Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

SpaceMakers Remodeling

Founded 1994 • With Angi since April 2012

4.9

(51) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

3006 Leyland Vw

Saint Paul, MN 55125

Description

We are a full Design/Build Remodeling Company in Woodbury, MN since 1994 with several consecutive years of Super Service Awards and provide 3D CAD drawings, provide homeowners with quality work and quality products through our master craftsmanship and designs. Is your home outdated yet you love

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

12/29/2021


Marissa P.

SpaceMakers did an amazing job on our addition! We started with a rough idea and Kian’s creativity with Rick’s knowledge turned it into our dream! They have amazing communication and our family grew to love the entire crew! I would recommend them to anyone looking for an addition or remodel! Thank you!!

Description of Work
Two story addition

Category custom cabinets, countertops, decks, flooring contractor, insulation, interior designers, remodeling, roofing, siding, replacement windows, ceiling fans, home remodeling, interior painters, sunrooms, basement remodeling

5.0

07/24/2021


carrie S.

Rick and Kian were wonderful to work with. Knocking out a wall, they were able to turn our old outdated kitchen into our dream Kitchen! The kitchen and Island flow seamlessly into our living room. The cabinets, backsplash, Cambria countertop, and LVT flooring throughout gave our house a fresh new look. Hats off to Kian who is truly an amazing designer. She help picked out everything we needed and the finished look is amazing! Pablo is a true craftsmen and we really enjoyed having him in our home. He is very professional and his work is superb. The work he did was absolutely spot on and our new appliances fit like a glove. We thought working through a Pandemic would be a challenge. To our surprise it couldn't have gone better. The job was done in a timely matter from start to finish. We want to thank all who were involved in our journey and would highly recommend SpaceMakers Remodeling. We love spending time with family in our beautifully designed space.

Description of Work
Kitchen Remodel

Category countertops, flooring contractor, interior designers, plumbing, woodworking, home remodeling, interior painters

5.0

07/21/2021


Jill B.

Great! The project took place during the pandemic so there were a few minor delays out of their control. The team was respectful and great to work with, very responsive and willing to answer the many questions we had along the way. We were happy with each stage of the project, from the initial bidding, planning, construction and finishing. We are already planning our next project with SpaceMakers.

Description of Work
We arched some openings on the main level of our house, refinished our hardwood floors, changed up some lighting, and renovated the fireplace surround and mantel.

Category custom cabinets, ceramic tile, flooring contractor, interior designers, remodeling, woodworking, interior painters

5.0

07/21/2021


Katie S.

It went smoothly. We meet during the beginning of the pandemic and communicated by zoom, text and email. All my questions and messages were promptly answered. Each week Rick would give me a summary of what was done and what to expect in the upcoming week. I always knew where they were in the process.

Description of Work
Added a two story addition

Category custom cabinets, decks, flooring contractor, insulation, remodeling, roofing, siding, replacement windows, home builders, woodworking, ceiling fans, interior painters, sunrooms, basement remodeling, mobile home remodeling

5.0

07/21/2021


Dale Frederick V.

Very good. The project lasted about 7 weeks, the crew was respectful and cleaned up the construction mess on a daily basis. Was flexible on the original plans as we changed the design, a bit, on the family room fireplace wall. We have used Space makers also for a house addition and deck many years ago. They have a designer on staff who is very responsive and helpful as she met us at the show rooms to decide on the new cabinets, flooring, toilets, tubs and hardware.

Description of Work
Total upgrade to 2 bathrooms; flooring, ceiling, cabinets, tubs, shower, toilets and upgrade fireplace family room wall with new cabinets, shelfing and a new sheet rock wall with arches. Also, painted several 1st floor and 2nd floor walls.

Category custom cabinets, countertops, flooring contractor, interior designers, plumbing, remodeling, woodworking, home remodeling, interior painters

5.0

01/01/2020


Marco H.

