Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

ABELARD CONSTRUCTION

Founded 1999 • With Angi since August 2008

3.9

(5) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

150 Eaton St Ste

Saint Paul, MN 55107

Description

Locally owned and operated since 2002! Thousands of references! Quality work and A+ Rating with the BBB! Rated TOP 30 Roof Contractor in the Nation! Proud member of the National Roofing Contractors Association and Builders Association.

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

10/09/2013


Diane C.

After I received a check from my insurance company and the paperwork explaining what they were going to pay for. Mike (my PM) came out and went through my insurance paperwork with me and I chose I shingle for my roof. I then endorsed my ACV check from my insurance company. I think a homeowner is always a little hesitant in giving a contractor money when no work has been done yet, but he reassured me I would hear from the office with a start date. The very next day I received a phone call from the office telling me they received my file and about 5 days later I had a call from Gina in production coordinating a day/time they would be out there to begin work. It only took a day for the crew to finish the roof and they did an amazing job. Abelard then send a QC and a final inspector from the city to do a final inspection. Both inspections passed with flying colors. By the time my gutters were done (a few days later), I received a final check from my insurance company in the mail. I now have 3 of my neighbors I reffered over to Abelard to do the work.

Description of Work
I experienced hail damage from the recent storm in August. I had MANY people coming to my property asking me to do a inspection. I was a little hesitant at first with all of the warnings you hear with storm chasers, homeowners getting taken advantage of, etc. I did research on all 7 companies that came to my door and dropped off company literature. Upon doing my research, I only found 2 companies that were actually licensed in MN!!! I was in awe!! I then looked into BBB rating, references, and how long both companies have been in MN. I found Abelard passed all of these tests with flying colors and chose them to meet with my insurance company. I wanted to make sure I was also there for this meeting and took of work. Although, I didn't know much of what they were talking about, I was very impressed with the overall profressionalism of my project Manager and even the owner of Abelard even came out for this. Anyone could tell they were experts in doing and made sure my insurance company paid what they were suppose to.

Category roofing

5.0

09/06/2013


Jessica S.

Everything went very well on schedule as promised. When I first went to Angie's List and saw the reviews, I was a bit hesitant to work with Abelard. I then did more research and realized that they actually have great credentials. I saw several houses they did work on and spoke to several customers on my dad's street that had work done by them and everyone had nothing but good things to say. When I decided to go with them for the work, I was really impressed how quickly they got my project done so I sent them a few referrals and they were able to get them taken care of too! I know a couple of my neighbors down the street went with a different contractor, so as the week passed, I was nervous to see how our work turned out and I'm glad I went with Abelard. They got me all the upgrades. I spoke to my neighbors and they said they wished they would have gone with my contractor. One neighbor only got a repair job approved through their insurance company from the hail storm. Apparently the contractor who met with my neighbor's adjuster wasn't very knowledgable about damage and the insurance criteria. My other neighbor who went with a different contractor, said he had issues with the quality of the work. They tried to take the easy route and staple the cedar instead of hand nailing the cedar to the roof. Overall, I am satisfied with the results. Know what kind of contractor you are getting. Abelard was very transparent. They provided me names and addresses of people who have worked with them and they provided me info on all their licensing and proper insurance. This is a TRUE Minnesota locally owned and operated company. Being a single mom and not knowing where to start, they educated me first on the whole process and they didn't pressure me like the others did. This is a company of integrity. Go to them first!

Description of Work
They provided me a free roof inspection, wrote a detailed assessment what they found and gave me me the run around of what to expect next. They met with my insurance company and kept me fully involved every step of the way. They got me a new roof, siding, and gutters.

Category roofing

1.0

08/26/2013


Pete D.

He didn't put enough ice and water shield on my roof and the city didn't pass off on the inspection until another contractor came back to make it right. I didn't even think about it until I sold my house earlier this year 2013 and the buyer asked for a final inspection. I tried calling for an explanation but found out after some digging that his web site is a total scam, and he was situated in Scottsdale Arizona and had no intention of servicing my request. I am so disgusted I fell for a fly by night contractor using cheep parlor tricks to get my business.

Description of Work
Anthony Delmedico is the worst form of fly by night contractor there is. I let him inspect my wood roof because I got so many reviews about his work from clients following a 2001 hail storm. He said I had hail damage and should call my insurance company. When I did they told me I had old damage and they couldn't pay. Then I turned back to Anthony and told him I couldn't pay for a new roof, so he did a repair.

