Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Asplund Squires Construction Inc

Founded 1992 • With Angi since February 2012

5.0

(19) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

431 Lark Ave

Saint Paul, MN 55117

Description

Asplund Squires Construction, Inc. is a full service remodeling company. We take one project at a time, ensuring timely completion for your project with attention to the details. Tim will work with you from start to finish; from the design details, to doing the actual work.

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

08/08/2020


Mari I.

He is an experienced , perfectionist , top level carpenter. He has an exceptional attention to detail.

Description of Work
Replaced existing front door and the frame.

Category home builders, woodworking, doors

5.0

03/05/2018


Brad R.

Tim did an outstanding job installing a new front door, would highly recommend him.

Description of Work
A new front door

Category remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thank you [Member Name Removed]. You have a beautiful home. It was a pleasure to do this project for you.
5.0

06/07/2017


Nestor R.

It went very well. We were able to get the doors cut and brought the mirrors and newly cut doors to a professional mirror cutter to have then cut and re-attached.

Description of Work
I needed some folding doors trimmed and some mirrors cut to fit the folding doors.

Category remodeling, doors

Service Provider Response

Good team work on the mirrored closet doors. Thanks [Member Name Removed]!
5.0

07/01/2016


THOMAS K.

Description of Work
See previous post for this project.

Category remodeling

5.0

02/27/2016


Judy D.

Tim is very meticulous, paying great attention to every detail. This could not have gone smoother. We are very happy with our new kitchen and would recommend Tim and Asplund Squires Construction to anybody.

Description of Work
Tim installed a new pantry, island, and new doors to existing cabinets in our kitchen.

Category remodeling, home remodeling, doors

Service Provider Response

It was a pleasure working with both of you. The kitchen update and improvements were just right. Thank You!
5.0

12/18/2014


Mari I.

This was not a job that every contractor would consider, as it involved working down in the basement and much hauling of materials up and down two sets of stairs. I really think they took a pity on us ( am sure they could have taken on many other jobs instead). Tim and Chad were very professional, pleasant, responsive, and did an excellent work with all aspects as detailed above. We recommend these guys without reservation, to anyone looking for great workmanship and nice people to work with.

Description of Work
Demolish and remove existing walls of the entire basement level which included two closets, two rooms and a laundry room, re-framing and replacing the walls, with insulation, and placing a door after another closet created. Included drywall, taping, sanding. Hauling out entire debri from demolition from the basement level ( a back breaking job, really ) and did a very nice cleaup.

Category drywall, remodeling

Service Provider Response

We enjoyed working in your home. Pleasant customers make it a lot easier to do work that is not always fun to do. Thank you for enduring the process, it was a pleasure to work with you.
5.0

10/12/2014


Raia F.

We were very impressed with Tim and the work provided. We especially appreciated that Tim was on site everyday, even the days when only sub-contractors were at our home to do work, Tim was here to introduce them and make sure all the details were correct. He didn't hesitate to ask if things were unclear or as questions came up, which ensured we were in the loop and understood the options and alternatives. Communication was prompt, so that we could respond to unexpected questions quickly. The project took 6 weeks to complete, we were provided with a schedule that was followed closely - this allowed us to know what was going on and when in advance. It also gave us a good idea of when we needed to have finishes and materials selected. The project stayed on schedule which we really appreciated! All the workers we interacted with, especially Tim and Joey, were professional, courteous, and unobtrusive. And very tidy. The construction area was left cleaned up at the end of the day and the living areas of our home were protected and stayed clean during the construction. They even took the time to make sure our furnace fan was off during especially dusty work to ensure the dust did not spread to the rest of the house. Tim was honest, straightforward, and meticulous with the costs as well. When unexpected issues came up, they were communicated to us, along with cost estimates for the options, which helped us make informed decisions. We think the finished product is of a high quality and was done with an eye for detail. Tim and Joey did much of the work themselves. Tim was also willing to work with us to let us do them ourselves to fit the work into our budget - we did all the painting and kitchenette cabinet install ourselves and the windows of time available to complete the work was clearly communicated in advance so that we were able to plan ahead.

