Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Complete Custom Painting

4.8

(147) Verified Reviews

Founded 2004 • With Angi since April 2011

Business Highlights

Wears MaskWears Mask
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

Phone Number

Address

5419 Cottage Ave

Saint Paul, MN 55110

www.completecustompaint.com
COVID-19 Update
We are actively performing full services. We are taking additional precautions to protect our customers.

Interior and Exterior Painting and Staining

Health & Safety Measures

We will wear masks and gloves when we visit your home
We will sanitize the workspace and all areas touched
We offer estimates and quotes using video calling
We accept remote payment
All statements concerning COVID‑19 business operations and essential services are informational only, and are self‑reported and not verified by Angi.

Description

Complete Custom Painting offers interior and exterior residential and commercial painting in the Twin Cities and Seven Country Metro Area. Since we were founded in 2005 we have completed hundreds of paint jobs. Our experience is second to none. Our company has a history of maintaining a quality, detailed relationship with its customers. Every bid we give to a customer includes a well thought through description of the work to be completed. We take into consideration the homeowners goals and objectives and customize their job to achieve their desired result....

Verified Reviews

4.8

(147) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

134

4

4

3

3

2

0

1

6

Rating Details

Price

4.8

Professionalism

4.8

Punctuality

4.8

Quality

4.9

Responsiveness

4.8

Read reviews by category

interior painting (124)drywall (10)cabinet refacing (9)wallpaper removal (2)house painting (35)deck cleaning (6)pressure washing (4)plastering (3)
Showing 1-25 of 147 reviews
5.0

03/12/2021


Jennifer M.

Very satisfied! I would have them back any time I need painting or similar work done. Highly recommended!

Description of Work
Ceiling Popcorn removal skim and paint

Category drywall,plastering,interior painters,cabinet refacing

Cost $2,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/12/2021

5.0

01/23/2021


Keith T.

Nick, Tom, their crew and everyone in the office were prompt, courteous and extremely professional. They were able to work within the very few days I had to have the office space painted. I couldn't be happier and I'm so glad to have found them and work with them. I'll definitely use them again.

Description of Work
Office walls repaired and painted

Category drywall,interior painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/23/2021

5.0

10/08/2020


Mary V.

Nick did a wonderful job with the painting. My daughter is thrilled with the way her room looks now. Nick was friendly and professional and even offered to touch up the baseboard (that had paint on it from a previous painting) and help move heavy items back in her room. Would definitely hire him again.

Description of Work
Painting a bedroom

Category interior painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/06/2020

5.0

09/10/2020


John S.

Very well. Owner Nick and crew chief communicated well. Needed additional work beyond initial contract---fairly priced and done without hassle. Crew conscientious, hard working, pleasant. Clean up good and took care of all problems related to work.

Description of Work
Paint exterior trim and doors. Repair multiple areas wood rot. Very steep pitch, tall and large home so high degree of difficulty.

Category house painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/31/2020

5.0

08/25/2020


Matt Y.

They did excellent work and actually exceeded expectations. The crew worked hard, was curtious, and kept the job site clean. I would definitely use them again and recommend them to others.

Description of Work
Painted exterior of home (front)

Category house painters

Cost $1,900

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/24/2020

1.0

08/22/2020


Mary O.

I called on August 12 asking to get an estimate: Amy called back and left a voicemail saying Nick would call me within 24 hours, Nick did not call. I called and talked with Amy a couple of days later; she said Nick told her he had called me, as I stated he had not called me. Amy said he was coming back into the office that day and she would ask him again to call me. I is now 10 days later and have not heard from Nick at all.

Description of Work
Painting exterior trim on house

Category house painters,cabinet refacing

Work Completed On 08/12/2020

Service Provider Response

My apologies as Amy the office manager did do her job I was aware that I needed to connect with you. Unfortunately my foreman had been out for two weeks with covid-19 as well as one other employee of ours, so I had to put estimates on hold for those two weeks. With that being said I should have called to let you know. The reviews are harmful to our business if negative, if you remove it it would help us, but we understand we should have called, if you are still interested in an estimate I can call today. again my apologies Nick
5.0

07/21/2020


Carole R.

The guys just completed my painting and I am so absolutely pleased with the job Complete Custom Painting did! They painted the whole interior of my home, sprayed my ceilings and did my exterior trim painting. I could not believe the detail they went to just to get everything ready and then when everything was complete, they went around with a light to make sure that everything was done to perfection. They were all so wonderful, friendly and the clean-up was unbelievable!!! I recommend them for any of your painting needs! They were just the best. Thanks to Nick, Amy, Tom, Jeff, Brady and Austin. You guys rock!

Description of Work
Interior walls and sprayed ceiling/Exterior trim

Category house painters,interior painters,cabinet refacing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/13/2020

5.0

06/18/2020


Robert H.

From the 1st contact till the last bit of cleanup was done, I couldn't have been more pleased. The estimate received was substantially less than the other firm that submitted an estimate. The work performed was done as described in the estimate. The crew was pleasant, professional, prompt, and kept us informed of what the next step(s) would be, and when they would be done. We are very pleased with the finished look.

