Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Johnson Creek

Founded 1995 • With Angi since May 2003

4.9

(33) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

1423 Sheldon St

Saint Paul, MN 55108

Description

We are Residential Landscape Design/Build/Maintenance Contractors. Johnson Creek combines diverse plant communities with creative hardscapes in a professional approach. We work for you, keeping our operation small with knowledgeable staff, providing the utmost service along with quality product to ensure your long term satisfaction. Welcome to Johnson Creek, Inc. Design, Installation and Maintenance for Garden, Yard and Estate....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

04/28/2015


Marlene J M.

We've worked with Mick Johnson and Johnson Creek since 2001. Talented in many ways, Mick is particularly good at transforming small spaces into beautiful, functional areas. He designed our original back and front yard - pavers, raised flower beds, pond/waterfall- and has helped us maintain and improve our landscaping right up to April, 2015. He and his crew are prompt, knowledgeable, professional and easy to work with. He personally oversees the project and is at the site initiating the project, checking in during the process, and making sure to review everything with us at its completion.

Description of Work
Our last project - expanding our patio, replacing pavers, updating waterfall, redoing our front stoop and mulching our gardens - was completed in one day!

Category landscaping,hardscaping

Service Provider Response

Thanks for your kind words and continued business. I have enjoyed working with you over the years as well as getting to know you!
5.0

03/24/2015


ED M.

They did a nice job. They did a lot of work tore out the old landscaping around the house and put in new landscaping.

Description of Work
They redid the landscaping around the house

Category landscaping

Service Provider Response

Thanks for your positive review. We enjoyed working with you throughout the project.
5.0

02/13/2014


Tom H.

Hi crew quickly and efficiently completed the project within the agreed upon timelines and cleared away all construction waste. The final project has garnered multiple compliments! We are very pleased with the results and I highly recommend Johnson Creek.

Description of Work
Mick provided several alternatives for our patio/sidewalk project.

Category landscaping,patios

Service Provider Response

We appreciate your positive review! Thanks again for your business.
5.0

05/06/2013


Rebecca W.

It took a while from bid to installation because I decided too late last fall that I wanted a patio.... Mick came over mid-fall to give me a bid. His bid was comparable or a little lower than other bids - including the cost of more expensive baked clay bricks instead of concrete pavers. By the time I said "yes" however, winter was coming -- so we ran out of time. Then spring was so slow to come. I called Mick in early April to confirm that I wanted the work done ASAP since company is coming for a graduation - Mick said he'd be here as soon as it stopped raining/snowing. And he was -- He called Sunday 5/5 (he apologized for calling on a Sunday) to say he'd be here the next day - and Mick, 3 guys and a lot of equipment showed up promptly at 7:30. The demo was a little difficult since my yard is fenced and the gates are narrow - so everything had to be dug up by hand and hauled in wheelbarrows. The old concrete was way over-built with lots of re-bar - so it took a lot of sledgehammering. Around 1, they got it all dug out (about 10 inches, I'm guessing), and started putting in the gravel and sand foundation. Then started cutting and laying the brick, and finally tamping and filling the cracks with sand. They cut all the edge bricks to a perfect semi-circle, then layed the soldier course to finish it off - cutting "keystone" bricks every 4-5 bricks to makes sure the bricks stayed tight. They were done and cleaned up by 7 - in time for us to take the lawn chairs out and enjoy an adult beverage on the new patio before sunset It is beautiful. And I'm really happy Mick recommended the clay brick - it cost a little more - but looks great with our old house. The crew was very professional; the crew leader, Adam, checked in regularly to see whether I had questions, or to make sure I liked how it looked.

Description of Work
Demo and removal of existing reinforced concrete pad and walk; installation of approximately 18-foot diameter semi-circle brick (clay) paver patio. Patio is brick with random coloration-- brick red and darker; in a herringbone pattern with a 1-brick "soldier course" on the edge.

Category landscaping

Service Provider Response

[member name removed], thanks for the prompt and great review. I really appreciate it. I know you will enjoy your new clay paver patio for many years to come.
5.0

04/15/2013


Don C.

They were excellent. The contractor listened to what we wanted and a year and a half later we are still very pleased with the work and the way it looks.

Description of Work
They removed the old patio. They enlarged the patio and put in the pavers. They also fixed the gate so to the back yard.

