Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Basement Water Controlled Co

Founded 1967 • With Angi since June 2010

4.5

(37) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

PO Box 354

Rockville, MN 56369

Description

We are a Family owned and opperated business,with15-20 employees. Typically all work is preformed and completed by a Basement Water Controlled Employee.We accept all major credit cards,checks and cash....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

05/22/2018


Travis C.

I'm very impressed. The guys worked really hard to get the job completely done in one day - and they put perfectly matching landscape rock back in place for the front of our house. You can't even tell anything was done! They left all our landscape bushes undisturbed except for the scraggly tree that I said they could remove if they wanted to, and they did. So nice to be rid of that thing as a bonus! Need some heavy rains now to confirm our minor leakage problem is resolved, but I've tested the system by running a garden hose in it, and the water flowed out perfectly. Their prices may seem a little high, but for the quality of work you get, it's worth it. Plus no headaches dealing with timing; they showed up when they said they would and got the job done. Aaron, the foreman, was extremely nice and professional.

Description of Work
Set up drain tile around part of the foundation

Category basement waterproofing

5.0

11/26/2016


Vivian N.

Price is average, B. I would consider using them for the project or referring them to a friend.

Description of Work
Basement Water Controlled Co did just a bid on basement repair.

Category basement waterproofing

5.0

11/12/2014


Ray N.

When they arrived on site they went right to work - digging and removing and hauling away unused debris and leaving fill as requested. We really appreciate how very neat they were about their work. Since they were so knowledgible and professional in their work our expectation is we finally have our problem solved. They seem to be very busy so scheduling can be delayed. But KUDOS to them and their work.

Description of Work
Initially excavated outside leaking wall and sealed wall and base inside and outside. Leaking continued and worsened. Called for more work. Excavated further along house (about 10 feet more) and removed portion of sidewalk and opened up about the same distance inside the basement removing concrete floor for about a foot from the wall. Fixed so water would drain into our drain tile system which it wasn't and hence be removed by our sump. Very professional and very neat for what they had to do. They also replaced concrete removed in basement and redid sidewalk outside very nicely.

Category basement waterproofing

Service Provider Response

Greetings [removed member name] Thank you for your review. We certainly appreciate your kind words. Folks like you that actually recognize what we do is not all that easy put a bounce back in our step and strength back in our arms! Again, Thank You.
4.0

11/10/2014


Peter M.

I had chronic water problems in the house before they came out. I got water every spring and in every hard rain. Have not had a problem since they did the work. They totally solved the issue. My only problemw with them were in scheduling. I signed up for the work in July, they started it in November and did everything but the exterior concrete work. I had to pester them to come out and finish that and even then, they did not come out until I threatened a bad review. They finally finished the work in June nearly a year after I signed up for the work. They were pleasant to work with otherwise and we did ask for a few mods as the project went on, and they were great about adjusting to those. They totally solved my water issues and I would be giving them an 'A' if it were not for the problem of getting the last concrete work done.

Description of Work
replaced interior drain tile in basement, installed exterior drain tile and yard drain as well, installed concrete slab on the exterior

Category concrete repair, basement waterproofing

Service Provider Response

Thank you (removed member's name) for the good review. We appreciate the the feedback and the recommendation to your neighbor.
5.0

07/10/2014


Susan R.

Very nice company - still haven't decided which way to go.....may call them back.....not sure right now.

Description of Work
Assessor came out and gave me a great estimate but I decided to go a different route.

Category basement waterproofing

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your comments. We are here to serve and yes make a living as well. If and or when we can help in the future it would be our pleasure to fix your basement
3.0

01/31/2014


Beth T.

Compared to the other two estimates, this was more than 50% higher (maybe he didn't want the job). Also, he didn't have any photos or videos of the system and the installation. We are definitely going with one of the others.

Description of Work
Came to our house and provided estimate for drain tile and pump system in the basement.

