About

Founded 1958 • With Angi since June 2007

A garden should enrich your life and be a place to laugh, contemplate and reflect. ProScapes is a landscape design company who creates gardens that are sensitive to their surrounding environment, the architecture they offset, and the people who use them. ProScapes creates outdoor living spaces that

Awards and Badges

Angi Certified

Business Highlights

Family Owned & OperatedFamily Owned & Operated
Eco FriendlyEco Friendly

Images

A Service Provider's profile imageA Service Provider's profile imageA Service Provider's profile image

Verified Reviews

4.8

(175) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

152

4

13

3

8

2

2

1

0

Rating Details

Price

4.7

Professionalism

4.9

Punctuality

5.0

Quality

4.8

Responsiveness

4.9

Read reviews by category

lawn & landscaping (169)mulch delivering (34)hardscaping (26)stone & gravel (17)Patios (3)lawn care (20)tree service (12)hauling (5)masonry (3)decks & porches (3)
Showing 1-25 of 175 reviews
5.0

10/20/2020


Dale T.

How did it go? It was one of the best, well-run projects we've ever had done. Brian presented excellent ideas on what we may want to consider, then skillfully executed on the plan from there. Brian and the entire crew with Environmental Design are top notch, second to none. Years back, we hired Brian and Team to complete a major front-yard project. It went so well, we didn't think twice about hiring Environmental Design again. Our first and only call was to Brian! Brian, due to his background and expertise at what he does, makes the process "enjoyable" and "care-free". Brian starts a project when he says he will and completes the project right on time. His estimating, layout and project planning and execution skills are excellent. Brian is also a very, very, very nice person to work with at all times. Same with his Team. No surprise they've been together for a long time. While placing boulders, the team is expert and very precise. They performed that task for both the front and back yard projects. They care for your existing yard, by placing plywood down while entering and exiting the property. They clean the site daily, to ensure you're well taken care of at all times. They begin project days right on time (very consistent and predictable), which we appreciated. Plant selection (to ensure one will have color all year long) and layout/presentation of those plants is an excellent skill Brian and Environmental Design possess. They also recommended and we acted on it, a dripline irrigation system which runs right off the automated system. Press a button and all the plants are watered on the hillside!!! So glad we did that. We'd HIGHLY recommend you call Brian/Environmental Design, for a project large or small. You'll be so glad you did!

Description of Work
Expert advice and recommendations for a major landscape for the back yard, then completion of the project.

Category landscaping, mulch, hardscaping

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/20/2020

5.0

09/26/2020


Nabeel A.

Brian (owner/designer) and his team did an excellent job and really exceeded our expectations. We wanted to plant some new trees, redo and expand two beds in the backyard, and clean up the landscaping around the boarders of the house. Brian was quick to respond. He is extremely knowledgable and clearly passionate about his work. He had really great ideas about the types of trees, grasses and flowers that we should plant and where. More importantly he was able to clearly explain the rationale of everything. He also would tell us if something wasn't worth the money and areas that we could save on costs. He was able to also tell us why our old fire pit patio was growing moss in one area (poor drainage). His team was able to fix this issue as well at no extra cost by creating a small drainage slit in one of the bricks. After the initial consultation, he quickly mocked up a 3D model of the backyard beds and emailed it to us the next day. He later sent a more detailed blueprint of the backyard beds with the flower, tree, grass, and rock placement along with a detailed itemized list of the individualized projects with a quote. The final cost remained the same as the quote too. His team of workers were very professional and worked really efficiently. They arrived early in the morning and were able to complete everything in two days when I had anticipated it would take almost a week. Brian was there to supervise every aspect and walked us through each day as work started making sure were were happy with each aspect. He would also call later in the afternoon to check in. The final result was excellent and of high quality especially compared to some of the old existing landscaping where we could see corners were cut. Brian then spent about 20-30 minutes after everything was done walking us through everything, discussing the watering plan, the weed control tips, and tree protection in the winter and providing us with handouts as well. We'll definitely be using them again.

Description of Work
Landscaping in the front and backyard.

Category hauling services, landscaping, mulch, tree service, hardscaping

Cost $12,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/24/2020

Images

Review for ProScapes - 3401 Highway 55, Saint Paul, MN - 38905344

+9 More

5.0

09/19/2020


Elizabeth K.