Description of Work
painting of the exterior of our home

Category house painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/08/2020

Service Provider Response

Thanks for the nice review. We appreciate the work. Have a great summer!
5.0

06/04/2020


Bob H.

Everybody I dealt with were friendly, professional, neat and did excellent work. They did everything they promised to do when they promised to do it. They had to use two kinds of stain (one for the porch and another for the deck/steps) but they matched the colors perfectly. We were very pleased with the job they did and felt the price was very fair. I would highly recommend them and would definitely hire them to do more work for us.

Description of Work
Stain the outside cedar siding of a 3 season back porch and the cedar deck, railings and steps.

Category deck cleaning,pressure washing,house painters

Cost $1,656

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/02/2020

Service Provider Response

Thanks for the nice review. Have a great Summer and Enjoy your deck
5.0

06/03/2020


Mark S.

Complete Custom Painting offered some ideas to better prepare the wood siding on our house for improved long lasting results. The quality of workmanship on the job was excellent.

Description of Work
House Painting

Category house painters,cabinet refacing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/02/2020

Images

Review for Complete Custom Painting - 5419 Cottage Ave, Saint Paul, MN - 38613540

Service Provider Response

Thanks for the kind review. Have a great Summer. Enjoy the new color.
5.0

05/18/2020


Janet A.

Excellent service! The team was very professional, and a superior job of painting and clean up. I give them my highest recommendation!

Description of Work
Exterior painting of trim

Category house painters,cabinet refacing

Cost $4,558

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/16/2020

Images

Review for Complete Custom Painting - 5419 Cottage Ave, Saint Paul, MN - 38573696

Service Provider Response

Thanks for the kind words. Enjoy the newly painted trim and have a great summer
5.0

02/10/2020


Julie R.

It went better than expected - Starting with Nick, completing the onsite consultation on best ideas to bring my kitchen/dining room and living room together, as this is a town home with the walls connecting. The result is more than I could have hoped for the painters did a beautiful job with their attention to detail. It’s amazing how plaster and paint can transform your living space. I would use Complete Custom Painting again.

Description of Work
Lower level living space painted - living room, dining room, kitchen, half bath, stair well and ceiling.

Category interior painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/03/2020

Service Provider Response

Thanks for the kind words. I'm happy you liked the finished result. Have a great 2020!
5.0

02/07/2020


Paige O.

It was very well done and we were greatly impressed with both teams professionalism, responsiveness and timeliness on getting all the jobs done. We are looking to have them do more work for us on a few other rooms now as we were so happy with the previous work. If you are looking for great work at a reasonable price - this is the right company to work with!!

Description of Work
We had Nick’s team do our exterior painting (whole house siding and trim), restraining our deck and fixing railing as well as two of our larger rooms inside including white washing all our kitchen cabinets

Category deck cleaning,pressure washing,house painters,interior painters,cabinet refacing

Cost $13,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/30/2019

Service Provider Response

Very nice couple. We painted the exterior as well as the interior, cabinetry and trim work on the main level. We appreciate the kind words and wish you the best in 2020!
5.0

01/20/2020


Matthew J.

I was extremely satisfied with Complete Custom Painting. They painted my condo ceiling. Excellent communication, services delivered as promised and at a reasonable price. I asked owner/manager for some advice on some restoration projects I was considering and he proved to be wealth of knowledge. Would definitely use again.

Description of Work
Ceiling painting.

Category interior painters

Cost $800

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/26/2019

Service Provider Response

Thanks for the kind words. Have a great 2020!
5.0

01/20/2020


Benjamin S.

Complete Custom took care of everything. They were quick, professional, and very detailed. Very happy with the work and would recommend them to anybody.

Description of Work
We moved into a wallpaper-filled split level. Weeded wallpaper removed and pretty much all walls painted.

Category plastering,wallpaper removal,interior painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/01/2019

Service Provider Response

Thanks for hiring me twice!. Have a great 2020.
5.0

01/16/2020


Jesse R.

Nick did a great job! Work was performed in a timely manner and the work was quality. The pricing was good and I would hire Nick again when I need more painting at my house.

Description of Work
interior painting

Category interior painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/16/2020

Service Provider Response

Thanks for hiring me 3 times or more over 15 years owning my business. Nice house, nice family! Thanks for the kind words!
5.0

01/10/2020


Tom Z.

We've used Complete Custom Painting twice in the past 6 years in our home. Interior painting with drywall repair (fixing cracks and repairing bad tape jobs). These are the type of people you want working in your home. Neat, tidy, fast and efficient. Very competitively priced. We can't say enough good things about them. You will be very happy with the end results and the entire experience.

Description of Work
Painting - Interior and drywall repair

Category drywall,interior painters

Cost $775

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/09/2020

Service Provider Response

Thanks for the kind review. Thanks also for hiring me two times!
5.0

01/04/2020


Mike S.

