Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

KC Star

Founded 1996 • With Angi since October 2010

4.2

(23) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

5309 80th Ave, SW

Rochester, MN 55902

Description

KC Star is a small family oriented company owned and operated by Ken Carman. I am hands on and involved in every project. I have a very broad spectrum of experience with over 18 years in comercial and residential construction, Large and small project management and coordination, repair and

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
1.0

01/05/2022


Jeong-Heon L.

1. Did not bring anything to cover shozes or old/wet water heater. Requested the customer to provide towels or something to cover the bottom of old water heater, mentioning the carpet will be dirty without it. 2. Had difficuties to ignite the starter/new water heater. Broke a gas nozzle part of the ignite by drilling. Even broken, put the part into the water heater. Somehow, the starter worked. 3. Paid $1,000 for installation of water heater. Requested the receipt but they said it will be avaiable after 3 weeks (will be updated). 4. Broken part will be replaced by other service provider,

Description of Work
Installation of water heater

Category water heater repair

Service Provider Response

With good prior communication I scheduled an installation of customer purchased product. This involved pickup and delivery, parts acquisition, physical installation and disposal of two old non-working water heaters. Upon initial arrival the customer asked that I take my shoes off which was no problem. The instal is typically performed in a utility room of some sort and are usually unfinished without flooring. This was the case at this customers house. Each of the times I needed parts,to move the new units in or the two old out I took off my shoes. The customer was by my side watching every step I took and carried my shoes on many of the trips in and out of the basement. This was for the best because it alleviated any claim that the existing significant staining, or soiled areas were from me or wet shoes. I wanted to ensure that the old unit's also did not leave any areas of question also so I did request an old towel for protection but instead we bagged the wet unit up and prevented any drips. No towels were made available. I provided the plastic we utilized. As I mentioned the customer was watching each and every step of the process. The original install was far from professional and little was installed to code. I walked him through the needed changes and made a plan for repair that he and his wife approved. I fully removed the old units,installed the new one, cleaned up and disposed of the original units also. I did this with good communication, on time, with explanation of all of the work and a professional installation. At the conclusion of the install naturally I led him through the process to light the new unit he purchased. It would not light. I began troubleshooting the unit to determine the lack of function. After disassembly and checking parts over I was able to diagnose the problem and safely get the unit working so they hade hot water. It would still need replacement parts for long term consistent function. At this point an hour and a half beyond the completed install we had a plan for repair.
3.0

12/08/2015


Angela N.

He was very friendly and knowledgeable. We even went to Lowes to discuss further bathroom options for the remodel for my client. We were supposed to receive an email after Thanksgiving with an estimate for the remodel. I didn't get an estimate so I texted and asked when we should expect it. No response. I texted again a few days later saying we needed the estimate by Monday as we were going to gather other estimates as well. Again, no response. Not even a text saying he was too busy to take on the job or anything. I really liked Ken but the lack of response was really troubling to my client and myself as well. I'm sure he does great work if you can get a hold of him.

Description of Work
Came out to review the project space and gather more information for the bathroom remodel.

Category remodeling, home remodeling

5.0

04/03/2015


Margaret Y.

Ken did an overall great job of replacing an interior door; picked it up from the company from which I had ordered it, delivered it and within a week, installed it. The door looks amazing. He also noticed that a handle I had installed on my screen door could use a little work. He took it off, refitted it and didn't charge me a thing. I was totally impressed with his professionalism and his personality won me over. I plan to remodel a bathroom and will use his services.

Description of Work
Replaced a pre-hung interior door.

Category remodeling, screen repair, home remodeling, doors

1.0

05/05/2014


Annette R.

Last May I called him to come and give an estimate for bathroom tile-He did not get back to me right away and said it had something to do with his grandmother. Was also late with a second phone exchange; although he finally did come and look at the bathroom. We did not do the work last year as we found out our daughter was getting married, so we postponed the job until this year. I called him again, he said that he would be in the neighborhood and would be at my house shortly after lunch. He did not show and did not call. How unprofessional!

