Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

White Crane Construction LLC

Founded 2002 • With Angi since November 2003

4.8

(98) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

5001 28th Ave S

Minneapolis, MN 55417

Description

White Crane Construction is a design:build firm specializing in larger residential remodeling projects ($50,000+) including kitchens, master suites, additions, new construction, and whole house renovations. Our team offers exceptional customer service with an unyielding attention to detail. White

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
Carol Z.
1.0
03/31/2021
We had a phone conversation with a designer. He said he'd get back to us by March 16, 2021 with some information and to set a time for an on-site visit. It is now two + weeks later and we've not heard back from him despite two followup emails.
Description of Work
siding, new deck, garage doors
Category
decks, remodeling, siding

Service Provider Response

We followed up with Ms [Member Name Removed] personally. This was entirely our fault, everything she reported here is accurate. This project got away from the designer who was assigned and frankly we blew it! We work hard to follow up with every potential client and meet our deadlines. This was not the case here. Our sincere apologies. Susan Denk, Owner
JEN C.
5.0
08/17/2017
Working with White Crane was the only positive part of our house fire experience. They were kind, professional, and thorough. They were understanding of the insurance process and helped us to provide all of the necessary documentation. And most importantly, they guided us through every decision, even when we were still in shock, and helped us to come out of a hard experience with a beautiful home that we are excited to live in every day. The house came out better than I could have imagined. The project was completed on budget and on time and we had frequent communication with the team.
Description of Work
We needed a whole house remodel after a lightning strike and house fire.
Category
remodeling, water damage restoration, home remodeling
Rebecca J.
5.0
08/09/2017
We are extremely pleased with White Crane. From the beginning, they had great ideas and kept our budget in mind. They made the design process very easy. Donella had already talked with us got to know our style before we started and she was able to narrow down our choices. We really liked that we didn't need to visit every vendor to pick out tile, counter tops, paint, fixtures, etc. - almost everything was in the office. And the computer rendering was really helpful in imagining our spaces. Communication was excellent. We had weekly update meetings with our project manager, but if something came up in the interim, we would send a note and the issue was addressed right away. And the workmanship of the finished project is great. Everything is solid, looks fantastic, and works perfectly. We have only good things to say about White Crane!
Description of Work
White Crane remodeled our two existing bathrooms, finished our roughed-in master bathroom including designing a walk-in shower, and improved our front entry with a new front door and added sidelight.
Category
remodeling, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

