Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Asphalt Specialties Co

Founded 1979 • With Angi since August 2002

4.4

(122) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

530 Shoreview Park Rd.

Saint Paul, MN 55126

Description

Asphalt Specialties Co. was founded 37 years ago in Lakeland, MN. President, Erik Peterson, worked installing asphalt during the summers while completing a degree in civil engineering at the University of Minnesota in the spring of 1978. Dave Swanson, Vice President, was one of the founding members

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

11/04/2019


Richard C.

As with any seasonal company, get on the schedule early. We had one section of concrete removed, re-grading for run-off to flow away from the house into a rain garden basin they dug, and put down asphalt on a gravel 3 car parking area, with the asphalt butting up against the 110 yr old brick house. This was a tight area to work being at an old house in Minneapolis. This company was the only one to address my drainage needs upfront in a way that made me feel confident that I wouldn't have a pool of water where we previously had an issue. One day the grading crew came out. A few days later the asphalt crew came out. I thought it would all be done in one day, so communication could have been better about this aspect. I did take the time off work on both days to be on site. I'd recommend everyone do this, regardless of contractor, when it comes to this type of work. It's easier to correct things with a crew on site or answer a question they might have about your preference. This is hot, messy work. Advice to homeowners: Provide your crew with cooler full of bottled water and gatorade. It'll go a long way toward establishing good will with guys working **** ** your behalf.

Description of Work
Asphalt driveway over previous gravel drive and parking area

Category driveway pavers

1.0

04/27/2018


Barry G.

I had a concrete driveway installed. The concrete broke in two places. They did a cheep repair that did not hold. Because of the cheep repair, the patches came out and three more pieces broke off. Then they did a saw cut and shoved some cheep silicone into the saw cut. The silicone has already worked its way out. Then without my permission they put some non concrete patch in the five holes. Then they painted the patches and they do not match the driveway. Sections of my driveway should be replaced and real expansion material should be installed. Peterson will not do the right thing. This winter (2015-2016) a small sixth piece broke off. The expansion material they did install between my front steps and sidewalk has disintegrated. A corner piece at the end of my driveway has also broke in pieces. I paid a lot for my driveway and it looks a lot worse than the cheeper driveways installed in my neighborhood.

Description of Work
I had a concrete driveway and garage floor installed.

Category concrete repair, concrete driveways

4.0

10/09/2017


Jennifer M.

It took awhile, likely due to year end scheduling. I accepted their bid mid Sept, the old driveway was removed in mild October, and the new asphalt was just laid today in mid November. Their price was the best quote I received from a contractor who could prove licensing and insurance and their guarantee is five times industry standard at 10 years. Everyone I dealt with was friendly and professional and the finished product looks marvelous. Overall, I'm very satisfied.

Description of Work
Asphalt driveway full replacement.

Category driveway pavers

4.0

09/17/2017


Mike P.

rain interfered with getting the driveway done as quickly as we had hoped

Description of Work
new concrete garage floor and asphalt driveway

Category concrete repair, driveway pavers

5.0

07/26/2017


Matt S.

The experience was excellent from start to finish. Joseph Dalton was our sales rep, he's fantastic. He clearly communicated the process, the cost and expectations. He was engaged and energetic throughout the entire project. The crew is very skilled at what they do and did a great job. Overall the outcome exceeded our expectations. I recommend Asphalt Specialties without reservation.

Description of Work
We needed an asphalt apron.

Category driveway pavers

2.0

11/10/2016


Randy E.

We replaced the top 2/3 of our concrete driveway. The bobcats, etc. that ripped out the old concrete wreaked havoc on the bottom 1/3 that was not replaced. They offered to cover the bottom 1/3 with a skim coat product called Ardex. It looked terrible so they did it a second time. Although better, it still looks bad. The color is inconsistent, brush marks are very visible, and they spilled some on the main driveway. It just doesn't look professional. The day they came to cut in the expansion joints (which are not straight) in the upper 2/3 section, a three-foot crack appeared. They tried to patch it, but it is still visible. The last time he came to our home, he offered no solutions. I find that quite surprising since their paperwork says "Your Satisfaction Is Our Goal". I'm not satisfied but they did nothing else to address my concerns. He did reduce my cost by $500.