Description of Work
N/A

Category ceramic tile

Service Provider Response

I did spend a fair amount of time connecting with [member Name]last year, maybe multiple visits in person. I gave her a proposal for her bathroom shower surround in person and did not provide her with a paper copy as it was clear at the time the price was above what she was willing to pay. Like she said she did not have any work done then and I was rather surprised to have her contact me again for work she did not see the value in previously. My prices would not have been different and I even had a sample the same day for her that I attempted to deliver later in the afternoon on the day she called and was to be home. Missed opportunity for both of us. Best wishes, Ken
5.0

12/19/2013


michelle H.

We had removed a large picture window in our sunroom that was leaking on the inside and decided to fill in the hole with a wall. Our "amateur" drywall didn't look too good, so I looked up companies on Angie's List to redo the drywall, tape and mud the wall. When we called Ken Carmen, he was able to come in to give us an estimate within a day or two. He was very professional and obviously knew what he was talking about. It took us a few weeks to decide to start the project and he was able to start soon after we told him we were ready. It took several visits since several layers of tape and mud needs to be used and needs to dry well in between the layers. The only complaint that I would have would be on some visits I wasn't sure what time he was coming and I wanted to make sure I was home to let him in. But to be fair he was communicating with my husband who would tell me, so it is hard to know where the communication was lacking :) When the job was completed, the wall was flawless. I cannot see any evidence that drywall was inserted in the middle of our wall, it is completely smooth. I was very impressed and very happy that we didn't do it ourselves. The bill ended up being less than his estimate, which is always a pleasant surprise. I will definately call him when it's time for our next project!

Description of Work
Replaced a hole in our wall with drywall, taped and mudded the seams.

Category drywall, flooring contractor, home remodeling

5.0

08/30/2013


Kelly B.

It was a great experience working with Ken....what you would hope to find in a contractor. He did what he said he would do when he said he would for the price quoted. He and his crew are very conscientious; they were careful not to damage finished portions of the home during the project and cleaned up daily. Ken is very creative and is willing to collaboratively discuss ideas. Ken offers good "best practices" tips as well. Ken is flexible with respect to job scope....meaning if you as the homeowner want to do some of the work yourself. I had originally planned on laying the tile myself as a "weekend warrior", but ran out of time at the end of summer. The living room and one of the bathrooms were torn apart, We wanted to have the house put back together before school started back up for everyone. KC Star competed the job in 3 days. It was a good balance Ken & crew got the floor down, we are tackling some of the lesser finish oriented projects such as painting and trimming, The quality is outstanding; Ken pays close attention to detail. We would definitely recommend and use KC Star again!

Description of Work
Installation of 250' of porcelain tile in a living and bath room. The tile was 1' x 2' and slate colored.; KC Star laid it in a very appealing staggered pattern.

Category ceramic tile, home remodeling

5.0

07/23/2013


Patrick S.

Very professional

Description of Work
installed a banister

Category contractors, woodworking

2.0

07/12/2013


Pamela H.

Ken did some of the work, replaced one door. I waited for him to have the other one painted and replace it. He didn't return my call for about two months. I gave him money to paint and install a third door, and have never heard from him again. He does not return calls, answer calls from my phone numbers. I am out about $600.

Description of Work
replaced and painted exterior doors

Category home remodeling

4.0

06/07/2013


Kathy R.

One thing I liked about working with him was he was really creative and was willing to implement my ideas. He also gave me some suggestions on things that I would've never thought of myself.

Description of Work
I have used KC Star. He did my bathroom.

Category home remodeling

5.0

05/15/2013


matt J.

They are good overall and did the quality work that was promised.

Description of Work
I used KC Star for drywall work.

Category drywall

1.0

05/01/2013


Pamela S.

Then I couldn't get in touch with him for two months. It was the holidays but he could have returned one call or email. When I told him I was going to give a bad review on Angie's, he immediately called, gave excuses and talked me into letting him give me an estimate on a bathroom remodel. This time I got a printed estimate, no date. I got some other estimates, and decided to go with a company that had a license and warranty. I told Ken this but said I still had that other work for him to do in Spring. Also lots of misc minor home projects for now. We were going to meet the following Monday to discuss, but he never showed up. Tuesday he called but when I complained about not being there, we got into it and somehow he suggested that he didn't think I had the money to do the work since I didn't have a job. I hung up. This guy is a charmer alright. He says he can do everything, and I'm sure he's very talented, but I really don't know where he is coming from. I had read reviews on Angie's about him not being reliable, so add my name to the list. I don't know if he's mad at me for not giving him the bathroom project, or if he's just this unprofessional. I really wanted to work with him, but he obviously didn't want to work with me. I think I just saved myself alot of aggravation.