Complete Custom Painting came in and completed a total Kitchen Cabinet project for us. They painted our kitchen cabinets inside and out and paid attention to details that others likely would have missed. Their team was very friendly and understanding of our schedule during the busy holiday season and in addition to our kitchen, they also painted our home office and our built in entertainment center. Both look GREAT and were done to our highest standards. Overall, I would recommend Complete Custom Painting to anyone looking for great quality work at a reasonable price!

Description of Work
Painting - Interior

Category interior painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/06/2020

Service Provider Response

Coolest kitchen in Stillwater!!! Thanks for the kind words and positive review. Have a great 2020!
5.0

11/04/2019


Cristina S.

Complete Custom Painting made our basement look brand new after water damage. Nick and his employees erased all evidence of the many holes that had to get drilled into the room to dry the area out. They filled the holes smoothly, duplicated the ceiling's orange peel texture, primed, and painted in a very professional and efficient way. This was not easy as there is a labyrinth of many pipes hanging below the ceiling to deal with. They were competitively priced, fast, and left the basement looking beautiful. To my surprise the paint smell was also gone in only one day. Thanks Nick!

Description of Work
Many holes in our basement ceiling and walls needed to be filled in and painted after Service Master dried the water damage we experienced in August 2019. Our ceiling has a labyrinth of pipes hanging from it so it was not a simple job.

Category interior painters

Cost $1,893.44

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/28/2019

Service Provider Response

Thanks for the work and kind review. Have a great 2020!
1.0

08/26/2019


Tanya N.

Our window installer recommended and referred Complete Custom Painting LLC to us. In November 2018, we engaged them to stain our newly installed windows. The result was just terrible. We asked them to fix it but they didn’t. They sent us an invoice but we didn’t want to pay it till they fixed what they did wrong. Then they sent us another bill w ith much higher invoice amount saying that we could settle with the original invoice amount if we paid now. Their billing practice in our option is extortion. Of course, we did not agree to it and went to a court. Obviously, the court found it in our favor and we paid the company for the original invoice, less the cost of fixing what they did wrong. After we made payment, the owner did not filed the paperwork as required by the court until we filed an affidavit against him. Again, this shows the lack of integrity in this company. Be aware. Work with somebody professional and honest. We are now also contacting MN Attorney General for their billing practice.

Description of Work
Stain Windows and doors trim

Category interior painters

Cost $1,928

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 05/30/2019

Images

Review for Complete Custom Painting - 5419 Cottage Ave, Saint Paul, MN - 38125537

+4 More

Service Provider Response

We do a lot of window staining for window installers and were introduced to this homeowner through one of them. After we finalized the work we walked through the job and the homeowner wanted all of the adjoining walls in her home painted (besides the staining work that was contracted for). I told her that was work outside of our agreement. She told me that since I was affiliated with the window installer and since the window installer caused marks on her walls, I needed to fix all of the window installers marks, damage and stains or she would not pay me for the staining. Despite not being responsible for the damage she wanted fixed I agreed to "touch up" only for free. Despite having walls that were already in rough condition, the homeowner said that the touch up does not "match exactly" and we needed to paint full surfaces. When I realized that I was being extorted I told the homeowner she either needed to pay for the contracted staining work (that she had already reviewed and confirmed she liked) and I would include the touch up for free (which was more than was contracted for) or I would try to collect for all of the work in small claims (which was the first time in 14 years of owning my business I have ever tried to do, which is an indication of how much work we did and had not collected for yet). The homeowner was ordered by the judge to pay for the staining work, but not the extras. For that reason, you could easily view her review as a almost total fabrication. This homeowners contractor told me he had "trouble with her", my window installer told me she was a "problem" and, she was a problem for me also. Overall I feel bad that the whole thing happened. I try to do little extras for people to earn a good reference. I don't take any money down and collect when the job is done after the homeowner has had a chance to review the work. This homeowners review is far from the whole story.
5.0

07/09/2019


dphickel H.

Complete Custom Painting did an excellent job painting most of the inside of my house. Due to my time constraints and the busy season, they made time on three separate dates to get me into their schedule. Nathan was on time and on task every day he was here. Polite, open to my needs and punctual. He never left a mess and did a fine job on my house.

Description of Work
Five days of interior painting

Category interior painters

Cost $2,250

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/29/2019

Service Provider Response

Thanks for purchasing the discounted offering for “1 painter for a week”. I’m happy we we able to complete your project and you found it to be a good value. Have a great 2020
5.0

06/09/2019


Allison T.

CCP did a great job repainting my bathroom, including scraping off the popcorn ceiling, and re-painting the master bedroom. We love the fresh new result! What impressed us most was that when we noticed some imperfections after they left (ceiling dabs, a few scuffs, not enough coats in one area) they were very responsive to our concerns. They worked with our schedule, came back and made sure everything was perfect. We will definitely hire them for future painting jobs.

Description of Work
Interior painting

Category interior painters