What a pleasure working with Tim and [Member Name Removed]! When touching all three of the baths in the house coordination is key, our clients were with us every step of the way. Thank you!
Susan L.
5.0
08/09/2017
White Crane did a wonderful job from the moment they came to our home for our initial meeting through the final walk through of the work! They presented us with design options that were totally suited to what we described as our needs. All of the White Crane staff we worked with with highly experienced, professional, prompt, courteous and responsive. The design staff provided wonderful options for all of the materials and accessories and the project manager was at all of our meetings and coordinated and executed the project on schedule and within our budget. This is the third time we have worked with White Crane and have always found their work to be outstanding and their coordination, communication and consideration during the remodeling work made the process a pleasant experience! We have a gorgeous new master bathroom and love everything about it!
Description of Work
We had our master bathroom totally remodeled.
Category
remodeling, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Tracy & [Member Name Removed], Thank you for reaching out again to White Crane for your design & remodeling needs. We love your master bath! What a fun project. Nancy and Matt and the rest of the White Crane family so enjoyed working with you again. Thank you! [Member Name Removed]
Kate R.
5.0
08/03/2017
Wonderful experience. On schedule, all employees and subs friendly and professional. Listened to what we wanted and came up with designs that fit our lifestyle.
Description of Work
Master bedroom & bath, basement, and kitchen remodel.
Category
remodeling, home remodeling, basement remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thank you! Our clients had the courage to remodel many areas of their home in a single project. We worked closely with them to coordinate all aspects of design and production. We are proud to show this project on our Fall Remodelers Showcase. Thank you for a such a great project and your support. What a beautiful home!
Pam A.
5.0
11/20/2016
They were very professional, prompt. They honored their commitments. They had excellent follow-up. They met with me to discuss concerns or questions I might have had along the process. They stood behind the quality of their work.
Description of Work
We renovated the kitchen, laundry room/mud room , redesigned the bar, painted the entire main floor, renovated the office,
Category
remodeling, home remodeling
Deanne L.
5.0
10/30/2016
We were very happy with the final outcome! We had two egress windows installed, a bathroom with shower, custom built in shelves, new carpeting, painting, handrail and solid doors (stained), and trim work for our basement remodel. Our project manager, Bill Braniff, was always personable, professional, and prompt throughout the project. We had concerns about spray foam insulation that Bill helped us address and he helped us find an alternative solution that would provide enough R-value for insulation needs in the new areas of the basement. Both Bill and White Crane's designer Katie were attentive to our preference for low-VOC for paint, caulk, stain, etc. Due to our son's asthma and other family members' sensitivity to VOC, it was a crucial issue that White Crane handled with genuine care. We were living in our home during the remodel. We were very pleased with how White Crane managed all the parts of the project (subcontractors, noise, dust, communication) and how well they minimized the disruption as best they could day to day. Robin was always prompt and took time and attention to carpentry (and many other!) details. Overall, we would recommend White Crane to others to consider for a remodeling project. We appreciated their ability to work in collaboration with us -- always addressing issues that came up in a timely manner and being friendly and patient with our young children. We are very happy with the quality of the finished remodel of our basement. White Crane uses subcontractors who are solid in skill and reliability. We have a wonderful space that we use for our family time and for guests!
Description of Work
We hired White Crane for a basement remodel.
Category
ceramic tile, egress windows, insulation, plumbing, remodeling, basement waterproofing, woodworking, basement remodeling
Neil O.
5.0
10/28/2016
Could not be happier! White Crane and the entire crew(including sub contractors) exceeded our expectations. White Crane's entire process is very well thought out and worked well for our project. The design process was straight forward and very well guided. They stuck to their timeline and kept the job site clean every day! Having a experienced project manager went a long was for us. We love the new space in our home and can't wait to have white Crane do more work for us.
Description of Work
