Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

J & D BUILDERS INC

Founded 1969 • With Angi since November 2000

4.7

(33) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

1477 SELBY AVE

Saint Paul, MN 55104

Description

RESIDENTIAL REMODELING....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

06/29/2015


Anika Y.

They were extremely flexible, professional and the quality of the work was excellent! Phil (job supervisor) is just as picky as my husband, which is incredibly picky! It was nice to have someone we could trust with our home.

Description of Work
J & D Builders worked with us for some custom cabinets in our kitchen and new facelift.

Category custom cabinets,remodeling,home remodeling

4.0

06/18/2015


Deb R.

Very professional, but limited ability to envision options for use of space and Cost containment.

Description of Work
provide estimates and revise According To needs

Category remodeling

5.0

06/05/2015


Peter S.

It went great! Their subcontractors were professional and timely and the project was on time and on budget.

Description of Work
removed old flooring and subflooring. Sistered joists to level uneven floor. Moved heating duct, laid new subfloor and finished wood floor. Patched and painted walls.

Category drywall,flooring contractor,remodeling,interior painters

4.0

03/23/2015


Todd B.

They were very good to talk to and got some ideas of what they could do while going over options for the kitchen. In the end it came down to price and we just couldn't move forward with the estimate they gave us. I would for sure give them another try if we have any more work come up in the future.

Description of Work
Kitchen estimate

Category remodeling,home remodeling

Service Provider Response

We're sorry that our proposal didn't match up with your expectations, but we're glad that you found our conversation helpful. Thanks for considering us for future projects!
5.0

03/15/2015


Katherine M.

Very efficient work for a small space, complete remodel. Completed project in the time given and work was excellent, professional, and our living space was clean. Joe was responsive to our questions and we love the final project.

Description of Work
Kitchen remodel. New floor, cabinets, appliances, paint, trim, design, etc. for older 1930s small kitchen.

Category custom cabinets,flooring contractor,interior designers,remodeling,woodworking,home remodeling,interior painters

Service Provider Response

Thanks for the great review. We're so pleased that you are happy with your project and our service.
5.0

01/07/2015


CARL H.

They were really good. They were thorough and professional. They came up with the bid in 3 days. It was a quick turn around. They listened to us about what we needed and why.

Description of Work
They gave us an estimate on a house renovation.

Category remodeling,garage builders

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much for sharing your feedback, and please contact us whenever you're considering work again!
5.0

08/16/2014


Torbjorn C.

J & D were professional, clean and had our best interests at heart. When they came to demo they took great care to move and cover anything we weren't able to bring upstairs. After the demo, they came over the next day to assist the Sump Pump company. They came early and discovered that post-demo our basement had flooded with a good 1 1/2'' of water. They took it upon themselves to help my husband and I rescue the rest of our storage and pull it upstairs. They also went and got a shop vac and tried to stop the water flow while we waited for the Sump Pump company to get there. J & D also ensured all of our vents were covered, and the undamaged areas were taped and plastic sheeted off prior to the Sump Pump company arrival to protect our property. Post-sump pump placement J & D did an excellent job in cleaning up the damage and returning our basement to the family area it was before the water damage. They were always courteous and took great care in keeping the rest of the property untouched. They also were very nice to our large husky/GSD mix who formed an attachment to a few of the workers and wanted to be petted when they came to talk to us. They were also very good about pointing out items that hadn't been done correctly by a previous contractor and helping us fix it. We are very pleased with the final product and will be working with J & D again to re-paint trim, doors and our upstairs bathroom.

Description of Work
Ameliorated water damage in our basement prior to sump pump placement, and fixed the damage post sump pump placement.

Category plumbing,remodeling,water damage restoration,home remodeling,interior painters

Service Provider Response

Thanks for the great review. We're always enjoy hearing that our team is putting in the extra effort to help homeowners out when jobs don't go quite as planned, and we are pleased that in the end you are happy with your project and our service.
5.0

08/13/2014


doug F.

He's very good. I was highly satisfied and the quote that I was looking for; he encouraged me not to do what I wanted to do and gave me some other ideas. I was very pleased with this guy. He was very helpful and a good guy. He knows what he was doing.

Description of Work
J & D Builders Inc. came out and gave me a quote for some structural work and considering some bathroom remodelling.

Category remodeling,home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thanks for the great review. We're so pleased that you are happy with your project and our service.
5.0

05/21/2014


xijing Z.

