early evening the next day. Payment was asked for even as the crew was packing to leave. Due to rush, a few smaller items were left incomplete or not done to a very high standard. A call about these resulted in the crew foreman returning quickly, on his own time, to address the items to our complete satisfaction. Overall we were very happy with the final result. As with any project, expect that the work needs to be checked as it progresses for completeness and quality of workmanship.
Description of Work
Remove entire old wood burning fireplace, including all interior brick. Reframe opening and install gas fireplace. Finish to the point of being ready for tile, mantel and hearth which we would build/install ourselves.
Category
fireplaces
SUSAN S.
5.0
08/02/2016
Very happy with the service - technician was available on short notice and charged less than the company we had used before; fireplace looks and works great.
Description of Work
Clean and service gas fireplace insert
Category
fireplaces
Tegan C.
4.0
08/02/2016
Results were a mixed bag. Sales was great. Responsive and easy to work with in every way. The installation left room for improvement. The installers didn't have enough lumber to complete the job and 'borrowed' from my inventory so they could keep going. They came back later and replaced the stock. And they didn't have enough dry wall, so again they pulled from the stock I had. This wasn't replaced and while they didn't use much (less than 1/8 of a sheet), it left with me a partial sheet. If they'd asked, the right thing to do, I'd have pointed them to a partial sheet. On the plus side they completed the job in just over a day. The plan was for The Fireplace Guys to remove the old unit, frame and install the new units put up drywall. We'd finish doing the mud, tape add tile and a mantel. The removal of the old unit went very well. The framing and electrical work was fine but we thought the drywall install in particular was pretty sloppy. I actually removed one section and shimmed it so it would fit better. We shopped five places before deciding on this group and their prices very competitive. We really wanted gas units made in the US but the only company who offered US made gas fireplaces cost 20% more.
Description of Work
We had a wood burning fireplace removed and two new gas fireplaces installed.
Category
fireplaces
jeff C.
5.0
04/16/2016
The entire process was outstanding. From initial stop at showroom, to having measurements taken, and the installation, Everyone was friendly and helpful. The installers were prompt, respectful of our house, and did a terrific job.
Description of Work
Converted wood burning fireplace to gas. They also added stone hearth and stone on wall surrounding fireplace.
Category
fireplaces
Lloyd V.
1.0
02/28/2016
I received a proposal by email. It detailed the work to be done and included a paragraph stating many reasons the work could be delayed and another paragraph stating that subcontractors could file a lien against my property per MN statute .... The contract seemed to have a lot of disclaimers like " additional costs due to unforseen circumstances".. I asked a couple questions to clarify what was meant in the contract. One example is they had written "estimated hours" on several line items. I asked if that meant the labor charge was an estimate or if that meant the labor charge was calculated and fixed. The reply was that the labor charge was fixed. OK that was good. The contract required 50% down payment which is higher than the 20-30% recommended by Angies List but I decided I could live with that. I didn't negotiate the cost. I asked them to include a start date and a completion date on the contract. I said they could pick the dates that worked for them, I just would like something on the contract. I also asked for them to provide lien waivers at the time of final payment based on their paragraph about that subject. The response I got from Wayne Wisner (owner and general manager) surprised me. He said that he had spent way more time writing his response than he wanted to, and that he was concerned that I was analyzing every single item on the proposal. Basically he said that I should just trust him and that if he didn't do a good job he would get poor reviews. He concluded by declining to bid on the project. Do people just sign contracts like this? Don't people read what they are signing? Is asking for a start date, completion date and lien waivers too much to ask? Angies List also recommends having a penalty for missed deadlines. I am sure the Fireplace guys wouldn't ever agree to that. I get the impression they work more with general contractors and don't really want to work with individual homeowners.
Description of Work
The Fireplace Guys came out and made measurements to remove existing wood burning fireplace and install a gas fireplace. They then provided a proposal.
Category
fireplaces
THOR H.
5.0
02/09/2016
Everything from the estimate thru the installation went very well. The installers were very professional and did a good job of being respectful for our house which reflects greatly on the company. The city inspectors sure don't do much and don't do any testing. The installer retested the gas lines after the inspector cleared everything and left and noticed small leak at a connection point and fixed it with a wrench. This reflects highly on the professionalism of the installer and company. One piece was mislabeled and the installer came back the next day with the piece for our insert and installed it early the next day. Great service and good installers, which make this a good company. I plan and want to us Fireplace Guys for all routine the maintenance on the Regency Insert.