We had our basement gutted down to the block and completely remodeled. Space was maximized with smart design and relocation of utilities to provide more space. We added a bathroom and laundry also.
Category
concrete repair, countertops, drywall, electrician, insulation, lighting, plumbing, remodeling, replacement windows, basement waterproofing, woodworking, marble & granite, home remodeling, interior painters, doors, basement remodeling
JENNIFER L.
5.0
10/26/2016
The entire White Crane team was wonderful. Responsive, professional and attentive to details, they handled the job effectively gave us a beautiful end product. When issues arose they worked with us to find the best solutions possible. I would highly recommend them to anyone looking for a quality builder/remodeler! Can't wait for the next project!
Description of Work
Two bathroom remodels
Category
remodeling, home remodeling
ROXANNE C.
5.0
10/26/2016
Their attention to detail is amazing, they are responsive, listen attentively, and our fun to work with! The remodel was a big project and at times when I was stressed and having a melt down, the project manager and senior designer listened and affirmed and addressed my concerns. And the work was done with the highest standard.
Description of Work
An entire home remodel staying within the original footprint. Gutted the kitchen, added two 1/2 baths with a shared shower into a very small space and were able to make it look roomy!
Category
remodeling
Madhulika J.
5.0
10/25/2016
Working with White Crane Construction through an extensive, (nearly) whole house remodel was a great experience. We talked to a number of potential partners to work with on our remodeling project, but I felt like I had an immediate connection with Susan (owner) and Katie, our designer. One of the biggest challenges for our remodel was our lower level. It was a half-finished, unheated space that was not really used by the family. Katie worked with us to get to know us and our family, learn how we wanted to use the space, and then designed our basement to gain the maximum utility for the space. We went from a basement with a functioning bathroom, dingy laundry and utility area and no living space, to a beautiful lower level. We added a 4th bedroom, a comfortable and cozy den that is great both for the family and also for our kids to have friends over as teenagers, and a space for crafting. Our experience with White Crane was as good as I think you could ask for when working with any contractor. Noah, our project manager, met with us regularly to update us, make decisions when necessary, and answer our questions. Inevitably when you renovate an older home (this one was built in 1914) you come across unexpected conditions that you have to deal with. When that happened, Noah and Katie were on top of it. When we wanted to make changes, I really appreciated the fact that they would discuss the cost-benefit of what we wanted to do as if they were spending their own money. And finally, the project came in on schedule.
Description of Work
Remodeled kitchen, bathrooms, and lower level. Converted a closet into a powder room.
Category
remodeling, home remodeling, basement remodeling
Darrell and Joanne S.
5.0
10/25/2016
We had been planning and researching a major remodeling project for years on our 1924 home. We had spoken to multiple high end contractors, who either wanted to take up to a year to complete the project, or were intent on designing what they thought we should have even if it compromised the integrity of an already marvelous house. However, when we spoke to White Crane, THEY LISTENED! As is common with homes of this era, the motivation was to add a powder room on the main floor and create better flow to the back entry/mudroom. We needed to redo the kitchen, back entry to make it all come together. White Crane came up with a wonderful design that met all our needs within the existing footprint of the house, within our price range and timeline. The design and their reputation got them the project. Their project management led by Bill, our Project Manager, allowed us to sleep at night. They were on top of everything. Very committed. Communication was great. All was completed beyond our expectations. Contact White Crane Construction for your remodeling needs.
Description of Work
Kitchen remodel, bathroom, Mudroom,Back entry, Deck
Category
remodeling, home remodeling
Miranda M.
5.0
07/27/2016
We again worked with designer Katie and Project Manager Bill. This was a tricky project due to the MAC requirements of the exterior door and sidelight but that team found solutions and we were able to move forward in a timely manner. Katie and Bill are a great team. We love the finished project and it gave us the access to our outdoor space that our home was desperately lacking. Jake, their carpenter, built a beautiful and very sturdy deck while protecting the old stucco. At the end of the project, we had one pending issue with the downspout that had to be reworked due to the deck railing. They did not give up until a solution was implemented. That type of follow through is very appreciated and will keep us going back to White Crane and recommending them. Thanks guys!