Category basement waterproofing

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your response. The beauty of small business . We would like to be awarded every estimate we figure. However, we are not the right fit for everyone,
5.0

01/14/2014


Derrick K.

It was an Angie's List Big Deal that we purchased. It seemed to go well. They recommended some services to improve the water flow to prevent a problem we had seen but we didn't go through with all of it. They were definitely helpful and seemed like a good company. We intended to do the work but we haven't had the money. They wanted approximately $1,200 to do the remediation. We were ready to work with them but we didn't have the money at that time. They had some no cost suggestions too. They did well for what we asked them to do. The price seemed pretty fair for an inspection. We would call them right away if we have another problem.

Description of Work
We used Basement Water Controlled Company to do an inspection and they gave us a proposal for work.

Category basement waterproofing

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your response . We appreciate the opportunity to help solve the water seepage trouble, And certainly understand the financial situation. We will be here when your ready.
5.0

11/01/2013


Tana C.

It was good. We didn’t really end up doing anything. They came out about a month after I purchased the deal.

Description of Work
I purchased a Big Deal coupon from Basement Water Controlled Company. They came out and inspected our basement.

Category basement waterproofing

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your feed back . We appreciate your honest response
5.0

10/29/2013


Kelly Z.

The new sump pump backup took a couple of hours to install. Kevin showed me how it works and removed the old system for me. He said it has a three year warranty and I can call anytime with questions. I am happy with the service and would recommend this company to my friends & family.

Description of Work
I had Kevin come out to my house a couple of times this spring and summer to discuss options to reduce water issues in my basement and garage. I found his costs to be very reasonable compared to some of the other companies that I met with. This week I had Kevin install a new backup sump pump system.

Category basement waterproofing

Service Provider Response

Thank you [removed member name] for your kind report. We appreciate the opportunity to help.
5.0

10/02/2013


Jennifer R.

Technician was very nice and thorough. He followed up with a quote which was very reasonable. We will get the service done as suggested as soon as we get the gutters fixed (required for the service to be guaranteed).

Description of Work
Offered analysis of wall crack

Category foundation repair

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the good honest feedback. We truly appreciate your review.
2.0

09/09/2013


MATT F.

We bought the Angie's List deal to have an assessment done on our basement thinking we would get advice on different options to address moisture and leaking in our basement. A representative came out who was nice but didn't say much or ask us anything about what our concerns or thoughts were. He simply looked around and talked about a sump pump option and left to write up a quote on what that would cost, but little advice or guidance on what our other options might be. We could have gotten a quote from any other service provider for free without paying the $50.

Description of Work
Just came and gave us an estimate on a sump pump option.

Category basement waterproofing

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your response and inviting us into your home. It is our intent to gain info from the home owner in order to recommend a proper repair assessment. Sorry we did not meet your expectations. I will gladly refund your 49.00 at your request.
3.0

07/31/2013


ELIZABETH A.

See above. In addition, the person who scheduled the appointment did not seem to hear very well. I had to repeat my name and other things repeatedly, and she gave an incorrect address to Kevin. He got lost trying to find me because he was given the wrong house number. He had '7' rather than '11.' She also asked me if I had a cold and when I said 'no', she said, 'well, it sounds like you have allergies.' I have neither and get out of my space, lady, but thank you for your concern. I requested and received a refund for this Deal.

Description of Work
Kevin and I walked thru the basement and agreed there was water infiltration. He explained why this was occurring and that the service his company provided could not be applied, largely due to how my basement is constructed and the age/condition of my home. We walked around outside and I told him I was planning to change my gutters and considering French drains. He agreed those were good ideas. He offered some simple suggestions about controlling water flow and that was it. Kevin was very pleasant, but the service was not very useful. I think the whole thing took about 20 minutes. He agreed I have water infiltration but he couldn't help me. He confirmed my ideas for mitigating this were correct. With all respect to Kevin, I don't think that's worth 150 (49) dollars. It just wasn't a good fit. Thank you for your consideration.