We embarked on our kitchen remodeling project with very little knowledge or vision on what we needed to do. Kian and Rick from Spacemakers Remodling held our hands and worked with us creating a vision we needed to uncover. The project ended up costing quite a bit more than we had thought it was but Spacemakers was very competitive with the others we talked with. They created what we needed them to create and enhanced what we wanted to do in our minds with synergy and expertise. The project was completed timely with a few change orders but nothing ridiculous. The one thing we wish had gone better was expectations of things we just didn't think about that their experience we hoped would uncover. Things such as shelves inside cabinets and unfinished areas that we felt should have been covered but were not in the original design. Overall they were wonderful to work with and we would hire again in a minute

Description of Work
Custom kitchen and laundry cabinets with slow close doors and drawers, full dovetailed drawer construction, Cambria quartz and paint.

Category custom cabinets, flooring contractor, interior designers, plumbing, remodeling, woodworking, home remodeling, interior painters

5.0

12/26/2019


sharon R.

We cannot say enough great things about SpaceMakers Remodeling. The whole staff was absolutely wonderful. Rick Grindland, the owner, contractor extroidinaire, Kian Dwyer, the very warm, personable, innovative designer, Pablo, the energetic, builder, carpenter, repairman, tile installer, and jack of all trades. Gustavo, master painter, tile installer, helps wherever needed. The whole crew works together to make your dream space happen. When they say they will be there at a certain time, they are there. They work tirelessly and cohesively to achieve the look that you desire. Their fairness in price, honesty and integrity in doing the job to satisfy the customer in every way possible plus the very positive reviews of former clients were the very reasons that we chose SpaceMakers Remodeling. If anything doesn't satisfy you they will come back and make it right. They want the customer to be fully satisfied and we certainly are. We highly recommend SpaceMakers and we are ecstatic with our brand new kitchen thanks to Rick and his super team of professional experts. Sincerely, Sharon and Paul from Roseville

Description of Work
Kitchen remodel

Category home remodeling

5.0

07/30/2019


Ken H.

Very well. Project completed a bit earlier than estimated!. We are very happy with all of our selections and the installation of the newly designed kitchen.

Description of Work
complete kitchen gut and remodel, new ceiling, new flooring on entire main floor, interior painting

Category flooring contractor, home remodeling, interior painters

5.0

11/14/2018


Jacob O.

After looking at a few other companies I ended up going with SpaceMakers due to the meeting with owner Rick and designer Kain, they took all my considerations into account and walked me through the entire process. It was mostly painless with only a few minor things that ended up taking a little bit longer than originally expected, not due to SpaceMakers themselves, but the work was completed around the estimated end time. The workers were friendly, cleaned up after themselves, and knowledgeable. The final outcome was wonderful and both the kitchen and bathroom look great!

Description of Work
I had SpaceMakers remodel my entire kitchen, first floor bathroom, sheetrock and trim a small room and fix some issues in my hallway.

Category interior designers, remodeling, home remodeling, interior painters

5.0

05/21/2018


mike P.

Space makers did an excellent job with my bathroom remodel. Clean, on time, great project management, perfect craftsmanship! Flawless from start to finish. They did a great job listening to our needs and helping us navigate choices to deliver a great result. They were experts when it came to putting in our steam shower and heated tile floors. Make our outdated bathroom a spa! Thanks a lot!!

Description of Work
Updating our bathroom and shower. We were looking for heated tile floors and a steam shower.

Category home remodeling

5.0

12/04/2017


Herbert W.

This is the 3rd time we have relied on SpaceMakers Remodeling to do major work on our house. And this is the 3rd time we have been completely satisfied with the finished project. Rick, Kian, Tony and Holly are wonderful to work with, as are the additional sub-contractors they bring in, and they really listen to what you want to accomplish. They make design suggestions that help with keeping costs down, while never sacrificing quality materials or workmanship. The handicapped bathroom remodel was really a custom job, and they did everything possible to make sure it was right for our family member. As sometimes happens, there was one construction issue that came up after the steam shower was completed. After it was discovered, they acknowledged the problem and corrected the issue to our satisfaction, and theirs, without any added cost or hassle. We would not hesitate to work with them again on any major remodeling our house might need in the future!

