Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Abbott Paint & Carpet

Founded 1945 • With Angi since July 2001

4.8

(49) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

1808 Grand Ave

Saint Paul, MN 55105

Description

Abbott Paint & Carpet is committed to conducting business with integrity and pursuing excellence in all that we do. Our goal is to continually improve our products and our services, we strive to recognize and respect the partnership we have with our customers, suppliers, employees and community....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
3.0

11/13/2017


Paul R.

I am sad to say it did not go well even though we are happy with the end results, finally. We have used Abbott regularly for paint supplies and for carpet. In those instances we have been very satisfied and would highly recommend their service and products. Unfortunately buying the roller shades was not a smooth experience. The measurements were written down incorrectly so one shade was one inch too wide for the window. That needed a re-order. The brackets for the shades we were shown in the store display were very different from what we got. Then we learned that those we were shown were a newer premium style and not available in the shade style we ordered. If so, why were we not told that when ordering? We then needed to order new brackets in a different color since the ones we got were bright white which looked awful against the dark old woodwork. We were expecting a tan color but only part of the bracket was tan while most was white. Instead we ordered black which doesn't look too bad since it is more hidden in the shadow of the window casement. But it was another annoying delay in finishing this little project. Finally, once we got everything in place, we like the product very much. It looks great in our old house and works well. If anyone is going to shop at Abbott for window treatments, I would recommend being very particular and double check every aspect of the order to make sure you know what you are getting is what you want. I am amazed that this simple project with nine windows would take weeks longer than expected with multiple corrections needed to finally get it done. So it pays to be extra diligent, I guess.

Description of Work
This most recent time at Abbott was to buy new Hunter Douglas roller shades for several windows in our 1916 home. We needed measurements taken and help choosing a style and color of shades that would fit with the original woodwork of the windows and the style of the Arts and Craft Bungalow house.

Category flooring contractor, window treatments

5.0

12/21/2015


Ted N.

The people at Abbott are wonderfully helpful and knowledgeable. A great place to go if you need advice about a project.

Description of Work
We have purchased paint for many different products from Abbott over the years. Most recently, we had them custom match some paint.

Category flooring contractor

5.0

09/24/2015


Bernie B.

They were very professional. They went over and above what I expected.

Description of Work
Carpet repair and restretching.

Category carpet installation, flooring contractor

5.0

07/20/2015


MARGARET D.

they were helpful and knowledgeable and gave primer advice that I needed to know but did not even know to ask

Description of Work
matched paint swatches and sold me quantities of paint needed for property

Category flooring contractor

5.0

05/09/2015


Joan M.

on time-efficient-perfict cleanup-looks great-

Description of Work
flooring and window coverings

Category flooring contractor, window treatments

2.0

03/16/2015


Karin E.

I went to the Stillwater Abbott location one morning in January wanting information about carpet. I was told the decorator was not there and that no one else knew enough about carpet to be able to help me. The decorator would be there later that day. I called and told her I would like to meet with her. When I showed up she seemed distracted. She also seemed like she was very new at working for Abbott. She wasn't very confident about carpet choices. I chose a sample that I liked but there wasn't a bigger piece that I could have taken home so I took the whole board with several colors on it. That seemed odd that there wasn't a bigger sample for me to use. The color that I thought I liked turned out to be the same color as my couch and when I returned the board to Abbott the designer was not there. I called her and explained I needed some other suggestions because that color wasn't quite right. She said she would get back to me but never did. Meanwhile I decided to shop around and found another store with excellent customer service and decided to go with them. Approximately 2 months later I got a bid from Abbott by e mail for the original carpet I had picked out. I e mailed the designer back and said it was too late. I had already chosen another carpet from another store and was unimpressed with the service I had gotten from Abbott. I really wanted to work with Abbott. They are local and not a big box store and I had heard they had a good reputation. The customer service I got, or didn't get, made me think they really didn't want my business. I was very disappointed. Maybe you will have a different experience.

Description of Work
I wanted advice and a bid to install carpet in my 3 bedroom townhouse.

Category carpet installation, flooring contractor

5.0

02/17/2015


kathryn M.

