Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Archadeck of Hennepin County

Founded 2007 • With Angi since February 2010

4.8

(19) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

7601 STEVENS AVE

Richfield, MN 55423

Description

Archadeck Outdoor Living designs and builds custom outdoor living spaces for our clients. From porches and patios to decks and sunrooms, Archadeck is North America’s leading outdoor space builder.

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
Carol Hinz K.
4.0
10/29/2015
unknown
Description of Work
They took off our old deck and some siding that had been rotted. They replaced the siding and built us a beautiful new deck. They did put a hole in our outdoor spigot pipe without telling us which flooded our basement. We had to call a plumber for repair.
Category
decks

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed] we where never notified of any such leak from your new deck build and would have taken care of any such problems in the event that it was caused by our installation. We strive to make sure you as a client are satisfied completely with your new deck or porch and thank you for your business.
karen C.
5.0
07/03/2015
What a beautiful deck we got from these guys. They listened to our needs with regards to steps and our old dog. We wanted to make sure he could make it up and down without practically falling. They provided us with a great outdoor living space. After bout a year, we noticed a board that was bowing and per our warranty, came out and replaced it with another - no questions asked. Great job!
Description of Work
Tore down old deck and replaced with new.
Category
decks
Kyle W.
5.0
06/18/2015
When I make an investment into my home, I make sure I take my time and cover all the angles. For this particular project I interviewed 13 deck companies. Most of these companies I interviewed I found at the Minneapolis Home and Garden Show in March of 2015. You could say that is a bit excessive, but once you start the process you see the different types of professionalism. Some companies listened to your needs, some would give out quotes they thought was best for you, most companies asked you to design the deck where I wanted someone to look at my set up and give me their input and their design. What set Larry apart from everyone else was his presentation and professionalism. Sure he had his computer and program design like a few of the other top companies, but Larry didn?t try to oversell. Of course he showed me different price ranges, but he wasn?t pushy and understood my situation. Larry gave me his design, his own thoughts and ideas, and took the time to do it right. Not chicken scratch on graph paper, not showing up from another job site with dirt, and took his shoes off in my brand new house. Yeah?.2 companies didn?t do that. Little things matter. Larry?s company Archadeck wasn?t the cheapest, however he wasn't the most expensive either. One company wanted over $16,000 for a CEDAR DECK! In fact, it was down between him and another company who I spoke with for 2 years at the Home and Garden Show. The other company offered me more (a bench I really wanted) and for $1500 less than what I paid for with Larry?s company. The other company earned my trust as well. However, he couldn?t do it until August. At the time, Larry was much higher than $1500 and when I spoke to him about that, he said he would go back and see what he could do, but reminded me that he has to make a living too. Larry got back to me and was able to decrease his quote by $500. $1500 is a lot of money and it made me think for a while. Then I started to really break down the two companies and presentations and what was being offered. Larry was more engaging, he followed through, and he was complimentary of this particular competitor and wished me nothing but the best if I couldn?t go with him. Sure, these are typical sales moves, but the other company didn?t follow through. The other company didn?t even call me back with my questions and I had to call them. I told Larry that I would go with his company even though he was $1500 and I?m glad I made that decision. Again, $1500 is not a sum of money that I just act like its $20. Here is where the extra $1500 paid off, when Larry applied for permit; he was denied it due to my length of the deck being too close to the street. Larry helped me go through the process of the variance, told me what to expect, and work with the schedule and didn?t push back the building of my deck until further in the summer. His team was very professional, they built me a beautiful deck, and the lighting they install is incredible. I recommend Archadeck and what also gave me a security blanket is, they are a national company, unlike a lot of these local companies.
Description of Work
Built a 14x14 Cedar deck, with lighting on the deck floor by the post and going down the stairs
Category
decks, lighting
Alan B.
5.0
11/11/2014
They were very professional and delievered on time. They cleaned up after they were finished with the job and were very nice to work with. We intereviewed 6 contractors and Archadeck stood out for their innovation and conceptual design.
Description of Work
They built a beautiful deck and finished it with lights and detail.
Category
decks
Chuck B.
5.0
08/01/2014
Larry Tubbs of Archadeck did a fabulous job building a screen porch on our home. He was very responsive and professional during the bid process. He started the project when he said he would and finished on time. He was very proactive in making suggestions to improve the design our porch and the quality of work was very high. A great experience.
Description of Work
Installed a screen porch
Category
decks
Keith A.
5.0
07/07/2014
We had several contractors out and Larry stood above them all. He's very professional, he listened to us and ensure his design accomodated all of our requests. He brought pictures of his work, made great reccomendations and provide a cost estimate when he said he would. We're still deciding on the deck but I was impressed enough already to write a favorable response. The other contractors came out and basically said "what do you want" with limited flexibility in terms of what they were comfortable (or knew how to do). Larry has clearly seen and done it all so if you're looking for creativity and a professional go with him
Description of Work
Quote for a deck plus future screen porch (only the deck was quoted)
Category
decks
James C.
1.0
05/30/2014
Came out for consultation- never sent bid proposal- never returned calls.
Description of Work
Provider was contacted. He came out promptly for scheduled meeting. We discussed plans for a 3 season porch. He discussed ideas. He then left and stated he would provide proposal in 1 week or so. Well- no bid ever came and 2 phone messages in the weeks afterward were never returned. Apparently customer service is not on their radar.
Category
decks