Description of Work
New concrete driveway and front sidewalk.

Category concrete repair, concrete driveways

5.0

08/16/2016


Mike L.

they did it in a two step process. Tear out old driveway and add more base to the driveway. Let the base settle for a week and come back to pour the new asphalt driveway. They took the time to answer all of my questions and gave me an instruction sheet about when to drive on the driveway. They use more asphalt then other companies. They warranty the driveway for 10 years against settling and offered to come for free touchups if I was not satisfied.

Description of Work
Tear out and install new driveway

Category driveway pavers

5.0

10/31/2015


Kevin L.

Ron was great! We ran into a few things during the project(cables under the dirt, hand digging for some of the footings). They did a great job and we are very happy with the final product!

Description of Work
Poured concrete sidewalk around the side of our house, a pad for our hot tub on the lower level, post footings for our deck and asphalt on our driveway.

Category concrete repair, excavators, driveway pavers

5.0

08/15/2015


PAUL L.

The workman told us that the patch work was not really necessary and that the driveway was overall in OK shape. He recommended full replacement of the asphalt if the driveway degraded more, if we wanted the look of a new driveway or if we planned to sell soon. He was knowledgeable and seemed quite honest and straightforward.

Description of Work
We asked for an estimate for repairing several areas in our asphalt driveway. The workman came to our house promptly, looked at the driveway and measured it for the repair. He gave us an estimate that was nearly $1000 less than another company.

Category concrete repair, concrete driveways, driveway pavers

1.0

07/29/2015


Karel S.

They have a 10-year guarantee on their work. We have had three large cracks in our concrete sidewalk. They came out to fix these cracks, but the job does not look good. It looks like a poorly done patch, not a repair. It also takes them a long time to even come out to do these repairs. I would not recommend them.

Description of Work
They came out to repair my sidewalk.

Category concrete repair

5.0

07/13/2015


Ted S.

They did the job and seemed to really take seriously issues such as drainage etc. They were out to check on the grading before paving and decided it needed to be re-graded in areas. Workers were easy going and open to any questions we had. Would definitely recommend.

Description of Work
Asphalt driveway

Category landscaping, driveway pavers

3.0

06/04/2015


Jason H.

Sales person was very helpful and responsive when problems arose. Came to my home on a Sunday to inspect damage and was able to help rectify the situation.

Description of Work
They completely destroyed my entire front yard with bobcat! Did a horrible job patching concrete to asphalt on the garage apron! They had to come back to tear out and reinstall the patch.

Category concrete driveways, driveway pavers

5.0

04/15/2015


TAMMY W.

We tried to get back to them the next year, the salesman told us the boss would honor the coupon. When we tried to set up a new appointment they would never get back to us, and last we heard the saleman was no longer with the company. We gave up and wrote off the loss. As far as we're concerned we hope to never purchase another coupon from Angie's list. The company has contacted us and we are working with them to resolve this issue.

Description of Work
They came out and gave us an estimate. When we tried to tell them what we wanted they wouldn't get back to us to schedule. The company has now contacted us and we are working with them to resolve this issue.

Category driveway pavers

5.0

03/16/2015


Teresa S.

From beginning to end, A.C.T. Asphalt Specialties was wonderful. The job had many details, so I was very pleased with the care that the estimator & crew had with my project. They made sure to communicate to me exactly what they were doing, why they were doing it & they stayed on schedule. Our house looks great after this project! I would quickly refer this company to family or friends.

Description of Work
Removed & replaced asphalt driveway, made wider & added concrete (colored & stamped) borders. Removed existing patio & poured larger patio, colored & stamped with borders. Also replaced steps with colored & stamped concrete.