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

In response to this review, Abelard would like to make you aware that we have no record of providing services to a customer by the name of [member name removed] or any customer at this address. After some investigating, we strongly believe this may have been a review posted by an industry competitor. Abelard Construction has taken action in regards to this false reporting. Angie's List has placed this member under investigation for fraud and misleading information. Abelard Construction is a locally owned and operated business, licensed in Minnesota since 2002. We take great pride in our customers and provide quality work. Without our customers, we would not be rated TOP 30 Roofing contractor in the nation. We have thousands of customer references and A+ rating with the BBB, we make sure our customers come first. For a copy of our past customer reference list, please call our office or to learn more about our licensing and credentials visit our website at www.abelardconstruction.com!
1.0

07/28/2010


JOHN, LYNETTE P.

It went lousey, I would never use Abelard again and I would never recomend them to anyone!

Description of Work
Abelard reroofed our house about 2 years ago, about 3 months ago the roof was damaged and I called Abelard and asked if they could pleae come out and inspect the roof and report weather it needed repair or not. After over 14 weeks of trying, I finily got them to send someone out and inspect the roof, they where here for about 15 minuets and reported that the damage was minor and did not need to be repaired. After they left, I got a call from Abelard and she said that they where sending me a bill for $150.00 dollars! This is crazy, roofers don't charge for inspections, this is what they do if they want your bussness!

Category roofing

3.0

08/27/2008


LAUREE W.

They did a very good job and high quality work but they charge quite a bit. They are a little unprofessional. The young man and his crew did a very good job, though. We haven't even settled on a price and the work is done.

Description of Work
Abelard Construction came out and re-did my roof.

Category roofing

    Other local Pros in your area

    MADISON & SON PAINTING

    Madison & Son painting is a third generation company. Have been in business for over 32 years. My name is Jim and I work on all my jobs with my wife Lona and my son James Jr. We all take pride in what we do and we are perfectionists in our work. No job is too small or to big, Call us for all your painting needs. Thank you Jim  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2022
    Pro Performance Painting & Decorating LLC

    We offer quality and affordable painting services.  

    Design Unlimited Painting LLC

    Design Unlimited Painting was established in 1977. We specialize in Interior and exterior Painting residential and commercial,and Power-washing residential and commercial,It is a family owned and operated business,with mostly family members working for us. Our painters have at least 15 years experience. We will travel up to 100 miles from St.Paul Mn.to paint your home or business. We offer a 2 to 5 year labor warranty on our labor, and up to a lifetime warranty on the paint we use on your project. We also will gladly match or beat any written estimate by another professional painter.Please feel free to check our website for many pictures of jobs weve done and references,and call us for any other information,at a very fair price in this day and age that is as important as quality,also living in our state we use all high quality paints that work well at a temperature as low as 33 degrees.We are offering a spring discount 20% , there are many pictures of jobs on our website www.designunlimitedpainting.com  

    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover
    Senior Discount
    No
    Warranties
    No

    Services Offered

    ROOFING, SIDING, GUTTERS, DOORS, DECKS, ADDITIONS, WINDOWS, CUSTOM TRIM, FIRE & WATER RESTORATION.

    Services Not Offered

    ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about ABELARD CONSTRUCTION

    How is ABELARD CONSTRUCTION overall rated?

    ABELARD CONSTRUCTION is currently rated 3.9 overall out of 5.

    What payment options does ABELARD CONSTRUCTION provide

    ABELARD CONSTRUCTION accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover

    Does ABELARD CONSTRUCTION offer free estimates?

    Yes, ABELARD CONSTRUCTION offers free project estimates.

    Does ABELARD CONSTRUCTION offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, ABELARD CONSTRUCTION does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does ABELARD CONSTRUCTION offer a senior discount?

    No, ABELARD CONSTRUCTION does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by ABELARD CONSTRUCTION?

    No, ABELARD CONSTRUCTION does not offer warranties.

    What services does ABELARD CONSTRUCTION offer?

    ABELARD CONSTRUCTION offers the following services: ROOFING, SIDING, GUTTERS, DOORS, DECKS, ADDITIONS, WINDOWS, CUSTOM TRIM, FIRE & WATER RESTORATION.

    Are there any services ABELARD CONSTRUCTION does not offer?

    ask for details