Service Provider Response

Unfortunately we got very busy very quickly do to the weather warming up so late. This is not typical practice of my company and we do the very best to get all quotes out in a timely manner. I would like other potential customers to know that this negative review is not only the first negative review that we have ever had, but not even from an actual contracted client on a project. Our work and commitment to finishing quality projects is projected in the reviews from actual customers that purchased decks and porches.
Rachel N.
5.0
05/29/2014
My experience with Larry Tubbs and his carpenters was the best I have ever had in many years of home improvement. This deck and porch was a "dream project" for us; one we have saved for and planned for many years. We couldn't be happier how it turned out. I give so much credit to Larry and his team for the fantastic results. Larry was punctual and professional from the first time we met him and throughout our project. Larry's design won us over. It was clear he listened to what we said we wanted for the space. He then put those ideas into a unique design -- not the same one he built 10 other times last summer. The carpenters were professional as well. They were respectful of our property and parking concerns and they cleaned up after themselves at the end of each day. We are so impressed with the workmanship of the project. Thought was put into where seams would show; nail and screw heads are well aligned; finishes were carefully applied, etc. We knew that weather would require our fall project to have a winter break before a spring finish. Of course spring didn't come as fast as we wanted. I was so pleased the Larry's enthusiasm for the project did not wane. He showed the same care and attention all the way to the last minor detail. Larry Tubbs and Archadeck tops my list of referrals to friends. I would absolutely hire them again.
Description of Work
We replaced an old cedar deck with a large screened in porch and smaller composite deck.
Category
decks
Daniel J.
5.0
11/07/2013
We had a front and back deck in serious need of replacement. After talking to a few contractors we decided to use Archadeck for our project. Larry was very helpful and great to deal with. We didn't get a high pressure sales pitch and he listened to what we wanted and came up with a plan for it. They installed new footings, and built the new decks. The craftsmanship was very good. They also found and addressed some additional issues outside of the project. We are very happy with the whole project and work and would highly recommend them.
Description of Work
Removed two existing decks and built replacements.
Category
decks
Linda R.
5.0
08/03/2013
Owner, Larry Butts, and his crew did a beautiful job. Project was held up due to weather for quite awhile, but Larry always kept me posted on his schedule - something I consider extremely important. From the beginning with a prompt reply to my call to the end he was professional and always explained what he was doing and why. The materials he used seem to me to be of the highest quality, as was the workmanship and attention to detail. His approach to decking a flat roof without perforating the roof itself was very creative. In other words I was very pleased with the experience and would highly recommend his company. I hope his business does well because he is deserving of success.
Description of Work
Built a deck with railing on a second floor flat roof.
Category
decks
Patricia L.
5.0
07/23/2013
We had three companies come out and give us estimates for this job. Larry Butts, from Archadeck of Hennepin County, was the most prepared during his initial visit. He had pictures of his prior work and he brought samples of the composite decking we were considering. The others did not. Of the three, Larry was the only one who returned to our home to present his estimate. The others e-mailed their estimates. Larry brought a computer design of our concept and we were able to modify the original plan. It was extremely helpful being able to conceptualize how our deck would look with different railings, colors, etc. Based on Larry's recommendation we settled on using TimberTech XLM. We made modifications based on the renditions of his computer program. We had a hard end date and Larry met the schedule. Larry was always well prepared, easily accessible by telephone, checked on the progress of the work regularly, and it was a pleasure to work with him. The deck was completed on time and looks great. We are very happy with the final results. Larry was neither the most expensive nor the cheapest, but the price we paid was fair and his work was excellent. We highly recommend Larry Butts / Archadeck.
Description of Work
Removed and disposed of our existing deck planks and rails and designed and built a larger deck. Remove and dispose of existing deck planks and rail and design and build a larger deck. Remove and dispose of existing deck planks and rail and design and build a larger deck.