Description of Work
My family recently signed up for our second construction project with White Crane. We added an exterior door, sidelight, deck and stairs to our old home.
Category
decks, remodeling, doors
Miranda M.
5.0
07/27/2016
We again worked with designer Katie and Project Manager Bill. This was a tricky project due to the MAC requirements of the exterior door and sidelight but that team found solutions and we were able to move forward in a timely manner. Katie and Bill are a great team. We love the finished project and it gave us the access to our outdoor space that our home was desperately lacking. Jake, their carpenter, built a beautiful and very sturdy deck while protecting the old stucco. At the end of the project, we had one pending issue with the downspout that had to be reworked due to the deck railing. They did not give up until a solution was implemented. That type of follow through is very appreciated and will keep us going back to White Crane and recommending them. Thanks guys!
Description of Work
My family recently signed up for our second construction project with White Crane. We added an exterior door, sidelight, deck and stairs to our old home.
Category
decks, remodeling, doors
Stephanie D.
5.0
04/13/2016
My husband and I hired White Crane Construction to do a kitchen addition to our 1929 tudor and give the main living areas an overall much needed facelift. We had spent several years meeting with various builders and designers in the Twin Cities, White Crane was the first to come into our home, listen to our ideas and say, "Yes! We can do what you want in your budget!" Katie Jayden, their Senior Designer, was very clear about what our options would be to stick to our budget, keeping us financially in check throughout the entire process. Never having done anything like this before, we were worried about surprise bills or being over budget, because that's what always happens on HGTV, right? When we signed the contract, we were given a payment schedule and not one time were we billed more than what we planned for. In fact, one payment was even lower than planned due to some demo work we had done. We started our project in November, we were worried about the weather and staying warm while we were missing a roof and walls in our old kitchen. White Crane's and our Project Manager, Bill Braniff, and all the subs took extra care to keep us warm, putting up zipper doors, extra insulation, temporary heaters whatever was needed to do to keep us warm. One night after our dog had tried to go through the zipped up door and tore it down, Bill came over that evening to fix it so our family would be warm. Through every step of the project they were attentive to us was at that level. They were onsite every day at 7am, working hard and addressing any concerns (which were few) we had within hours. It's April now and our project is pretty much complete. Our kitchen and main living spaces turned out better than we could have ever imagined, they are all so beautiful. The design and materials used are on par with what I see in magazines and we feel very, very lucky to have this space in our home. I have no doubt that our A+ building experience and the finished product has everything to do with White Crane and their work ethic/style. I honestly have to say I miss all the subs being around, we really enjoyed getting to know them. I hope that if you are thinking of remodeling you will consider using White Crane, I am so glad we did!
Description of Work
Kitchen Addition
Category
insulation, remodeling, roofing, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], We are so happy to hear about your experiences with White Crane. We love it when we can say "yes we can" to our clients and can make them feel as confident (and warm!) as we did you and your family! We're all about building harmonious spaces for families to enjoy their time together and we are so excited we were able to do this for you. Thank you for choosing us to be your partner and please keep us in mind for any future needs - we would love to hang out with you again! -White Crane
Meghan W.
5.0
10/21/2015