Description of Work
Installed a Regency LRI6 Gas Insert in to existing wood burning fireplace
Category
fireplaces
Mary P.
5.0
07/22/2015
Awesome - did a great job and would highly recommend to anyone!
Description of Work
Services 2 gas firepalces
Category
fireplaces
Medora D.
5.0
07/20/2015
Wayne and his team were exceptional from the initial visit through the installation of a Kozy Heat gas insert in our basement. They even had a custom metal bar made to raise the surround at no charge. We plan to use them again this fall to convert another fireplace to gas.
Description of Work
Installed gas insert fireplace.
Category
fireplaces
Justin F.
5.0
06/29/2015
Everything went great! The quote was well below the competition for an insert that was equal if not higher quality. The installers showed up on time and treated my house like it was their own. Drop cloths were used and everything was cleaned up at the end of the day. The decorative rock installation looked great and the mantle is fantastic. I now have the showcase that my living room needed and I couldn't be happier with the service that I received.
Description of Work
Installed a gas insert and built out decorative rock and mantle.
Category
fireplaces
Jill H.
5.0
06/01/2015
showed up promptly, did the work on the fireplace, we were pleased with the work done, no complaints.
Description of Work
cleaned fireplace
Category
fireplaces
Lori P.
5.0
05/18/2015
The installers showed up on time and went to work on pulling out the old insert and replacing with the new gas burning insert. We had to wait a while for the city inspector to show up, That was really the only down side to the whole installation. The fireplace looks really nice and puts out plenty of heat in our downstairs.
Description of Work
Converted our wood burning fireplace to a gas burning fireplace
Category
fireplaces
RONALD P.
5.0
03/29/2015
Everything went smoothly. Two installers worked quickly and neatly. Job took about 6 or 7 hours. We now have a gas insert that provides heat for a large family room making it very livable.
Description of Work
Provider gave written, itemized estimate. Removed old gas log (non-heating) from wood burning fireplace and installed Regency gas insert and capped chase. I found this provider on Angie's list and visited their showroom/office in Oakdale partly because it was nearby. They seemed very professional.
Category
fireplaces
John W.
2.0
12/24/2014
I went into the Fireplace Guys store to get an estimate on replacing my gas logs. I talked to Angie who is a customer service person. She showed me a catalog of gas logs and asked that I look at it and get back to her with those we had an interest in and she would provide the cost. That very same afternoon I called her and gave her a list of four gas log sets we had an interest in. She said she would get back shortly with an estimate. It took an entire week for her to email me a proposal of the cost. Bare in mind we already have an existing set of gas logs so all that is required is to remove the old and replace with the new. The gas line is already in place. I had questions on some items in the proposal so I called her. She could not answer one question I had concerning the burner and whether it included a remote start or not. I explained that we did not want the remote start because I had to get into the fireplace to open the flue so it really didn't do us any good. I didn't want to pay the extra $100 or $200 hundred dollars for the remote. I did not hear back from her so I went back into the store a week later and talked to her again. The answer was that the burner and the remote came together so I couldn't get it without. Why she couldn't have answered my email with the answer I'm not sure. Instead I would be still waiting to hear from her if I had not gone back into the store. Very disappointing service. As far a having to have the remote because it some with the burner isn't the case. I did research on the internet and you can buy the burner and the remote separately in any number of places. I find it hard to believe they can't provide one without the other. John Wilkinson
Description of Work
Never got that far.
Category
fireplaces
doris S.
5.0
11/22/2014
Ever since I purchased my condo, the 3-sided fireplace has been an eye-sore. The ceramic logs never looked right. The glass was dusty and smudged, but I didn't know how to get inside to clean it. Finally, we were unable to light the pilot light this fall. Taylor is a professional in every sense. He arrived promply. Removed his boots (it is winter here), helped me move a heavy bench out of his way and spread a generous generous drop cloth. He systematically dismantled the glass surround and the logs, grate, etc. He knew that darned fireplace. He explained the problem with the pilot light showing me the corroded part. He had the needed replacement in his truck and installed it. He worked for 2 1/2 hours and left me with a sparkling, beautiful, better than I ever expected fireplace! And through the entire time Taylor was relaxed and friendly. He cleaned his work area. We went over his paperwork item by item. I consider him my fireplace go to guy. Can't wait to show off my new beautiful living room feature.
Description of Work
Thorouhly cleaned and serviced my gas fireplace. Diagnosed the problem with the pilot light. Replaced worn out part. Polished all the glass. Properly arranged the ceramic logs. Found and fixed a gas leak.
Category
fireplaces