Did good job of estimate...chose another less expensive option.

Description of Work
Didn't use

Category flooring contractor

5.0

02/02/2015


Rhonda K.

The folks at Abbott are great. They know their products and how to design a room! Very helpful service when looking for carpeting and paint, and all the tools. We did purchase a lot of paint (and colors looked great based on their suggestions!) but we were on a tight budget so had to choose another supplier for the carpeting.

Description of Work
Gave lots of help with colors and styles

Category carpet installation, flooring contractor

5.0

01/13/2015


Wendy L.

It took two visits for them to do all the installation. The work was generally very good. There were two issues encountered. They had not ordered enough carpeting which was okay. They just left the closet undone and then came back and finished that. They were not able to remove the toilet to put flooring under it and they did not consult with me about it before putting the flooring just around the toilet. They had said they would put flooring under the toilet. They found they were not able to do it but they did not consult with me before just going ahead and not doing it. After I contacted them about the issue, they did give me a discount for not being able to put the flooring under the toilet. They resolved it with the discount but it was not handled properly initially and I think they would admit that. They left the area clean.

Description of Work
They installed carpet in the basement and new flooring in the bathroom.

Category carpet installation, flooring contractor

5.0

01/06/2015


Sarah T.

Fine. Haven't gotten the bill yet but their estimate was a little higher than I expected. Still, they are a known quantity and were extremely responsive, neat, and timely.

Description of Work
restretched carpet in church entryway

Category carpet installation, flooring contractor

5.0

11/10/2014


A H E.

Great experience from start to finish. Abbott was very generous in allowing me to take home a number of flooring samples so I could find just the right one. The estimator came as scheduled as did the installers. Installation went smoothly and everything was nicely cleaned up upon completion. I now have a beautiful hardwood floor to match the other hardwood floors in my 1922 bungalow. I would definitely use them again.

Description of Work
Ripped up old carpeting and installed a new hardwood floor in a second floor bedroom.

Category flooring contractor

5.0

10/07/2014


STEVE L.

Everything went well. The floor looks great.

Description of Work
New flooring in the basement.

Category flooring contractor

5.0

04/15/2014


Douglas U.

Tim was professional, prompt, and friendly as he walked though our home. He took detailed measurements and gave us good advice on where to put what type of flooring as well as other options. Although we ultimately went with other providers, it was because of an abundance of good choices, and we still think working with Tim also would have been a good choice.

Description of Work
Tim gave us a professional evaluation and lots of great advice on flooring.

Category flooring contractor

5.0

03/31/2014


Emma M.

Had initial problems because the sales person I started working with took a leave from work and I kept getting passed between individuals until I complained and got one of the owners themselves. Also, had a problem with the guy who came and measured for the estimate because he insisted my floor was not level enough and I needed to find someone to come in and put down a leveling agent first. My testing said it was not necessary so I insisted on having them come back and check it again. The person who came back said it was indeed not necessary. I also found out the individual who had come the first time was no longer with the company. Once I got passed all of that, everything was great. The installer was excellent and I'm very pleased with the work.

Description of Work
LVT flooring in entry, kitchen, dining area & bathroom.

Category flooring contractor

5.0

03/18/2014


james P.

Everything was completed in a professional matter.

Description of Work
Steve Abbott is a true perfectionist. He has always matched colors and stains spot on.

Category flooring contractor, hardwood floor, interior painters

5.0

02/03/2014


Lawrence B.

Abbott did a great job of helping us select the carpet. They were very sensitive to our needs, style and costs. Their installation team did a fine job on what was a big project. They were efficient, professional and prompt.

Description of Work
Helped with the selection of, sold us and installed four rooms of carpet.

Category carpet installation, flooring contractor

5.0

02/01/2014


Frances V.

The Abbott staff with whom we have worked have been very professional and take their jobs seriously. We worked with the same woman in 2009 and in November 2013, when we needed to have two blinds repaired. This is a good sign--the staff stay with the company--and they were always prompt and courteous.

Description of Work
Measured and installed blinds in our house and sent back two from 2007 for repairs.

Category window treatments

5.0

01/27/2014


Nick D.