Description of Work
I originally called Ken in late 2012 to get an estimate on a fence for my dog. While he was there I also asked for an estimate on a quickie repair on a shed the fence would be attached to. It had fire damage up one side, hole in roof, new shingles, new double farm door and 2 windows. I just wanted a piece of plywood on the hole in roof. and a tarp thrown over for winter. I believe he gave me estimates over the phone for fence, hole repair and total shed repair. I don't think he officially wrote them up.

Category roofing, home remodeling, dog fence

Service Provider Response

I spent a large amount of time putting together prices for different projects for [member name removed], a family member of this Angies list member, not a Angies list member herself. Each time I made a trip to her home, once with my crew of guys to see what the scope of the work we would be doing was. Beth had all kinds of ideas that she wanted prices for and showed us all different projects that were left unfinished by others while she badmouthed them to us. It made me leary that we were going to be able to make her happy. When did give her prices she let me know that she was going to have some of the initial work completed by someone else but wanted other work bid. I was interested in seeing what she had completed with someone else and if she was happy with the work. She then let me know she had yet to move forward on anything but still wanted more pricing on different things. What seemed to me to really be the interest was not the work we could dobut rather the attention we were giving her. Sadly this is sometimes the case. She also mentioned each time we were there that she was currently unemployed a without income. She mentioned that her mother would be financing the some of the projects I priced. It most likely for the best as getting payment may have proposed a challenge.
5.0

04/26/2013


Clifford E.

I contacted Ken Carmen from KC Star to put in a new tile floor, countertop and backsplash in my Kitchen. Ken contacted me right away; we spoke about what I wanted and he brought me samples. Once I saw the samples it was easy to make a decision; Ken seemed to know exactly what I wanted. I told Ken I wanted the work to be completed by April 12, 2012. Ken brought in his colleague, Nick Greenwood to do the work - Nick completed all the work I requested on time. The craftsmanship was excellent, Nick did a really fantastic job and the kitchen is perfect.

Description of Work
Nick put in a tile floor, granit tile countertop and glass backsplash in our kitchen

Category flooring contractor, home remodeling

5.0

01/15/2013


Korene S.

Ken was great to work with, he was prompt in responding for our request for a bid and then again very accomodating with his schedule when the work was completed. He was very professional, did an exceptional job and left my home clean and tidy with a beautiful new kitchen countertop. He explained his work along the way and there was no suprises or delays when it came to the work he did nor the price. I would definitely recommend him to anyone needed work done around their home.

Description of Work
We hired him to install a new countertop in our kitchen renovation project. This is a home that I was getting ready to put on the market to sell and he offered great advice in choosing the best product to suit my needs. He was very thorough in explaining the job to be done, the materials needed and the price. He was very very resonable, and I shopped around a lot. He replaced an existing countertop in my kitchen and his attention to detail was impressive. If only I had hired him to complete the painting in my home that I recently hired out!

Category home remodeling

5.0

12/28/2012


Ginger H.

Wonderful! I tried to do the painting on my own which turned out to be a mess! I called for help and they came the next day! They helped pick out a better paint color for the bathroom than what I had used! The rest I asked questions on to see if they new what was wrong! My softener seemed to eat salt! Ken said he could put a new one in that used way less salt! I also inquired about the light switches not working together. The next day I had the info and estimate on the water softener and switches. Then I asked about the storm door. Ken could do that to! I gave him the specific info of what type of door I could have. I had it installed a week later! I felt like I had a handyman for the day to just ask all kinds of questions on things i thought were a problem!! I will contact him again to do more painting and flooring. Excellent work and very nice!

Description of Work
Pained master bedroom, bath, closets, guest bedroom, one wall of loft. Installed and removed water softener. Fixed upstairs electrical lighting switches. Installed front storm door.