Phone

Address

680 Hale Ave N Ste 110

Saint Paul, MN 55128

Service Categories

Other Information

Services offered

We can handle virtually any gas fireplace project including gas fireplace cleaning and repair, converting wood to gas, gas fireplace inserts, new installations, remodels, and complete custom designs. You will find an enormous range of options in terms of styles, colors, and materials for the surrounds, hearth and mantels.

Payment options

Check
Visa
MasterCard
Discover

FAQ

The Fireplace Guys is currently rated 4.7 overall out of 5.

The Fireplace Guys is open:

Monday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Tuesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Wednesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Thursday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Friday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Saturday: 9:00 AM - 12:00 PM

The Fireplace Guys accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover

Yes, The Fireplace Guys offers free project estimates.

Yes, The Fireplace Guys offers eco-friendly accreditations.

Yes, The Fireplace Guys offers warranties.

The Fireplace Guys offers the following services: We can handle virtually any gas fireplace project including gas fireplace cleaning and repair, converting wood to gas, gas fireplace inserts, new installations, remodels, and complete custom designs. You will find an enormous range of options in terms of styles, colors, and materials for the surrounds, hearth and mantels.

Other Local Pros In Your Area

Jack Pixley Sweeps Inc

Angi Certified

2022 Super Service Award

Jack Pixley Sweeps Inc

JACK PIXLEY SWEEPS - The Name You Can Trust Since 1977. Phone# 763-422-0481. Total chimney service and repair. Jack Pixley Chimney Sweeps and Masonry specializes in chimney sweeping, Level II closed circuit camera inspections, repair, relining and restoration, plus wood and gas insert installation and maintenance. Our CSIA, CDET and NFI Certified Technicians are experienced and fully insured. We proudly serve the greater Twin Cities and surrounding areas. Founded in 1977 by the reputable Jack Pixley, we continue to embrace our company values of Integrity, Team Work and Education.We have remained focused on our customers' complete satisfaction maintaining over 40 years membership in the Nat'l Chimney Sweep Guild and the Chimney Safety Institute of America. An Angie's Honor Role and Super Service Award winner, being an accredited business with the BBB. We hold MN Contractor's license (#BC183369). Call Jack Pixley Chimney Sweeps & Masonry today to schedule an appointment! If the name isn't JACK it isn't Jack Pixley Sweeps, Inc. at 763-422-0481.  

Guardian Chimney Solutions LLC

Angi Certified

2022 Super Service Award

Guardian Chimney Solutions LLC

WE DO NOT SERVICE GAS FIREPLACES, ONLY WOOD BURNING. We love what we do and take pride in our craft. Specializing in Chimney Restoration, Flooring, and Ceramic Tile. From the front office to the front lines, our field- proven process has created incredible relationships with our customers that spans over a decade. Guardian Chimney Solutions LLC. Is a owner operated company with over 17 years in business. We welcome you to look around our website in hopes that we can provide value to your life with information to help you through the process of choosing a contractor you can trust, as well as providing insight you may use during the trouble shooting process of your project. Guardian looks forward to surpassing your expectations.