Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Closets For Life

About

Founded 2005 • With Angi since September 2009

Closets For Life, a custom organization company based in Apple Valley, Minnesota, works with residential clients as well as designers, builders and architects to create innovative storage solutions for all organizational needs including closets, offices, garages, kitchens, laundry rooms, wine cellars, Murphy beds and more. What makes Closets For Life different than the others? We listen. We pride ourselves on the ability to listen to the client and determine their specific needs. We understand that each part of your home has unique organizational requirements....

Awards and Badges

Angi Super Service Award badge
Super Service
Award 2021
Angi Certified

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered

Images

Home Office/Murphy Bed

+73 more images

Verified Reviews

5.0

(77) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

76

4

1

3

0

2

0

1

0

Rating Details

Price

4.8

Professionalism

5.0

Punctuality

5.0

Quality

5.0

Responsiveness

5.0

Read reviews by category

closet design (71)professional organizers (20)cabinet makers (11)woodworking (9)handyman (1)camera repair (1)
Showing 1-25 of 77 reviews
5.0

08/09/2021


Andrea A.

Our entire experience with Closets for Life was a great one. Rick was easy to work with and gave great ideas for our garage storage. Corbin was an amazing installer! Had a crooked wall he had to work with and you'd never know looking at our completed shelving. Love the look and quality of the product. Communication, timeliness, end result all exceeded our expectations. Looking forward to adding to our garage storage next year.

Description of Work
Garage storage and gear text wall organization

Category custom cabinets, home & garage organization

Cost $1,200

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/28/2021

5.0

08/08/2021


Sarah Z.

Rick was great to work with. He came and measured the closets, quickly sent back design ideas for what we were looking for, made any changes to the designs that we asked for in a day or so, and was able to do all of the installation over the course of two mornings. They even worked around our kid’s nap schedule for installing. Rick and one other guy did all of the installation. It turned out exactly how I was hoping, gave us tons of storage, and looks great. The price came in at less than what California Closets quoted us for a similar design. Highly recommend!

Description of Work
Custom closets for kids rooms, office and pantry

Category closet systems, remodeling, home & garage organization

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/08/2021

5.0

08/02/2021


Meg P.

We have worked with Rick and his team in the past and he exceeded our expectations again. He is creative in his use of space and meticulous in his design.

Description of Work
We had a closet/mud room and pantry that needed a closet system

Category custom cabinets

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/02/2021

5.0

07/30/2021


Sue D.

Rick came out and did my measurements and sent the proposal very quickly. We were working around our Contractors dates to have this installed and we know that is a moving TARGET with delays. Rick worked with us on the Moving Target and the installer was amazing . He was so detailed and exact. The install is quick and the results are amazing. Highly Recommend Rick and his crew.

Description of Work
New Closet System

Category custom cabinets, closet systems

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/30/2021

5.0

09/02/2020


Karen L.

Closets for Life did an amazing job on shelving for our walk in master closet. They made the process very easy and the shelving is extremely high quality. We love the finished product!

Description of Work
Master closet shelves

Category custom cabinets, closet systems, remodeling, home & garage organization

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/01/2020

5.0

07/10/2020


emily D.

it went great! This was the second project that we hired Closets for Life on. The first was a built in desk and built out closet in my sons room. The large master suite closet is gorgeous! Priced well, great responsiveness, reasonable project schedule. I would hire Rick again!

Description of Work
Build large master suite closet.

Category custom cabinets

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/12/2020

5.0

04/30/2020


Michael B.

Rick came over and looked at our closet system. Everyone else, who gave us a bid, wanted to remove the system and rebuild it. Rick suggested adding some shelving and modifying it a bit and changing the hardware. We appreciated his expertise and cost savings. Corbin, Rick’s installer, was very professional. Our old system was not level and was pulling out from the wall. Corbin leveled the system and reattached the unit to the wall. He was very neat, professional and safety conscience. We couldn’t be happier with the way the project turned out.

Description of Work
Additional shelves added to master bedroom closet

Category closet systems

Cost $600

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/23/2020

5.0

03/19/2020


Jay H.

Working with Rick was a pleasure from the initial request for quote to final installation. Our new closet (versus the original closet layout) is perfectly suited to us thanks to Rick taking time to listen and assess our needs as well as his effective design work. It was also a pleasure to work with Corbin who did a majority of the installation. He, along with Rick, have high standards that show in the final results. Thank you both!

Description of Work
Master Bedroom Closet

Category closet systems

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/16/2020

5.0

01/30/2020


Mike F.

End product was fantastic. Rick was very Easy to work with. Had great ideas and suggestions that we ended up using.

Description of Work
Closet shelving in bedroom

Category closet systems

Cost $2,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/15/2019

5.0

01/27/2020


Ingrid M.

It was such a pleasure to work with Rick Lyrek and his Closets for Life team. They are professional, punctual and really listen to what you need. Rick took the time to review my ideas and then provided some great insights. I was impressed by the abundance of finishes to choose from and in the end I just couldn't be happier. I'm still moving everything in and now I find it's a room I really enjoy spending time in which wasn't the case before. Thank you Rick!

Description of Work
Design and install a home office.

Category custom cabinets, home & garage organization, woodworking

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/20/2019

Service Provider Response

Hi [Member Name Removed], It turned out amazing. The two colors really compliment each other. It was great working with you. Together we came up with a plan that really works for you. Thanks again. Rick
5.0

01/21/2020


Christopher C.