Description of Work
Three baths were remodeled. Two were extensively remodeled, and one received minor updating. Custom cabinetry, a tiled steam shower with glass enclosure, plumbing, electrical, painting, hardwood flooring, and a custom designed handicapped bathroom were all part of the project.

Category ceramic tile, flooring contractor, plumbing, home remodeling, interior painters

5.0

09/28/2017


Leslie G.

It was a pleasure to work with Rick, Kian, Tony and Holly. From the very beginning we knew we were in good hands. Throughout our remodel they worked as a team to ensure that things were done with the our best interests at heart. Each member of the SpaceMakers team brought ideas and solutions to our project. They ensured that we were always in the loop and up to date on the schedule. Our project was completed with craftsmanship and integrity. We couldn't be more thrilled and are already planning our next project with SpaceMakers Remodeling

Description of Work
Complete remodel of master bath. Removed carpet in master bedroom and replaced with wood flooring. Continued wood flooring done hallway into office. New carpet in guest room and additional bedroom. Stained family room cabinetry, added stacked stone to fireplace and replaced carpet. Stained island in kitchen and added hardware to cabinetry. Removed carpet from stairs and replaced with wood. Replaced railing spindles with wrought iron.

Category custom cabinets, ceramic tile, flooring contractor, interior designers, remodeling, home remodeling

5.0

09/16/2017


John W.

We could not be happier with the project. Spacemaker prides itself on customer satisfaction and it shows. Every time I had a question they responded with a positive attitude. They take pride in their work at every level from the owner, designer and crew they aim to please. The quality of their work is outstanding and timely.

Description of Work
We hired Spacemaker remodeling to remodel our kitchen, also all floors and ceilings on the main level. They designed the remodel and completes everything in time. The neat thing is their design is unique to your house, no cookie cutter design. For our space they listened to what we wanted and enhanced the design to afford the most space and efficiency as possible.

Category custom cabinets, flooring contractor, interior designers, plumbing, remodeling, home remodeling, interior painters

5.0

07/16/2017


WALLACE W.

We had lived in our house for 25 years and it needed an update. We interviewed three contractors and reviewed their bids. Spacemakers had a very competitive bid but it was their personal attention that made the decision easy. Rick and Kian were professional, listened to our needs, provided answers to our questions and revised the bid several times to make sure we knew what to expect and what it would cost. We wanted to keep our the existing golden oak woodwork and trim throughout the house. Kian and Holly were extremely helpful with selecting options for the materials. We felt they know our likes and dislikes and were supportive in our decisions. Kian's attention to design was exceptional. Rick and his team implemented the design and it exceeded our expectations. During the remodel, we received daily communications and on-site visits. Any issues or questions were addressed immediately. We especially appreciated Tony, the crew supervisor, who made sure Spacemakers' high quality standards and attention to detail were built into each aspect of the work. With any remodel you should expect the unexpected. We only had a few surprises but Rick and his team always provided solutions. All the subcontractors were professional and efficient, and the quality of work was exceptional. We are very pleased with our experience and will continue to recommend Spacemakers.

Description of Work
Full kitchen, master bath, main bath gut-out, new hardwood and carpet flooring main & upper level, basement insulation, drywall and closets. Custom kitchen and bathroom cabinetry with slow close doors and drawers and quality dovetail construction. Cambria counter tops, new plumbing fixtures under mount sinks, custom tile work with decorative border inserts, niches and clear frame-less glass shower. Custom bookcase, cabinets and mantel piece surrounding fire place. Installed new appliances.

Category custom cabinets, ceramic tile, flooring contractor, interior designers, plumbing, remodeling, woodworking, ceiling fans, home remodeling, interior painters, basement remodeling

5.0

01/12/2017


Mark S.

