Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Asplund Squires Construction Inc

Founded 1992 • With Angi since February 2012

5.0

(19) Verified Reviews

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered

Description

Asplund Squires Construction, Inc. is a full service remodeling company. We take one project at a time, ensuring timely completion for your project with attention to the details. Tim will work with you from start to finish; from the design details, to doing the actual work....

Other local Pros in your area

Tom's Miller's Roofing

The Miller’s team is your dedicated Wisconsin & Minnesota Roofing Contractor offering Roofing, Siding, Gutters, Window installation, and Emergency Roofing services  

Bormann Brothers Contracting Inc

Bormann Brothers is your number one choice for professional roofing contractors in Minnesota. Our company is family owned and operated and was established in 1997. Additional DBA - Bormann Brothers Contracting & Borman BrothersRoofing. Additional email - ssbormann@frontiernet.net , nickjen@frontiernet.net , Additional phone number - (612) 237-4601. Family owned and operated.  

Angi Super Service Award badge
Super Service
Award 2020
Brigley Roofing & Exteriors

Full service roofing company, family owned and locally operated for over 94 years. We Supervise our Sub-contractors. We're fully insured and bonded in good standing with the BBB. Quality, experienced workmanship on Roofing, Siding, Gutters, Windows - all exteriors. Locations in both Minneapolis and St. Paul.  

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

08/08/2020

He is an experienced , perfectionist , top level carpenter. He has an exceptional attention to detail.

Description of Work
Replaced existing front door and the frame.

Category home builders,woodworking,doors

5.0

03/05/2018

Tim did an outstanding job installing a new front door, would highly recommend him.

Description of Work
A new front door

Category remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thank you [Member Name Removed]. You have a beautiful home. It was a pleasure to do this project for you.
5.0

06/07/2017

It went very well. We were able to get the doors cut and brought the mirrors and newly cut doors to a professional mirror cutter to have then cut and re-attached.

Description of Work
I needed some folding doors trimmed and some mirrors cut to fit the folding doors.

Category remodeling,doors

Service Provider Response

Good team work on the mirrored closet doors. Thanks [Member Name Removed]!
5.0

02/27/2016

Tim is very meticulous, paying great attention to every detail. This could not have gone smoother. We are very happy with our new kitchen and would recommend Tim and Asplund Squires Construction to anybody.

Description of Work
Tim installed a new pantry, island, and new doors to existing cabinets in our kitchen.

Category remodeling,home remodeling,doors

Service Provider Response

It was a pleasure working with both of you. The kitchen update and improvements were just right. Thank You!
5.0

12/18/2014

This was not a job that every contractor would consider, as it involved working down in the basement and much hauling of materials up and down two sets of stairs. I really think they took a pity on us ( am sure they could have taken on many other jobs instead). Tim and Chad were very professional, pleasant, responsive, and did an excellent work with all aspects as detailed above. We recommend these guys without reservation, to anyone looking for great workmanship and nice people to work with.

Description of Work
Demolish and remove existing walls of the entire basement level which included two closets, two rooms and a laundry room, re-framing and replacing the walls, with insulation, and placing a door after another closet created. Included drywall, taping, sanding. Hauling out entire debri from demolition from the basement level ( a back breaking job, really ) and did a very nice cleaup.

Category drywall,remodeling

Service Provider Response

We enjoyed working in your home. Pleasant customers make it a lot easier to do work that is not always fun to do. Thank you for enduring the process, it was a pleasure to work with you.
5.0

10/12/2014

We were very impressed with Tim and the work provided. We especially appreciated that Tim was on site everyday, even the days when only sub-contractors were at our home to do work, Tim was here to introduce them and make sure all the details were correct. He didn't hesitate to ask if things were unclear or as questions came up, which ensured we were in the loop and understood the options and alternatives. Communication was prompt, so that we could respond to unexpected questions quickly. The project took 6 weeks to complete, we were provided with a schedule that was followed closely - this allowed us to know what was going on and when in advance. It also gave us a good idea of when we needed to have finishes and materials selected. The project stayed on schedule which we really appreciated! All the workers we interacted with, especially Tim and Joey, were professional, courteous, and unobtrusive. And very tidy. The construction area was left cleaned up at the end of the day and the living areas of our home were protected and stayed clean during the construction. They even took the time to make sure our furnace fan was off during especially dusty work to ensure the dust did not spread to the rest of the house. Tim was honest, straightforward, and meticulous with the costs as well. When unexpected issues came up, they were communicated to us, along with cost estimates for the options, which helped us make informed decisions. We think the finished product is of a high quality and was done with an eye for detail. Tim and Joey did much of the work themselves. Tim was also willing to work with us to let us do them ourselves to fit the work into our budget - we did all the painting and kitchenette cabinet install ourselves and the windows of time available to complete the work was clearly communicated in advance so that we were able to plan ahead.

Description of Work
Finish basement. Framing, electrical, HVAC, insulation, plumbing, sheetrock, flooring and mill work to add a bedroom with walk-in closet, bathroom, family room with fireplace and kitchenette to our unfinished basement.