Category concrete repair, concrete driveways, driveway pavers

5.0

03/16/2015


Kurstin D.

My husband & I were pleased with Asphalt Specialties from the start. Easy to work with & provided the best warranty out of the 3 estimates that we got. They were on time, easy to speak to & it was very clear that the crew knew what they were doing on the job! We love our new driveway & wouldn't hesitate to hire Asphalt Specialties again. Thanks!

Description of Work
Replaced asphalt driveway.

Category concrete repair, concrete driveways, driveway pavers

5.0

03/13/2015


Annette P.

They were nice enough, but the price of the project was simply too much when compared with offers from other companies.

Description of Work
Company made an estimate for future work after I purchased their deal on the site (99 towards 500 for a new driveway project)

Category driveway pavers

5.0

12/31/2014


John S.

The representative provided a quote immediately which was identical to another I had received. I chose A.C.T. due to the confidence I had with my initial relationship with that representation and his confidence that the job could get finished before winter even though I started the project quite late in the construction season. The job was done before winter came (some good luck on the part of the weather) and the driveway turned on wonderfully. The area is relatively flat and the drainage slope for water was well planned and executed. I would definitely use this contractor again if needed.

Description of Work
Replace existing asphalt driveway, two car width approx 60' wide with a wider section at the end to accommodate parking of a third car.

Category driveway pavers

5.0

12/31/2014


Paul L.

They did a great job and we are very happy with the results. They were very kind and considerate, told us what they were going to do, how and when they would do it and delivered exactly what they promised. I could not be more pleased.

Description of Work
Replaced our asphalt driveway and cement apron.

Category driveway pavers

5.0

11/25/2014


Laurel J.

I contacted ASI at the 2014 State Fair. They sent out a sales rep/estimator within a couple weeks. He was very professional, experienced, informed, unhurried. His first priority was to provide exactly what I wanted, with no misunderstandings. We talked for over an hour. He drew up a schematic of the job, with border concerns, drainage plans, dimensions, etc. and made sure I approved before he gave me the estimate. The plan was two days - one day to remove the old mess, and prep for a new top, then some time for the new base layer to compact, then a second day to pour/roll the new asphalt. I paid 50% down and they promised to get it done 'before Thanksgiving'. Two weeks later (early October) they called and said 'we'll be there Monday at 7AM'. The crew they sent was working from exactly the plan the sales rep/estimator had drawn, and still they insisted we go over all the boundaries, concerns, etc. again before they started. I kept out of the way, and they stripped off the old busted asphalt, dug down about 5-6", leveled, graded, rolled, and cleaned up the edges all round. They also removed a stubborn shrub-stump I hadn't been able to take out. They cut back exactly to the border of the blueberry bushes, and the fern bed, and the cement walkways, and the in-ground sprinkler system with zero damage. The bobcat operator was a master of his trade. Then they started to dump, grade, and roll the new base layer. Unfortunately they had expected some base to be there already, and they discovered there wasn't any (after 30+ years of decay), so they amount of fill they brought wasn't sufficient to complete the driveway. They left us with a rolled-gravel driveway, and promised to finish the base layer as soon as they could fit that unexpected job into their late-fall schedule. About a week later they finished the base, and rolled on the new asphalt - full 3" thick, and smooth enough to play pool on. It's graded to drain as we planned, and they matched the heights of the garage-apron and cement walkways exactly. They also beveled the edges of the pour to prevent chipping. During the pour, they broke one of the in-ground sprinkler heads. They marked it, and replaced it with an identical head within a week without me asking. I'm absolutely impressed with the quality of everybody involved, and would recommend their work without hesitation. Their price reflects the unmatched quality and durability of their work.

Description of Work
Removed 30 year old driveway; restored base layer (which was missing completely), regraded, repaved. Driveway is over 100' long, with turnaround, parking area, irregular shape, and a garage apron that required exact height match; also bordered by sensitive plants and an in-ground sprinkler system.