Description of Work
Finish basement. Framing, electrical, HVAC, insulation, plumbing, sheetrock, flooring and mill work to add a bedroom with walk-in closet, bathroom, family room with fireplace and kitchenette to our unfinished basement.

Category remodeling

Service Provider Response

It was a pleasure to work in your home and increase your finished living space. The extra space will be appreciated even more as your kids get a little older. Thank you!
5.0

07/28/2014


Joseph H.

Description of Work
We used Asplund Squires for a major interior job (finish 4th bedroom, 2nd bathroom, semi-finish basement), as well as for an exterior repair (faulty design caused rotting in living room box-out.)

Category remodeling, home remodeling, basement remodeling

5.0

10/27/2013


Amber L.

We purchased a house and needed to get some things fixed before we moved in. Even though they were really busy they took the time to come out and give me a bid to do the work. Our few jobs were small in comparison to what they normally do but they did not treat me that way. They did very good work and worked around other contractors (painters and flooring). One thing I really liked is how responsive Chad was by email. I received quick responses anytime I had questions. He also did a terrific job in letting me know if there were issues and giving me several solutions to pick from. I had a few extra requests as we went along and he was very accommodating. It was great working with a company that could take care of all my needs instead of me having to use several different ones. I would definitely use them again. My husband and I are extremely happy.

Description of Work
Took down a half wall, enlarged the pantry, installed power and cable over the fireplace to mount a tv, reconfigured the laundry room, and installed a fan/light opening in our family room ceiling.

Category remodeling

Service Provider Response

Hope you're enjoying your new home. We enjoyed working with you and always appreciate work whether it's big or small.
5.0

09/09/2013


Eric and Erina P.

What stood out to me was probably their work ethics and how well they cleaned up afterwards. I would probably use them in the future.

Description of Work
We have used Asplund Squires Construction Inc. They repaired our patio.

Category decks, patios

Service Provider Response

Having problems with a home is never fun. Glad we could help you with your situation.
5.0

07/30/2013


Timothy K.

The Asplund Squires company was very responsive from the first contact. Tim Asplund and his partner, Chad Squires, were absolutely reliable with respect to everything done during the remodeling. At every step, we could see their professionalism and integrity. We felt completely comfortable opening the house to them to work in our presence or absence. They were very neat, cleaning up after every day's work. Tim Asplund provided an initial cost estimate, alerted us to requirements such as testing for lead, and informed us of needed modifications and what the options were, and drew up changed estimates in consultation with us. When the work scope changed, we were completely informed, and given the option to approve or disappove. I must add that the former owner(s) had done remodeling that was not up to code even at the time, including improper routing of drainage and venting pipes. Tim Asplund made sure we knew about these problems, and what could be done to remedy them. Everything was openly discussed, which is what we wanted it to be like. We knew there were some odd problems with this house. We really appreciated the ability to change plans "on the fly," and to discuss and decide on individual items such as bathroom fixtures, lights, tiles. In addition, Tim Asplund provided a lot of advice on quality of materials, faucets, shower heads, etc. He was always ready to accommodate what we wanted. The company orchestrated the subcontractors perfectly, and obviously chose those performing excellent quality work. During the construction, Asplund Squires made sure all work was done on time and correctly, and their contractors were always on time as well, and their work was top notch quality. They worked hard, and worked conscientiously. I would like to especially recognize the tilers for their careful work. Again, we were consulted frequently for what we thought and liked. The result of the remodeling is more beautiful and functional than we imagined it could ever be! We cannot imagine a better experience for the work we had done.

