Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Hessian Plumbing Services Inc

Founded 1986 • With Angi since January 2010

4.9

(66) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

PO Box 22172

Saint Paul, MN 55122

Description

Charges an hourly rate. Charges a flat rate. No trip charges. No fuel charges. No hidden charges of any kind. Free advice for no charge. Additional services - Repairs of sinks, toilets, tubs, showers, garbage disposals, gas lines, laundry tubs, whirlpools, sump pump drain install/repair, remodeling

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
LISA P.
5.0
04/16/2020
I discovered a puddle on the cement slab beneath my at-least-26-year-old hot water heater in the evening. Next morning, I called a plumber recommended by the company that put in my furnace, but soonest they could do it was in 3 days. Based on Angie's list reviews, I then called Hessian Plumbing, talked with Mike, who was very professional and pleasant on the phone. He gave me an estimate that was a few hundred dollars less than the plumber who could do it in a few days, for the same brand water heater. John was able to come to my house that same afternoon, to arrive between 1 and 2. He arrived promptly at 1 PM and was gone by 3:30 PM, leaving me a new water heater. John was very self sufficient, and I felt completely comfortable to let him work in the utility room
Description of Work
replace hot water heater
Category
water heater repair, gas leak repair
Brent M.
5.0
03/13/2019
I called to schedule getting a new water heater, and I was set up for an appointment only two days later. I was going to get a continuous water heater, but Mike talked me out of it, and I am glad he did. I cannot say how much I appreciated the honesty he displayed. I was quoted $1,235 for the water heater. I asked about an all-home filtration system and was quoted something around $500 for that and then $250 for fixing some saddle taps on my current pipes. The plumber was very professional, it was cheaper than expected, and we are very satisfied with the work and result. There was a slight drip from the filter, but they came out and fixed it in ~1 minute. I am very happy to say I never need to find another plumber because these guys are just way too honest.
Description of Work
New Water Heater and Water Filtration System
Category
plumbing, water heater repair, water softeners

Service Provider Response

Thank you [Member Name Removed] for your kind words. Remember you can call us even to get advice on any concern. Mike
John S.
5.0
10/17/2017
Fast good service and will certainly use again.
Description of Work
Needed to have a garbage disposal replaced. Called a couple different places and I Hessian because of their good reviews online. They came out two days later, replace the garbage disposal all and all is well. John
Category
plumbing
Brianna E.
5.0
08/28/2017
Professional and done in less than two hours.
Description of Work
Replaced water heater.
Category
water heater repair
Brianna E.
5.0
07/26/2017
It went well. He was on time, provided commonsense consultation feedback and installed the toilet quickly.
Description of Work
Toilet installed and a consultation on our water heater and a consultation on an element of a bathroom remodel project.
Category
plumbing, water heater repair, home remodeling
ALLAN C.
5.0
07/17/2017
Very responsive to initial request. Installer was punctual and professional.
Description of Work
Removed old toilet and replaced with a new one.
Category
plumbing