Category basement waterproofing

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your response. We would like to say we can solve any basement problem. I would be lieing if I said we could. I trust that you did receive my email for a company whom I recommended
4.0

07/20/2013


CAROL M.

Since I had gotten some water in my basement this spring I wanted someone to check it out to see if I might have a problem. I have never had water in my basement before in the 15 years I have lived in my house. Of course this happened after we had gotten record rainfall. So I called and made an appointment, but no one showed up. I called back and requested a new appointment, which was set up. I was told that there was a mix-up since she, the regular scheduler, had been out of the office and someone else must have taken my call. Otherwise she was very professional and courteous. Kevin showed up for the second appointment and was very professional. He told me that my gutters and landscaping looked good and the problem I had was rare and may never happen again. He told me I could have a sump pump installed, which would help if we ever got the same amount of rainfall again. But he also added that this might be a once in a life time event. He really didn't push me to do anything. This made me believe that no extra work was needed at this time.

Description of Work
Looked at my basement and outside walls for possible water problems

Category basement waterproofing

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your response
4.0

07/13/2013


robert F.

Basement Water Controlled Co. estimate was a very expensive operation and I said no, I don't need that. He had an idea to put in gutters and drain pipes, all kinds of things. It would have been a very expensive operation. I didn't need that, so I said goodbye. I ended up figuring it out for myself and I fixed it. He was all right. I don't have an opinion one way or the other. If you needed a dramatic, drastic thing to your house, you might have been alright, if you had a real flood or water problem. Mine wasn't that bad.

Description of Work
I purchased an Angie's Big Deal to get an estimate for inspection and analysis of some water damage. He came out one day and spent a half hour and looked around and told me a few things. He came out a couple of weeks after I purchased the Big Deal. We had water in the garage and some water damage in a room downstairs, in the corner of my house.

Category water damage restoration, basement waterproofing

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your review. We see so many leaky areas and appreciated the opportunity to share some of our permanent repair options with you.
5.0

07/08/2013


Brian S.

it went well. very quick and seemed really trustworthy.

Description of Work
gave me a quote for an egrass window

Category egress windows, basement waterproofing

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the response. We greatly appreciate the feedback.
5.0

07/08/2013


Miriam K.

Workman arrived on time, was courteous and thorough, took pictures to show me what he found, and assured me that my foundation was solid and undamaged and there was no evidence of water damage or any need for repairs in my basement and foundation.

Description of Work
Checked soundness of foundation, inside and out, to see if there was water damage or a risk of water damage in the near future.

Category basement waterproofing

Service Provider Response

We greatly appreciate your response. It is nice to see a good solid foundation.
5.0

07/03/2013


Rebekah D.

Very professional. He let us know that our leaks were not that bad and pin pointed the problem for us. He gave lots of good suggestions on how to combat the problem that we could do ourselves! He provided an estimate for a drain tile install, but said we did not need it and could fix the problem easy. I was impressed he did not oversell the company just to get the work. If I ever do need someone, I will call them first!

Description of Work
He checked our house for water leaks in the basement.

Category basement waterproofing

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the detailed feed back. We appreciate the opportunity to help.
4.0

07/02/2013


Daryl J.

After meeting with them, I tried to call them twice and never got a response. So, that experience was probably not too good. The bidding process was okay. I really had two bids and this one was higher but it was in the range. I would probably be talking to them later.

Description of Work
I have met with Basement Water Controlled Company one time in the middle of May and got a bid for basement waterproofing.

Category basement waterproofing

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the update. Our apologies for somehow not responding to your return call. Yes, we would welcome the opportunity to repair your basement. Thanks for your patience.
4.0

07/01/2013


Sandra G.