Category lighting, water softeners, interior painters, doors

3.0

12/12/2012


Charles S.

In general the work went well even though it may seem upon examination to have dragged. But this is because Ken typically made many trips in order to finish the work properly. In the very beginning I became a bit put out because when Ken first came to assess the work he said he would email his estimate that very evening. After some days went by and no phone response (I didn't yet have his email address), when I finally reached him he said that he had sent it but that he must have had my email address wrong. But after that hiccup things went along pretty well. The small patch job was finished promptly when we needed it done as we were entertaining soon after. The rest of the work was done off and over a period of several months and completed in late April. I guess the price was fair although I had nothing to compare with. I certainly wouldn't call it a low price. One of the most trying things about this experience was his apparent lack of concern for schedules and keeping us informed as to just when he would be coming again. He might say he would come first thing in the morning and then arrive around lunch time. Or occasionally not at all. As the painting of the dining area was being completed we began discussing replacing the rear entry door out of the dining room. So we discussed options, he presented a bid we and decided to go ahead with it. We were to buy the door, he would pick it up and take it to his residence where he has painting facilities, and then come back and install it. That's a whole different story -- look for that review elsewhere.

Description of Work
Initially I needed two plaster repair jobs: 1 - to have patched a hole (about 2 feet by six inches) that electricians had recently had to make in order to route some wiring, and 2 - repair to a sub-ground level room wall which had been damaged years ago by water damage, the problem since corrected. This covered an area approximately 12 feet by 4 feet. These repairs were completed and I painted them myself. Later on, we progressed to looking at ceilings (flat plaster) that had some cracks that needed repair and painting and we agreed to go ahead and complete that work as well. This involved a kitchen, dining area, and a hallway, total area of about 400 square feet. This is a guess...I haven't actually measured it.

Category plastering, interior painters

2.0

12/12/2012


Charles S.

We purchased the door on April 26, 2012, and told the store we would be expecting him to pick it up. We had no communication with him for about three weeks and then I ran into him in a gas station. He said he had the door (don't know exactly when he picked it up) and would soon be painting it. And here is where things started to come apart. I think maybe Ken got too much work suddenly, possibly through Angie's List, and he just was not able to keep up. We had occasional contacts over the summer months but with his "busyness" and the hot humid weather, we didn't press the issue. Until fall. We started around the end of August to seriously press as to installation schedule. And he kept putting us off for various reasons. Finally, on October 11 he said he would come the following Sunday. No show and no contact. Following week, same thing...said he would come on Saturday, again no show and no contact. However, a curious thing happened. When I went to retrieve our morning paper from the driveway, there was a lovely painted door leaning against a wall. Following week, promised to come on Saturday but no show again. At this point I told him he was released and that I would hire someone through the store where we purchased the door. He accepted this with no comment, merely delivered (quietly) the hinges and weatherstripping that had come with the door. I have now hired someone else and the door is installed. Bottom line --- much stress and no installation, but nice paint job. So far I've paid Ken nothing but I plan to pay him what he wanted for the paint job -- $220.

Description of Work
As we concluded plastering and painting work with Ken Carman (our only interface with KCStar) we agreed to proceed with a plan to replace our entry door from the dining area to the back stoop. For review of the earlier work look elsewhere on this site. The plan was that we would go purchase the door, Ken would go pick it up, take it to his residence (in the country with one or more outbuildings and painting equipment), and then we would schedule installation later. Per his direction, we selected a color and informed of this.

Category doors

3.0

07/17/2012


Kelly P.

The one who came for estimates seems to be friendly and he seems to be coming back here. But then, we weren't able to hear back from him after that. I just don't know what happened to him. They were not able to give me what I need, so I don't think of bothering to call them again in the future.

Description of Work
KC Star came to our house last fall to do an estimate for the replacement and painting of our damaged kitchen ceiling and some painting to our living room ceiling.

Category woodworking

4.0

05/09/2012


Kelly M.

The deck looked great. The house looked much better. The concrete/ caulk work were well done. Ken paid great attention to detail and pointed out things I was unaware of and will keep an eye on for future.