Service Provider Response

Thanks [Member Name Removed] Glad to help out. Thanks, Mike
Heidi H.
5.0
05/15/2017
Plumber arrived on time and worked very efficiently. I am very pleased with the toilet they recommended and it's worked much better for me so far than my old toilet.
Description of Work
Installed a new toilet
Category
plumbing
Cathy W.
5.0
04/27/2017
They put in a garbage disposal in to fix them and they did some other things. It was good. They where punctual and very reasonable, an excellent value.
Description of Work
They helped with some sink issues.
Category
plumbing
Betsy L.
5.0
10/24/2016
He was punctual and was able to replace the part in no time.
Description of Work
Brady worked on our water softner and replaced a part.
Category
plumbing, water softeners
Dawn L.
5.0
09/26/2016
They did an awesome job. As always!
Description of Work
Water heater installation and gas leak repair
Category
plumbing, gas leak repair
Barbara D.
5.0
08/31/2015
Excellent - got a same day appointment when I called at about 10am. That was probably lucky but I'll take it. He diagnosed the leak and told me he could try to tighten the bolt or replace the hard line from the shut off to the toilet with a flexible line. He told me the pro's and con's of both and said he recommended replacing the line with a flexible line and why. I agreed to that and he had the line replaced in about 30 minutes. $130 repair cost. No "trip charge" as many other companies charge. Excellent service.
Description of Work
Fixed a toilet leak
Category
plumbing
Kim G.
5.0
03/25/2015
They were able to perform the work the same day I called. This was fantastic because shower wouldn't turn off due to bad cartridge. Matt arrived in afternoon as promised. He was very friendly and got the job done quickly. I will definitely call Hessian the next time I need plumbing services.
Description of Work
Replaced cartridge for shower faucet and tightened kitchen sink faucet.
Category
plumbing
Donald B.
5.0
11/17/2014
Good communication, punctual, polite, efficient. Left no mess. Nice company to work with.
Description of Work
Turn off city water at curb box and replace 2 water valves at home entry.
Category
plumbing
Jeff J.
4.0
08/20/2014
I called reporting a lower water pressure, though still adequate, in my shower for the past few days. Called Hessian, was told it could be one of I believe three problems, most of the time the water softener. Guy came out - turned the utility faucet on, engaged the by-pass, noticed a slight difference in water pressure, and concluded I needed a new one. I was not convinced because the pressure in my shower did not change so the same guy came out again, removed the pressure restrictor from shower head but still no change in water pressure. He nevertheless was 100% convinced that I needed a new water softener. I quoted prices to install one and they were reasonable. I had them install it and they did a great job doing so. Unfortunately the pressure in my shower is still lower which I now will just live with. The problem I have is with the determination that I needed a new water softener. Wouldn't one expect a slight change in water pressure after putting it in by-pass? I don't know I'm not a plumber. But it seemed to me that this guy came in knowing that he would recommend a new water softener. He checked no other possibilities which were explained during my initial phone call and ignored any evidence against it being a water softener. He was not able to explain why the water pressure in the shower did not change, only repeated that I needed a new water softener. Maybe in the end I did but I would recommend that they do a better job backing their conclusions with clear explanations and concrete evidence that you show your client.
Description of Work
Determine that I needed a new water softener and install it
Category
plumbing, water softeners
Jill W.
5.0
06/16/2014
Setting up the appointment was quick and easy. The plumber who did the work completed the job much faster than I anticipated. I had to repair the concrete myself, but the plumber offered to come back once I had the shower base in place. I was able to finish the work on the drain myself, so I did not have him return.
Description of Work
The plumber broke out the concrete under our old basement shower. Then he replaced the pipes/trap/drain, and he moved them to the correct location for the new shower we were installing.
Category
plumbing, home remodeling
Jon T.
4.0
06/03/2014
We ordered the heater and faucet so all they had to do was install it. He did a good job but didn't see where it should go and rudely annouced he'd be back when I got a granite guy to cut a hole for him. When I showed him the old dispenser directly in front of him, he said he thought it was a soap dispenser. He did the work well but was not friendly.
Description of Work
Replaced a hot water dispenser in the kitchen.
Category
plumbing
Egils S.
5.0
05/20/2014
Our neighbor recommended them. They were perfect. We had them in twice for 2 different things. Their price was really good. They were the perfect people for the job. I will definitely use them again.
Description of Work
Hessian Plumbing Services Inc. replaced our garbage disposal.
Category
plumbing
Neal W.
4.0
04/29/2014
Hessian Plumbing Services Inc did a good job.
Description of Work
I used Hessian Plumbing Services Inc for plumbing.
Category
plumbing
Gregg H.
5.0
02/20/2014
I called Mike after I gave up installing the GD. The instruction didn't make sense to me or the better half. Mike sent someone first thing the next morning and got the job done in minutes. We will call them when we redo the master bath.
Description of Work
Installed a Waste King 1HP garbage disposal.
Category
plumbing

Service Provider Response

Hi (member name removed), Thank you for your kind words. Let me know if you have any other questions. Thank you, Mike
Cynthia S.
5.0
02/17/2014
Mike from Hessian sent a plumber within hours, even though it was bitter cold outside and plumbers were busy with frozen pipe calls. Another plumber returned Friday to put the toilet back in. Both plumbers were personable, professional, and quick. Hessian doesn't charge any trip fees. I thought the charge was reasonable and the service was excellent. I will use them for any future plumbing issues.
Description of Work
We were having new flooring put in the bathroom and the workmen discovered a broken valve when they tried to pull the toilet. Hessian fixed the valve and returned later to replace the toilet.
Category
plumbing