It went great. It was done in a day. They also sell paint. I get a lot of paint from them. They are knowledgeable and friendly.

Description of Work
They installed the carpet in my home.

Category carpet installation, flooring contractor

5.0

10/15/2013


Jeffrey F.

I asked them for a particular kind of paint and they asked me about my project. Based upon my answer they recommended a different type of paint that is a very high quality paint too.

Description of Work
Bought high quality paint and paintbrush.

Category home improvement stores

3.0

09/07/2013


KURT S.

This was a mixed bag. I had intended to put ceramic on the kitchen floor, but was checking out other possibilities as well. When I read that ceramic was difficult and had a few estimates that agreed that I would basically have to rebuild the sub-floor to support the ceramic I changed plans. I visited Abbot on Grand in St. Paul because I have purchased paint there and continue to do so. I have had great experiences with that side of the business. When I went to the other side and began getting information about other flooring possibilities I encountered a woman, whose name I have forgotten. I was in the middle of asking questions and gathering data - in fact, I think I was right in the middle of a sentence when she got a page that a call was waiting. She didn't let me finish my question. she bustled off to answer the phone leaving me to wait and mosey about the show room on my own. When 20 minutes had elapsed I was headed for the door, and Tim Abbot came in. He was very professional and took me through all the products, introducing me to Marmoleum, which I had never heard of. It was great. So I scheduled a time to have someone come out and give me an estimate. When the time arrived, the estimator didn't. I called Tim and he apologized and called the estimator. Then returned my call to tell me the estimator had my time written down 2 hours later. Fine. I could have written the time down wrong; no big deal. The estimator arrive punctually at the corrected time. He was very professional and personable. He gave me an estimate that I considered reasonable and I decided to have them do the work. Two men arrived punctually at the agreed time to do the work. They brought in a roll of Marmoleum. And said they were ready to put it down. I said "Whoa. You need to first take up the old vinyl." The main guy said "Huh? That's not on my work order." the helper guy said "Can I use your bathroom?" Having been granted permission he disappeared into the facility for about 15 minutes. Meanwhile, lead guy was calling Tim and trying to figure this out. Clearly the estimate was based on the removal of the old vinyl. I was vindicated, but now they didn't have time in their schedule to complete the job. So they left me to reschedule with Tim. Upon their departure my paranoid voice whispered that they had done that on purpose to see if they could slip one past me. I told my paranoid voice to shut up. The time was re-scheduled; needing two days now.The crew arrived punctually at the re-re-scheduled time and did a wonderful job on the removal. The next day I got a call from Tim telling me the main guy was sick and we would have to re-re-re-schedule. I told him the time frame (a couple of weeks out) was not acceptable. So he made some arrangements, shuffled some people and brought a new guy in a few days later to finish the job. He did a swell job. Only later did I note a minor scuff, which was irritating but not devastating. And so the saga was completed. I hesitated to write this because I like the company and continue to buy my paint from them. Every member of the Abbot family that I have encountered has been fantastic. Perhaps my experience was a fluke. But, unfortunately it was my experience.

Description of Work
Removed old vinyl floor in the kitchen and laid Marmoleum floor.

Category carpet installation

5.0

08/26/2013


Amy H.

We used to buy our paint from Hirschfields, but after going to Abbott paint in White Bear Lake we will never go anywhere else. The level of service is incredible. We have had so much help from them matching colors and consulting on what types of paints and stains to use. We have used them for our entire exterior paint job, interior stain matching, interior paint, paint for dressers and cupboard/bookcase refinishing. We have been happy every time. There is a little of a premium in price, but we have had no trouble paying for it, and when our contractor is going to do the work, they have always given us a contractor's discount or discount for large orders.

Description of Work
Matched stain color, helped match paint colors, bought paint/stain/varnish/painting supplies, in the past has helped consult on colors for exterior of house, etc. I also got a lot of advice from them on how to refinish some wood chairs, a dresser and cupboards/cabinets.

Category house painters, interior painters, cabinet refacing

5.0

08/10/2013


Karen M.