Category concrete driveways, driveway pavers

5.0

09/10/2014


Justin C.

The service was excellent! Our sales rep, Joseph, kept us up to date with scheduling and what all the steps were. It has been over 3 years and the apron looks spectacular, I highly recommend this company!!

Description of Work
New build in 2008, driveway started to cave in near the garage opening. They cut out the full width of the drive way and out about 5 feet. Filled in the hole that was causing the drive way to collapse and laid new asphalt to make the driveway whole again.

Category driveway pavers

5.0

09/10/2014


Matt S.

From start to finish everything was done according to the clear expectations that were communicated with us. The installation was quick and painless and the result was exactly what we were looking for. I would use ACT again and have no reservations recommending them.

Description of Work
Installed asphalt to widen our driveway, added a stamped concrete border to our driveway and installed a stamped concrete patio.

Category concrete repair, driveway pavers

5.0

08/08/2014


Leslie M.

ACT Asphalt Specialities are fantastic! Our expereince started with an email for a quote.We were immediatly contacted and Joe, our salesman went out of his way to help us from start ot finish.Joe helped us with designing the roads and really in every aspect of this project, always keeping in mind our budget. Joe always was approachable and answered any questions we would have and made sure we were all on "the same page" through the entire process. Rod, Mike and the crews (truckers, basers, pavers, rollers etc )showed they are skilled, professional, timely and have a great respect for doing a great job. They demonstrated respect to us and thier actions showed a deep respect towards ACT. All of our contacts with ACT performed in a friendly professional manner. During this project, we had many questions and changes, however everyone always made sure to answer fully and explain any inquires we had. When the work was completed and before the paving crew left our foreman, Mike made sure everything was cleaned up and we were satisfied.We were and are! Our entire experience with ACT Asphalt Specialities was top-notch and we would highly recommend them!

Description of Work
Based and paved an aprox.total of 500 ft driveway around a landscaped "island" that is outlined with boulders, curved driveway and included a 140 ft of a newly constructed driveway.

Category landscaping, driveway pavers

1.0

08/05/2014


Richard P.

Installation went well but in the early spring of 2013 discovered that the asphalt mix contained limestone rock mix in with the asphalt. When washing the driveway with water I noticed cream-colored water streaming from points all over the driveway. On closer examination, I discovered the source of the cream-colored water was individual limestone rocks that were disintegrating. In addition, many of the lime rocks were "popping" out of the surface of the asphalt leaving small craters. These small craters will collect water and freeze, further corrupting the surface of the driveway. Over time I suspect the driveway surface will crumble and deteriorate. When contacted, the provider and the asphalt supplier informed me this was "normal" and refused to correct the situation, even though the provider, during the initial inspection, informed me they had another driveway with the same situation. This indicated to me that this was not a "normal" situation. If you want an asphalt driveway with limestone mixed in with the asphalt and the prospect of short-lived driveway hire this provider. If not, avoid Asphalt Specialties like a pestilence. So much for their 10-year warranty.

Description of Work
Provider removed old asphalt and installed new asphalt driveway over a mostly existing base.

Category driveway pavers

Service Provider Response

This customer wanted a stronger mix. LV4 is a strong residential mix that has limestone in the mix. The asphalt supplier came out and met with us and the homeowner. They said the driveway was installed correctly, what happened is the limestone in the mix collected water then because of the cold winter the limestone cracked. If this driveway settles we will fix the driveway because that is what our warranty covers. We do not use this mix unless it is wanted by the homeowner. ACT Asphalt Specialties
5.0

07/20/2014


Joshua W.

It went great. They came out a couple weeks after the initial estimate. After cutting out the problem area they found some sort of odd concrete footer buried underneath part of the old asphalt and cut that out as well. I wanted the new asphalt formed in a particular way so that rainwater would drain off of the driveway in a specific location. They had no problem with that. Overall, they were on time, kept a clean job site, were friendly, very accommodating, and did a top notch quality job. I'm very happy with the repairs!