Service Provider Response

Hi (removed member name), Thank you for your kind words. Let me know if you have any other questions. Thank you, Mike
Robert K.
5.0
09/25/2013
Call was returned within 2 hours. Disposal installed 2 days later. Great response time. Plumber made sure it worked and cleaned up the work area.
Description of Work
Replace garbage disposal.
Category
plumbing
John K.
2.0
06/21/2013
Here's the readers digest version: 1.) I fail any contractor that does not return phone calls in a timely fashion (48 hours max). 2.) I fail any contractor that does not complete the work or follow up on open issues that left incomplete on an initial visit. Hessian Plumbing failed on both accounts. My advice, and quot;If you're going to be in business, behave like a professional businessman.and quot; Detail: My initial call to Hessian Plumbing went into voice mail and took more than a week for them to return the call. I was busy at the time and did not take that delay into serious consideration. An appointment was made to replace the whole house booster pump and fix 2 leaking faucets in the master bath. Hessian showed up on time. The installation of the booster pump was completed, but only one of the faucets could be repaired as the other handle had a frozen set screw and would probably need to be completely replaced. The tech took a photo of the faucet and sent it to the office so that they could find a similar replacement and follow up at a later date. No follow up call ever happened. The pump they replaced was improperly adjusted, and all the pipes in the house would rattle/bang when it shut off on high pressure. The other faucet continued to leak. A few weeks later I e-mailed Hessian and then followed up with another voice mail message the next day regarding the pump noise, the remaining faucet, and a request for new work to install a new sump pump/back up system. After 10 days, and receiving no follow up call, I called and left a second message. It has now been two weeks with no return call. I then called Norblom Plumbing (612-827-4033) . Amy returned my call in less than a day, and had a tech in house 2 days later. Norbom not only fixed the sloppy work done by Hessian, but also did another $1,200 in work for the sump pump and other issues. His story below changed. He called me 2 days after I posted this review and told me and quot;I was sicker than a dog for a couple of weeksand quot;. Don't know what is true, but at the end of the day, you need to work out coverage no matter what the issue.
Description of Work
Replaced an old leaking water pressure booster system. Fixed a leaking faucet.
Category
plumbing

Service Provider Response

I am responding to this matter. I did drop the ball on this job. I had a very serious family matter in North Dakota, which ended with the death of my father. I try to be very responsible and take any issues seriously. This did fall at a bad time for me, and I am sorry about that. Thank you, Mike
Gregg H.
5.0
04/26/2013
Excellent. The pump was delivered the day before and Shaun picked up the battery and brought it with him. He had pump installed in 30 minutes.
Description of Work
We had them replace our sump pump with new one that had a battery backup.
Category
plumbing, wells, drain cleaning

Service Provider Response

Thank you, Mike
Patrick L.
5.0
04/15/2013
I called Hessian Plumbing and spoke with Mike, the owner. I explained that I had a shutoff valve to the clothes washer that was leaking and also had a slow moving drain in the bathroom sink. I noted that neither were a major issue and did not require immediate attention. He stated that he had a plumber with an opening that same afternoon (Wednesday) and he sent him out. Shane arrived within an hour and promptly repaired the leaking shutoff valve. He then began to disconnect the trap under the bathroom sink so he could snake out the drain. He found that the threads on the cast iron pipe leading into the wall were stripped and he needed to purchase a new sleeve to repair the pipe. Since he had other appointments cheduled later that afternoon he was unable to stay and complete the repair. He called Mike to see when he could schedule a follow up visit and we agreed on Friday afternoon. Shane stopped by the house on Thursday, one day earlier than scheduled, as he had extra time in his schedule before his next appointment. He cut off a section off the old pipe and made the repair. He proceeded to snake out the drain, reinstall the trap and test the drain. Unfortunately, the drain backed up and he mentioned that I may need to call out a drain service for the main drain. I requested that he snake out the drain one more time as the snake may have come up short of the main drain. He agreed and sure enough, that resolved the issue. Drain runs great!
Description of Work
Leaky shutoff valve to clothes washer repaired. Slow moving drain under bathroom sink snaked out.
Category
plumbing, drain cleaning