We bought an old house from the original owner, who hadn't touched her landscaping in probably 10 years. I reached out to a few companies right at the start of quarantine for a quote on some landscaping work. Brian was the first person who responded to me--he was at my house within a couple days, and we stood 6-feet apart outside as we walked around the house and discussed what we needed done. I explained that I am not outdoorsy and have a black thumb; I didn't want anything that required a lot of maintenance from me. He heard everything I asked for. As we approached the side of the house he paused and asked "Do you get water in your basement." He was right on. He identified an issue I never brought it up to him. He also pointed out that our retaining wall was buckled and crumbling. He had a quote to me within a day. He had a crew at my house as soon as the governor allowed his business to open back up. They worked hard for 4 days, only stopping when it was too rainy to continue. Brian was able to save many of my existing plants and bushes to save on the cost of new plants. Every couple of days Brian would walk around the yard with me to make sure everything was to my liking. When it was all done, he gave me a folder of information--what was planted, when/how the plants needed to be watered or treated, what to do before it frosts. My yard looks 100x better. My neighbors have commented on what an improvement they made. I feel like our curb appeal increased tenfold. And a bonus: I haven't had water in my basement since they were here. Thanks Brian! You were great to work with! We'll call you in a couple years when we are ready to do the backyard. :)

Description of Work
Landscape renovation--tear out years-old volunteer vegetation, rebuild retaining wall, new plants, new mulch, new sod.

Category landscaping, lawn service

Cost $20,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/27/2020

5.0

09/19/2020


Linda H.

I highly recommend this company! Owner Brian and his entire team were great to work with. I am very pleased with how my backyard renovation has turned out – even better than I imagined. It was a large project - a complete remodel of my backyard including removing majority of old lawn, tilling in new rich soil, adding premium shrubs and plants, a dry creek bed (plus installing bridge I had purchased), creating multiple new garden areas for my future plantings, and finishing it all off with a lot of mulch and great flagstone stepper paths. Brian was very thorough in the design and estimating process, and was flexible & accommodating to make sure I was happy with everything. He is an experienced professional that kept in touch and ensured the entire project went well. His hard-working crew were very knowledgeable and experienced too. They did a great job prepping, tearing out old, installing all the new features, made sure I was good with things like boulder placements/paths/etc, and provided excellent clean-up. I love my new Backyard Oasis. I will definitely use this company again for future work (phase 2 – front yard!) and have already been recommending them to friends and neighbors.

Description of Work
Complete Backyard Renovation

Category landscaping

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/17/2020

5.0

08/17/2020


Colleen B.

Awesome! Brian was very knowledgeable about the trees that would do great in our tough clay soil. The team was so nice and helpful and did a great job! Thank you!!!

Description of Work
Trees Planted

Category decks, tree service

Cost $5,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/22/2020

3.0

06/16/2020


Diana N.

Pros: Scheduling went well. The team is friendly. Clean up was very good. Cons: Expensive Poor quality timbers making a less than high quality appearance. Timbers near garage were installed about 5 inches off design in an area that needs clearance to bring lawnmower through. The mistake was made after agreement with Brian & and after Brian had dug an obvious trench where the wall was supposed to be. One of the new arbor vitae had to be moved because of the misplaced wall. No dirt berm around trees and plants on hill. I ended up berming the areas around each tree/plant myself. One of the plants was covered by the fabric - we had to inform them and find the plant. Conclusion: Environmental Design was one of the most expensive of the 5 quotes we received. We expected better quality and less stress when we pay for more expensive service. We should have inspected all raw materials (I would have rejected many of the timbers) and watched every step.

Description of Work
Replace Timber wall, remove trees/plants, add new trees/plants fabric and mulch

Category decks, landscaping

Cost $8,000

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 05/15/2020

Service Provider Response

I'm very sorry you have concerns. I will gladly meet with you to solve them. When we left you said everything was great, so i'm not sure what happened between then and now. We went to Bachman's and picked up the best timbers i could find, and payed a premium price. We even used the timbers you tagged. One thing you forgot to mention is that you drew the plan and it did not work. That is why we had so many changes. We moved walls, plants, beds, everything to try and cover up your mistake. I will learn from this in the future, and make sure is does not happen again.
5.0

06/15/2020


Kathy L.