Category
decks
denise I.
5.0
07/19/2013
he service was very good. We were very happy with the deck. It was exactly what we wanted. He was very responsive and professional. We were pleased with the service. We are looking to hire them again for more work.
Description of Work
They installed a front porch.
Category
decks
Barry R.
5.0
08/16/2012
He lived up to all his promises. He promised me a nice summer to use the deck. Who knew he would live up to that one.
Description of Work
Put on a deck. Went with his best. PVC. He pulled out a cement patio that was cracked and installed the deck. Start to finish was 3 days.Best looking deck in the neighborhood.
Category
decks
Julie G.
5.0
05/17/2012
First we met with Larry Tubbs of Archadeck over our ideas, and with his software he was able to show us what our project would look like when finished. This helped us tremendously with design, and we felt positive about our decision to go forward with the project. Larry communicated with us frequently about the details of the project and kept us up to date on its progress. We had a few hiccups with the windows, all due to the manufacturer. It delayed the project slightly but everything was completed personally by Larry. In hindsight, I probably would have inquired more about the particulars of the interior finishing, but it all worked out well. Larry went above and beyond making sure everything was completed to our satisfaction, and we would highly recommend Archadeck to anyone considering a porch makeover.
Description of Work
We had our much used screened porch redone with windows that will extend the seasonal use of our porch but still maintain an open porch look and feel. This project included all new cedar framing, windows and a sliding glass door. We also added a cedar pergola over and beyond an existing cement slab, and will soon have the cement poured to complete our project.
Category
decks, sunrooms
KATHLEEN N.
4.0
11/21/2011
Everything was good.
Description of Work
They installed a new deck for me.
Category
decks
Shannon D.
5.0
05/24/2011
Overall we would highly recommend Archadeck and we are very pleased with our screened porch addition! The owner John Buenneke, and his wife Chris Buenneke, were extremely helpful in the early planning stages of the screened porch. Both John and Chris were extra helpful with obtaining permits from our City when we ran into difficulty with zoning ordinances. In addition, John worked with me to design a screened porch that was both functional and aesthetically pleasing. He provided several computer generated models of the porch after we modified the plan several times and ultimately included a privacy screen with trellis. All the while John was supportive and patient throughout the planning phase. During the entire construction phase we were very, VERY happy with the subcontractors, Pat and Russ, who performed the carpentry work on our porch. Pat took the lead in helping to coordinate the various building aspects of the project which involved overseeing the other subcontractors hired to do their specialty (roofing, electrical, wood sealing, etc.) making the process much easier on us as homeowners! Pat took the time to inform us regarding the work that was scheduled to occur days in advance, and he explained the options and ideas for how to finalize details at various stages. It is the details and quality craftmanship that make our porch really shine! We were extremely grateful to have Pat and Russ build our porch for us! Oh yes, and to top it off, Pat and Russ were building our porch in August 2010 when it was brutally hot and humid. These men were hardworking and positive everyday despite the horrible working conditions. They were top-notch! We use our screened porch on a daily basis and it has received numerous compliments from others! Indeed, we would recommend Archadeck and we would use them ourselves again in the future!!
Description of Work
We hired Archadeck of Hennepin County to expand and convert our existing open cedar deck to a covered, screened porch. In addition, a privacy screen and trellis were also custom built on one end of the porch.
Category
decks
CAROL S.
5.0
01/17/2011
They came up with a very nice design. They are very good but we have not yet made a decision on the project. They showed us designs they did for other customers nearby. They were wonderful, we just have yet to decode what we are going to do.
Description of Work
We received an estimate from them for a porch design.
Category
decks
JAMES C.
5.0
07/26/2010