Service Provider Response

Thanks [member name removed]
Rebecca W.
5.0
03/07/2013
I received excellent service from the first phone call through the installation process. The entire process was well coordinated from the on-time arrival of the plumber to the drop off of the new hot water heater and water softener. It was impressive to see how well-timed each phase of the project was handled and there was no time wasted. There were no problems and Shane explained the operation of the new equipment in detail. I'm very happy with the work that was done. I'm also happy to say that the total cost of the project matched the estimate so there were no surprises. I will definitely use this company again and have already recommended them to several friends.
Description of Work
I noticed a leak from the hot water heater and called Hessian on a Friday. Shane came out that afternoon to diagnose the problem and give me pointers on what to do if the leak got worse. The hot water heater was old and full of mineral deposits from hard water so it needed to be replaced. I was given an estimate on a new hot water heater and a water softener. I was already in the market for a water so this worked out well to have Hessian handle that install, too. The new equipment was installed the following Tuesday. Since I was going to have a plumber in the house, I also had him install a new kitchen faucet.
Category
plumbing

    Other local Pros in your area

    American Sewer

    SEWER & DRAIN CLEANING! GREAT JOB! GREAT PRICE! CALL NOW FOR SAME DAY DISPATCH.  

    Angi Certified

    Offers Coupon

    Kok Lee Plumbing

    Our mission is to be a provider that brings back the personal touch with our customers. We will build a relationship that will last a lifetime after you see our quality work. As a locally owned and operated business we feel invested in our clients and constantly strive for customer satisfaction. We won't leave until the job is done right! Call or click to schedule an estimate today!  

    Angi Certified

    McQuillan Bros Plumbing Heating & AC

    McQuillan Bros Plumbing Heating and AC is a FAMILY OWNED and operated company that has been SERVICING HOMES SINCE 1883. With a 100% craftsmanship guarantee, you can rest assured knowing your plumbing and HVAC issues will be addressed properly and quickly.  

    Angi Certified

    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check
    Senior Discount
    No
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Will do by the hour or set pricing. Residential and commercial plumbing, leaky faucets, new construction, water softeners, water heaters, water purification systems and hot water boiler repair service/installation/sales & gas connections and appliances. Kitchen and Bath Remodel. Outdoor faucets and Sprinkler repair. Sump pumps. Any plumbing fixture replacement

    Services Not Offered

    Call inquire

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Hessian Plumbing Services Inc

    How is Hessian Plumbing Services Inc overall rated?

    Hessian Plumbing Services Inc is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

    What days are Hessian Plumbing Services Inc open?

    Hessian Plumbing Services Inc is open:

    Monday: 7:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    Tuesday: 7:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    Wednesday: 7:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    Thursday: 7:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    Friday: 7:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    What payment options does Hessian Plumbing Services Inc provide

    Hessian Plumbing Services Inc accepts the following forms of payment: Check

    Does Hessian Plumbing Services Inc offer free estimates?

    Yes, Hessian Plumbing Services Inc offers free project estimates.

    Does Hessian Plumbing Services Inc offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Hessian Plumbing Services Inc does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Hessian Plumbing Services Inc offer a senior discount?

    No, Hessian Plumbing Services Inc does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Hessian Plumbing Services Inc?

    Yes, Hessian Plumbing Services Inc offers warranties.

    What services does Hessian Plumbing Services Inc offer?

    Hessian Plumbing Services Inc offers the following services: Will do by the hour or set pricing. Residential and commercial plumbing, leaky faucets, new construction, water softeners, water heaters, water purification systems and hot water boiler repair service/installation/sales & gas connections and appliances. Kitchen and Bath Remodel. Outdoor faucets and Sprinkler repair. Sump pumps. Any plumbing fixture replacement

    Are there any services Hessian Plumbing Services Inc does not offer?

    Call inquire