Rick and Kian were respectful and courteous - attentive to our needs and wants. Workman arrived early, put in long days and the outcome is beautiful. We are excited out the results.

Description of Work
Spacemakers finished off my lower level basement adding about 900 square feet of living space - bathroom, bedroom, family room with gas potbelly stove and reading room with gas fireplace.

Category basement remodeling

5.0

12/26/2016


Jean B.

We were and are very impressed with Spacemakers. They were reasonable and professional during a couple misunderstandings, and resolutions were reached. Kian and Rick have superb work ethics and quality standards. Their crew is leader, Tony, is talented and also has high quality standards. The attention to detail and quality is what drew us to this remodeler, and we were not disappointed. For anyone looking for remodeling work, we recommend knowing what you dislike as much as what you like. Also make clear from the beginning what you expect from your contractor. Do you expect them to move heat runs, trunks, electrical outlet, plumbing, etc? As homeowners, our biggest learning opportunity was around stove top down drafts, the codes, costs and installation.

Description of Work
We have a four level home, and had the kitchen, on entry level, remodeled. In addition to the kitchen remodel we had all hardwood flooring laid on the main entry level. We had all the hanging lights removed and only can lighting put in. The ceiling on this level is vaulted and popcorn covered. The popcorn ceiling was patched where needed. The contractor painted the kitchen area wall, moved the plumbing, installed new cabinets, floors, counters, and appliances.

Category home remodeling

5.0

12/18/2016


Thomas D.

We can’t say enough about how pleased we are with how our remodel project turned out. The kitchen is beautiful and functions so much better. The openness created by removing some walls and the work done around the fireplace adds significantly to the beauty and functionality as well. We also added a laundry on the main floor which we absolutely love. It can be very stressful embarking on such a large project. However, Rick, Kian, Holly and their whole crew helped guide us through the process. They were very responsive to any questions or changes that occurred along the way. We really appreciated the help with all the decisions that needed to be made. Thank you Spacemakers for our new home and getting it all done in a very reasonable amount of time.

Description of Work
Removed walls for a more open floor plan, added and refinished hardwood flooring, upgraded kitchen, added laundry on main level and refaced fireplace along with built in shelving.

Category custom cabinets, flooring contractor, interior designers, plumbing, remodeling, woodworking, home remodeling, interior painters

5.0

08/05/2016


Melissa W.

The job was very well managed by owner Rick from start to finish. I knew what was happening on a daily basis. All of the subs were skilled, considerate and pleasant. Designers Kian and Holly were extremely helpful, and I enjoyed working with them. The job was completed on time, and my new master bath is beautiful. I am extremely pleased!

Description of Work
Master Bath Remodel

Category custom cabinets, ceramic tile, interior designers, plumbing, home remodeling

5.0

07/19/2016


JUNE S.

Working with Kian and Rich was great. They listened to what we wanted and were very patient with my fussiness on the cabinets. They also tackled installs which were new to them, but items I really wanted in our new kitchen. If you want it done right, these are the people who can make it happen. As this designed gave a great room they also smoothed out our ceiling and completely repainted the entire area. We can now all work in out new kitchen! I should not forget Jessica at Arrow Cabinets in Woodbury for all her assistance in the cabinet design and layout.

Description of Work
We needed our kitchen completely gutted and redesigned.

Category ceramic tile, interior designers, plumbing, remodeling, home remodeling

5.0

06/01/2016


Erica A.

Can’t recommend Spacemakers enough! They provided a free detailed quote including plans and a line by line cost breakdown. We worked with Kian during the planning/design stages and with Rick during the construction stage. Very professional and easy to work with. Available by email and text, which is nice. The contractors they work with were great and let a relatively clean worksite each day. We had a plumbing problem, but Rick took care of it right away and got it fixed. It’s not the cheapest contractor (although certainly not the most expensive either), but you will get a great value and you can trust them to do the job right.