Description of Work
Pressure washed house and deck. Removed and repaired caulk on steps and driveway. Repaired/filled holes in concrete steps from mud-jacking job 2 years ago.

Category concrete repair, handyman service, pressure washing

5.0

12/30/2011


Carolyn A.

He has done several projects for us and has great ideas. He is willing to let us do some of the work ourselves and worked with us to organize that. He did a really great job and there have been no complications. I will use him again in the future.

Description of Work
I used Ken Carman of KC Star to do some finish work on the trim of a tile floor as well as a laundry room remodel.

Category contractors, ceramic tile, handyman service, woodworking

3.0

09/22/2011


Risa F.

Please see above story.

Description of Work
I hate to leave negative feedback, but I have to say I was disappointed. I emailed this company first and when I didn't hear back in about 5 days my husband called and finally we got Ken to come out for an estimate. He was very nice, on time, and had some great ideas for our bathroom remodel. He said he would get back in touch with us in about a week with an estimate. Never happened. About two weeks later my husband called and left a message for him regarding the estimate. No response. We have never heard from him since. I like to support small businesses, but they need to be professional. In this economy even though the job wasn't huge- about $10,000 was our budget- you would think he would at least follow up? We have started the project with someone else and while I wish Ken the best in the future, I advise him to follow up with potential customers!

Category wallpaper removal, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

The customers contacted me about water damage on a main floor ceiling resulting from a leaking upstairs shower. The damaged area needed a fairly straight forward repair and retextureing. The leaking was something that took place over an extended period of time and could have been prevented with simple repair. I was told that their home was rented by a tennant and that that is why it was neglected. They now had been living in the home themselves again and were thinking of selling the home but needed to have the damaged area repaired, they also made me aware that they had diagnosed the leaking and it no longer continued to take place. They let me know that they had contacted their insurance company and were thinking that the shower that had leaked could be included in the claim for full removal and reinstallation. This bathroom was already the area they were considering for remodeling for resale. It felt that they were strongly persuing a larger insurance claim than was necessary for the repairs needed to solve the problem of the water damage. The understood the increased insurance claim would reduce the overall expense of the full bathroom remodel which was what much of our meeting was spent discusing. I did not feel comfortable submitting a price for the repairs that exceeded what was necessary to prevent continued damage from the shower leaking. The aspects desired of the whole bathroom remodel would have surpassed $15000 and would have been a very nice project to have but I did not have the confidence to persue it with the my questions about the insurance claim amount. I should have let them know that I was going to pass on thier project. I do wish them well as they too seem like very nice people. Ken Carman
3.0

08/25/2011


Lisa G.

I called and left emails for company. He would tell me he would come out- never did. I waited all afternoon one Friday for him. He did not follow through with requests. Showed interest in project, offered references, never provided. Not impressed and do not recommend. unreliable.

Description of Work
none preformed

Category playground equipment

Service Provider Response

I responded via email imediatly only to have a week or more laps before a return email and no call. Being familiar with the exact products that the the customer was interesed in I have extensive knowledge and I tried to contact them multiple times to set up a visit at the property. I never once spoke with the customer on the phone and only on one ocassion was there a voice mail left for me. I may even still have the appology email from the customer for her delays and not being available or getting back to me after multiple attempts. After giving the customer my number multiple times and haveing no calls it was clear that comunication and scheduling was going to be a challenge. It is always tough to provide information and references to a new customer that is next to never available and will not call or answer when called. I made a visit to the customers home and there was no one there on the afternoon she "Waited Around". Unfortunatly for the businesses on Angies list there is not a customer rating so that each of us business owners know when to pass on projects that troubling customers have. This may have save me the time and detailed responses that I spent trying initially with this customer. Please be warry if you have this customer contact you. Ken Carman
5.0

07/02/2011


Janet K.

He was extremely responsive and professional, gave us a very exact estimate for how much the work would cost, and finished the project in a timely manner. Great work!

Description of Work
Repaired the tile in our bathroom, fixed the plumbing, replaced the batthroom fixtures and toilet, replaced the light, stripped off the wall paper and painted the walls.