Our tenant said the man was very personable and on time. She enjoyed the experience. I gave an overall rating of a "B" even though the service questions were all given an "A" because it was not really the service I wanted. Before I purchased the Angies deal, I called the company to ask if they addressed landscaping and external factors that may cause leaking. The man on the phone said yes, so I actually bought 2 deals-1 for our rental home and 1 for the home we live in. The home we live in gets a tiny bit of water in one spot and I know is due to landscaping issues. I was hoping for some suggestions there, but after they inspected our rental home, it was not the answer I wanted so I didn't even call them to come to the home we live in. I was bummed as I wasted money on the second deal purchase. The man who did the inspection gave us a great detailed drawing though of an internal drain/pump system. We were again, hoping for some landscaping, gutter rerouting kind if solutions first. When I called after the inspection, I was told they don't do that. They only do drain systems. We had a good design of how to reroute the water that does come into the basement, but I wanted suggestions on how to keep the water out of the basement, not how to allow it in and then reroute it to a pump system. So, overall, if that is what you are looking for, they seem to know what they are doing. If you are looking for ways to keep the water out of your basement in the first place, you'll have to look for a different company. Friendly, prompt service, just not what I was looking for and sadly, I felt misled from my first phone conversation. That is my only complaint. I would not have purchased two deals as the home we live in only has a tiny water issue and I do know its from landscaping.

Description of Work
Inspected basement at a rental property. Suggested drain tile system.

Category basement waterproofing

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the review. We appreciate the feedback and will strive to improve and explore long lasting water control methods. Again Thank you for inviting us to your home.
5.0

06/30/2013


Hillary S.

It has transformed our lives!! Almost every time it rained significantly, prior to the work down by Basement Water Controlled Co., the windows in the basement would leak in our 1947-built home. All the windows in the wells were replaced in 2009 with brand new windows. However, they still couldn't stop the water from leaking into the basement. We had a lot of anxiety every time it rained because we were always fearful that our basement would leak to some degree. It has rained a lot over the past few months, but we have not had any leaking in our basement. We are very happy with the work that Basement Water Controlled Co. did at our house. WE NOW HAVE A DRY BASEMENT!!! Thank you!!! By-the-way, all the work was completed in a single day by 2 men who were some of the hardest-working guys I have ever come across in terms of finishing a project the same day that it was started.

Description of Work
They dug-out the base of the existing window wells (5) and put in a drainage system for each one. Then they resealed the original metal window wells to the foundation of the house. They also applied caulking around the windows to give them a better seal in order to prevent any water leaking into the basement. They also assessed the basement walls to determine if they required any work to be done on them. Fortunately, they did not.

Category basement waterproofing

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much for the review This is great encouragement for each of us here at BWC. It's nice to know that there are still folks out there like you that first can recognize and then appreciate the work we do. With great appreciation, BWC
5.0

06/03/2013


Lynae L.

The timing couldn't have been better. I would have had to continue bailing the water out of my basement due to the amount of rain we received. The workers reminded me of worker bees. The amount of work they accomplished in one day was amazing. They arrived on time. Finished and cleaned up afterward. Three days later, they came back to help me put the double sink (very heavy) in the utility room. They explained how to maintain the sump pump and answered any other questions. The owner called a week later just to make sure everything was ok and if I had anymore questions. Definitely a company I would recommend to my relatives and friends. Friendly and professional. If you choose this company, tell them Lynae sent you. Let this company clear up your water problems like they did mine.

Description of Work
Put drain tiles in the utility room and a sump pump in the floor.

Category basement waterproofing

3.0

05/30/2013


James R.

Individual was late to appointment. Did not provide any estimate or quote on the spot - said it would be complete in a couple days. Didn't recieve quote until 1 week later. Compared to multiple other assessments, company came back reccomending more work than other assessments agreed was needed and was more expencive.

Description of Work
Assessed basement & provided quote on installing basement wall anchors.

Category basement waterproofing

Service Provider Response

Thanks for your response
3.0

05/01/2013


Erica A.

My appointment was rescheduled twice, then when I did finally have the appointment I was told that I didn't need their services. Representative was friendly and on time. No work was done so I cannot comment on that.