Our stager said we needed to replace our carpet because our dog had chewed the edge of it. Our carpet cleaner suggested we contact Abbott as she had used them in the past and found them to be very professional. We had hoped they would be able to take a piece of carpet from the closet and sew it onto the damaged area. After evaluating the situation, they said they could easily stretch the carpet and remove the damaged portion. The result looked perfect and only cost $75, much less than new carpet. We were very pleased!

Description of Work
Stretched carpet to hide frayed carpet that dog had chewed.

Category carpet installation, flooring contractor

5.0

10/15/2012


Kathie E.

Excellent service. Came out to see the project, received the bid and the work was scheduled and completed. A relatively small project for them, when they had not done the original installation, but service and work was excellent.

Description of Work
Stretched the carpet in one area to cover damaged edge. Patched the carpet in a door way and installed the proper transition to tile. Both areas had been damage by our puppy's chewing!

Category carpet installation, flooring contractor

5.0

05/10/2012


CATHERINE M.

They have a very good show room to choose from, and they are in a good location. I took advantage of a nice sale they had on carpeting. They also helped a lot on making a choice in the show room. The guy that did the work did an excellent job. He kept the place cleaned up. They recommended to clean out pet odors before they put the carpet in which turned out well. One of the guys even picked up my recycling bin for me.

Description of Work
They did my carpeting. I had all of my carpet replaced.

Category carpet installation, flooring contractor

5.0

04/20/2012


Allison T.

Good work done quickly by their professional installers (cant recall if they were a subcontractor). Whole condo took about 1 1/2 days.

Description of Work
Carpet purchase and installation

Category carpet installation, flooring contractor

    Other local Pros in your area

    Superior Builders LLC

    Bringing Everything Together. Specializing in Painting Services. We guarantee your satisfaction and we won’t leave until the job is done right. We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service! Check out our services offered and call or click to schedule a free estimate today. You can also check out our website at: http://www.superiorbuildersmn.com Thank You  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Bella Casa Painting

    3-8 employees. No subs. Cost is determined by the job. No travel charges.  

    Painting By Jerry Wind

    At Painting by Jerry Wind, you’ll find that we are true craftsmen who really take pride in our work. We have the proper tools, equipment and training. As a result, you’ll be hiring pros that really understand and respect your house. Who treat your house like a home. We make the intrusion on your home as minimal as possible. We’ll even let out the dog or feed the cat. Painting by Jerry Wind was awarded the first ever, quarterly Safety at Work Award in December 2007 by The Builders Group, a workers compensation program with over one thousand companies as members. Before any work starts, the Field Manager reviews your job with you and our foreman. So, you’re assured that what is on the bid gets done. We no longer hang wallpaper or refinish floors or do carpentry of any kind. Our additional phone number is 651-699-6140. Please give us a call.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Offers by Painting By Jerry Wind on Angi
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover, Financing Available, American Express
    Senior Discount
    No
    Warranties
    Ask for details

    Services Offered

    Carpet sales & installation. Flooring-hardwood, laminate & vinyl. Painting. Window treatments. Wallpaper. Color consultation.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Abbott Paint & Carpet

    How is Abbott Paint & Carpet overall rated?

    Abbott Paint & Carpet is currently rated 4.8 overall out of 5.

    What days are Abbott Paint & Carpet open?

    Abbott Paint & Carpet is open:

    Sunday: 11:00 AM - 3:00 PM

    Monday: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Tuesday: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Wednesday: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Thursday: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Friday: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Saturday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    What payment options does Abbott Paint & Carpet provide

    Abbott Paint & Carpet accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover, Financing Available, American Express

    Does Abbott Paint & Carpet offer free estimates?

    Yes, Abbott Paint & Carpet offers free project estimates.

    Does Abbott Paint & Carpet offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Abbott Paint & Carpet offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Abbott Paint & Carpet offer a senior discount?

    No, Abbott Paint & Carpet does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Abbott Paint & Carpet?

    No, Abbott Paint & Carpet does not offer warranties.

    What services does Abbott Paint & Carpet offer?

    Abbott Paint & Carpet offers the following services: Carpet sales & installation. Flooring-hardwood, laminate & vinyl. Painting. Window treatments. Wallpaper. Color consultation.