While searching for a company to do the remodel we interviewed a few different contractors. Ultimately, we chose WCC based on our positive initial interaction with them, their design software and their detailed and thoroughly documented bid/design process. On our first call to WCC we spoke to Katie, a designer, who talked to us about our ideas, budget and general scope of what we wanted to do. About a week later we had a meeting at our property to evaluate the project further. This was followed by measurements, photos, and estimates. The design process was very detailed and thorough. Katie took the necessary time to understand not only the makeup of our home, but also our style, our budget, and our goal to make our living space functional with how we live. Her commitment to understanding our goals built instant trust in her. One thing we appreciated about the design process with WCC was their 3D design software that allowed us to visualize our ideas; this was incredibly helpful. We are both visual people and would not have been able to envision our project through blue prints alone. We appreciated the fact that the design meetings took place in their comfortable office space with the proper technology and samples available to make the decision process a lot smoother. WCC was flexible and took our schedules into account when planning design sessions. Katie was very helpful in would could have been a very overwhelming time, there are so many decisions that need to be made but she always kept us on track and had thoughtful options that showcased our style. The construction process was set to take just over 3 months to complete. We received a detailed calendar of the project milestones and completion dates. Though we were not living at the home, WCC treated the jobsite like a lived in remodel. Given our excitement level, we visited two or three times per week to check out the progress and they did a very nice job keeping the worksite clean at the end of each day. We were amazed at the level of coordination and how quickly they progressed. After the first week the house was gutted and the addition was framed. Throughout the construction process we met with Noah, our project manager, multiple times to walk through the house to ensure their work was meeting our expectations. The craftsmanship definitely exceeded my high expectations. We appreciated Noah?s end of week updates on the progress of the project and his calm, confident demeanor which allowed us to relax knowing the project was in good hands. We also felt it a positive that Katie (our designer) stayed engaged throughout the process to ensure that our plans translated appropriately into the work that was being done. We felt White Crane was quick to respond to any concerns or questions that came up. Example: after the sheetrock was complete, we noticed one of the doors to be smaller than we expected. Once our project manager was made aware of this, the door was reframed the next day. Overall WCC did a beautiful job with the home. They kept the character/design of a 1946 house while incorporating many updates as well. They added new archways perfectly matching the originals, renovated existing 1946 cabinets turning them into a wet bar, and transitioned new wood flooring into original wood flooring, seamlessly! We love our new home. We have received so many compliments from friends/neighbors, even from others in the remodeling business. We are very pleased with WCC?s work and would definitely recommend them to others.
Description of Work
Full Exterior Main Floor: Moved & completely remodeled kitchen, added mudroom, dining room, all floors, wet bar. Upper Level: Shed dormer addition which includes master suite/bath, walk-in closet, laundry & office.
Category
contractors, closet systems, drywall, flooring contractor, hardwood floor, remodeling, roofing, pavers, gravel, marble & granite, home remodeling, doors
David G.
2.0
10/01/2015
We live very close to White Crane and had heard good things about the quality of their work from friends and Angie's List. When we first moved in back in 2012 we contacted White Crane about doing some work on our house, since they were in the neighborhood. I left a message and they never called us back. We are now looking to remodel our kitchen and basement and reaching out to contractors to give us bids on the project. Since White Crane is so close, I thought I would give them another chance. I phoned White Crane and spoke with Katie and explained our project. She seemed very uninterested in earning our business. Started giving us $100k-$125k estimates before even seeing the house or discussing the project (Other estimates from people who actually took the time to talk to us were around $75k, my father who designs very high end homes in CA estimated it in this same range). Basically seemed like they were not interested in even looking at our house or discussing the project, or giving us a bid. I get the vibe that they don't even get out of bed if you aren't offering a $100k project. I will take my business to people who actually want to spend the time to discuss our project, review the architectural plans done by my father and give us an actual estimate. Never worked with a company that is so pretentious and so uninterested in a $75k remodeling project. Apparently they have so much business they don't need to take on 'smaller' projects. Will not be contacting them again. I wouldn't bother reaching out if you aren't willing to spend a fortune as they won't even give you the time of day.
Description of Work
Contacted White Crane about a Kitchen and Basement remodel.
Category
remodeling, home remodeling, basement remodeling