Joe did a good job in listening to my requirements and gave us good suggestions. We will consider them for future projects.

Description of Work
Joe provided a rough estimate of the renovation project

Category remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thanks for the great review. We're so pleased that you are happy with your project and our service.
5.0

02/11/2013


Ron E.

They are excellent. We highly recommend them.

Description of Work
We have used them for over 30 years.

Category remodeling

Service Provider Response

It's great loyal customers like you all that keep J&D doing what we do best! Thank you for the great review, and all the work over the years. We're pleased that you have been happy with our projects and our service for so long.

    Other local Pros in your area

    Green Clean Restoration & Carpet Care

    Super Service Award Winner 11 Years in a Row! 10% off Initial Emergency Service for Water, Fire or Smoke Damage. Green Clean is a locally-owned, full service cleaning and restoration company. Founded in 1996, Green Clean (formerly R&C Cleaning Specialists) has established a reputation for delivering high-quality cleaning and restoration services for homeowners, businesses, and insurance companies throughout the entire Twin Cities Metro area. From initial consultations to project management, reconstruction and restorations, every member of Green Clean staff are dedicated to restoring healthy environments. That dedication, along with an experienced, IICRC-certified staff of cleaning and restoration technicians have earned Green Clean an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau. 24 hour Water/Fire Damage Response Line 612-789-9600. Additional phones: (952) 944-9600 and (651) 714-4554.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Offers by Green Clean Restoration & Carpet Care on Angi
    Done Right Carpet & Restoration

    Call Us 24/7 at (612) 331-4454 For Immediate Response. No Matter the Size of the Water Damage Cleanup, We Have You Covered. We pride ourselves on our personal commitment to each and every client. When you call us, it’s like you called a family member because we treat every job like it was our own home or business.  

    Randy's Electric

    You deserve a safe and reliable home. Get the job done right the first time with outstanding customer service from the Twin Cities top rated electrician. Outlets, fans, lighting, smoke detectors, switches, and service panels. Your full service electrician.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Offers by Randy's Electric on Angi
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check
    Senior Discount
    NO
    Warranties
    Ask for details

    Services Offered

    FULL-SERVICE INTERIOR AND EXTERIOR REMODELING FOR PROJECTS LARGE & SMALL RANGING FROM SINGLE BATHROOM ADDITIONS TO WHOLE-HOUSE RENOVATIONS. WE OFFER COMPLETE DESIGN AND BUILDING SERVICES FROM THE START OF YOUR PROJECT THROUGH COMPLETION. WE OFFER EXPERT CRAFTSMANSHIP ALONG WITH A SMOOTH PROCESS. WE OFFER FIRE AND FLOOD RESTORATION AS WELL.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about J & D BUILDERS INC

    How is J & D BUILDERS INC overall rated?

    J & D BUILDERS INC is currently rated 4.7 overall out of 5.

    What days are J & D BUILDERS INC open?

    J & D BUILDERS INC is open:

    Monday: 7:30 AM - 4:00 PM

    Tuesday: 7:30 AM - 4:00 PM

    Wednesday: 7:30 AM - 4:00 PM

    Thursday: 7:30 AM - 4:00 PM

    Friday: 7:30 AM - 4:00 PM

    What payment options does J & D BUILDERS INC provide

    J & D BUILDERS INC accepts the following forms of payment: Check

    Does J & D BUILDERS INC offer free estimates?

    Yes, J & D BUILDERS INC offers free project estimates.

    Does J & D BUILDERS INC offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, J & D BUILDERS INC does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does J & D BUILDERS INC offer a senior discount?

    No, J & D BUILDERS INC does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by J & D BUILDERS INC?

    No, J & D BUILDERS INC does not offer warranties.

    What services does J & D BUILDERS INC offer?

    J & D BUILDERS INC offers the following services: FULL-SERVICE INTERIOR AND EXTERIOR REMODELING FOR PROJECTS LARGE & SMALL RANGING FROM SINGLE BATHROOM ADDITIONS TO WHOLE-HOUSE RENOVATIONS. WE OFFER COMPLETE DESIGN AND BUILDING SERVICES FROM THE START OF YOUR PROJECT THROUGH COMPLETION. WE OFFER EXPERT CRAFTSMANSHIP ALONG WITH A SMOOTH PROCESS. WE OFFER FIRE AND FLOOD RESTORATION AS WELL.