Category hardscaping,patios

Service Provider Response

[member name removed], thanks for your nice review. I'm happy to know you are enjoying the new paver patio. Whenever you are ready to tackle the front, let me know!
5.0

04/10/2013


barb B.

Yes, I would hire this company for a future job.

Description of Work
Design and install stone stairway and landscape around a patio area.

Category landscaping

5.0

04/10/2013


STEPHANIE R.

It turned out very well; we were very happy with them. I would strongly recommend them for any city lot landscaping job.

Description of Work
They did a complete backyard landscape job for 2 of our houses.

Category landscaping

5.0

04/10/2013


Tim B.

They were excellent. We also had them come out and do some mulch. Mick is a great guy. He does great work. I would highly recommend them.

Description of Work
We re-did our landscaping; they designed it and installed the landscaping.

Category landscaping

5.0

04/04/2013


Dean G.

They are very good. They are very professional. They do a job when they say they are going to do a job. Even though their prices are high, it's worth it.

Description of Work
They do the landscaping in the summer; I've had them for years.

Category landscaping

5.0

04/04/2013


ZACHARY W.

It was great. They were prompt, friendly, knowledgebale and reasonable.

Description of Work
They did the planting and landscaping. They built a patio too.

Category landscaping,patios

    Other local Pros in your area

    TWIN CITY LANDSCAPE

    Twin City Landscape is a full-service landscape design and installation company based in Minneapolis. We are friendly and cost effective! Our services include design, installation and maintenance of patios, retaining walls, gardens and outdoor structures for your outdoor living spaces. MN LICENSE #20073873.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    KING SCAPES

    King Scapes is an owner-operated Landscape Company proudly serving the greater Twin Cities Metro area. From concept to completion, we pay impeccable attention to detail and strive to exceed all expectations. It is our mission to provide inspiration through the innovation of our surroundings and deliver the highest quality professional service in the lawn and landscaping industry. It is our vision to be recognized as a company with a passion for excellence acting with integrity and honesty while emphasizing quality and value in an endeavor for customer satisfaction. We are fully licensed and insured and a proud member of the MNLA. “Let Us Create Your Kingdom!” Additional email: dtegg@kingscapes.net Mailing Address: 11 Alice CT, Saint Paul, MN 55107  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Sirek Landscaping Co.

    **With all the uncertainties in regards to everyone leaving home during this time of crisis we at Sirek Landscaping will be continuing to provide safe and as usual top notch services. We can do all meetings outside keeping safe distance and sign any contracts electronically so from hardscaping with new patios or retaining walls to beautiful gardens or drainage issues or simply new sod in your yard we are here to help your time at home be a more comfortable and functional experience not only now but for years to come. Our extensively experienced staff can provide you with the best possible and safe service. Thank you for your consideration. Sincerely, Tom Sirek Over 3 decades of landscaping experience. We offer FREE estimates and back our work with a 100% satisfaction guarantee. We offer a wide range of services including general landscaping, retaining walls, patios, and drainage work. We are dedicated to providing top quality landscaping to all of our customers, and we hold ourselves to the highest standards. We do not sub any of our work out and the owner is present on every job site. A+ Rating on Better Business Bureau. Servicing entire Twin cities metro area Email: tomsirek@gmail.com  

    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Ask for details
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check
    Senior Discount
    No
    Warranties
    Ask for details

    Services Offered

    Residential landscape design/build firm, renovations & creating outdoor living spaces, install a full range of plant materials, mulches, patios, retaining walls, water features, outdoor lighting & carpentry.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Johnson Creek

    How is Johnson Creek overall rated?

    Johnson Creek is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

    What payment options does Johnson Creek provide

    Johnson Creek accepts the following forms of payment: Check

    Does Johnson Creek offer free estimates?

    No, Johnson Creek does not offer free project estimates.

    Does Johnson Creek offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Johnson Creek offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Johnson Creek offer a senior discount?

    No, Johnson Creek does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Johnson Creek?

    No, Johnson Creek does not offer warranties.

    What services does Johnson Creek offer?

    Johnson Creek offers the following services: Residential landscape design/build firm, renovations & creating outdoor living spaces, install a full range of plant materials, mulches, patios, retaining walls, water features, outdoor lighting & carpentry.