Description of Work
It was a total redo: new floor, new window, move a door, lighting, cabinetry, move plumbing and gas lines, etc.

Category home remodeling

5.0

04/12/2016


Gary L.

From the beginning, Spacemakers was great to work with. Rick and his designer, Kian took the time to understand our needs, then presented us with a formal proposal with options for us to consider. They are definitely a great team! Kian is an amazing resource. She knew our tastes, but she also gave us alternatives that we wouldn’t have thought of ourselves, which is what you want in a designer. She was right there with us to select the granite, tile and cabinets. She was never more than a text or email away if we needed input on things like the powder room mirror, accessories and towels. Rick kept the project running smoothly and on time and was always available via text, phone and email. There weren’t any major issues, but if anything came up he would be there to deal with it. His crew and subcontractors are great guys that do amazing work. They’re very honest and trustworthy and we never had any concern about giving them access to our home when we weren’t there. We’re thrilled with our new kitchen! Spacemakers does amazing work, but most importantly they’re honest, hardworking people that want their clients to be happy in their homes. It’s truly a pleasure to work with them. In fact, we like them so much we had them back to remodel our master bath and do additional work on our second floor!

Description of Work
Kitchen remodel - new cabinets, island, lighting and granite counter tops. Powder room - new vanity and granite counter top Replaced/upgraded all first floor interior doors and hardware

Category home remodeling

5.0

01/15/2016


Wendy L.

The work was done on time and within budget. Any changes made to design were happily accommodated. Offered creative solutions, especially for functioning exhaust system. Any concerns with subcontracted labor were addressed. Kian offered excellent design advice and customer service.

Description of Work
Remodeled kitchen including replacing cupboards, countertops, building storage cabinets, center island with electrical outlet, new venting system, added electrical ceiling lights in living room and kitchen, new sinks, pull out drawers, spice rack, quiet close cupboards, tile backsplash.

Category custom cabinets, ceramic tile, interior designers, plumbing, remodeling, home remodeling

5.0

12/28/2015


Glenda B.

This was our first major remodel and we are very happy with the work performed by SpaceMakers. We met with representatives from 5 design/remodel companies and from the first were most impressed with Rick and Kian. They were very responsive to our ideas and were the only company willing to provide a firm quote (rather than a ballpark estimate) without requiring a down payment. Their quote was in the lower half of the numbers we received, and there were many items in their "basic" quote (such as soft-close cabinet doors and drawers, and Cambrian countertops) that would have added to other estimates. Kian very quickly gained an understanding of our preferences and guided us to the items that were best suited to us. She came with us to most of the places to chose items and planned well ahead to keep things on schedule as far as materials delivery. We can't say enough about Kian, she was wonderful to work with. We were also very happy with the vendors to which we were referred for various items, such as the kitchen faucets. Tony and Clay, Rick's guys, were great, very hard-working, timely and considerate. Although we are both retired and at home most of the time, we never worried about having to be gone when they were there. All of the sub-contractors - plumbing, ceilings, floors - were also very knowledgeable and efficient. We had a couple of hitches along the way, no fault of SpaceMakers, a return duct in an unexpected place and a gas leak. Work was adjusted and issues were resolved on a timely basis. Once the cold weather set in we realized the damper had not been installed in our new microwave. We called Rick and he and Tony were there to correct and reinstall, no arguments or delays, and with apologies. We love our new kitchen. We will certainly turn to SpaceMakers first for any future remodeling.

Description of Work
Complete kitchen remodel, with some ceiling and floor work in adjacent rooms

Category handyman service, plumbing, remodeling, home remodeling

5.0

12/17/2015


Chris C.

Project went great. Everyone was on time every day and communicated well. Had a couple surprises along the way but Rick explained what the issues were and took care of it. Their process of picking out all the materials(tile, grout color and cabinets) before they start is a great way to minimize down time and keep the project moving. There never was a time that the people working at my house didn't have what they needed. Kian Dwyer their designer is very helpful and does an amazing job pulling all the pieces together. Our bathroom looks great and we love it.