Service Provider Response

We are so very sorry that the [member name removed] family had this experience with our company. As a part of the White Crane sales process, we first conduct a phone consultation with all potential clients who contact us in an effort to determine if there is an initial alignment of their project(s) with our company's best abilities and skill sets. We certainly don't ever want to come across as pretentious or giving an indication that we don’t care. We do care. We work hard to respond to every call that comes into our office. As we share on our website and in our marketing material, we are asking about scope, timeline, and budget in the initial phone cosultation. In the case of the [member name removed]’s, we understood that they were asking us about a project that included a kitchen gut and basement remodel. It was our opinion that these two projects were unlikely to be completed as described to our Sales Manager for the [member name removed]’s total budget of $75,000. We shared this opinion based on our experience and the information provided. We understand that this budget amount is significant it just did not, at our listening, appear to align with their stated scope of work. This is one of the reasons that we believe it beneficial to all parties to conduct the initial phone consultation. We are very sorry to hear of their disappointment in our response. We strive to listen carefully to everyone who contacts us and to be helpful. Susan Denk Owner & General Manager White Crane Construction
Miranda M.
5.0
09/28/2015
The kitchen and main floor bathroom was a total "gut to the studs" and remodel. We lived here through the last half of this. White Crane and the team were great to work with. The designer and project manager and carpenter were excellent to work with and fantastic at communication. We were also very happy with the subs that they used. Good people to have around the house and quality work. Very pleased with the process and end result.
Description of Work
Complete kitchen remodel, complete bathroom remodel, complete plumbing replacement in home, refinished hard wood floors.
Category
contractors, flooring contractor, hardwood floor, plumbing, remodeling, woodworking, home remodeling
Dan C.
5.0
09/25/2015
Following our recent completion of a whole house remodeling project, I highly recommend the services of White Crane. Their tastefully designed sign in our yard from March through August is an apt metaphor of that experience. It incorporates clean, creative, and simple lines on a solid base, and it was part of our yard each day over 5 months without getting in the way. We wanted a creative, intelligent and communicative general contractor, who shared our vision of the space we wanted remodeled. We interviewed three general contractors- all known for quality work, and decided that White Crane was the one best able to shepherd us through the decisions and project issues we would encounter. Our decision was based in large part on the initial meeting we had with Design Architect, Lynne Shears. Her enthusiasm for the project and how it addressed the character and charm of our home was bolstered by her demonstrated professional knowledge and confidence. She impressed us in person, but we also looked for her work online and saw the awards she had won for work with other projects, with a focus on kitchen design. As we began planning, our following meetings were highly productive. She presented choices reflecting our agreed direction, and we were able to move quickly to make decisions. Our project divided into two major stages. Twice we had to move ourselves and whole rooms of furniture out of the way as we went from the first stage to the next. No corner of the house remained untouched, and we planned and executed our moves with White Crane?s help, while living in the house and sharing our space with subs. We maintained weekly communication with our Project Manager, Noah Martin. His team of White Crane support and subcontractors were friendly, professional and very easy to work with and around. He was responsive to requests, and kept us abreast of any activity that impacted us. This was a complex project with different subs for heating, plumbing, electrical carpentry, cabinetry, tiling, floors, sheetrock and taping and painting. All contract work remained on schedule throughout, while accommodating: work changes that developed, such as unforeseen reinforcement of joists; change orders we requested such as adding outlets, changing materials, and adding more painting to the overall project; and of course the moves we needed to make to get out of the way. We are very happy with the house they have turned back to us, and the way White Crane worked with us to make our home a place we will stay for years to come.
Description of Work
Kitchen and whole house
Category
custom cabinets, ceramic tile, drywall, electrician, heating & air conditioning/hvac, plumbing, remodeling, woodworking, home remodeling, interior painters
Kathryn H.
5.0
08/14/2015
We had a very positive experience with White Crane. From initial bidding all the way through punch list the design and construction team was professional, transparent, proficient, and responsive. We worked with Lynne, who is one of their designers, to help us come up with a plan to remodel the kitchen in our 1916 Mac Groveland home. She listened to what was important to us and came up with a design that reflected what we wanted. She had her own great ideas as well, many of which we gladly incorporated. The project included total demo of the kitchen (including new floor), moving the location of the backdoor of the house, building out a new storage space and reinsulating in the attic, and opening up and rehabilitating the large front porch of the house. The project manager - Noah - was engaged, communicated reasonably well, and was on top of all the details regarding schedule. The construction crew was professional and tidied up their workspace at the end of every day. The quality of the work was top-shelf. In particular the carpentry was beautiful and matched the style of the rest of the home perfectly. Lynne stayed engaged throughout the whole project to make sure that construction reflected the design. Communication between designer and construction teams was great. In fact, Lynne knew many of the contractors. It was very helpful to have Lynne to suggest colors, finishes, and fixtures, in addition to doing the core architecture for the project. White Crane wasn't cheap, but the project came in on time and at budget. It was estimated to be a 10 week project and they stuck to that schedule. Change orders were minor and very reasonable. We are very happy with the kitchen, the attic, and the porch. We would hire White Crane again without a second thought.