The whole process was a breeze. I found Environmental Design on Angies List because they had many good reviews. I sent an e-mail to Brian and within a day had a response and an appointment scheduled. He was very prompt, the price was quite fair and the work was done quickly and professionally. I would highly recommend this company.

Description of Work
We had a large lilac removed and a perennial garden installed.

Category landscaping

Cost $2,700

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/15/2020

5.0

12/26/2019


Leo S.

Brian did an outstanding job. His bid was fair, he arrived on schedule, communicated well and was very neat and attentive to detail. When I wanted some things changed last minute he was very accommodating. Would hire Brian again.

Description of Work
yard landscaping

Category landscaping

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/05/2019

Service Provider Response

Thank you [Member Name Removed], We enjoyed working for you as well. We have found that communication is extremely valuable for customer satisfaction and resulting satisfaction. We are proud to work with our clients and solve their needs. We realize we must be flexible.
5.0

10/15/2019


Michael T.

Amazing! Brian and his crew were fabulous. From the very start Brian was very prompt with emails, he made everything very easy for us (and this was a massive project), and had great plans and ideas. We had a few days of rain and mud and I was shocked at how well they cleaned up at the end. Everything was spotless and perfect! We are so happy with what they did and would work with Brian again on future projects.

Description of Work
Tear out old retaining walls and rebuild new boulder walls.

Category landscaping

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/14/2019

Service Provider Response

Hello [Member Name Removed] and [Member Name Removed] you were great to work with, I really enjoyed your hospitality, and beautiful site. I appreciate your time you spent for the great review. You had a very difficult project over a very wet period of time, and we managed to work through all of that with panache. We look forward to working with you in the future on phase two.
5.0

10/11/2019


lance L.

Highly recommend. Brian is incredibly well educated around trees/plants, what they are, where to put them, and how to care for them. It was a pleasure working with Brian, very humble, honest and genuine, very very nice guy. Him and his team planted 7 trees for us (2 maples, 3 spruce, 1 river birch and 1 locust. My wife and I could not be more pleased with the trees and services. The entire team was very respectful of the yard, zero damages, brought three trucks of equipment and trees were in an enclosed to protect them. Such a small detail but I seem to notice everything, he even went around and picked up all the utility flag markings after the job was completed.

Description of Work
We had 7 trees planted by Brian and his team.

Category landscaping, tree service

Cost $3,800

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/11/2019

Service Provider Response

Hello [Member Name Removed], It was a pleasure to work for you as well. It's great clients like you that can make this job very rewarding. The trees really made an instant impact, and every year will just get better.
5.0

09/24/2019


Kerry F.

It turned out great. The owner, Brian, was prompt, professional and had great ideas. He was timely with the plan design and quote and work done. His crew was professional and hard working. All in all, it was money well spent! I would highly recommend Environmental Design.

Description of Work
Design backyard with suggestions for trees, shrubs and perennials

Category landscaping, mulch, hardscaping

Cost $17,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/24/2019

Service Provider Response

Dear [Member Name Removed], We pride ourselves on great service, timely response times, and great customer service. I appreciate the time you spent on the kind review. We came back for phase two a week later, maybe the shortest time in between landscape installation phases i can remember. That is one good way to measure customer satisfaction.
5.0

09/23/2019


Lindsay G.

I enjoyed working with Brian and his crew very much! They were prompt and reliable and made the process extremely easy! It’s difficult to find companies you can trust and I would recommend them to anyone! We love our new landscaping!!

Description of Work
Landscaping, tree planting, design etc

Category landscaping

Cost $11,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/23/2019

Service Provider Response

Hello [Member Name Removed], Thanks for the great review, we really enjoyed working with you as well. Its nice to have nice clients who really enjoy the process, and the results. Trust is earned, and I'm extremely happy you felt that way.
5.0

08/28/2019


Ron H.

The process was smooth and amazingly simple. Brian responded VERY fast every time we communicated, I did not feel unsure about anything as we progressed. I intended to just do the front bed demo/replant, but as he was here I asked to add house edging/rock and front plantings. He quoted 3 jobs separate so I could choose what I wanted. He also included a sketch of the design; which was very nice to see. Later he also sent a CAD version to really "see" it. He quoted 5 week waiting list and hit it perfectly. During the job he even sent a few pictures as the job started... great little touch. I truly recommend Brian.. great company. You get what you pay for.. if you want quality, great personality, and great customer service; look no further.