My husband and I had dreamed about having a porch on the front of our cute little home. We decided to get several bids, which we did, and the bid we chose was from archadeck. John Buenneke is the owner of this company based in south Minneapolis and he was the person we spoke with about creating our dream deck. John was really our favorite right out the gate. He had actual photos to show us of his company's work which spoke volumes on the quality of their final projects. Other companies we had come out did NOT have any photos of their completed jobs to show us. John himself was a PLEASURE to deal with, he REALLY listened to everything we wanted and was extremely helpful in enabling us to formulate an exact plan of how our new porch would look. John also had the the bid closest to what we wanted to spend on a front porch. After a lengthy detailed meeting with us, John took photos of our house. Within days, John quickly wrote up a proposal and sent us an actual cad drawing which showed us exactly how our new porch was going to look! We liked John's attention to detail as well as his confident warm personality. He, without question, has been a pleasure to work with on our dream porch. John sent two of his BEST Master Craftsmen, Patrick and Russ to bring to life the images we saw on our cad drawings. We cannot say enough about how absolutely fantastic this team was! Every single piece of work they did was done METICIOUSLY! My husband wants things done right every time and done right the FIRST time and this is EXACTLY what these two workers did. Each day they would show up on time and work on the porch details until late in the day. Each day after they left my husband and I would look at the work they accomplished and marvel at how spectacular their work was! After each days work, they left the porch work area and yard completely neat and tidy! Even the neighbors commented on how clean they left our yard each day! The work was impeccable and we would hire this company in a heartbeat to build any structures going forward that we may need! The porch is solidly built and looks exactly the way we imagined it to be, if not even better! Any time there was any question at all about any detail, Patrick and Russ would talk to me or my husband to make sure they were doing exactly what we wanted. The porch took approximately two weeks to build. archadeck took care of everything! They ordered the wood, the dumpster and all supplies required to build our porch. They took care of getting a permit and when needed conferred with the city inspectors. Everything went without a hitch and I cannot stress enough how absolutely pleased we are with our new porch! John Buenneke (owner) and Patrick & Russ (the master craftsmen) truly represented the archadeck company with integrity, quality, honesty and a final product we are SO happy with and proud of! The photos speak for themselves! I feel that we have the cutest house on the block now with our porch addition! I wanted the porch to be like a porch on a cottage and that's exactly what we got! On the archadeck brochure it says...?Structures so stunning it's a shame they're out back.? A lot of archadeck's work is on decks and structures on the back of most homes. I'm SO delighted to say that this time their structure is on the FRONT of our house and it IS stunning! We are 100% satisfied customers. The porch is made from cedar and other woods. We are in the process of having the porch painted white and yellow to match our home. We are also staining the floor and porch steps. I will submit a photo after the painting is completed.
Description of Work
Archadeck gave us a bid on a front porch. They came in and dug holes for footings, poured the footings, met with inspectors, ordered all supplies needed for our porch and built us an absolutely fantastic front porch. Our porch is made from cedar and other materials.
Category
decks
Constance F.
5.0
09/30/2008
John Bunneke and his team did a terrific job. Our old decks were rotting through and eye sores. We needed new decks in time for a planned graduation party. In addition we wanted some features we didn't have before - stairs to the yard, aluminum ballusters, and a bird feeding station. Of the three bids I received, Archadeck's was the least expensive which surprised us because we expected the "franchise" to come in higher. Everything John did was very professional and responsive. We sat down and designed the deck we wanted with his help choosing materials that would meet our budget and give us the look we wanted. Then we received drawings and digital "photos" of the deck he designed for us before we signed the contract, it was very clear what he was doing for us and how much it would cost. His wife worked closely with us also and handled permits and a couple of unexpected items with the city. The contractor he sent was wonderful (Craig), worked quickly, contributed his own ideas to the project, neat and easy to work with. John did not ask for the final payment until all the punch list items (very few) were completely resolved. Most importantly, they promised to meet our deadline and delivered on that promise; we had a two beautiful new decks in time for our party; everything cleaned up and dumpster gone.
Description of Work
Archadeck completely replaced an old deck and substantially replaced a second deck. They did permitting, tear down, hauling away, building.
Category
decks