Description of Work
One bathroom (main bathroom) received cosmetic changes. Two bathrooms were substantially remodeled. We own a 1951 rambler in a St. Paul, MN, suburb that has an addition (date about 197X) consisting of a bedroom and a small bath that used to be only a sink and a toilet. In the basement, there is a bath that used to have a small shower stall and a toilet and sink. In the main bath, the tub was refinished and the shower doors on the tub were replaced, as well as the tub fixtures. The sink faucet was also replaced. In the addition, we opted to sacrifice a closet adjacent to the old bath room to add a shower. This bathroom was completely remodeled to have a new toilet, a new sink, and the tiled shower. This necessitated putting up a new wall were the old closet doors used to be. In the basement, the bathroom was enlarged to more than twice the original size. The old closet was removed, and the toilet moved closer to the west wall. One of the inner walls was moved to provide additional space for a large tiled shower with rainshower head and body sprays, and to include a linen cabinet, and a larger sink with Cambria countertop. New knotty pine tongue and groove siding was installed on the new walls (the outside surface of the walls inside the basement). As needed, Asplund Squires contracted with others for installation of tiles (Thule Tile), plumbing (Bruce Nelson Plumbers), refinishing of the main bath tub, and electrical service. In the basement, this required much excavation, and the floor in the addition upstairs was taken out as well. The floors in the addition and in the basement are finished with tile.

Category ceramic tile, drywall, plumbing, remodeling, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for the review. It was a pleasure working with you and creating the bathrooms that you envisioned. Enjoy for many years to come.
5.0

04/22/2013


hilary S.

Great follow up! Tim Asplund was very gracious in his estimate visit to my house. He did his research before even stopping by to do the estimate and gave me great information.

Description of Work
Great follow up! Tim Asplund was very gracious in his estimate visit to my house. He did his research before even stopping by to do the estimate and gave me great information.

Category remodeling

5.0

02/05/2013


Tom M.

It went really well. They are a two person operation. They assure you that when they start a job they stay on it until it's done, which they did for us. They really know their stuff. We have had work done by other companies who didn't listen to what we wanted. These guys really listened and did exactly what we wanted. They are efficient and professional. We were really happy with them and we highly recommend them.

Description of Work
They did a second floor addition to our house.

Category remodeling, home builders

Service Provider Response

We appreciate the review. It was a pleasure to work with you on this addition, the details turned out well. Your project is often commented on as we view photos with potential customers. Thanks for the pool party too!
5.0

01/31/2013


TOM T.

They did a fabulous job. They added a whole new bathroom and were very thorough. They were perfectionists, clean, listened to us, and did quality work.

Description of Work
They completely remodeled our basement.

Category remodeling, basement remodeling

Service Provider Response

Members, Thanks so much for your review. We always enjoy working with you and your family. It's been fun to see your house transformed over the years with your excellent design help. Chad & Tim Asplund Squires Construction, Inc.
5.0

01/14/2013


Mike T.

They are not cheap but they will give very high quality. From that I feel like the cost is fair. They are there when they say they will be and they do the work that is promised.

Description of Work
They vented and unvented stove ventilator through the attic and roof. They custom made a shield for the kitchen. They did a complete bathroom remodel at another residence before this as well.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac, remodeling, roofing, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Member, Thanks for posting a review for us on Angie's List. We appreciate you taking the time to share with others your opinion and experience. Without satisfied customers, our over 20 years in the business would be impossible. Whether your next project is large or small we look forward to working with you! Chad & Tim Asplund Squires Construction, Inc.
5.0

01/14/2013


Jeff M.

The service turned out very well. They are very easy to work with.

Description of Work
They installed a bay window.

Category replacement windows

Service Provider Response

Thanks for posting your review on Angie's List. We are always happy to know that our customers are pleased with all aspects of the work we provide. We look forward to working with you in the future. Tim & Chad Asplund Squires Construction, Inc.
5.0

01/14/2013


LINDA W.

The service turned out well. The price is more expensive but they do excellent work.

Description of Work
This was for remodeling work on a kitchen.

Category remodeling, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Members, We really appreciate you taking the time to post a review for us on Angie's List. There is no better advertising than a great review from a past customer. We look forward to working with you and your family in the future and appreciate the trust you placed in us to work in your home. Chad & Tim Asplund Squires Construction, Inc.
5.0

11/19/2012


THOMAS K.