Description of Work
1) Saw-cut out a 5'x6' area of asphalt driveway that had sunk 6+ inches and causing drainage issues. It was replaced by 4-6" of base and 3.5" of asphalt. 2) Crack-filled two 10' cracks.

Category driveway pavers

5.0

07/01/2014


david D.

They did everything as promised very satisfied with company and their work

Description of Work
Replaced complete driveway

Category driveway pavers

    Other local Pros in your area

    Blacktop Central

    Installing driveways for over 20 years, Blacktop Central is a family owned and operated business providing superior service and professionalism. Starting as a trucking company several decades ago, our business slowly evolved into a driveway business. In 2015, we changed our name to reflect the work we continue to do. We offer residential and commercial install of driveways and parking lots. With blacktop being our primary service, we also install rural driveways using alternative materials - including millings and various gravels. Our goal is to give the homeowner or business owner the necessary information to make a project decision they are happy with for years to come.  

    Blackjacks Sealcoating

    Blackjacks is a family owned business that is dedicated to helping its customers perserve and maintain there asphalt driveways and asphalt parking lots at a fair and reasonable price. All work is guaranteed. from sealcoating to complete replacements Always give group discounts. Spring, Summer, Fall, specials available.  

    Offers by Blackjacks Sealcoating on Angi
    Graley Concrete Co.

    Concrete has been the building block and foundation for Graley Concrete Construction for over 25 years. We have been pouring concrete in many different ways and virtually on a daily basis. Our concrete capabilities are limitless. We have a diversified range of employees who are skilled in all aspects of concrete, whether it involves basement footings, walls, floors, garage floors, retaining walls, sidewalks or curbing. Since 1990, Graley has installed thousands of square feet of colored and stamped concrete for driveways, walks, pool decks and steps. For the quality and beauty of your project, the concrete choice is Graley. Here is a list to help define Graley's areas of products and services decorative concrete/hardscapes, stamped concrete, colored concrete, acid staining, exposed aggregate, surface overlays, vertical wall stamping, simulated rock features, residential concrete, driveways, sidewalks, porches, patios, curbs, restoration, industrial & commercial work, machine pits & bases, trench drains, floor replacement & repair, containment pits, restoration, building foundations & slabs, loading docks, site concrete including curbs, walks, paving, agricultural, manure pits, alley ways, grain yards & parlors. Additional phones - (715) 294-4070.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2022
    Offers by Graley Concrete Co.	 on Angi
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check
    Senior Discount
    no
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Asphalt driveways, asphalt maintenance, concrete driveways, concrete garage floors, concrete maintenance, patios, sidewalks & steps, tennis courts, basketball courts, retaining walls, stamped concrete, decorative concrete.

    Services Not Offered

    Planting, trees, lawn & yard care.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Asphalt Specialties Co

    How is Asphalt Specialties Co overall rated?

    Asphalt Specialties Co is currently rated 4.4 overall out of 5.

    What days are Asphalt Specialties Co open?

    Asphalt Specialties Co is open:

    Monday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    What payment options does Asphalt Specialties Co provide

    Asphalt Specialties Co accepts the following forms of payment: Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check

    Does Asphalt Specialties Co offer free estimates?

    Yes, Asphalt Specialties Co offers free project estimates.

    Does Asphalt Specialties Co offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Asphalt Specialties Co offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Asphalt Specialties Co offer a senior discount?

    No, Asphalt Specialties Co does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Asphalt Specialties Co?

    Yes, Asphalt Specialties Co offers warranties.

    What services does Asphalt Specialties Co offer?

    Asphalt Specialties Co offers the following services: Asphalt driveways, asphalt maintenance, concrete driveways, concrete garage floors, concrete maintenance, patios, sidewalks & steps, tennis courts, basketball courts, retaining walls, stamped concrete, decorative concrete.

    Are there any services Asphalt Specialties Co does not offer?

    Planting, trees, lawn & yard care.