Category ceramic tile, drywall, plastering, plumbing, wallpaper removal, home remodeling, interior painters

5.0

02/20/2011


Patricia A.

KC Star was professional and knowledgeable. After meeting Ken, we were confident he would provide a good service and he did. We are very pleased with the quick and excellent work that was done and plan to have Ken bid future jobs for us.

Description of Work
Suspecting that the ice on the window meant we had an ice dam, we called Ken (KC Star) the day we first noticed it. After checking it out that same day, Ken gave us an estimate and detailed explanation of how he would address this problem and why certain methods are preferred. He and a coworker did the job the following day. Rather than using steam to clear away the ice, they used a torch to melt the ice, then removed more ice and snow by hand with shovels. We learned that this method is less damaging to the shingles which we had replaced only last summer.

Category roofing, roof snow removal

    Other local Pros in your area

    Epoxy Co

    We offer quality service at an affordable price. Contact us today about an estimate!  

    Angi Certified

    Dahlberg's Moving

    WE ARE AN EXPERIENCED TEAM OF PROFESSIONAL MOVERS WE ARE LOCATED IN Burnsville MN AND PROVIDE SERVICE IN THE WHOLE STATE OF MN WE OFFER FREE QUOTES AND ESTIMATES WE PROVIDE FREE DOLLIES, TOOLS, PADS AND SHRINK WRAP TO PERFORM YOUR JOB AT NO EXTRA COST TO YOU WE HAVE AN AFFORDABLE RATE AND INCLUDE TRUCKS IF NEEDED PLEASE CALL US AT: 612-214-9490 TO SCHEDULE YOUR NEXT MOVE  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Quality Epoxy LLC

    We specialize in Epoxy Flooring and countertops, some of the floors we work on are Concrete, Wood and Metal and also offer a variety offer a variety of products and styles depending on the look you are going for. What makes Quality Epoxy stand out from any of the competition is that we are all about the quality of our work, we treat each customer the same, We are a family owned and operated business that have been in this industry since 2017, providing quality year after year. We are ready for your needs, whether it is Residential, Commercial, and/or Industrial --we got what it takes!  

    Angi Certified

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    American Express, Check, Discover, MasterCard, Visa, PayPal, Financing Available
    Senior Discount
    10%
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Custom carpentry,Commercial residential construction remodeling Large small project management repair and maintence Cabinetry, Ceramic tile, Laminate, hardwood Bathrooms Kitchens basements Decks Fences Windows Doors Trim work Drywall Retaining walls Tree, shrub landscaping removal planting Jungle Gyms Painting for interior exterior Out buildings Sheds, yard barns. Auto repair & performance upgrades Tires, wheels, exhaust, engine modifications and suspension remodel restore Damage emergency help

    Services Not Offered

    There are really no areas of service we do not cover. Like Angie's list if there is something that we can not offer we have trustworthy referrals from years in the trades as well.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about KC Star

    How is KC Star overall rated?

    KC Star is currently rated 4.2 overall out of 5.

    What payment options does KC Star provide

    KC Star accepts the following forms of payment: American Express, Check, Discover, MasterCard, Visa, PayPal, Financing Available

    Does KC Star offer free estimates?

    Yes, KC Star offers free project estimates.

    Does KC Star offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, KC Star offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does KC Star offer a senior discount?

    No, KC Star does not offer a senior discount.

    Does KC Star offer emergency services?

    Yes, KC Star offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by KC Star?

    Yes, KC Star offers warranties.

    What services does KC Star offer?

    KC Star offers the following services: Custom carpentry,Commercial residential construction remodeling Large small project management repair and maintence Cabinetry, Ceramic tile, Laminate, hardwood Bathrooms Kitchens basements Decks Fences Windows Doors Trim work Drywall Retaining walls Tree, shrub landscaping removal planting Jungle Gyms Painting for interior exterior Out buildings Sheds, yard barns. Auto repair & performance upgrades Tires, wheels, exhaust, engine modifications and suspension remodel restore Damage emergency help

    Are there any services KC Star does not offer?

    There are really no areas of service we do not cover. Like Angie's list if there is something that we can not offer we have trustworthy referrals from years in the trades as well.