Description of Work
Complete kitchen remodel (demo down to the studs), moved back door to new location, new storage space in attics, front porch rehabilitation.
Category
flooring contractor, handyman service, remodeling, woodworking, home remodeling
Kathryn E. S.
5.0
04/08/2015
I have never used a General Contractor before. WC staff are very talented and professional and guided me thru a million decisions and choices in the planning stage. I always felt listened to and that my choices and style and desires were pulled in to the planning process. I received an excellent work book listing all details of the project and a calendar with dates/deadlines, which was invaluable. We had a major glitch with one sub contractor and it was handled immediately and very well. The client came first. All calls/emails were returned promptly, all concerns were addressed right away, all questions were answered very well and in a detailed fashion. All appointments were honored and both staff were always on time for meetings. I was told when all workers would be here and what they would be doing. I was informed about when I had to leave the premises due to fumes, etc. Near the end of the project we met and agreed on a list of odds/ends that needed to be addressed and they were. I had a problem with the back order of a light and they adjusted the schedule so it could be installed. I would refer WC to any friends or neighbors and I would use them again. I love my new first floor!
Description of Work
White Crane's designer, Katie, worked closely with me to develop a plan for repairs and upgrades to my entry and 5 rooms on my first floor. My home is 90 years old and floors, walls, ceilings, wiring, insulation all needed an upgrade. Then, WC designed new elements for my first floor, including an entertainment wall, updated tiled fireplace, and new built in bookshelves. WC also helped in the selection of paint colors and floor color for an entirely new and updated look. The Project Manager then guided the process from start to finish, managed all dates/times/deadlines, handled any changes or issues that came up, answered numerous questions, and kept me informed on the entire process. But, the designer also stayed in the loop so everything was done as it was originally planned.
Category
ceramic tile, electrician, flooring contractor, insulation, remodeling, custom furniture, woodworking
MATTHEW C.
5.0
03/27/2015
Generally very well. Susan, Lynne and Caleb were good to work with, responsive to questions and concerns and kept on top of the sub-contractors getting everything done in proper sequence. It does pay to be clear in your intended use of the space. Working with Lynne we went from our initial idea of one big room with a bathroom awkwardly in the corner somehow to splitting the addition into two sides, one a nice big Music Room with the piano in it, the other the Mudroom with a big long closet (something sorely lacking in our house), some handy kitchen cabinets, a space plumbed for a washer/dryer at some point, a broom closet and a bathroom with shower. The traffic patterns might have been weird with this, but Lynne suggested that we cut a doorway in our living room wall; this was a brilliant idea that had never occurred to us, and it was cut with an arched top just like our kitchen doorway and now looks like it has always been there. In fact the whole addition looks like that, photos of the old one just look shabby and awkward. There are other details; we had put underfloor heating in the kitchen and adore it. The mudroom is a tile floor as well and we went with underfloor heating in there and the bathroom, with the bathroom also having a cast iron baseboard radiator. Caleb from White Crane worked with the city inspectors to get approval for this, saving us having to have a radiator in the mudroom. White Crane suggested that we use one of the old radiators from the upstairs back porch getting torn off. They had it sandblasted and painted and it is the heat for the Music Room, a nice re-use that looks exactly right in the house. They incorporated a set of cherry doors we already owned on a closet. They indulged my desire for an indoor-switched outlet under the soffit for Christmas lights. White Crane were completely integral to the success of the addition. The design work was excellent, the general contractor and project manager role was invaluable and not a task I'd want to take on as a novice to this, and the schedule was adhered to and the pricing about right. White Crane was clear on their pricing; we paid for design services initially, then took them on as contractor. They were clear also on the pricing of various options; we had the exterior painting done by them, for instance, but took on the interior painting ourselves.
Description of Work
We live in a 1927 house which had a rather shoddy two-story back porch. We decided to have it torn off and replace it with a new addition. We selected White Crane. We worked with them on the design; this was very valuable as we had in mind the rough outlines of what we'd like but White Crane, and Lynne in particular, helped us resolve larger design issues and worked with us on all the details. The resulting plan was far more useful and attractive than our vague idea had been even while incorporating some of our specific requests. White Crane then did the general contractor work, obtaining quotes and coordinating all the work involved in the demolition of the old porch and construction of the new along with a couple of related tasks (we replaced our main house roof at the same time, normally not a big deal, but ours was asbestos shingles and had to be mitigated as well). Work started in late June 2014 and major construction operations were done by the end of September, right on schedule. The new addition looks far more integrated with the original house than the old two-story porch ever did, it adds tons of utility to the house and makes the house into what it always should have been all along. My wife said it best: it's like we moved to a new house without actually having to pack up and go anywhere!
Category
remodeling