Description of Work
As a new homeowner, I bought the big deal as it was advertised - basement waterproofing and interior/exterior inspection. When I had my home inspection done, there was a high reading indicating there could be moisture in the basement so I wanted to have a professional assess and recommend prevention for mold, water damage, etc. Basically the guy came out and walked around inside/outside my house and told me people usually call them because they have flooded/standing water in the basement and there wasn't really anything for him to do. So I basically spent $49 for nothing. The gentleman was nice- I can't really comment on the work they do as there was no work done. Think if Angie's runs this deal in the future it would be good to put a more accurate description of the services they provide. All I got out of it was a suggestion to buy a dehumidifier, which to me did not justify a $49 spend.

Category basement waterproofing

Service Provider Response

Hello [member name removed], Thank you for posting your review. I am sorry we were not of better service for you. At your request, I personally will refund your $49.00. We still would recommend the use of a dehumidifier in the basement during the snowless months.
5.0

03/23/2013


JANE S.

Once I purchased this deal, the company called wanting to set up an appointment. I found out I did not need this service, but their responsiveness was very impressive!

Description of Work
I purchased the Big Deal for $49 for Basement Waterproofing Interior & Exterior Inspection & Analysis.

Category basement waterproofing

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the review Jane, we appreciate the opportunity to serve.
5.0

09/13/2012


DARLEEN T.

Basement Water Controlled Company's operative answered all my questions. He gave me a lot of information about his company. He was very polite, very nice.

Description of Work
Basement Water Controlled Company provided a quote.

Category basement waterproofing

    Other local Pros in your area

    Done Right Carpet & Restoration

    Call Us 24/7 at (612) 331-4454 For Immediate Response. No Matter the Size of the Water Damage Cleanup, We Have You Covered. We pride ourselves on our personal commitment to each and every client. When you call us, it’s like you called a family member because we treat every job like it was our own home or business.  

    Innovative Basement Authority

    Innovative Basement Authority, founded in 2005, is a subsidiary of Groundworks, a family of companies that offers superior, proven solutions for your foundation repair, structural repair, crawl space encapsulation, dehumidification, and concrete leveling needs. They currently maintain offices in Fargo, ND, Rush City, MN, and Minneapolis, MN. Innovative Basement Authority is a recognized accredited member of the Better Business Bureau and devotes its years of experience, industry knowledge and specialized training to help customers protect their homes or commercial buildings from water damage, concrete sinking, and foundation failure.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Offers by Innovative Basement Authority on Angi
    AdvantaClean of Southwest Minneapolis

    Specializing in water damage, mold removal, air duct cleaning and dryer vent cleaning for the residential, commercial and industrial markets.  

    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover
    Senior Discount
    No
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Basement Problem Solving Methods- Sump Pumps, Draintile Systems,Foundation Repair,Bowing Wall Repair,Crack Sealing

    Services Not Offered

    Restoration. Mud Jacking.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Basement Water Controlled Co

    How is Basement Water Controlled Co overall rated?

    Basement Water Controlled Co is currently rated 4.5 overall out of 5.

    What days are Basement Water Controlled Co open?

    Basement Water Controlled Co is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    Saturday: Closed

    What payment options does Basement Water Controlled Co provide

    Basement Water Controlled Co accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover

    Does Basement Water Controlled Co offer free estimates?

    Yes, Basement Water Controlled Co offers free project estimates.

    Does Basement Water Controlled Co offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Basement Water Controlled Co offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Basement Water Controlled Co offer a senior discount?

    No, Basement Water Controlled Co does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Basement Water Controlled Co?

    Yes, Basement Water Controlled Co offers warranties.

    What services does Basement Water Controlled Co offer?

    Basement Water Controlled Co offers the following services: Basement Problem Solving Methods- Sump Pumps, Draintile Systems,Foundation Repair,Bowing Wall Repair,Crack Sealing

    Are there any services Basement Water Controlled Co does not offer?

    Restoration. Mud Jacking.