The general contractor (Asplund-Squires) gave us a day-by day schedule for the work they were responsible for, including the sub-contractors they work with (electrical, HVAC, plumbing, flooring). This schedule allowed for about 30 work days was followed to the day. The contractors (Chad & Tim) showed up punctually every day and did their work very professionally (demo, install windows and french doors, sheet-rocking & taping, skim-coating walls, millwork, etc. They were very attentive to detail and did their work like it would have been done in their house. There was much communication, so we always knew what was going on, what to expect with their sub-contractors, and always listened to our concerns and questions. We asked to use a cabinet maker that we had used before (rather than their's) and to do some of the work ourselves - this was no problem for them, working with our sub-contractor and us to coordinate the work and time schedule. We did some of the work ourselves (to save some money) - scraped off pop-corn ceiling texture, installed and finished new doors in hallways, painted ceilings and walls (total of 16 gallons of paint), installed back splash (tiled and grouted) above counter-tops. The work was begun 8/27 and the contractors finished their parts of the work on 10/3 (28th work day) - all work activity matching original day-by-day schedule they provided. There was a major delay for the counter-tops (3 weeks) due to the provider running out of material (Cambria), delaying the finished date by 3 weeks. We are very pleased with the remodel, work schedule and the updated look. The final billing reflected the final estimate plus some add-ons that we agreed to (eg substitute LED lights in overhead cans, additional hardwood flooring, +). Have received many compliments from our six grown-up kids and friends.

Description of Work
Kitchen, dining room and living room were all remodeled to create a more open area and "great room" for our large family. Kitchen and dining rooms were switched around, requiring electrical, plumbing, HVAC, sheet rocking, carpentry work and flooring. Contractor worked with us in designing the renovations, providing ideas and sketches. Preliminary and final estimates were provided as we worked through the design process. New replacement windows were installed in kitchen & dining rooms and french doors installed in the dining room. Hardwood floors were installed in all three rooms and hallways. The wall between living room and new dining room was removed to create the "open" feeling, requiring a new header beam. The wall by the entryway and living room was torn down and replaced with a railing, adding to the "open" feel. Ceiling can lights were (21) installed in living room, dining room and kitchen, in addition to installing outlets/switches/GFI's to bring all areas up to code . All ceilings were scraped and re-coated with a knock-down texture. New kitchen cabinets were custom built and installed with quartz counter-tops, along with a small island.

Category custom cabinets, contractors, ceramic tile, countertops, drywall, electrician, flooring contractor, glass repair, hardwood floor, heating & air conditioning/hvac, lighting, plastering, plumbing, remodeling, replacement windows, woodworking, marble & granite, home remodeling, interior painters, doors

Service Provider Response

Member, WOW! What a detailed review and pictures as well. We are so glad to hear you're enjoying your new space and fun to see the picture of the family enjoying it as well. We had a lot of fun working with you throughout the project and were happy to see your main level transformed into an open "Great Room" space as intended. Once again, THANK YOU! It is because of satisfied customers who feel confident in passing our name along to others that we can be successful. Tim & Chad Asplund Squires Construction, Inc.
5.0

05/24/2012


TOM T.

They have been around for a long time but are a small based company. I am an interior designer and I use them for almost all my jobs. They are phenomenal and are the only contractors that I refer to my clients. They are very detailed and professional. They are very clean and trustworthy. They are incredible people. I have worked with a lot of contractors in my work and they cannot even be compared. Their price is good for what I have got. My overall experience with them has been excellent.

Description of Work
I have been using Asplund Squires Construction, Inc from the last 15 years. They have remodeled my kitchen, three bathrooms and replaced windows. They have also done roofing, carpentry work like interior wood trim and all sorts of things. The last work that they did for me was a complete basement remodeling.

Category contractors, decks, glass repair, handyman service, remodeling, roofing, replacement windows, home builders, woodworking, home remodeling, basement remodeling

Service Provider Response

Once again, THANK YOU! We appreciate you taking the time to post a review for us. It's important for us to see that our customers are satisfied with our work on all levels. The referrals you provide to your clients and friends are greatly appreciated and our best form of advertising. We look forward to working with you in the future, whether at your home or with one of your clients. It's always fun working with Simply. Real. Design. Tim & Chad Asplund Squires Construction, Inc.