Description of Work
Gutted and remodeled master bathroom.

Category ceramic tile, remodeling, home remodeling

5.0

08/23/2015


Sarah K.

Rick and Kian did an exceptional job with our mudroom and washroom remodeling project. This was our first remodeling project, so we did extensive research on multiple remodeling companies before selecting Spacemakers. Spacemakers stood out for a number of reasons. First, Rick and Kian were both highly professional and very easy to work with throughout the entire project. From our first meeting with them to the completion of the project, Rick and Kian provided timely and detailed advice on the project. Their use of computer drawings to visualize a custom concept for us made it much easier to understand what the final work product would look like. Rick and Kian also had a very clear and detailed quote. We were grateful to discuss various options and tradeoffs with them to understand the cost of the project with high precision up front. There were no unforeseen expenses in the project, and that is a credit to the detailed, upfront planning that Rick and Kian invest in a project to avoid surprises. The overall workmanship was excellent and they went the extra mile for aesthetics on the entire project. The overall demolition, construction, and finishing was done in a timely and professional way. Rick and Kian both communicated regularly with us and provided plenty of explanation along the way, which gave us a lot of confidence in the overall process. Because it was a relatively smaller project, we were particularly impressed with the care and interest that Rick and Kian put into this project. We are confident from this experience that they give every project--small, medium or large--the same level of attention and detail. We would definitely recommend Spacemakers to anyone looking to do a remodeling project and would use them again for future projects.

Description of Work
Small-to-medium size remodeling of mudroom/washroom. This was a complete remodel of floors, walls, and ceiling including plumbing and partial wall removal. Custom cabinetry was also designed and installed.

Category custom cabinets, flooring contractor, plumbing, remodeling, home remodeling

    Other local Pros in your area

    Asher Construction LLC

    We are a locally-owned small construction business that values quality workmanship and great customer service. We are reliable, easy to communicate with and we work quickly.  

    Angi Certified

    Closets For Life

    Closets For Life, a custom organization company based in Apple Valley, Minnesota, works with residential clients as well as designers, builders and architects to create innovative storage solutions for all organizational needs including closets, offices, garages, kitchens, laundry rooms, wine cellars, Murphy beds and more. What makes Closets For Life different than the others? We listen. We pride ourselves on the ability to listen to the client and determine their specific needs. We understand that each part of your home has unique organizational requirements.  

    Angi Certified

    Offers by Closets For Life on Angi
    VersaTile

    We guarantee your satisfaction, and we won’t leave until the job is done right. We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service. Check out our services offered and call or click to schedule an estimate today!  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    No License Required for Trade
    Trade License Number
    CR639192
    Trade License Locale
    Minnesota
    Trade License Authority
    Minnesota Dept of Labor
    Trade License Expiration
    03/31/2020
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Financing Available
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Kitchen & Bath remodeling. Basement remodeling & finishing. Additions. Porches. Home renovations.

    Services Not Offered

    NA

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about SpaceMakers Remodeling

    How is SpaceMakers Remodeling overall rated?

    SpaceMakers Remodeling is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

    What payment options does SpaceMakers Remodeling provide

    SpaceMakers Remodeling accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Financing Available

    Does SpaceMakers Remodeling offer free estimates?

    Yes, SpaceMakers Remodeling offers free project estimates.

    Does SpaceMakers Remodeling offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, SpaceMakers Remodeling offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Are warranties offered by SpaceMakers Remodeling?

    Yes, SpaceMakers Remodeling offers warranties.

    What services does SpaceMakers Remodeling offer?

    SpaceMakers Remodeling offers the following services: Kitchen & Bath remodeling. Basement remodeling & finishing. Additions. Porches. Home renovations.

    Are there any services SpaceMakers Remodeling does not offer?

    NA