Description of Work
Demo of front over grown bed, edge/rock entire house and plant front

Category landscaping, mulch, pavers, gravel

Cost $9,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/28/2019

Images

Review for ProScapes - 3401 Highway 55, Saint Paul, MN - 38075231

+3 More

Service Provider Response

A lot of great landscaping is making very hard work look easy. Your project went very well indeed.
5.0

08/02/2019


Deb M.

We wanted to create a new garden bed along a wooden privacy fence. We had the beginnings of an idea of what we wanted and the types of plants we wanted to use, but needed advice and design suggestions. Brian came out, talked us through options and made several well-informed suggestions on several things we hadn't thought about. He had wonderful follow-up, answered our additional questions, and made the entire process simple. When it came time for the work to be done, Brian was very hands-on, walking through the work they planned to do prior to starting, making sure at several strategic points that things were progressing as expected, and provided a final walk through at the end of the project, including follow-up care instructions. His work crew were polite and efficient, and did a wonderful job. The finished project looks better than we had imagined, and the team cleaned up and left the work site in great condition.

Description of Work
Landscape design and installation

Category landscaping, mulch, pavers, gravel

Cost $4,800

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/30/2019

Service Provider Response

Wow, thank you for the great review. You just summarized our entire market strategy. I enjoyed working with you to create a gorgeous garden.
5.0

07/03/2019


Randy C.

The project sent well, Because of our recent wet weather, the project had to be delayed a couple of days awaiting more favorable conditions. Brad kept is informed about all delays and when they started he instructed his experienced 4 person team to lay down 4x8 sheets of plywood to prevent lawn damage with the heavier equipment used to remove old pressure-treated timbers next to the house and 3 overgrown shrubs in other areas. He replaced the timber wall with an attractive boulder wall which will allow for better drainage away from my home. The yard looks good and the new plants and design flow well together. Brad used as many existing plants as possible and replaced others that were unhealthy, in undesirable areas or had outgrown their location. He also moved some plants we wanted to keep to new locations on the property where they were a better fit. Brad and his crew were focused, friendly and pleasant to deal with. We are very satisfied with the results. Below are 2 photos showing part of the project (it is raining again, so couldn't shoot the whole thing).

Description of Work
Improving an existing home landscape and improving drainage away from house where some flooding had occurred this Spring.

Category landscaping, mulch, pavers, gravel

Cost $4,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/02/2019

Images

Review for ProScapes - 3401 Highway 55, Saint Paul, MN - 37965641

+1 More

Service Provider Response

I'm glad you noticed the extra care we took to eliminate the damage to your yard. A very tough project, that went very well.
5.0

06/25/2019


Leland C.

Brian met with us, took copious notes on what we were looking to do, and then provided a detailed proposal. His was not the lowest priced bid, but on 2 separate occasions I had questions that I emailed him, and he responded within 12 hours each time. (I can't say the same about the sales guy from a different company I had bid on our project, who never emailed back or called unless I tried to contact him twice.) Brian was beyond diligent, and sincerely cared that we would be happy with our end result. He did a computer-diagrammed plan of our front planting beds that we were refreshing, including removal of several cubic yards of rock and moving it to some areas in our side and backyard that needed it and disposing the rest, as well as removal of old poly and stale and dying plants. He and his crew were careful not to damage our lawn with their heavy equipment. They used plywood laid down on the grass so no ruts would go into our yard from the Bobcat. All told 3 separate front planting beds were refreshed. in one of the beds, a few of the new plants, still in their pots, were ones my wife didn't end up liking aesthetically, and Brian made suggestions on alternatives and with absolutely no qualms he replaced the original choices with the new ones, no questions asked. They planted all new shrubs and plants and laid down new mulch. In our backyard there were 3 old overgrown and dead junipers that they removed and regraded a small sloped bed and planted some more appropriate evergreens and groundcover plants. More mulch went down there as well. In both the front and backyards, a couple of drain tiles were placed to aid in diverting sump pump water away from the house in the back, and improve drainage from a previously installed drain tile in the back corner of our backyard. Everything went on schedule and Brian's crew was diligent and pleasant to work with. Brian made sure to supervise everything each day. He rounded it all out with an excellent review of the care of the new plants, complete with a folder with lots of written instructions that are easy to follow. Brian and his company were a pleasure to work with, and frankly the gold standard in customer service for any contractor, landscaping or otherwise.