Needed to remodel my reach-in closet after the wire shelving came crashing down. After consulting with Rick I ended up having him do my wife's walk-in closet as well. Extremely happy with the result. Rick offered various custom designs and colors to fit our needs. His crew did both closets in the matter of one afternoon. They were very professional and mindful of my house while taking the time to install everything correctly. Aside from the high level of quality, Rick's prices were competitive. I'm considering using Closets for Life in the future to remodel my walk-in kitchen pantry. Highly recommend this company.

Description of Work
Closet remodel

Category closet systems

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/21/2020

Service Provider Response

Hi Chris, Thanks for the kind words. Everything went great. I really appreciate the review. Thanks again. Rick
5.0

01/15/2020


Lolita N.

Great! Rick came up with a design that maximized the storage area in our closet. Once all the pieces were installed the space actually looked bigger. We put everything back in and I find I have empty shelves and drawers. I can finally walk in my closet and feel organized instead of stress.

Description of Work
Designed and installed a master bedroom closet located in our attic and had to work around a very sloped ceiling.

Category closet systems

Cost $5,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/13/2020

Service Provider Response

Hi [Member Name Removed], It definitely was [Member Information Removed] unique space to work with. It all worked out just like we planned. I'm glad you feel organized. Thanks again. Rick
5.0

09/27/2019


Lori A.

We had Rick put new shelving in our master closet and had so much more room for clothes and accessories. He then redid both of our girls’ closets so they are nice and organized. I highly recommend Closets for Life.

Description of Work
Master closet and bedroom closets

Category closet systems

Cost $1,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/26/2019

Service Provider Response

Hi [Member Name Removed], Thank you for the review. Your girls' closets turned out great. I'm glad i was able to help. Thanks again. RIck
5.0

09/23/2019


Robert H.

Working with Closets for Life was a pleasure. Ricky run a first class operation, and the installers were great!

Description of Work
Installation of closet organizers

Category closet systems, home & garage organization

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/22/2019

5.0

09/17/2019


Brenda B.

Excellent! Rick came up with very innovative designs for maximizing our space. We love it! He was so helpful and responsive. He really took what we were looking for and made it come to life. He also had suggestions that we wouldn't even have thought of. My laundry room turned out exceptionally cool! I only wish we had more rooms to organize! Highly recommend Rick and team!

Description of Work
Multiple closets organization and laundry room

Category closet systems, home & garage organization

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/16/2019

Images

Review for Closets For Life - 13680 Harwell Path, Saint Paul, MN - 38114625

+1 More

Service Provider Response

Thank you [Member Name Removed]! Your place turned out great! Thank you for referring me to your friends. RIck
5.0

09/12/2019


Jim B.

Perfect job and experience with Rick and his installer. We are loving our new closet!

Description of Work
Closet organizer

Category closet systems

Cost $2,200

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/12/2019

Service Provider Response

Thank you [Member Name Removed], it was great working with you. Rick
5.0

10/18/2018


Dan S.

Rick and his crew did a masterful job on designing and installing "Closets for Life" after we moved into our new townhouse. We are thoroughly satisfied.

Description of Work
Complete customization of master suite bedroom closet

Category custom cabinets, closet systems, home & garage organization

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/14/2018

5.0

10/16/2018


Arlene H.

We called Closets For Life and received a phone call back within an hour. It is rare these days to have companies call you back so promptly. We had a master bedroom closet with wire shelves that was not using the space very efficiently. Rick was able to give us a 3D drawing to help us visualize how the closet could be designed. We are so pleased with the closet and would highly recommend Closets For Life. Very professional!

Description of Work
We had a small master bedroom closet in Richfield that needed better organization. The wire racks left a lot of space unused. We wanted to add drawers and shoe shelves.

Category custom cabinets, closet systems, handyman service, remodeling, home & garage organization, woodworking

Cost $2,900

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/24/2018

5.0

10/15/2018


Roberta J.

Closets For Life does a great job! Responsive, creative designs and a professional installation crew. Owner Rick Lyrek is very approachable, listens to your ideas and is wonderful about designing something to fit both the space and your storage needs. I would highly recommend Closets For Life.

Description of Work
Closet Storage

Category closet systems

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/07/2018

5.0

10/10/2018


Kristen A.

We are so happy with the work Closets for Life completed in our home! When we first moved in our home 5 years ago we had our master bedroom closet done and were so happy with it we hired them again to design our nursery closet! They took closets without anything in them and difficult layouts and made them both so functional and beautiful! They did great work, there were no surprises, and the work was completed in the time frame we were given. We will definitely use them again!!

Description of Work
Renovated closets

Category closet systems

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/01/2016

5.0

12/31/2017


Beth H.

Awesome work - will have him back to do a few more projects. He was very responsive as we kept changing our design

Description of Work
Rick gave us a full new master closet system

Category closet systems

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/31/2017

Service Provider Response

Thank you [Member Name Removed] for the positive review. We enjoyed working on your master closet and look forward to coming back out to do more work for you!
5.0

09/25/2017


Sheryl E.

He responded quickly, was very professional and listened. He also was very easy to reach with questions. We are very happy with the result and would hire Rick again if the need arises.

Description of Work
Rick created and installed custom cabinets in our mudroom.

Category closet systems, home & garage organization

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/18/2017

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the positive feedback. It was a pleasure to work with you!
5.0

09/20/2017


cherie V.

Rick was great in helping us design a system that fit our needs. He listened closely to our issues and offered several helpful suggestions. The finished product is beautiful and fits our needs perfectly. It is sturdy and should last a lifetime. We are very pleased and only wish we would have installed a system much earlier. It was well worth the money. We have more than doubled our storage space with this new system. We would definitely Closets for Life again should we install another system.

Description of Work
Closets for Life designed and installed a master bedroom closet system.

Category closet systems