Service Provider Response

We could not be prouder of the work we did or the relationship we have built & maintained together. Our clients understood their likes and dislikes and allowed us to use our design skills to expand on their vision improving the overall look and traffic flow while including the functions they needed and wanted. It is a great old house, and we are so pleased to be a part of its refurbishment. To our clients: what a pleasure! You are honest and open people and have become true friends both personally and professionally.
Deborah C.
5.0
10/30/2014
Extremely well managed project. Respectful and professional staff. Very much appreciated that the job site was left clean at the end of each day. It was helpful to know a couple days prior what aspect of the project would be worked on and which sub contractors would be on site. End result is beautiful.
Description of Work
Fireplace installation, custom cabinetry & wall design, living room window replacement, painting
Category
custom cabinets, remodeling, replacement windows, woodworking
Deanne L.
5.0
10/29/2014
We are very happy with our experience with White Crane. They provided high quality work and professionalism throughout our project. We liked that they are a local company that combines design and construction - making the process of our renovation project run smoothly and efficiently. We had a number of decisions to make and a lot of communication to coordinate - all of which went really well thanks to great organization and ideas. Lynne was great with design and our project manager, Bill, was awesome. Susan runs a fantastic business and is attentive to questions and needs. After new windows and sliding glass door were completed on rear of the house ? Susan was attentive to the exterior paint needing to be done so that it didn?t look mismatched to the original ? so they painted the entire rear to match the original. We have a beautiful home with comfortable spaces for our family. White Crane provided attention to detail and quality for all aspects of our renovation.
Description of Work
We hired White Crane for an extensive renovation of our first and second floors. The work involved a full kitchen renovation, new flooring throughout the house, a new master bath and closet, entry way tiling and closet and bench, main floor laundry space and powder room renovation, opening space between living room and kitchen (installation of steel beam and HVAC work), electrical /lighting, painting, new baseboards and trim, new windows, removal of popcorn ceilings, and new interior doors.
Category
ceramic tile, closet systems, drywall, electrician, flooring contractor, heating & air conditioning/hvac, lighting, remodeling, replacement windows, woodworking, home remodeling, house painters, interior painters, doors
Sue H.
5.0
08/18/2014
Lynne, their designer is extraordinary and understood exactly what we wanted, needed and focused on the ?little? and big things that we most appreciate on a daily basis. They transformed an eyesore of a bathroom into a showplace. Our kitchen, great room, entry, floors and entire basement are amazing, comfortable and beautiful living spaces that reflect our style perfectly. We?ve referred several people, all of whom choose White Crane once they see our home. We couldn?t be happier and plan to use White Crane again in our next home.
Description of Work
We had the pleasure of working with White Crane Construction regarding our remodeling project. We have a 5,000 square foot home that had two floors with water damage as well as needing a face lift. White Crane came in, worked with us to focus on those areas of greatest importance structurally as well as aesthetically.
Category
remodeling, water damage restoration, home remodeling

    Other local Pros in your area

    IDEAL MULTI SERVICES LLC.

    We specialize in handyman services, home repairs, and more! We guarantee your satisfaction, and we won’t leave until the job is done right. We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service! Check out all the services we offer below and call -or- click to schedule a free estimate today!  

    Angi Certified

    L & R Suburban Landscaping Inc

    We are a design & build landscaping company. Our facility is located in Minnetonka and is staffed daily Monday through Friday to assist you with your landscape needs. We schedule on site estimates at your home with the owners of L&R to accurately identify your landscape needs, wants and challenges. You will receive a written proposal that identifies various application costs and a design may be created for your review depending upon the scope and scale of the project. Whether you are looking for a complete renovation, an addition of a few key elements in your landscaping or a new home landscape installation, we have the skills, knowledge, and ability to do it all. We coordinate your material selections and project manage all installations. Your landscaping project will be a positive experience and will completed with outstanding results! Please view completed projects on our website.  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Closets For Life

    Closets For Life, a custom organization company based in Apple Valley, Minnesota, works with residential clients as well as designers, builders and architects to create innovative storage solutions for all organizational needs including closets, offices, garages, kitchens, laundry rooms, wine cellars, Murphy beds and more. What makes Closets For Life different than the others? We listen. We pride ourselves on the ability to listen to the client and determine their specific needs. We understand that each part of your home has unique organizational requirements.  

    Angi Certified

    Offers Coupon

    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check
    Senior Discount
    $500
    Warranties
    Ask for details

    Services Offered

    Residential remodeling and design including kitchens, master suites, additions, new construction, and whole house renovations.

    Services Not Offered

    We do not offer handyman services, ice dam removal, or small project construction.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about White Crane Construction LLC

    How is White Crane Construction LLC overall rated?

    White Crane Construction LLC is currently rated 4.8 overall out of 5.

    What days are White Crane Construction LLC open?

    White Crane Construction LLC is open:

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    What payment options does White Crane Construction LLC provide

    White Crane Construction LLC accepts the following forms of payment: Check

    Does White Crane Construction LLC offer free estimates?

    Yes, White Crane Construction LLC offers free project estimates.

    Does White Crane Construction LLC offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, White Crane Construction LLC offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does White Crane Construction LLC offer a senior discount?

    No, White Crane Construction LLC does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by White Crane Construction LLC?

    No, White Crane Construction LLC does not offer warranties.

    What services does White Crane Construction LLC offer?

    White Crane Construction LLC offers the following services: Residential remodeling and design including kitchens, master suites, additions, new construction, and whole house renovations.

    Are there any services White Crane Construction LLC does not offer?

    We do not offer handyman services, ice dam removal, or small project construction.