    Other local Pros in your area

    Randy's Electric

    You deserve a safe and reliable home. Get the job done right the first time with outstanding customer service from the Twin Cities top rated electrician. Outlets, fans, lighting, smoke detectors, switches, and service panels. Your full service electrician.  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Offers Coupon

    Harrison Electric, Inc.

    14 Employees. No subs. Cost determined by the job. Travel charge applies. No extra charge for 24-hour emergency service (for existing customers only). Primary service area- Western & Northern suburbs of Minneapolis/St Paul including Hennepin, Anoka & Ramsey counties and parts of Sherburne county. All employees are background checked and drug tested.  

    Angi Certified

    Stafford Home Service

    As a quality driven company servicing the Twin Cities metro, Stafford Home Service offers a full range of residential electrical, heating, cooling, home entertainment, and home security services. Our trusted workmanship is focused on providing customer improvement to living or working environments to each and every customer. This commitment to excellence is evident through our pride and our customers’ satisfaction in a job well done. At Stafford Home Service, we offer four cores areas of expertise: comprehensive residential services, HVAC (heating, cooling, air quality, and ventilation), home entertainment system design and installation, and home security installation. Our experts are trained and certified to offer a large variety of services including appliance wiring, electrical service upgrades, sauna wiring, indoor/outdoor lighting design and installation, furnace installation, HVAC repair systems, computer networking for home systems, home theater design and installation, alarm system installation, security camera installation, and much more. Stafford Home Service holds true to the fundamental values that built our business – including satisfaction guarantee, quality workmanship, dependability, and reasonable pricing. Our team puts your priorities first, and we pride ourselves on our friendly and professional service from the moment we answer your call. To learn more about us, our many financing options, and our services, please visit our website or give us a call today!  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Offers Coupon

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    American Express, Check, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Design & Build - decks, screened porches, all-season room additions, 3-season porches, sunrooms, outdoor kitchens, pergolas, gazebos, pool decks, spa decks, porches, loggias, arbors, privacy screens, fencing, planters, benches, ramps, bridges, walkways, docks, garden structures & outdoor rooms

    Services Not Offered

    Deck repair, staining, sealing, cleaning, refinishing, decking material & accessory sales.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Archadeck of Hennepin County

    How is Archadeck of Hennepin County overall rated?

    Archadeck of Hennepin County is currently rated 4.8 overall out of 5.

    What days are Archadeck of Hennepin County open?

    Archadeck of Hennepin County is open:

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Saturday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    What payment options does Archadeck of Hennepin County provide

    Archadeck of Hennepin County accepts the following forms of payment: American Express, Check, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

    Does Archadeck of Hennepin County offer free estimates?

    Yes, Archadeck of Hennepin County offers free project estimates.

    Does Archadeck of Hennepin County offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Archadeck of Hennepin County offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Archadeck of Hennepin County offer emergency services?

    Yes, Archadeck of Hennepin County offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Archadeck of Hennepin County?

    Yes, Archadeck of Hennepin County offers warranties.

    What services does Archadeck of Hennepin County offer?

    Archadeck of Hennepin County offers the following services: Design & Build - decks, screened porches, all-season room additions, 3-season porches, sunrooms, outdoor kitchens, pergolas, gazebos, pool decks, spa decks, porches, loggias, arbors, privacy screens, fencing, planters, benches, ramps, bridges, walkways, docks, garden structures & outdoor rooms

    Are there any services Archadeck of Hennepin County does not offer?

    Deck repair, staining, sealing, cleaning, refinishing, decking material & accessory sales.