Description of Work
Front landscaping refresh, Drain tile installations

Category landscaping, mulch, pavers, gravel

Cost $9,764

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/17/2019

Service Provider Response

"Brian and his company were a pleasure to work with, and frankly the gold standard in customer service for any contractor, landscaping or otherwise." Thank you for the great review. Your quote sums it up fine.
5.0

09/11/2018


BRIAN B.

Brian’s crew was excellent. There was a 5-person crew for a relatively small job, and Brian stopped by to see how it was progressing. They worked very hard and efficiently. After the wall was done, they even made one more trip back to add a single boulder to fill in a small gap! I almost rated price as a 4 only because the typical price for this type of work is so high, but I think their price was comparable to other landscapers, and in the end the overall service and final results were above our expectations. I also want to give them credit for responsiveness and flexibility. We were having other work done on the house, and suddenly decided the old timbers would not fit the new look. Brian was able to schedule us to fit in between work being done for us by other contractors.

Description of Work
We had a very old (29 years) retaining wall in our backyard made of timbers which was rotted and looked very unattractive. Brian gave us a bid to tear down and remove the timbers and replace them with a new wall created with boulders. The project also included replacing a few very old wood steps with stone ones. Although the cost for this type of project is always a jolt, it was not higher than what we expected to pay. We were very impressed with his expertise and advice on the alternatives. As a result, we decided to go ahead with the project.

Category landscaping

Cost $9,965

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/16/2018

Images

Review for ProScapes - 3401 Highway 55, Saint Paul, MN - 37391902

+1 More

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the review, and the recent referrals. This is how we continue to grow.
5.0

06/26/2018


Linda K.

Brian was very accommodating. He and employees arrived on time and were extremely efficient. They went above and beyond our expectations. The result was exceptional. Thank you Brian and employees.

Description of Work
redsign and landscape front yard

Category landscaping

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/26/2018

Service Provider Response

You are welcome. We had fun with your project, and it turned out gorgeous.
5.0

05/21/2018


Jim V.

Brian and his crew were awesome. They did their work professionally and on time. The crew was very respectful and did a nice job. I would hire them again.

Description of Work
Landscaping and mulch refreshing

Category landscaping

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/21/2018

Service Provider Response

Hi [Member Name Removed], We have a great installation crew, and we only do one job at a time. That way it helps to make sure everyone is happy with the results.
5.0

05/21/2018


Jim V.

We already had the idea for the design. Brian suggested the appropriate plants. We also needed to refresh all of our mulched areas. Brian's crew did a great job. They worked hard and were very nice and respectful of our needs.

Description of Work
Landscaping to provide a privacy barrier

Category landscaping, mulch

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/14/2018

Service Provider Response

We solved a need for a vegetative buffer by incorporating some beautiful Cupressina upright Spruce along your property line. Turned out perfect.
5.0

12/19/2017


Lisa E.

Very well. Came as scheduled (weather permitting). Very communicative to us and our neighbors. Cleaned up well when complete.

Description of Work
shrub and small tree removal. Mulch.

Category landscaping, mulch

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/02/2017

Service Provider Response

We communicated well and it all worked out.
5.0

10/30/2017


Randall K.

We couldn’t have been happier. Brian was great to work with and the crew was diligent and proficient at their jobs. They were very good about leaving the job site cleaned up. We also felt the price was very fair. We look forward to hiring ED again.

Description of Work
Existing landscaping in front of lawn removed and replaced.

Category landscaping, mulch, pavers, gravel

Cost $7,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/12/2017

Service Provider Response

Fair price, diligent and great clean-up. Thanks.
4.0

10/09/2017


Keith B.

Have used Environmental Design for past projects as well as this one. Everything wen to expectations. Would use Brian and company again.

Description of Work
Reworked landscape beds. Removed old landscape plants/trees. Added Japanese Lilac Trees

Category landscaping

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/09/2017