    Other local Pros in your area

    DISCOUNT WINDOWS & WARES,INC.

    Custom windows and patio doors siding, trim, porch windows custom window treatments and draperies mn lic 5587  

    Dexpert Design & Build

    Dexpert Design & Build, BC#771168. Most General Contractors try to do every job within their means, from windows and siding to remodeling, decks and additions. The problem with this is their scope of work is too broad and back and forth to ever really fine tune anything they do. As well as the equipment they have to afford to do a broad range of work gets transferred onto you. We at Dexpert are a Specialty General Contracting Company, decks and additions are 90% of what we do. This allows us to focus on loading out our trucks and trailers with specialty tools and equipment specific to what we do to maximize finish quality without sacrificing more time than is needed in any one stage of construction and our carpenters to hone their craft and deliver our clients with the best quality results and overall customer-experience. We at Dexpert are an ambitious bunch. Though we are still a very new, growing company we are working towards being one of the most reputable deck/addition builders in Minnesota and hopefully someday the greater Midwest. We Design, build, and in most cases, engineer all the projects we take on. We are committed to delivering the highest quality in craftsmanship, all the while working within our clients' budgets. The demand for elegant maintenance-free decks is growing every year, we hope to be the one to supply you with your new outdoor escape. With technology advancing everyday and progressively detaching us from nature, the need for an exterior escape just one step outside your door is more prevalent than ever. Whatever the size, budget, extent and challenge we're here to make your visions come to life, all one has to do is call up the Dexperts. We offer multiple discounts including a 10% senior discount, a 5% referral discount/credit, and our Advertising Promotion (up to 15% off the labor cost, cannot be stacked with senior discount).  

    Offers by Dexpert Design & Build on Angi
    Colum and Bulwark LLC

    Colum and Bulwark LLC is a family business with 3 years experience in small projects including interior and exterior home and garage painting, interior apartment painting , wall repairs, laminate flooring installations, deck painting and repairs and small projects on all demolition types. Prices are affordable and open to negotiation. I speak both English and Spanish Columna and Baluarte LLC es una empresa familiar con 3 aNos de experiencia en pequeNos proyectos que incluye pintura interior y exterior de casas y garajes, interior de apartamentos, reparaciones de paredes, instalaciones de pisos laminados, reparaciones y pintura de decks y pequeNos proyectos de todo tipo de demolicion. Los precios son asequibles y abiertos a negociar. Hablo ingles y espaNol  

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Ask for Details
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check
    Senior Discount
    $25
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Kitchens, Bathrooms, Finishing Lower Levels, Additions, Window & Door Replacements

    Services Not Offered

    Roofing

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Asplund Squires Construction Inc

    How is Asplund Squires Construction Inc overall rated?

    Asplund Squires Construction Inc is currently rated 5 overall out of 5.

    What days are Asplund Squires Construction Inc open?

    Asplund Squires Construction Inc is open:

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    What payment options does Asplund Squires Construction Inc provide

    Asplund Squires Construction Inc accepts the following forms of payment: Check

    Does Asplund Squires Construction Inc offer free estimates?

    Ask Asplund Squires Construction Inc for details on free project estimates.

    Does Asplund Squires Construction Inc offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Asplund Squires Construction Inc offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Asplund Squires Construction Inc offer a senior discount?

    No, Asplund Squires Construction Inc does not offer a senior discount.

    Does Asplund Squires Construction Inc offer emergency services?

    Yes, Asplund Squires Construction Inc offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Asplund Squires Construction Inc?

    Yes, Asplund Squires Construction Inc offers warranties.

    What services does Asplund Squires Construction Inc offer?

    Asplund Squires Construction Inc offers the following services: Kitchens, Bathrooms, Finishing Lower Levels, Additions, Window & Door Replacements

    Are there any services Asplund Squires Construction Inc does not offer?

    Roofing