Category remodeling

Service Provider Response

It was a pleasure to work in your home and increase your finished living space. The extra space will be appreciated even more as your kids get a little older. Thank you!
5.0

10/27/2013

We purchased a house and needed to get some things fixed before we moved in. Even though they were really busy they took the time to come out and give me a bid to do the work. Our few jobs were small in comparison to what they normally do but they did not treat me that way. They did very good work and worked around other contractors (painters and flooring). One thing I really liked is how responsive Chad was by email. I received quick responses anytime I had questions. He also did a terrific job in letting me know if there were issues and giving me several solutions to pick from. I had a few extra requests as we went along and he was very accommodating. It was great working with a company that could take care of all my needs instead of me having to use several different ones. I would definitely use them again. My husband and I are extremely happy.

Description of Work
Took down a half wall, enlarged the pantry, installed power and cable over the fireplace to mount a tv, reconfigured the laundry room, and installed a fan/light opening in our family room ceiling.

Category remodeling

Service Provider Response

Hope you're enjoying your new home. We enjoyed working with you and always appreciate work whether it's big or small.
5.0

09/09/2013

What stood out to me was probably their work ethics and how well they cleaned up afterwards. I would probably use them in the future.

Description of Work
We have used Asplund Squires Construction Inc. They repaired our patio.

Category decks,patios

Service Provider Response

Having problems with a home is never fun. Glad we could help you with your situation.
5.0

07/30/2013

The Asplund Squires company was very responsive from the first contact. Tim Asplund and his partner, Chad Squires, were absolutely reliable with respect to everything done during the remodeling. At every step, we could see their professionalism and integrity. We felt completely comfortable opening the house to them to work in our presence or absence. They were very neat, cleaning up after every day's work. Tim Asplund provided an initial cost estimate, alerted us to requirements such as testing for lead, and informed us of needed modifications and what the options were, and drew up changed estimates in consultation with us. When the work scope changed, we were completely informed, and given the option to approve or disappove. I must add that the former owner(s) had done remodeling that was not up to code even at the time, including improper routing of drainage and venting pipes. Tim Asplund made sure we knew about these problems, and what could be done to remedy them. Everything was openly discussed, which is what we wanted it to be like. We knew there were some odd problems with this house. We really appreciated the ability to change plans "on the fly," and to discuss and decide on individual items such as bathroom fixtures, lights, tiles. In addition, Tim Asplund provided a lot of advice on quality of materials, faucets, shower heads, etc. He was always ready to accommodate what we wanted. The company orchestrated the subcontractors perfectly, and obviously chose those performing excellent quality work. During the construction, Asplund Squires made sure all work was done on time and correctly, and their contractors were always on time as well, and their work was top notch quality. They worked hard, and worked conscientiously. I would like to especially recognize the tilers for their careful work. Again, we were consulted frequently for what we thought and liked. The result of the remodeling is more beautiful and functional than we imagined it could ever be! We cannot imagine a better experience for the work we had done.

Description of Work
One bathroom (main bathroom) received cosmetic changes. Two bathrooms were substantially remodeled. We own a 1951 rambler in a St. Paul, MN, suburb that has an addition (date about 197X) consisting of a bedroom and a small bath that used to be only a sink and a toilet. In the basement, there is a bath that used to have a small shower stall and a toilet and sink. In the main bath, the tub was refinished and the shower doors on the tub were replaced, as well as the tub fixtures. The sink faucet was also replaced. In the addition, we opted to sacrifice a closet adjacent to the old bath room to add a shower. This bathroom was completely remodeled to have a new toilet, a new sink, and the tiled shower. This necessitated putting up a new wall were the old closet doors used to be. In the basement, the bathroom was enlarged to more than twice the original size. The old closet was removed, and the toilet moved closer to the west wall. One of the inner walls was moved to provide additional space for a large tiled shower with rainshower head and body sprays, and to include a linen cabinet, and a larger sink with Cambria countertop. New knotty pine tongue and groove siding was installed on the new walls (the outside surface of the walls inside the basement). As needed, Asplund Squires contracted with others for installation of tiles (Thule Tile), plumbing (Bruce Nelson Plumbers), refinishing of the main bath tub, and electrical service. In the basement, this required much excavation, and the floor in the addition upstairs was taken out as well. The floors in the addition and in the basement are finished with tile.

Category ceramic tile,drywall,plumbing,remodeling,home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for the review. It was a pleasure working with you and creating the bathrooms that you envisioned. Enjoy for many years to come.
5.0

04/22/2013

Great follow up! Tim Asplund was very gracious in his estimate visit to my house. He did his research before even stopping by to do the estimate and gave me great information.

Description of Work
Great follow up! Tim Asplund was very gracious in his estimate visit to my house. He did his research before even stopping by to do the estimate and gave me great information.

Category remodeling

    Services Offered

    Kitchens, Bathrooms, Finishing Lower Levels, Additions, Window & Door Replacements

    Services Not Offered

    Roofing

    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Ask for Details
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check
    Senior Discount
    $25
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes